RT Daily Blog

The BDSM Writers Con Hits NYC August 21-24 - And RT Readers Get A Discount!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 21, 2014 | PERMALINK

Flyer for the BDSM Writers ConFloggers, whips, canes and cuffs are certainly fun to read about, but how exactly does it all work in the real world? This year marks the third annual BDSM Writers Con in New York City, August 21-24 — an event that connects readers, writers, BDSM lifestyle professionals and curious parties for a weekend of books, demos, workshops and more. If you're a writer in the area looking for a safe, judgement-free space to get expert advice from lifestyle practitioners, or a fan looking to connect with some fantastic BDSM erotica writers, this event is for you. This year the con's keynote speaker is Joey W. Hill. The attending authors list includes several USA Today/NY Times bestselling authors, including Marla Monroe and Kallypso Masters, and some other erotica up-and-comers, including Cris Anson, Miranda Baker, Gray Dixon, Laci Paige and more.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: Giving In By Maya Banks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

Another hump day is upon us, which means it's time for another erotic excerpt for you to enjoy! To help get you over the midweek slump, we've got a scene from Giving In by Maya Banks (we posted an excerpt from the first book in this series, Letting Go, here). This book is different from Banks's usual work in that the couple doesn't have sex until more than halfway through the story, due to abuse in the heroine's past. Because we don't want to spoil the big moment for anyone, this excerpt is a bit on the tamer side, although it's still an emotional moment between the hero and heroine. Enjoy!

Kylie awoke to a completely alien sensation. She laid there, trying to process just what was different. She felt . . . rested. No lingering darkness from nightmares. She felt . . . safe.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: Bad Influence by K.A. Mitchell

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

It's Hump Day, folks! We're back with another steamy excerpt to get you through the mid-week slump. Today we've got a scene from Bad Influence by K.A. Mitchell — the fourth M/M romance in the author's Bad in Baltimore series. The book tells the story of Zeb and Silver, whose meet cute isn't so cute — it lands them both in jail. Both men are dealing with scars from their past, but together they find intense chemistry. Enjoy!

Zeb leaned forward, his hands bracketing Silver’s neck where it rested against the chair. “You are a nice guy.”

Silver wanted to brush the praise away, force the reality that nice guys in Zeb’s world didn’t do bareback porn just to stay off the street.

Zeb loomed closer, hands on Silver’s shoulders. “No, screw that. I’ve had nice guys. I’ve dated and taken my time before ending up in bed with them.”

Silver’s skin prickled with gooseflesh.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Peg This: Six Erotic Pegging Stories You Must Read

BY Elisa Verna, APRIL 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

An erotic story can contain just about any sort of sex act, from a ménage to alien sex. It's part of what makes the genre so great — variety! Lately, there’s been a fantastic upswing in erotic romances featuring dominant or switch heroines, and something that’s often included in these stories is pegging (link NSFW because of an, er, instructional image). I absolutely love reading pegging scenes — the power exchange is both fascinating and sexy. Below are six recommended reads (some I’ve read, some were recommended to me) that feature pegging. Happy reading!

The cover of Natural law by Joey W. Hill

1. I feel like I’m committing erotica sin by never having read a Charlotte Stein story — she seems like an author I would love (meaning, her books sound filthy). Reviewers describe her novella "Giving" as having an intense, loving relationship between the submissive hero and Domme heroine, as well as being filled with great sex — including pegging!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: Afterburn/Aftershock by Sylvia Day

BY Mandy Boles, APRIL 07, 2014 | PERMALINK

Six months ago I had the pleasure of interviewing Sylvia Day about her novella "Afterburn," the debut book for Harlequin’s new Cosmo Red Hot Reads imprint. I loved "Afterburn." In true Sylvia Day fashion, the book is filled with sleek settings, hot men, smart women and steamy sex scenes. "Afterburn" and its sequel novella "Aftershock," previously only available as separate e-books, are now on sale together in one print edition containing both stories — Afterburn/Aftershock


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Read Along: Megan Hart's Every Part of You - Parts 4 & 5

BY Elisa Verna, APRIL 02, 2014 | PERMALINK

Megan Hart’s five-part serial Every Part of You concluded yesterday with the release of the final episode, “Takes Me.” As with most serials I try to read, I fell behind and read parts four and five together. What can I say, I like reading my books in one sitting just how I like binge-watching entire TV series at once. Gimme it all!

Part four starts out with Elliott and Simone acting like a “normal couple,” going on dates, canoodling — and not humping each other every chance they get because they’ve deciding to take things slow. We finally learn, through a visit with his sick stepmom Molly, about Elliott’s trauma, which is a common source of hero trauma in many BDSM-themed romances — his father was abusive and he doesn’t want to hurt women because he doesn’t want to be his father. Which, of course, means that when the sexual tension between Elliott and Simone is too much to bear and they get to some sexytimes, Elliott freaks out and acts like a complete ass when Simone once again asks him to hurt her sexually.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Billionaire BDSM Dom Confesses to Giant Teddy Bear Collection

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 01, 2014 | PERMALINK

source

The 28-year-old CEO of the popular Silicon Valley tech startup Bit Blanket, Marshall Banks, confessed yesterday via Twitter that he’s been collecting teddy bears since he was seven.

“I’m not hiding any longer, I have a collection of 256 teddies in my bedroom,” the Tweet read, along with a photo of Banks’s impressive collection. A follow-up Tweet stated: “My favorite is Captain Cuddlebuttons. My grammy gave him to me for Christmas.”

The Tweets surprised many, as Banks is much more known for his ruthless business acumen — and his hardcore BDSM lifestyle.

“I mean, whips and chains I expected, but rows upon rows of teddy bears, with their beady little eyes staring at you?” Potential conquest and PR professional Kristen Manning, sighed. “A whipping post would have been way less alarming.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Bestselling Self-Published Books: March 2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 31, 2014 | PERMALINK

So many self-published titles are released each and every day, it’s hard to know which ones are worth your time — and your cash. As always, your RT Web Team is here for you, to help make sense of it all. We've scoured the bestseller lists at The New York Times, Amazon, Barnes & Noble and Smashwords to put together our picks of the bestselling self-published titles of the month. Get your TBR list ready!

***

Just to Be With You by Bella Andre

Genre: Contemporary romance

Release Date: March 2014 

The Story: If you haven’t already discovered Bella’s amazing Sullivan series, now is as good a time as any to get on board!

Just to Be With You stars powerful CEO Ian Sullivan, who’s kicking butt at life — except for, you know, those pesky personal relationships. Enter smoking hot actress Tatiana, who’s been waiting for her one true love. She thinks Ian is it. Ian has other ideas …


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: Teach Me A Lesson By Jasmine Haynes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

Hump day is here! And you know what that means? We're one day closer to the weekend! We're warming up with a sexy excerpt from Jasmine Haynes' upcoming erotic romance, Teach Me A Lesson, available April 1. Good girl Charlotte Moore, a part-time guidance counselor and part-time sex therapist, realizes she's got a lot to learn from her boss, Principal Lance Hutton. This scene gives a whole new meaning to "after school activities." Enjoy!

Charlotte Moore’s smile was pure Cleopatra when she saw Marc Antony for the first time. And it made Lance hard.

He needed to take control. Or he’d lose it completely. He strolled down the length of the side aisle to her seat in the back. “I trust your students didn’t completely demoralize you and make you sit in the corner.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: His To Possess By Opal Carew

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

Another hump day is here! To say we're excited would be an understatement. The weekend ever closer and to help smooth its impending arrival we've got another steamy erotica excerpt. Today for Hump Day we have a scene from Opal Carew's latest BDSM romance, His to Possess. Enjoy!

Jessica slid her key card into the slot then pushed open the door to her room. She had slipped off her coat on the elevator ride and now tossed it in the closet along with her suit jacket. Once she stepped further inside, however, and saw the bed dominating the room, the heat that had been building inside her seeped away. Her heart thundering, she turned to face the virtual stranger behind her and tell him this was a big mistake.

“You aren’t going to tell me you’ve changed your mind, are you?” He stood far too close, and it sent her senses reeling. Part of her wanted to run, yet another part wanted him even closer.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST