RT Daily Blog

Extended Excerpt: Raising Kane by Lorelei James

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

Check out a peek between the covers of Lorelei James' newest erotica novel, Raising Kane. This extended excerpt will introduce you Kane McKay, and the women he's doing his best to keep out of his midnight fantasies — and his heart — single mother Ginger Paulson.

***

Kane parked in the nearly empty hospital parking lot. He entered through the front doors. After shaking the snow off his hat, he stood there like a dumbass, wondering what the hell to do next.
The blowsy blonde manning the information desk looked all of seventeen. But that didn’t stop her from offering him a lewd once-over and licking her shellacked lips. “Well, hello, cowboy. You lost? Or is something broken and needin’ some fixin’?”

“Neither. A…friend of mine was brought in a little while ago.”

“Male or female friend?” the receptionist cooed.

“Female. Her family can’t get here so they sent me to get some information.”


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: Collide by Megan Hart

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

Emm Moser suffers from “fugue states” – seizure-like blackouts that cause her to hallucinate, the result of a childhood accident. As an adult, Emm meets Johnny Dellasandro, a hot-as-sin painter who starred in a series of raunchy films in the ‘70s, at a local coffee shop. Emm is almost thirty years younger than Johnny, but, during her fugue states, she hallucinates vivid encounters between herself and a much-younger Johnny in 1970s New York City.

While Johnny seemingly ignores her advances in the present day, the Johnny of her dreams can’t keep his hands off of her. The dream sequences are a great excuse to spice up the story with hot, unencumbered sex, which Hart excels at writing.

Besides slipping unconscious and slipping under the covers with Johnny (in her fugue states), Emm’s life consists of gossiping with her best friend at a coffee shop and chatting with her mother on the phone. The story really starts moving when Emm and Johnny finally “collide” in the present day.

While I’m sure some readers will be skeptical of a romantic hero who is nearly twice the heroine’s age, all I can say is that, in the context of Hart’s story, it works. Johnny’s not some creepy old dude preying on young women – in fact, if anyone is being a creeper, it’s Emm:


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Excerpt: Northern Exposure by Jayne Rylon and Mari Carr

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Check out a peek at Jayne Rylon and Mari Carr's co-authored erotica e-book, Northern Exposure. This extended excerpt will introduce you to the Compton brothers and find out why the oldest, Silas, has decided to leave his ranch and the two people that mean the most to him.

***

Dry brush crackled under the hooves of Silas Compton’s roan gelding. It hadn’t rained in a while. He could tell it would be a long summer by the clouds of terra cotta dust rising in the wake of his brothers’ galloping horses as they raced across the mountain ridge.

Not that he’d know it where he was headed. Alaska would provide a total change of scenery. Exactly what he needed. Pain lanced his chest, causing him to tense in his heirloom saddle. Rainey’s ears flicked up. Silas patted the loyal animal’s neck, settling into the rhythm of their canter, and wondered how he would survive so far from the land that had been a part of him since he’d been born.

Somehow he would have to make it work.

He sure as hell couldn’t stay.

Like the three-legged dog they’d had as kids, he would learn to cope without an integral part of himself. If only he and his puppy had reined in their curiosity and avoided those damn traps…

But they hadn’t.


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kate Douglas Shares How Wolf Tales Came To Be ...

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

In honor of wrapping up her incredibly popular Wolf Tales series, author Kate Douglas hosts a very special giveaway and reflects on the evolution of the erotica series which spawned a publishing imprint, more than twelve stories and a legion of fans. Today Douglas goes behind the scenes to take us back to the very beginning of the Wolf Tales in a special look at how her pack has thrived!

It feels almost as if it was another lifetime when I sat down and wrote my first chapter of Wolf Tales for Margaret Riley, owner/publisher of Changeling Press. I signed that first contract for Stefan, Book 1 of Wolf Tales, on March 1, 2004. The story had evolved out of a “freebie” 1000 word short I’d written for a reader’s loop about an unconscious young woman who is rescued by an unknown man, has delicious sex all night long and awakens back on the side of the road with no idea who her savior was or if she’ll ever see him again.

Margaret, better known as M to her authors and buddies, had asked me for a short, hot novella to launch her new publishing company. I expanded the short story, decided that my hero was going to be half human and half something else, named him Stefan Aragat and eventually decided he was a shapeshifter who was caught half way between shifts. At first I wasn’t sure what he was going to shift into, but then I did some research and stumbled across a sub-species of Tibetan wolf, locally called "Chanku". From that one word, my series was born.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
43COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Readers "Feel The Heat" With This Month's Erotica Anthology Featuring Firefighters

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

We challenge you to find a woman (or man) who doesn't love firefighters. There is something primal about the heroic nature of someone who will defy their survival instincts in order to rush into fires, not to mention these heroes' physical prowess (and those sexy calendars they come out with). But what actually makes these men and women so hot? Today authors Lorie O'Clare, P.J. Mellor and Lydia Parks chat about the many inspirations for the firefighters of their new erotic romance anthology Feel the Heat, three men who are definitely raising our blood temperature!

Lorie O’Clare says ...

Many of you may have gotten your impression of firefighters from the TV show Rescue Me, and hey, it's a great show. I have it on DVD. :) But after interviewing several firefighters from different houses, listening to their stories, and witnessing for myself the strength and powerful character traits all of them possess, there wasn’t any doubt in my mind I wanted to write about this dangerous and action packed line of work.


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Excerpt: Bethany Kane's Addicted To You

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

Check out a peek between the covers of Bethany Kane's newest erotica novel, Addicted to You. This extended excerpt will introduce you to the still grieving Rill who has lost the love of his life and his friend Katie who refuses to let him spiral out of control. 

***

She leaned back when he placed his hand at the side of her head. When she looked up at him, Katie abruptly became aware of how blue his eyes were, how thick his lashes were ... how her belly pressed against the fullness between his thighs. Everett, Eden, Rill and Katie had been friends for years now. She’d hugged Rill countless times. She’d never had cause to feel ashamed hugging him before.


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

How A Visit To A BDSM Club Inspired A Series Of Anthologies — With Excerpt!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

A couple years back, authors Cherise Sinclair and Belinda McBride took a "research fieldtrip" to San Francisco's Citadel, a well-known BDSM club. After their evening at the Citadel, they sat down to exchange notes on the experience and realized how differently they experienced the club. One thing led to another, and they decided to pitch a BDSM anthology to Loose Id. The idea would be three different women visiting a fictional club called Dark Haven on the same night. Fellow author Sierra Cartwright came on board and this month's Doms of Dark Haven was born. Today the authors answer our questions about the anthology and discuss what's coming next ...

***

 


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Erotica
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

These Three May Novels Are Supernatural, Spicy And Proud Of It!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month there are three seriously spicy paranormals heating up the bookstore shelves. Virna DePaul, Karin Tabke and Denise Rossetti have each released paranormal reads with heat ratings that match the rising summer temperatures! To find out more about the caliente scenes in these sexy supernatural stories we went straight to the authors:

 

Blood Law
By Karin Tabke

Sons of Anarchy meets Rise of the Lycan. Blood Law is a story of primal survival. Of love, transcending age old hate. For this passionate love story to resonate, there was only one way to go: to paraphrase [the review of my book on] lovinmesomeromance, "It's stripped free of comedic humor and cumbersome layers leaving only the raw flesh and bones. No taboo is left unscathed and no soft words are used to cushion the often shocking and primal sexuality..."

     

Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Stephanie Julian's What A Goddess Wants

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Stephanie Julian's upcoming series Forgotten Goddesses which begins in July with What a Goddess Wants. We go beyond the back cover blurb with the author who shares how this erotic paranormal romance puts a new spin on little known Etruscan goddesses.

***

What a Goddess Wants is the first in the Forgotten Goddesses erotic romance series from Sourcebooks Casablanca. The book features a beautiful goddess, a handsome hero, a nasty blue demon and a magical community that’s coexisted with ours in secret for several millennia.

Tessa is the Etruscan Goddess of the Sun, formerly adored by millions (well, that might be pushing it a little), but who’s now living in relative obscurity in Reading, Pennsylvania, where much of the Etruscan population has been settled for two hundred years.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Erotica Genre News

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

We know that when it comes to the erotica genre, you guys are ravenous for more. (And we don’t blame you; these spicy reads are positively addictive!) So today we are bringing you the latest news about the RT BOOK REVIEWS Erotica page and what’s making headlines on the genre!

RT ANNOUNCES:

Today we are pleased to roll out an all-new feature on this page, the Steamy Shorts section. Each week you can check the right hand side of our Erotica Page for a new *Web Exclusive Review* of an erotica novella. This week Steamy Shorts features three very different tales of steamy situations in fewer than 100 pages!

IN THE NEWS:

Like many of you, we are watching the story unfold about erotica author Judy Mays aka public school teacher Judy Buranich, whose job may be on the line after she was “outted” as an erotica author. Although several of her students and their parents were already aware of Buranich’s published novels, it became big news when a story was run about the teacher/author on her local news station here. Folks across the Internet came together to support Judy including this video from a student who refutes what some are saying about this teacher and author!

 


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST