RT Daily Blog

Beyond E.L. James' Fifty Shades Of Grey

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 24, 2012 | PERMALINK

We are thrilled that E.L. James’ steamy erotic Fifty Shades series has captivated America’s attention and brought new readers to the erotic subgenre of BDSM. But for all the news the series has generated — the books were bought by a new publisher, the first book was optioned for film, there's an upcoming parody in the works and the series is at the center of a heated (pardon the pun) censorship debate — there's still one question that has not been answered to our satisfaction. Where do you go after (or instead of) Fifty Shades?


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: Curvy Girls Anthology Edited By Rachel Kramer Bussel

BY Elisa Verna, MAY 23, 2012 | PERMALINK

Honestly, looking at me it wouldn’t be hard to figure out, but because many of us RT staff members go without a face (unless you happen to catch us at a RT Convention) I’m going to go ahead and preface this post with a piece of information. It’s not the first time I admit this, but I rarely lead with this Fun Fact About Elisa: I’m a curvy girl. It’s the truth, I’ve got some extra stuff in some places. And you know what? I’m pretty okay with it. Living in New York City can kind of make me feel like the only Big Girl in the world at times, but overall, I think my body is pretty rockin’. So when I came across the Curvy Girls erotica anthology, edited by Rachel Kramer Bussel, I knew I’d be reading it.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Dawn And Janine Dish: Wolf Hills By Bianca D'Arc

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 18, 2012 | PERMALINK

We continue our month of Dishing about e-books with RT reviewers Dawn and Janine's discussion of Bianca D’Arc’s latest digital tale, Wolf Hills. Rated an RT Top Pick! erotic romance, the author’s new story is a thrilling addition to her sexy, paranormal Brotherhood of Blood series. But unlike previous entries that focused on vampires, the hero of Wolf Hills is a powerful Alpha werewolf named Jason Moore who recognizes his mate is detective Sally Decker — but he’ll have a hard time convincing her that he’s more than vacation fling material!

Dawn: I absolutely, positively love a strong heroine and Sally Decker more than meets my requirements. She’s a police detective from San Francisco and she will make you want to be a more kick-butt woman.

Janine: So true, Sally certainly inspires me. She doesn’t flinch in the face of criminals, knows how to fight when necessary and is not shy about pulling her weapon (with the intent to fire it) if the situation calls for it.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mari Carr And Jayne Rylon On Co-Writing Their Compass Brothers Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 14, 2012 | PERMALINK

We love a great steamy read as much as the next erotic romance fan, but what's better than a hot tale written by a talented author? A series of four sizzling stories written by two genre favorites. Mari Carr and Jayne Rylon are wrapping up their Compass Brothers series this month, which tells the stories of the cowboy Compton brothers and their adventures in finding true love. We asked the authors to share their experiences co-writing the series and if their plans to team up again in the future. 


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: Until Paris By Ellen Trubody

BY Whitney Sullivan, MAY 10, 2012 | PERMALINK

I don’t normally review erotica. Not because I don’t read it, I certainly do, but there’s rarely a story that motivates me to share my opinion. I’m very much a “to each her (or his) own” kind of gal, which can make rating a reviewing a book more difficult than the time it takes. I’m explaining all of this so you’ll know that I don’t give out a 4 ½ star Top Pick lightly. And if I’ve ever read an erotica that deserved this rating, it is Ellen Trubody’s historical erotic romance Until Paris.

Wills and Emma have been married for seven years and until recently they’ve shared an extremely passionate relationship. But when a miscarriage threatens Emma’s life, her doctor husband decides to relocate to a new town — alone. Wills knows that if Emma gets pregnant again, the resulting complications will be tantamount to signing a death warrant. She will never survive it, so he exiles himself to Bath. Emma sends Wills letters begging him to return, but as each goes unanswered, she decides the only course of action is to move to Paris and start over as a single woman. When the story opens she’s come to Bath to say goodbye to her husband for a final time — but can Wills prove he’s found a solution that will give them both satisfaction?

 

Here are my five reasons this e-book has won a spot on my keeper shelf:


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Feel The Burn Erotica Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 09, 2012 | PERMALINK

The temperature is rising and we are celebrating the coming heat with a special prize pack full of sexy reads that will inspire your desire. There's something for everyone in this set of new releases, but be prepared, all these adult stories may just make you pull out the electric fan (or turn on the air conditional) earlier than expected.

If you love nothing more than to curl up with a delicious erotic romance, you'll be pleased to win this prize pack. Complete with three tales of love and lust, one lucky winner will get their hands on Jaci Burton's Play-By-Play book, Changing the Game. A sexy pro-athlete, a reluctant heroine and a seduction that will make you sizzle are all signature elements of this fantastic series. However, if you feel like walking on the wild side, well, don't doubt for a moment that today's giveaway will also meet all of your needs. So what else is on the menu?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
67COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Fifty Shades Banned From Florida Public Library System

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 04, 2012 | PERMALINK

For those of you who thought the buzz around E.L. James’ Fifty Shades series was slowing down — the books were bought by a new publisher, the first book was optioned for film and most recently we reported on an upcoming parody is in the works — it seems that these books are still making headlines. They are now at the center of a censorship debate. Today, a Florida Today article reported that the Fifty Shades erotica trilogy by has been removed from Florida’s Brevard County Public Libraries system.

The trilogy follows college student Anastasia Steele and 27-year-old billionaire Christian Grey as they embark on a relationship. Christian introduces Ana to his BDSM lifestyle, and more famously his “Red Room of Pain,” where the majority of the couple’s BDSM activities take place.


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lila Dubois On Her Rockabilly BDSM Story Undone Rebel

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 02, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author Lila Dubois has a flair for writing unique erotica, and especially scorching BDSM stories. The first book in her Undone Lovers series, "Undone Rebel", is no exception. When fetish model Addie, a retro babe with rockabilly style, agrees to do a BDSM photo shoot, she thinks she may be in a little over her head. But when geek-turned-Dom Lane helps Addie explore her submissive side, she knows she may have found exactly what she's always wanted. We asked the author to tell us more about these two intriguing characters — and what's next in this hot new series.

***

Addie is a perfect erotic romance character because she is not scared of her sexuality. She is shown throughout “Undone Rebel” as an adventurous, non-judgmental woman who likes to have fun. How did she come to have such a healthy outlook on sex and her own appeal?


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Joyee Flynn And Gabrielle Evans Celebrate M/M Romance At The RT Booklovers Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 30, 2012 | PERMALINK

At this year’s RT Booklovers Convention, fans celebrated love in all its forms at the nighttime soiree Joyee and Gabrielle’s Big Adventure. The event was hosted by authors Joyee Flynn and Gabrielle Evans, who are both authors of male/male erotic romance.

Hosts Joyee Flynn and Gabrielle Evans

A quick look around the packed evening event made it clear that the first event celebrating male/male romance was a success! The party was certainly warm and welcoming, full of erotica and romance readers all supporting love in its many forms. We had a great time hanging out with booklovers who are longtime fans of these types of stories, and those who had never tried m/m books before.

In addition to fans mingling, checking out the cover model servers and enjoying Sex on the Beach and Cosmo shooters and a chocolate fountain, readers also got to go home with an awesome goody bag. The bags contained swag in many forms, including a wristband that was actually a thumb drive — and came stocked with books from both authors. (Read on to learn how you can win one of these thumb drives!)


Read More>>

Tags: Convention, Erotica
18COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Eden Bradley Busts The Myths Surrounding BDSM

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 23, 2012 | PERMALINK

The term "BDSM" might be new to you, perhaps you are just hearing about it in the wake of all the buzz around E.L. James’ enormously popular Fifty Shades books. There's no denying that the recent surge in popularity of erotic writing featuring BDSM has been pronounced, however, this also means that misconceptions about BDSM are flying faster than ever. Today author Eden Bradley (aka Eve Berlin), whose RT Top Pick! rated tale, The Dark Gardenhas just been digitally released, is our guide to the BDSM as she plays "mythbuster" and gets to some essential truths about this type of bedroom play.

Let’s begin with a definition of BDSM: The acronym "BDSM" stands for Bondage and Discipline, Domination and Submission, Sadism and Masochism. This includes a long and varied list of sexual and sensual practices with widely varying degrees of extremity.

MYTH: People who are into BDSM are scary perverts — run!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
22COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST