RT Daily Blog

Extended Review: Saved From A Killer By Miranda Stowe

BY Dawn Crowne, DECEMBER 01, 2011 | PERMALINK

I hate to give one star reviews. I just hate it.

I have lots of author friends and I know how much time goes into crafting a story. It takes effort to get to know a hero and heroine. It is difficult choosing the right descriptors for the setting and plotting the story.

So it is always hard to give a one star review.

Unfortunately, I have to report that “Saved From a Killer” by Miranda Stowe has just received a one. A romantic suspense erotica, the story picks up as Jenna Daggert is found by Deputy Joseph Morgan. Captured weeks earlier, Jenna has endured abuse at the hands of the Miners Bend Woman Snatcher but because of drugs, she barely remembers her experiences. However, the cuts and bruises on her body tell the story of her trauma.

Just a day after being released from the hospital, Jenna decides it is time to speed up her recovery, so she wants to experiment, sexually, with the man who saved her. Joseph makes her feel safe and she hopes that being intimate with him can help her heal.


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Alisha Rai On Reinventing Hades

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

Erotic romance author Alisha Rai takes on one of mythology's worst (or is it best?) bad boys with her latest project. Discover what drew the author to the ultimate bad boy  — Hades — and the five ways she re-imagined him for "Hot as Hades".

I love a good Bad Boy. 

That fascination is probably why, when I visited the British Museum last year, I kept circling back to a sculpture depicting the Greek God of the Underworld, Hades, stealing his bride Persephone away to his dark abode. In a pantheon of philandering deities, I suppose the committed couple also appealed to my romantic side. 

Sadly, I could never write their story. Hades was just too bad of a Bad Boy. Irredeemable. I mean, just look at the way he allegedly handled courting Persephone. 

Oh, that word. Allegedly. 

Right then, I mentally cleared my schedule and said goodbye to any prospect of keeping my kitchen clean for the indefinite future. Because maybe—and yes, I pray if I ever have a teenage girl, she never says these words about a boy—maybe Hades was just plain misunderstood. 


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: Going Up By Lena Matthews

BY Dawn Crowne, NOVEMBER 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Going Up” the new contemporary erotic novella from Lena Matthews is pure fantasy fulfillment. In the story, heroine Koko Brown acts on her exhibition tendencies by exploring herself sexually the elevator of the local office building.

Every Tuesday and Thursday, Koko delivers lunch from her deli to Sarraf Enterprises. And regardless of whether there are people in the high-rise elevator or not, Koko can’t seem to stop from touching herself. Looking for a sexual thrill, the only thing that separates Koko from the occupants in the elevator is her small lunch cart. Yet while other people in the elevator are unaware of what she is doing in the corner, the “eye in the sky” security cameras catch her Koko’s entire act.

The head of security of Sarraf Enterprises, Reese Desoto has a front row seat to Koko’s sexy exhibitions. But he has grown tired of having the building’s security guards watching her. Even though Reece has never met Koko, he feels protective of her and wants her erotic moments all to himself.


Read More>>

Tags: Erotic Romance, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: Strangers No More By Lynne Connolly

BY Dawn Crowne, NOVEMBER 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

Lynne Connolly’s new contemporary erotica novella, "Strangers No More", starts with a relatable problem. Heroine Whitney Carmichael’s personal life is in complete shambles, something she attributes to her unfortunate looks. Whitney takes pride in her physique, but she dislikes her large nose and facial moles. While many readers will be able to understand and empathize with her insecurities, not everyone will be comfortable with the drastic action Whitney takes to find affirmation that she is attractive. In order to have a fulfilling sex life, she registers at a website called Stranger Danger, an website where strangers get each other’s information so they can meet up for anonymous sex.


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Delilah Devlin Takes Readers Behind The Scenes Of Girls Who Bite

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 02, 2011 | PERMALINK

 alt=

Erotica author Delilah Devlin is known for her sizzling paranormal tales. The new erotic anthology, Girls Who Bite, which Devlin edited, is no exception. Today, RT reviewer Dawn Crowne chats with the author about the inspiration for the collection, lesbian erotic romance and what readers can expect to see next from this hot talent.

***

Girls Who Bite is a collection of lesbian vampire erotica. What made you decide to make this the theme of the anthology?


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

October's Genre News: Erotica - Behind The Scenes Of Four Author's Projects

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

We know that when it comes to the erotica genre, you guys are ravenous for more. (And we don’t blame you; these spicy reads are positively addictive!) So today we are bringing you the latest erotica news and what’s making headlines in the genre!

***

Jaci Burton reveals the cover copy for her December release, "A Rare Gift." The story will also be included in a collection of Carina Press holiday novellas. Works from Shannon Stacey, HelenKay Dimon and Alison Kent will round out the anthology. You can read the cover copy for "A Rare Gift" below, and learn more about the Carina collection, Holiday Kisses, here.

"With a disastrous marriage behind him, Wyatt Kent has no interest in getting involved with any woman, let alone his ex-wife’s younger sister. But when Calliope Andrews hires him to build an addition onto her daycare center, Wyatt can’t help but notice she’s a desirable woman, as warm and funny as his ex was cold and aloof.


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Delphine Dryden On 'The Lamplighter's Love'

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Delphine Dryden's latest tale, "The Lamplighter's Love", has RT's Dawn Crowne raving, "This novella is steampunk erotica at its best!" What inspired the story that has heroine Mary Cross monitoring the steam engines that keep Victorian England running? Delphine Dryden answers our questions in this exclusive author interview.

***

For such a short story, there is certainly a lot happening in “The Lamplighter’s Love”. There are steampunk mechanisms, a historical setting, a power driven villain and the blossoming love affair between your main characters Mary and Nicholas. When you were first pitching this story to your editor, how did you explain it?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Mari Carr

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 30, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Mari Carr's new erotic romance novel Slam Dunk is now available, the sixth book in the Black and White collection and a sequel to Happy Hour. Today you can get a look behind the scenes of the author's recent novels and upcoming projects in this video interview with RT's Morgan Doremus. And then find out who helps critique this author's work, how she fits time to write around her day job and what she advice she has for aspiring authors!

Behind The Scenes With Mari Carr >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Keep The Heat Turned High: Enter To Win An Erotic Romance Prize Pack

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

As fall temperatures edge out the hot weather, RT is determined to keep the summer heat wave going. And how better to do that than with some erotic reads? 


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
38COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Hidden Depths Of Rachel Kramer Bussel

BY Morgan Doremus, AUGUST 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

At first glance, Rachel Kramer Bussel doesn’t look like the kind of person that would stand up in front of an audience and talk dirty. That’s not to say that I am an expert at identifying erotica authors, but surely this petite brunette cannot have said what I thought she just said. But there Bussel stood, under the dimmed red lights of Fontana’s Bar in NYC’s Bowery district, freely discussing topics most people would term "not suitable for polite company". Dropping explicit euphemisms for male genitalia and casually outlining sex acts, Bussel’s outlandish language sent not one, but two cocktail waitresses into hiding in the back room.

But whether it was hearing this “nice girl” drop the c-word or just the generally jovial atmosphere, the audience was held spellbound by the unconventional author. And for her part, Bussel looked very comfortable as the center of attention. But then again, she has experience at this type of thing. For the past six years she has hosted the monthly In The Flesh Erotic Reading Series which brings together an eclectic mix of erotic authors, fans and curious onlookers to listen to everything from “erotic poetry to down and dirty smut”. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST