RT Daily Blog

Video Interview: Erotic Romance Author Logan Belle On Blue Angel - With Excerpt!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Logan Belle has just released her burlesque-centric erotic romance novel, this month's Blue Angel. Get an insider look at this unusual tale that follows protagonist Mallory as she learns about the world of burlesque and comes out of her shell to embrace the power of her sexuality. Today the author chats with RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus about researching burlesque clubs and Mallory's transformation. And after the video, don't miss your chance to check out an excerpt of Blue Angel.

Logan Belle On Blue Angel >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>

Read the excerpt of Blue Angel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Joely Sue Burkhart On Menage Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

Joely Sue Burkhart, the author of the futuristic erotic romance Lady Doctor Wyre talks about her fascination with love triangles and why in her worlds, the lady always gets her men.

Have you ever wondered what would have happened to Camelot if Guinevere had managed to work out a relationship with both King Arthur and Lancelot? Would Arthur have died at Camden if his best knight of the Round Table had been at his side? I think about that Kiss (I capitalize it because it was so wow *fans face*) in First Knight between Lancelot (Richard Gere) and Guinevere (Julia Ormond), the look on King Arthur's (Sean Connery, swoons!) face, and I can't help but wonder...

What would have happened if he'd taken her into his arms and kissed her soundly too?

Why does the lady have to CHOOSE?


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tina Donahue Discusses Her "Heroine With Grit"

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

Tina Donahue reflects on where her stories begin and gives readers a special look at Toni Starr, the heroine of her new erotic romance Sensual Stranger.

For those of you new to my work, I write contemporary, erotic and paranormal romance with a liberal dose of sensuality and emotional depth. What I like to call heat with heart. For me, a romance novel without tenderness is akin to sex without passion. Hardly satisfying. No, when I read—when I write—I want the story to stir me. I’m not satisfied until it causes me to sigh with expectation or brings me to laughter and tears.

And it all begins with a novel’s characters.


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
51COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2011: Covering The Erotica Genre

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

This year's erotica program at the RT Booklovers Convention was captained by author Sharon Page. So we went straight to the source to find out what her goals were as she created the sessions, which included Wednesday's "Teaching Harry How to do Sally" with Lauren Dane, Kate Pearce and Kayla Perrin and "Erotica's New Dawn: Sex, Lies and the Erotica Market" on Friday Morning with Kelli Collins, the Editor-in-Chief of Erotica's Cave, literary agent Miriam Kriss and author Janet Miller aka Cricket Starr. Get a special look at these panels that focused on the craft and business sides of today's erotic reads.

Sharon Page, Lauren Dane, Kate Pearce
and Kayla Perrin on Wednesday's Panel


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2011: Readers Get Racy At An Explicit Game Of Purple Prose Taboo Game

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Some romances are sweet, some are spicy, and a few authors walk the fine line between the two. But in today's Purple Prose Taboo game the focus was on the graphic language that takes a steamy relationship to the next level. Authors Victoria Dahl, Tessa Dare and Courtney Milan are all known for their titillating sex scenes in their romance novels. But today they were put on the spot as they led readers in an explicit version of the popular board game Taboo. The room was filled with laughter as authors challenged readers to "guess that purple prose!"


While the fun was going on, we got a chance to chat with the authors about what inspired them to host this workshop and what exactly qualifies as 'purple prose'. 

*READER WARNING* some of their answers are NSFW (not safe for work) and include graphic sexual language.

***

Victoria Dahl got us started ...


Read More>>

Tags: Convention, Erotica, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Interview With Erotica Author Sunny And Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 01, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today RT’s Web Editor Morgan Doremus chats with paranormal erotic romance author Sunny about her popular Mona Lisa and Lucinda series, how she transitioned into her career as an erotica author and what fans can expect next!

Morgan: I would love to start out by discussing your most well known books, the Mona Lisa series which features the Monères race. While these characters are technically aliens since they originated on the moon, your stories are generally labeled 'paranormal' rather than 'science fiction' — why do you think this is?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
34COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Elizabeth Amber's Bastian

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 25, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at the next in Elizabeth Amber's Lords of Satyr series, Bastian. We go beyond the back cover blurb for this special look at this historical, paranormal, erotic romance which will hit bookstores the end of April.

***

Infamous for his uncanny ability to make amazing archeological finds in the Roman Forum with unerring ease, and more highly sexed than most of his kind, Bastian Satyr is both greatly admired and envied. Although he knows exactly how to cherish a woman’s body, he is seemingly incapable of giving and receiving love. Visions from the past threaten his heritage and all he has worked for as he searches for the elusive Temple of the Vestal Virgins.

Silvia is an Ephemeral with ties to the ancient Vestals. She seeks to use Bastian in a daring attempt to rescue a particular artifact that once belonged to her—an opal that creates a firegate through which interworld travel is possible. But she never expected or wanted to love him. For she cannot have him--Bastian belongs to her dearest friend Michaela.


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Ann Bruce On The Heroine Of Dark Side Of Dreaming

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

Ann Bruce talks about finding the purrfect inspiration for the heroine of her new erotic romance Dark Side of Dreaming. Cleo Moran is a former cat burglar who is channelling one of the sexiest villains of all time — but will this be enough to help her steal back a missing family heirloom from the man who has both the priceless artifact as well as her heart?

It started with a scene so vivid I could’ve stepped into the room and touched the furnishings, felt the warmth of the air, talked to the characters. Kind of like the Netflix commercials currently bombarding unsuspecting television viewers everywhere.


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Meg Maguire (AKA Cara McKenna) On The Difference Between Writing Romance And Erotica

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month Meg Maguire impressed us with her Harlequin Blaze debut, Caught on Camera. The tale overflows with witty banter between the heroine and hero, who take a chance on their chemistry to turn a work relationship into something much more. Today Maguire, best known for the erotic romances she writes as Cara McKenna, gives us an inside look at her series romance and reveals the challenges of writing across genres. 

Thanks so much for having me today!

For those who haven’t heard of me—which is nearly everyone—I actively write contemporary romance, as well as erotica (under the name Cara McKenna). When I was invited to post, I was asked to talk about the differences I encounter, writing in my two genres. My romances are rather steamy and explicit, so on the surface the differences may not seem so great, aside from the obvious—the numbers of bodies rolling around and the particular bedroom shenanigans they get up to. But the differences run quite a bit deeper than that. The main genre rift for me is all about the external conflict, or lack thereof.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Lauren Dane's Mesmerized

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Lauren Dane's new novel, Mesmerized. We go beyond the back cover blurb for a special look at this futuristic erotica, which will hit bookstores early April.

***

Mesmerized is book two in my Phantom Corps miniseries, which is part of the Federation Chronicles series of futuristic erotic romances. This one has a little bit of a hat tip to Firefly (loved that show!). 

Mesmerized tells the story of Andrei Solace, one of the elite Phantom Corps team. A man of few words, who does not let too many people in past his silent façade, he’s been a bit of a mystery in the series. 

War has begun to break out and the enemy of The Federated Universes is using ‘Verses on the frontier with Imperialist territory to smuggle. Just what and why is a mystery they’re beginning to solve. So Phantom Corps teams are sent to get answers. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST