RT Daily Blog

RT Reviewers Dish: Taking A Shot By Jaci Burton

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 07, 2012 | PERMALINK

This week, RT Reviewers Janine and Dawn are Dishing about Taking a Shot, the third book in Jaci Burton’s phenomenally popular Play-By-Play series. After readers devoured Mick and Gavin’s tales, little sister Jenna Riley finally gets her story. A wild child at heart, Jenna has had her share of previous relationships, but nothing compares to the undeniable feelings she has for hockey star Tyler Anderson. Read on to find out what our reviewers thought of this hot erotic romance novel. 

Janine: I loved getting to know Jenna, the manager at her family’s bar. She has a quick wit and is always ready to have fun and laugh. She is exactly the type of person I like to hang out with!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Rachel Grace On Her New Steampunk Erotica Geared For Pleasure

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 05, 2012 | PERMALINK

Erotica author R.G. Alexander dons the pseudonym Rachel Grace for her new Elemental Steam series, the first of which, Geared for Pleasure, releases today. This book introduces readers to two members of the royal entourage. Dare, known as the Queen's Chalice and Cyrus, the Queen's Sword will do anything to protect their ruler, but protecting their hearts is not as easy. To find out more about this world, which is filled with familiar steampunk trappings as well as some entirely unique creatures, we asked the author what inspired her writing. And we were absolutely delighted to learn that it was real life friends that gave Rachel Grace the idea for her characters.

***

HOW IT BEGAN:


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive: What's Up Next For Jaci Burton's Play-By-Play Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 05, 2012 | PERMALINK

If you are looking to dip your toes into the ocean of erotic romance, we suggest that you check out Jaci Burton’s incredibly fun Play-by-Play series. These books feature professional athletes who are just as skilled at their respective games as they are in the bedroom. (Believe us, you may want to keep a glass of water and a fan handy while you read these incredibly steamy tales!)

But before we get to what's next in the series, first let's go recap what has happened so far. Book one in the line-up, The Perfect Play, won the February 2011 RT Seal of Excellence. Said RT’s Whitney of this read, “This erotic romance fully indulges the fantasy of being swept off your feet by a pro athlete. Fans of Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Deirdre Martin and Rachel Gibson's sports series that are looking for something extra steamy have a new author to check out." The story introduced readers to the seriously sexy football star Mick Riley and Tara Lincoln, a single mother and event planner, who Mick can’t help but fall in love with. But can she trust that this amazing man truly wants to be part of her life?


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Erotic Art Installations: My Investigation Inspired By A Stranger's Touch By Lacey Savage

BY Dawn Crowne, FEBRUARY 27, 2012 | PERMALINK

While reading the recently released erotic novella “A Stranger’s Touch” by Lacey Savage, I was fascinated by heroine Roxi’s unusual profession. Roxi is part of a living art exhibition — one where she’s bound, blindfolded and put on display for people to touch. This is not your average 9 to 5, that’s for sure!

I was so intrigued by this premise that I reached out to the author to learn if she was inspired by art that she had seen in real life. Lacey Savage told me, “[T]here wasn't a specific art installation that inspired this story. However, I've always been fascinated by nude models and what motivates them to pose for paintings, sculptures and other works of art, especially in classrooms or other public settings. Although Roxi doesn't pose for art, but rather is the art, my original fascination definitely carried over into this book.”

It seems that the author is not alone in her fascination of the human form. After finishing the story, I wanted to learn more about controversial modern art and I did a quick look at what some recent “living art” exhibits. There were three in particular that caught my eye.


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

He Says, She Says: A Couple's Review Of Ellora's Cave's Male Erotica Line

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 24, 2012 | PERMALINK

Ellora’s Cave recently launched a new line of erotica for men, called EC for Men that offers very short, sex-driven reads that aim to satisfy an array of male fantasies. In their call for submissions for the new line, the publisher specified that submitted stories “should focus more on the sex than the romance,” should contain “realistic wording and dialogue for male characters (not the language women WISH men spoke),” and be centered on “more of what men want or need from women: sex, love, acceptance, admiration, dirty talk; less of what they don't need (judgment, drama, expectation of anticipating woman's needs).” We were intrigued by the idea of erotica for men, so we asked one of our female reviewers and her boyfriend to each read three of these new stories and give us their take on some of EC for Men’s launch books.


HER TAKE:

“Hard Day’s Reward” by Cara Carnes is the closest to erotic romance of the three. It is also the only story that involves a loving relationship. (However, the only real evidence of this is the “I love yous” the couple throws around.) Chad is a stressed-out businessman who has just finished the difficult task of firing a slew of people at work, and when he comes home his girlfriend Shelly surprises him with a ménage involving one of her old college friends, Marcy. The sex scenes are decent, and although Chad isn’t the most giving lover, Shelly is, comparatively, a fairly likable character. (She’s uncomfortable with the idea of having anal sex with Chad, and she knows Marcy will, so she’s gracious enough to let her man indulge, which I guess is nice … ) But, there’s a tension between Marcy and Shelly due to an unknown former conflict that is never explored, which left me unsatisfied at the story’s end.

HIS TAKE:

In the opening scene, a sexy woman opens the door of Chad’s house and he becomes instantly aroused. He notices her hairstyle, her bust size and the color of her toenails, all before he notices that woman in front of him isn't his girlfriend. He then goes on to be serviced by this woman and his girlfriend, whose only priority in the story is to satisfy this slobbering dog of a man.

He literally does nothing to reciprocate. The female characters in Carnes' story live to serve. Things like cuddling and conversation are foreign concepts to Chad. He regards them as the tribulations he has to endure between ejaculations. As for whether this is a representation of a man's fantasy is kind of trivial. Sure, the idea of having sex with two women is alluring ... but not like this. This story portrays men as throbbing, mindless macho sex machines, dogs that somehow managed to walk upright.


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lisa Marie Rice On Her Latest Erotic Romance Nightfire

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 21, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author Lisa Marie Rice wraps up her Protectors trilogy with this month's Nightfire. The series finale focuses on the last of three smoldering foster brothers who all have military training — and heroines they will do anything to shield from danger. Nightfire's hero, former Marine Mike, is no exception. When he meets his foster brother's long-lost sister, Chloe it is love at first sight, but things don't go smoothly for these two: there are dangerous Russian mobsters who want Chloe out of the picture. Get a special look at Mike, Chloe and their roadblocks to romance in today's author interview with Lisa Marie Rice. 

***

Nightfire centers around two very different characters. Mike, a former marine, sniper and now successful security expert, commands a room. Chloe on the other hand is master at blending after surviving a very painful childhood. When writing their story, was it ever difficult for you to imagine them as a couple?


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jasmine Haynes On Her DeKnight Series Finale, The Principal's Office

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

Contemporary erotic romance author Jasmine Haynes treats readers to steamy stories, typically about middle-aged heroines facing their fears and being rewarded in some seriously sexy ways. Haynes most recent release, The Principal's Office, is the third in her DeKnight trilogy. Learn more about the series finale and find out what the author has in store for her next sizzling series.

Thanks so much for having me on RT Book Reviews!!

If any of you have read my books, you’ve probably already noticed that I like to add what I’ll call “women’s issues” to the story.


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jory Strong Takes Readers Under The Covers Of Inked Magic

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 07, 2012 | PERMALINK

Super-steamy author Jory Strong talks ménages and mythology in her new series starter Inked Magic. Meet heroine Etaín and the two very different men, Eamon and Cathal, who will do whatever it takes to protect this special woman.

Eamon took his mouth from hers, but only far enough so their eyes could meet. “Come home with me.”

Not a question. Not really. There was no hint of uncertainty as to what he thought her answer would be.

The call of like to like, the mingling of hot lust and dangerous curiosity tried to drown out any reason that would lead to no, but failed to. She had to finish what she’d started when she pressed her palms to the latest of the Harlequin Rapist’s victims.

“I can’t.”

Eamon’s fingers tightened on her wrists. “Because you intend to go to Cathal? You want him?”

She avoided the first question by answering the second. “You’ve seen him. What do you think?”


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: Monette Michaels’ Security Specialists International Series

BY Dawn Crowne, FEBRUARY 02, 2012 | PERMALINK

I read my first Monette Michaels book, Eye of the Storm, about a year ago and didn’t review it for the RT site because I wasn’t sure what kind of rating I would give it. First in the Security Specialists International series, the story was jam packed with action, adventure and sex, which is right up my alley, however, the story’s plot and characterization was so far fetched that at several points throughout the story, I looked up from my reading to mutter, “What the what?”

Eye of the Storm starts out with the kick ass heroine, Keely Walsh, single handedly taking on South American terrorists in order to get to her brother and his team of SSI agents who are in the jungle on an intelligence mission. Betrayed by someone higher up in the Department of Defense, the former military men are sitting ducks for some very bad guys coming after them. Guns blazing (and I mean guns, plural — no wimpy lady here, folks) Keely battles her way to a remote outpost where she out thinks and out shoots everyone in order to save the day.


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: Jaci Burton's Upcoming Play-by-Play Novel, Playing To Win

BY Whitney Sullivan, JANUARY 26, 2012 | PERMALINK

We love Jaci Burton’s ultra-hot Play-by-Play series. These sexy pro athletes steam up our fantasies and have been the cause of more than one RT editor developing a sudden interest in watching sports games. The series starter The Perfect Play was February 2011’s RT Seal of Excellence winner and set the tone for the rest of the series: sexy contemporary erotic romances ... with an extra helping of heat. Playing to Win will be released on September 4, 2012 but thankfully, Burton has already given us a peek at what’s ahead.

The next “match up” (see what I did with that sports reference?) in the series will be football bad boy Cole Riley and image makeover consultant Savannah Brooks. Savannah has been called in to rehabilitate Cole’s image because all his nights of partying, fighting and causing a ruckus have done some serious damage to his career prospects. Although the job is one of this Southern Belle’s toughest cases ever, Savannah's not afraid to lay down the law about how Cole has to behave — rules that include not touching his new image makeover consultant! As the book’s back cover blurb explains, “If she can turn off the tingle she feels every time Cole gives her a hot stare with his gorgeous baby blues, he can turn off his desire as well.” But judging by the stories that came before this one, Cole and Savannah won’t be able to deny their desire for long!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST