RT Daily Blog

Undercover Erotica: Books Get New 50 Shades-Inspired Covers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 28, 2012 | PERMALINK

E.L James' 50 Shades trilogy has changed the way readers view erotica. Not only was the book a breakout success, but it has caused enough controversy to get banned from libraries and even spawned a parody. But we are noticing 50 Shades is also changing the look of the genre as well. The muscle-bound hunks and scantily clad women that once adorned erotica have been traded in for monochrome covers that oftentimes feature men’s apparel.

Looking over a few re-releases for previously published (mostly BDSM-themed) erotic novels from major publishers, we are seeing this new trend emerge. Apparently publishers have decided that a stealth cover may be the key to success for sizzling reads!

***


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Vonna Harper Discusses The Canine Companions In Canyon Shadows - With Excerpt!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 27, 2012 | PERMALINK

Vonna Harper's latest, Canyon Shadows, is a steamy, suspense-filled tale that will change the way you look at a construction site (and maybe even leave you wanting your own hunky contractor). When builder Maco looks for dogs to protect his construction site, he contacts Shari, who runs a dog boarding and training business. It doesn't take long for the two to fall into a sizzling romance. At the same time romance blossoms, the H & h also attempt to uncover the mystery behind a string of local shootings. Dogs play a central role in the book, not just with Shari's business, but with how close she is with her canine companions. Today, the author delights us with the story (and photo!) behind her inspiration for Shari's dog, Ona. And be sure to check out the exclusive excerpt at the end of this post!


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Kristina Wright

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 22, 2012 | PERMALINK

Erotica author and anthology editor Kristina Wright met up with RT's Morgan at BEA 2012 to chat about the genre she loves and particularly the power of word-of-mouth recommendations — something that has certainly been on our minds as we watch E.L. James' Fifty Shades series continue to make headlines. But that's not the only thing that this talented author chats about. You'll also find out about her two upcoming projects. The first is a November release that celebrates the troops. To be published by Cleis Press, the Duty and Desire collection is close to Wright's heart. She is from a military family and is excited to turn the (fictional) focus onto America's brave men and women. But that's not the only thing in the works from Wright. She is also working on Seduce Me Tonight for Harper Collins' Mischief line, a digital-first project about couples in varying stages in their relationships. To get an insider's look at all that and more, check out this RT-exclusive interview!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: Joely Sue Burkhart's Yours To Take

BY Whitney Sullivan, JUNE 18, 2012 | PERMALINK

Yours to Take is not my first Joely Sue Burkhart story, but it is the first contemporary erotica I have read by the author. And I have to say, I was blown away. This May 2012 novella is the third in the author’s Connagher series but it definitely could be read as a stand-alone. (That said, I am going to pick up the first two books in the series as soon as I can because this story was so much fun!)

You can check out my *Web Exclusive Review* for more details, but here is the story in two sentences: Does one red-hot heroine plus one sexy alpha male and one steamy submissive equal one person too many? Vicki can’t choose between Elias and Jesse, two very different men who make her heart race, so instead she’ll try to show the men that they can all have a life together.


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Spruce Up Your TBR Pile: Futuristic Eroticas

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 14, 2012 | PERMALINK

You know what makes sex better? When it takes place in space, or on a different planet, or with an alien … or all of the above. So if you’re seeking a break from the limited options of sex on terra firma, we suggest you get your head in the clouds by “booking” a passage to somewhere truly different. Today we talk to Heather Massey, author and founder of The Galaxy Express, one of the leading sci fi romance fan sites, about what makes sexy futuristic eroticas so fun and then round up some go-to genre reads that will help you 3, 2, 1 … blastoff!

MASSEY’S MUST-READS

Genre enthusiast Massey says that spicy futuristic reads are appealing because these stories venture into some really wild territory. "Readers love them because they frequently offer the freedom to explore sexual adventures with heroes and heroines whose basic natures are otherworldly in nature. These characters are aliens or a mixture of human and machine. They embody elements of danger as well as the forbidden."


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

BEA 2012: Erotica Authors Spice Things Up — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 07, 2012 | PERMALINK

Erotica is undeniably the steamiest genre on the market and it has some of the most passionate and outspoken fans, too. During BookExpo America 2012 we had a chance to chat with some of the hottest authors publishing today about how they envision the heat levels in their books. We asked Kristina Wright, Rachel Kramer Bussel, Damon Suede and several of their fellow erotica authors to tell us “What type of spicy food best represents your writing?” And we weren’t surprised that their answers were shocking — and sizzling!

Author and anthology editor Kristina Wright said that reading one of her stories is like eating a Vosges Chocolate Red Fire Exotic Candy Bar because both are a “surprising combination of sweet and spicy.” We're hoping that this means Wright's upcoming September 2012 Cleis Press anthology, Duty and Desire: Military Erotic Romance for Women, has a good balance of luscious and racy stories!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
9COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Score An Invite To Daire St. Denis' Party Of Three

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 05, 2012 | PERMALINK

In Daire St. Denis' new release, the author creates a Party of Three that you will want to attend! This sizzling story of love between friends will have you questioning what you thought you knew about threesomes. Today the author stops by to answer our questions about this compelling erotic read and share a look at where she's headed next!

What was your inspiration for Party of Three

I wish I could tell you it was inspired by an experience back in college … but alas ... Do you ever have two similarly strange things and/or conversations that happen in close succession that make you go, hmmm? When it happens to me, it often foreshadows the birth of a story. I was out with friends one night and one of them was giving me the low-down on the local swinger’s scene. I was like, "What? We have a local swinger’s scene?" The answer, apparently, is "oh hell, yes!" Anyway, shortly after, a different friend lent me a DVD, Louis Theroux's Weird Weekends, a BBC documentary series where Louis goes around investigating fringe sub-cultures, in this case swinger’s parties. Without going into all the misfired synapses in my brain, Party of Three morphed from there. And yes, a swinger’s party does make an appearance in the book.


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Erotica
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: Thrown By A Curve The March 2013 Release In The Play-By-Play Series From Jaci Burton

BY Whitney Sullivan, MAY 30, 2012 | PERMALINK

I am not ashamed to admit that I love the covers of Jaci Burton’s Play-By-Play erotic romances. Just one look at those barely dressed professional athletes and I'm feeling hot, hot, hot! With the September 4th release date of book four, Playing to Win, fast approaching, I am getting very excited for a new sports hero to fall in love with. But just because we have to wait for the next story, doesn't mean more book covers aren't being revealed in the meantime.

That's right, Jaci has been obliging about dropping hints about book five, Thrown by a Curve, and readers who are “faithfully keeping up” (because “Internet stalking” is such an ugly phrase) we know that the story has already been turned into the editor, even though it isn’t slated to hit the shelves until March 2013. And now we've got a chance to check out the cover of TbaC.


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: Andrew Shaffer's upcoming Fifty Shames of Earl Grey

BY Elisa Verna, MAY 29, 2012 | PERMALINK

E.L. James’ Fifty Shades tsunami is causing a flood in the reading community, and I gotta say, I kind of feel like I’m drowning in it. The series has exploded, resulting in an upcoming film adaptation, waves of controversy (it's even being banned from a Florida public library system) and an upcoming parody, Fifty Shames of Earl Grey, from author (and RT reviewer) Andrew Shaffer.

James’ Fifty Shades of Grey, for those of you who have been living on the moon (because, really, if my grandma is asking me about the book, someone visiting the RT website probably knows what’s going on), was originally self-published as fan fiction and then released digitally and as a print-on-demand book through a small Australian publisher. Eventually the book began climbing bestseller lists and, after receiving unexpected media buzz from mainstream outlets, was snatched up by Vintage Books. The book then skyrocketed to the top of the NYT bestseller list, where it currently sits as #1. A happy turn of events for E.L. James’ writing career, for sure.

The story recounts the sexual awakening of college co-ed Anastasia Steele after she meets young, dominant millionaire Christian Grey. Grey introduces Steele to the world of BDSM. The two begin a Dominant/submissive relationship, with Christian controlling her physically and psychologically as Anastasia struggles to figure out if this is what she wants in a relationship.

But there’s been heaps of controversy over the series in the romance community. Many argue that the book, as a representation of the erotic fiction genre, just isn’t very good. (RT Book Reviews even released a reading list of BDSM and erotic fiction alternatives in our July issue.) And what better way to make fun of something that is so dividing and controversial than to write a parody?

For the project, Shaffer will take the pen name Fanny Merkin. (Yes, that is a wink-wink-nudge-nudge speak for a woman’s “downtown fun zone” and a swanky covering for said zone). As Merkin, he will be releasing a tongue-in-cheek novel that, like the original, tells the story of a young girl who meets a more sexually experienced man, Earl Grey. The tale will poke fun at the fan fiction roots of the Fifty Shades series, James’ sometimes overly-detailed writing style, as well as the story’s two protagonists and their relationship.


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Beyond E.L. James' Fifty Shades Of Grey

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 24, 2012 | PERMALINK

We are thrilled that E.L. James’ steamy erotic Fifty Shades series has captivated America’s attention and brought new readers to the erotic subgenre of BDSM. But for all the news the series has generated — the books were bought by a new publisher, the first book was optioned for film, there's an upcoming parody in the works and the series is at the center of a heated (pardon the pun) censorship debate — there's still one question that has not been answered to our satisfaction. Where do you go after (or instead of) Fifty Shades?


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST