RT Daily Blog

Mark Henry on Making the Switch

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

Urban Fantasy author Mark Henry talks about a writer’s best weapon again the threat of unemployment: the ability to diversify. Today marks the release of his first erotic tale, Stocking Full of Coal, writing under the name Amanda Feral. Get all the details about how this new novel came to be and don’t miss the *Web Exclusive Review* of the story at the end of this post! 

Writers get a lot of questions. What font do you use? Where do you get your ideas? Do you ever bathe? But one that’s been popping up a lot recently is: can you really make a living as a lower midlist author with very little other marketable skills?

The answer is an unequivocal maybe, often accompanied by a shrug.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Beth Kery on Amnesia, Sex and the Alpha Male - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 06, 2010 | PERMALINK

With a hunky ex-navy hero, steamy love scenes and a whole lot of suspense, Beth Kery's new erotic romance, Explosive, is just what the doctor ordered to clear away the winter doldrums. Now the author talks about the influence of her favorite soap opera on the creation of Explosive and goes behind the scenes to share the spin she put on her classic alpha hero. And don't miss your chance to win a copy of the new novel at the end of the post!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
17COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

From Torture to Titillation

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 02, 2010 | PERMALINK

Erotica author Kate Willoughby talks about the origins of the type of bondage that hero Max practices in her new novel Fit To Be Tied. And be sure to check out the *Web Exclusive Review* at the end of the post!

When I began writing Fit To Be Tied, trying to flesh out the hero of the story, I thought it might be fun if he were into bondage, but not your run of the mill “let’s try handcuffs, baby” bondage. Something different but not too kinky. Thank goodness for the Internet! After some web surfing, I found out about Japanese rope bondage, or shibari, and was fascinated.


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sarah McCarty Goes Behind The Scenes Of Tracker's Sin

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 15, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Sarah McCarty has a reputation for creating sizzling historical erotic romance. Her latest novel, Tracker's Sin, is no exception. Discover how the author blends her signature heat with the serious topics of absue, racism and post-traumatic stress disorder in Tracker's Sin. And don’t miss the EXCERPT at the end of the post.

None of us lives in a vacuum. All our experiences, good and bad, make up the fabric of who we are. There are places in the material of our lives that show the wear of hard use, and others that demonstrate the perfection of the weave. But if the warp was laid right, the fabric will be strong and any tears once mended, will be that much stronger. It's the same for characters in a novel.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Megan Hart

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 06, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Megan Hart's third Order of Solace novel, Selfish Is the Heart, was released this week. Now the author goes behind the scenes of her series in this interview with RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus. Hart shares the inspiration for her handmaidens, her definition of solace and the difference between romance and erotica.

Megan Hart Discusses Her Order of Solace Series >>

Megan Hart Considers What Is the "Right Amount" of Character Angst >>

Megan Hart Shares the Differences Between Erotica and Romance >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Jacquelyn Frank

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 04, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Jacquelyn Frank has made a remarkable journey from the lowest low, being nearly homeless, to the highest height, achieving her dream of becoming a best-selling author. Now the author, who is known for her unique paranormal tales, is taking on a new challenge. Under the pseudonym Jax, Frank has released her first erotic science fiction tale, The Bid, which features shapeshifters, slaves and a blue heroine. RT Reviewer Joyce Morgan raves about the book, "Read it for the suspense, the worldbuilding or the sex scenes — most of all, read it for the fascinating storyline that builds to a pulse-pounding climax."

This new endeavor is just one more surprise in a life of many transformations. So how did she do it? Frank shares her story with RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus. Learn about the ups and downs of her publishing career and find out how a writing contest changed her entire life. Frank also offers her advice for aspiring authors.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Lauren Dane

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 30, 2010 | PERMALINK
Author Lauren Dane is interviewed by blogger Jane Litte, from Dear Author. They chat about the hero and heroine of Dane's new release, Insatiable, which kicks off a mini-series about a special-ops team within the futuristic world of the author's Federation Chronicles.

Lauren Dane Chats About Insatiable >>

Lauren Dane On Creating Character-Focused Romances >>

Author Buzz: Lauren Dane Shares Details From Her Next Project >>


Read More>>

Tags: Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

John Wayne Inspires a 'Bonnet Ripper' Erotic Male/Male Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 28, 2010 | PERMALINK

How John Wayne and a classic bonnet ripper inspired author Jacqueline Barbary to write her first m/m romance Savage Sanctuary.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Discriminating Against Erotica

BY Morgan Doremus, JULY 27, 2010 | PERMALINK

Yesterday iPad had four erotica novellas listed in its top ten selling books including the number one spot Blonde and Wet, the Complete Story by Carl East. Today the iPad list is curiously free of any erotica literature. Coincidence? Probably not.

If Apple purposefully removed these works from its list, it would not be the first time that the company has attempted to ‘clean up’ its content. Back in February, Steve Jobs made the decision to rid the iPhone App Store of all “overtly sexual content.”

While some may argue that it is up to Apple to decide what types of work they promote, many are crying censorship.

While I normally align myself strongly with the "How dare they?!?" side of these types of debate, I must admit I am torn. Business-wise this move makes good sense to Apple. It is a mainstream company that could have its reputation hurt if it becomes known as a popular purveyor of porn (or what some people consider porn). Also from a financial standpoint, it is in Apple’s best interest to take novellas off their top ten list no matter what the genre considering that many of these titles will sell for under a dollar. Hiding the likes of Big Sis, Six Sexy Stories and other short works makes way for more expensive e-books to be sold.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Co-Author Confessions: What It Was Really Like To Write Talk Dirty To Me

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 21, 2010 | PERMALINK

Co-authors Inez Kelley and Ginny Glass Struggle with "who plays the man" in their new erotic romance Talk Dirty To Me.

Ginny: Gimme Talk Dirty To Me back, I want Jarod.

Inez: Wait your turn, I have the lube out and he is getting duuuuuuurdy.

Ginny:  It is my turn! Send him to me and go to bed. It’s like what, 2 AM there? Selfish cow.

Inez: Pffft …. btw, Jarod is now allergic to cats.

Ginny:  Okay, that works. I’m switching to Nora for the next section. I edited the last five pages, loved the hand holding bit, very sweet. Also I gave them their first kiss.

Inez: Saw that, nice job on the tenderness but I interrupted it * snicker * You want to write the next phone call?

Ginny:  HELL YEAH! Have you sent him back yet?

Inez: I’m almost done this bit. Keep your shirt on.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST