RT Daily Blog

Score An Invite To Daire St. Denis' Party Of Three

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 05, 2012 | PERMALINK

In Daire St. Denis' new release, the author creates a Party of Three that you will want to attend! This sizzling story of love between friends will have you questioning what you thought you knew about threesomes. Today the author stops by to answer our questions about this compelling erotic read and share a look at where she's headed next!

What was your inspiration for Party of Three

I wish I could tell you it was inspired by an experience back in college … but alas ... Do you ever have two similarly strange things and/or conversations that happen in close succession that make you go, hmmm? When it happens to me, it often foreshadows the birth of a story. I was out with friends one night and one of them was giving me the low-down on the local swinger’s scene. I was like, "What? We have a local swinger’s scene?" The answer, apparently, is "oh hell, yes!" Anyway, shortly after, a different friend lent me a DVD, Louis Theroux's Weird Weekends, a BBC documentary series where Louis goes around investigating fringe sub-cultures, in this case swinger’s parties. Without going into all the misfired synapses in my brain, Party of Three morphed from there. And yes, a swinger’s party does make an appearance in the book.


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Erotica
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: Thrown By A Curve The March 2013 Release In The Play-By-Play Series From Jaci Burton

BY Whitney Sullivan, MAY 30, 2012 | PERMALINK

I am not ashamed to admit that I love the covers of Jaci Burton’s Play-By-Play erotic romances. Just one look at those barely dressed professional athletes and I'm feeling hot, hot, hot! With the September 4th release date of book four, Playing to Win, fast approaching, I am getting very excited for a new sports hero to fall in love with. But just because we have to wait for the next story, doesn't mean more book covers aren't being revealed in the meantime.

That's right, Jaci has been obliging about dropping hints about book five, Thrown by a Curve, and readers who are “faithfully keeping up” (because “Internet stalking” is such an ugly phrase) we know that the story has already been turned into the editor, even though it isn’t slated to hit the shelves until March 2013. And now we've got a chance to check out the cover of TbaC.


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: Andrew Shaffer's upcoming Fifty Shames of Earl Grey

BY Elisa Verna, MAY 29, 2012 | PERMALINK

E.L. James’ Fifty Shades tsunami is causing a flood in the reading community, and I gotta say, I kind of feel like I’m drowning in it. The series has exploded, resulting in an upcoming film adaptation, waves of controversy (it's even being banned from a Florida public library system) and an upcoming parody, Fifty Shames of Earl Grey, from author (and RT reviewer) Andrew Shaffer.

James’ Fifty Shades of Grey, for those of you who have been living on the moon (because, really, if my grandma is asking me about the book, someone visiting the RT website probably knows what’s going on), was originally self-published as fan fiction and then released digitally and as a print-on-demand book through a small Australian publisher. Eventually the book began climbing bestseller lists and, after receiving unexpected media buzz from mainstream outlets, was snatched up by Vintage Books. The book then skyrocketed to the top of the NYT bestseller list, where it currently sits as #1. A happy turn of events for E.L. James’ writing career, for sure.

The story recounts the sexual awakening of college co-ed Anastasia Steele after she meets young, dominant millionaire Christian Grey. Grey introduces Steele to the world of BDSM. The two begin a Dominant/submissive relationship, with Christian controlling her physically and psychologically as Anastasia struggles to figure out if this is what she wants in a relationship.

But there’s been heaps of controversy over the series in the romance community. Many argue that the book, as a representation of the erotic fiction genre, just isn’t very good. (RT Book Reviews even released a reading list of BDSM and erotic fiction alternatives in our July issue.) And what better way to make fun of something that is so dividing and controversial than to write a parody?

For the project, Shaffer will take the pen name Fanny Merkin. (Yes, that is a wink-wink-nudge-nudge speak for a woman’s “downtown fun zone” and a swanky covering for said zone). As Merkin, he will be releasing a tongue-in-cheek novel that, like the original, tells the story of a young girl who meets a more sexually experienced man, Earl Grey. The tale will poke fun at the fan fiction roots of the Fifty Shades series, James’ sometimes overly-detailed writing style, as well as the story’s two protagonists and their relationship.


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Beyond E.L. James' Fifty Shades Of Grey

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 24, 2012 | PERMALINK

We are thrilled that E.L. James’ steamy erotic Fifty Shades series has captivated America’s attention and brought new readers to the erotic subgenre of BDSM. But for all the news the series has generated — the books were bought by a new publisher, the first book was optioned for film, there's an upcoming parody in the works and the series is at the center of a heated (pardon the pun) censorship debate — there's still one question that has not been answered to our satisfaction. Where do you go after (or instead of) Fifty Shades?


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: Curvy Girls Anthology Edited By Rachel Kramer Bussel

BY Elisa Verna, MAY 23, 2012 | PERMALINK

Honestly, looking at me it wouldn’t be hard to figure out, but because many of us RT staff members go without a face (unless you happen to catch us at a RT Convention) I’m going to go ahead and preface this post with a piece of information. It’s not the first time I admit this, but I rarely lead with this Fun Fact About Elisa: I’m a curvy girl. It’s the truth, I’ve got some extra stuff in some places. And you know what? I’m pretty okay with it. Living in New York City can kind of make me feel like the only Big Girl in the world at times, but overall, I think my body is pretty rockin’. So when I came across the Curvy Girls erotica anthology, edited by Rachel Kramer Bussel, I knew I’d be reading it.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Dawn And Janine Dish: Wolf Hills By Bianca D'Arc

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 18, 2012 | PERMALINK

We continue our month of Dishing about e-books with RT reviewers Dawn and Janine's discussion of Bianca D’Arc’s latest digital tale, Wolf Hills. Rated an RT Top Pick! erotic romance, the author’s new story is a thrilling addition to her sexy, paranormal Brotherhood of Blood series. But unlike previous entries that focused on vampires, the hero of Wolf Hills is a powerful Alpha werewolf named Jason Moore who recognizes his mate is detective Sally Decker — but he’ll have a hard time convincing her that he’s more than vacation fling material!

Dawn: I absolutely, positively love a strong heroine and Sally Decker more than meets my requirements. She’s a police detective from San Francisco and she will make you want to be a more kick-butt woman.

Janine: So true, Sally certainly inspires me. She doesn’t flinch in the face of criminals, knows how to fight when necessary and is not shy about pulling her weapon (with the intent to fire it) if the situation calls for it.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mari Carr And Jayne Rylon On Co-Writing Their Compass Brothers Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 14, 2012 | PERMALINK

We love a great steamy read as much as the next erotic romance fan, but what's better than a hot tale written by a talented author? A series of four sizzling stories written by two genre favorites. Mari Carr and Jayne Rylon are wrapping up their Compass Brothers series this month, which tells the stories of the cowboy Compton brothers and their adventures in finding true love. We asked the authors to share their experiences co-writing the series and if their plans to team up again in the future. 


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: Until Paris By Ellen Trubody

BY Whitney Sullivan, MAY 10, 2012 | PERMALINK

I don’t normally review erotica. Not because I don’t read it, I certainly do, but there’s rarely a story that motivates me to share my opinion. I’m very much a “to each her (or his) own” kind of gal, which can make rating a reviewing a book more difficult than the time it takes. I’m explaining all of this so you’ll know that I don’t give out a 4 ½ star Top Pick lightly. And if I’ve ever read an erotica that deserved this rating, it is Ellen Trubody’s historical erotic romance Until Paris.

Wills and Emma have been married for seven years and until recently they’ve shared an extremely passionate relationship. But when a miscarriage threatens Emma’s life, her doctor husband decides to relocate to a new town — alone. Wills knows that if Emma gets pregnant again, the resulting complications will be tantamount to signing a death warrant. She will never survive it, so he exiles himself to Bath. Emma sends Wills letters begging him to return, but as each goes unanswered, she decides the only course of action is to move to Paris and start over as a single woman. When the story opens she’s come to Bath to say goodbye to her husband for a final time — but can Wills prove he’s found a solution that will give them both satisfaction?

 

Here are my five reasons this e-book has won a spot on my keeper shelf:


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Feel The Burn Erotica Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 09, 2012 | PERMALINK

The temperature is rising and we are celebrating the coming heat with a special prize pack full of sexy reads that will inspire your desire. There's something for everyone in this set of new releases, but be prepared, all these adult stories may just make you pull out the electric fan (or turn on the air conditional) earlier than expected.

If you love nothing more than to curl up with a delicious erotic romance, you'll be pleased to win this prize pack. Complete with three tales of love and lust, one lucky winner will get their hands on Jaci Burton's Play-By-Play book, Changing the Game. A sexy pro-athlete, a reluctant heroine and a seduction that will make you sizzle are all signature elements of this fantastic series. However, if you feel like walking on the wild side, well, don't doubt for a moment that today's giveaway will also meet all of your needs. So what else is on the menu?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
67COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Fifty Shades Banned From Florida Public Library System

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 04, 2012 | PERMALINK

For those of you who thought the buzz around E.L. James’ Fifty Shades series was slowing down — the books were bought by a new publisher, the first book was optioned for film and most recently we reported on an upcoming parody is in the works — it seems that these books are still making headlines. They are now at the center of a censorship debate. Today, a Florida Today article reported that the Fifty Shades erotica trilogy by has been removed from Florida’s Brevard County Public Libraries system.

The trilogy follows college student Anastasia Steele and 27-year-old billionaire Christian Grey as they embark on a relationship. Christian introduces Ana to his BDSM lifestyle, and more famously his “Red Room of Pain,” where the majority of the couple’s BDSM activities take place.


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST