RT Daily Blog

Author Interview: Delphine Dryden On 'The Lamplighter's Love'

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Delphine Dryden's latest tale, "The Lamplighter's Love", has RT's Dawn Crowne raving, "This novella is steampunk erotica at its best!" What inspired the story that has heroine Mary Cross monitoring the steam engines that keep Victorian England running? Delphine Dryden answers our questions in this exclusive author interview.

***

For such a short story, there is certainly a lot happening in “The Lamplighter’s Love”. There are steampunk mechanisms, a historical setting, a power driven villain and the blossoming love affair between your main characters Mary and Nicholas. When you were first pitching this story to your editor, how did you explain it?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Mari Carr

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 30, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Mari Carr's new erotic romance novel Slam Dunk is now available, the sixth book in the Black and White collection and a sequel to Happy Hour. Today you can get a look behind the scenes of the author's recent novels and upcoming projects in this video interview with RT's Morgan Doremus. And then find out who helps critique this author's work, how she fits time to write around her day job and what she advice she has for aspiring authors!

Behind The Scenes With Mari Carr >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Keep The Heat Turned High: Enter To Win An Erotic Romance Prize Pack

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

As fall temperatures edge out the hot weather, RT is determined to keep the summer heat wave going. And how better to do that than with some erotic reads? 


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
38COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Hidden Depths Of Rachel Kramer Bussel

BY Morgan Doremus, AUGUST 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

At first glance, Rachel Kramer Bussel doesn’t look like the kind of person that would stand up in front of an audience and talk dirty. That’s not to say that I am an expert at identifying erotica authors, but surely this petite brunette cannot have said what I thought she just said. But there Bussel stood, under the dimmed red lights of Fontana’s Bar in NYC’s Bowery district, freely discussing topics most people would term "not suitable for polite company". Dropping explicit euphemisms for male genitalia and casually outlining sex acts, Bussel’s outlandish language sent not one, but two cocktail waitresses into hiding in the back room.

But whether it was hearing this “nice girl” drop the c-word or just the generally jovial atmosphere, the audience was held spellbound by the unconventional author. And for her part, Bussel looked very comfortable as the center of attention. But then again, she has experience at this type of thing. For the past six years she has hosted the monthly In The Flesh Erotic Reading Series which brings together an eclectic mix of erotic authors, fans and curious onlookers to listen to everything from “erotic poetry to down and dirty smut”. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Win Three New Erotic Romances!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Erotic romance fans, spice up your collection of paranormal reads with this three-book prize pack of new releases!

Who will you be falling in love with? Vampire hero Malachai, the Native American with a talent for healing animals, in Vampire Instinct by Joey W. Hill. Or maybe you'll be captivated by Sydney Croft's lastest ACRO agent, Stryker, who is on a mission to kill his partner's murderer until he falls for the enemy in Taken by Fire. And we wouldn't be the least surprised if it were Sir Thomas Lynne to catch your fancy. After all a very respectable Regency woman falls for his charms in Marissa Day's The Surrender of Lady Jane.

Excited to fall for these three bad boys? You won't have to wait long. We are giving away a prize pack that includes Malachai, Stryker and Sir Thomas' books. To enter, leave a comment telling us which hero from these stories has you most intrigued. The winner will be announced on July 26!

 


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
26COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Greek Escape: Susan Lyons Shares Her Inspiration

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month readers can beat the heat with a great (fictional) escape, Heat Waves by Susan Lyons. This erotica author's newest novel transports readers to the shores of the Greek Islands by way of a fabulous cruise and two romances that bloom while the passengers are on board. 

Heat Waves, my July release from Berkley Heat is my third destination wedding book. I had so much fun writing Sex on the Beach (Belize) and Sex on the Slopes (Whistler) that I was dying to write another.

When I thought about where the book should be set, I had one of those “aha!” moments. Greece! My favorite place in the world after my own beloved Pacific Northwest.


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Excerpt: Raising Kane by Lorelei James

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

Check out a peek between the covers of Lorelei James' newest erotica novel, Raising Kane. This extended excerpt will introduce you Kane McKay, and the women he's doing his best to keep out of his midnight fantasies — and his heart — single mother Ginger Paulson.

***

Kane parked in the nearly empty hospital parking lot. He entered through the front doors. After shaking the snow off his hat, he stood there like a dumbass, wondering what the hell to do next.
The blowsy blonde manning the information desk looked all of seventeen. But that didn’t stop her from offering him a lewd once-over and licking her shellacked lips. “Well, hello, cowboy. You lost? Or is something broken and needin’ some fixin’?”

“Neither. A…friend of mine was brought in a little while ago.”

“Male or female friend?” the receptionist cooed.

“Female. Her family can’t get here so they sent me to get some information.”


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: Collide by Megan Hart

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

Emm Moser suffers from “fugue states” – seizure-like blackouts that cause her to hallucinate, the result of a childhood accident. As an adult, Emm meets Johnny Dellasandro, a hot-as-sin painter who starred in a series of raunchy films in the ‘70s, at a local coffee shop. Emm is almost thirty years younger than Johnny, but, during her fugue states, she hallucinates vivid encounters between herself and a much-younger Johnny in 1970s New York City.

While Johnny seemingly ignores her advances in the present day, the Johnny of her dreams can’t keep his hands off of her. The dream sequences are a great excuse to spice up the story with hot, unencumbered sex, which Hart excels at writing.

Besides slipping unconscious and slipping under the covers with Johnny (in her fugue states), Emm’s life consists of gossiping with her best friend at a coffee shop and chatting with her mother on the phone. The story really starts moving when Emm and Johnny finally “collide” in the present day.

While I’m sure some readers will be skeptical of a romantic hero who is nearly twice the heroine’s age, all I can say is that, in the context of Hart’s story, it works. Johnny’s not some creepy old dude preying on young women – in fact, if anyone is being a creeper, it’s Emm:


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Excerpt: Northern Exposure by Jayne Rylon and Mari Carr

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Check out a peek at Jayne Rylon and Mari Carr's co-authored erotica e-book, Northern Exposure. This extended excerpt will introduce you to the Compton brothers and find out why the oldest, Silas, has decided to leave his ranch and the two people that mean the most to him.

***

Dry brush crackled under the hooves of Silas Compton’s roan gelding. It hadn’t rained in a while. He could tell it would be a long summer by the clouds of terra cotta dust rising in the wake of his brothers’ galloping horses as they raced across the mountain ridge.

Not that he’d know it where he was headed. Alaska would provide a total change of scenery. Exactly what he needed. Pain lanced his chest, causing him to tense in his heirloom saddle. Rainey’s ears flicked up. Silas patted the loyal animal’s neck, settling into the rhythm of their canter, and wondered how he would survive so far from the land that had been a part of him since he’d been born.

Somehow he would have to make it work.

He sure as hell couldn’t stay.

Like the three-legged dog they’d had as kids, he would learn to cope without an integral part of himself. If only he and his puppy had reined in their curiosity and avoided those damn traps…

But they hadn’t.


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kate Douglas Shares How Wolf Tales Came To Be ...

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

In honor of wrapping up her incredibly popular Wolf Tales series, author Kate Douglas hosts a very special giveaway and reflects on the evolution of the erotica series which spawned a publishing imprint, more than twelve stories and a legion of fans. Today Douglas goes behind the scenes to take us back to the very beginning of the Wolf Tales in a special look at how her pack has thrived!

It feels almost as if it was another lifetime when I sat down and wrote my first chapter of Wolf Tales for Margaret Riley, owner/publisher of Changeling Press. I signed that first contract for Stefan, Book 1 of Wolf Tales, on March 1, 2004. The story had evolved out of a “freebie” 1000 word short I’d written for a reader’s loop about an unconscious young woman who is rescued by an unknown man, has delicious sex all night long and awakens back on the side of the road with no idea who her savior was or if she’ll ever see him again.

Margaret, better known as M to her authors and buddies, had asked me for a short, hot novella to launch her new publishing company. I expanded the short story, decided that my hero was going to be half human and half something else, named him Stefan Aragat and eventually decided he was a shapeshifter who was caught half way between shifts. At first I wasn’t sure what he was going to shift into, but then I did some research and stumbled across a sub-species of Tibetan wolf, locally called "Chanku". From that one word, my series was born.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
43COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST