RT Daily Blog

1001 Dark Nights with Shayla Black — Plus Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

It’s a new year, the perfect time for an exciting new publishing project! How about one based on The Arabian Nights: 1001 Nights, helmed by Liz Berry and MJ Rose? You’ll remember that in those 1001 tales, Scheherazade desperately attempts to entertain her husband, the King of Persia, with new tales so he will postpone her execution.

1001 Dark Nights is a collection of sexy erotic or paranormal novellas, written by 12 bestselling authors, including Heather Graham, Larissa Ione and Lorelei James, who will entertain readers long into the night. The stories will be released one per month throughout 2014. Shayla Black, the first author to be featured in this new undertaking, has an excerpt of her story to peek at today. Read on for more — and a giveaway!

Shayla tells us:


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Spoiled: Tiffany Reisz On Taboos And The Saint - With Advanced Excerpt!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 13, 2014 | PERMALINK

Our spoiled column shares a look at the books you can't wait to read, long before they hit stores. Today Tiffany Reisz shares how her upcoming Original Sinners novel, The Saint, takes taboo to a new level with the story of how Nora and Søren's relationship got started — when Nora was a 15-year-old parishioner. Plus, Reisz offers readers a touching, super advanced excerpt from the novel at the end of this post!

On Twitter recently, author Delilah Dawson posed a question for her writer-friends. Do you see recurring themes in your books? My answer? Yes. Every one of my Original Sinners novels tackles the theme of the taboo — underage sex, sadism, incest. In the Western world, little is considered more taboo than sex between a Catholic priest and a young person in their congregation. So naturally The Saint (book five in The Original Sinners series), which is a love story between a priest and a teenage parishioner, is my favorite book I’ve ever written.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Book Hankerings: Our Most Anticipated Erotica Coming In 2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

Happy New Year, readers! The best thing about the new year, in our humble opinions anyway, is all the new books to look forward to! We don’t know about you, but there are an awful lot of books we’re hankering for in 2014. In the hopes that you’ll join us in obsessing, over the next week we’ll be listing our most anticipated books of 2014, by genre. Today, we continue with erotica!


 

Marked by Lauren Dane, Vivian Arend and Kit Rocha

Releases February 2014

This self-published anthology offers a new novella from each of these acclaimed authors — all sharing a tattoo theme. Dane kicks off her new futuristic Metamorphosis series with "All That Remains," while readers get another visit to the Six Pack Ranch in Vivian Arend's "Rocky Ride." Kit Rocha gives us more O'Kane goodness with "Beyond Temptation." So, if you're counting, that's one new universe, two familiar worlds and three fabulous writers!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: Obsessed By Him By Red Garnier

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

We're finally at the top of the hill that is undoubtedly the hardest work week to get through: the week after the holidays. That's right, it's hump day! And what better way to celebrate surviving half of the week than with an excerpt from a steamy erotic romance? Perfect to go with your second — or fifth, we don't judge — coffee of the day. Today we've got the entire first chapter of Red Garnier's recent release, Obsessed by Him. And hoo boy, it's so hot that by the end you'll be asking, "Polar Vortex, what?" Enjoy!

Chapter One

Graves Buchanan’s balls were up on the poker table, and if he lost this hand, it was going to hurt like hell. He was already a million dollars under, and up on that table, his second million sat nice and tight in a blue-chip stack, right atop the green felt center.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 Reading Challenge: Erotica

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

Listen, we're not that great at sticking to New Year's resolutions. Sure, we should exercise more and eat more vegetables, but shouldn't we have been doing that already? And aren't we fine, just the way we are? We certainly think so. So this year, your RT Web Team decided to take on some resolutions we might actually stick to: reading resolutions! Throughout the year, we're going to let various RT editors, and other book industry folks, pick books from genres we wouldn't necessarily read. We're stretching our minds, here. That's way better than stretching our hamstrings. We'd love it if you would join us! 

This month, we're tackling erotica! RT's Webmistress Extraordinaire Elisa is a big fan of erotica, and she's going to select a title for Web Editor Elissa (we know, it's confusing) and Assistant Web Editor DJ to try. If you don't normally read erotica, won't you read along with us, so we can clutch our pearls together? Or, if you're already a big fan of this one, maybe you want to re-read it in time for Reisz's May release, The Saint!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

C.C. Gibbs' Perfect Holiday Gifts For A Billionaire

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 17, 2013 | PERMALINK

While winning the heart of a billionaire appears to be a perfect fantasy, we feel for these erotic romance heroines when it comes to choosing a gift for their affluent heroes. Because what on earth could you give a man who has everything? Today C.C. Gibbs, author of the All or Nothing trilogy, imagines an HEA between her hero — Dominic Knight, CEO of venture-capital company Knight Enterprise, and Kate Hart — the company's latest recruit. It's Christmas Eve and Dominic is unwrapping his gifts from Kate ...

Kate was seated by the tree. They’d finished putting all the children’s presents beneath the glittering tree and Dominic was opening a bottle of champagne.

A moment later, he carried over two flutes, handed one to Kate, then sat down beside her. “Cheers, baby,” he said softly, raising his glass. “You’re my best present of all.” Leaning over, he kissed her gently, then slid his finger over the new string of large emeralds circling her neck. “Perfect with your eyes.” He grinned. “I should buy an emerald mine.”

“Don’t you dare,” she murmured, but she was smiling too. “You spoil me enough already.”

“I like to spoil you. It makes me happy.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: The Principle of Desire by Delphine Dryden

BY Elisa Verna, DECEMBER 09, 2013 | PERMALINK

My official RT review for Delphine Dryden’s “The Principle of Desire” appears in the February 2014 issue of the magazine, which means it won’t be available online until mid-month, but the book releases today and I can tell you right now, I absolutely adored it.

Out of the three novellas in Dryden’s Science of Temptation series, this one by far is my favorite. And if you know my reading habits at all, you won’t be surprised. This story contains so many things I love reading about, especially in erotic romance: BDSM, a strong heroine on which the story is primarily focused and an asshole ex you love to hate.

For those who like their erotica hero-centric (which I know many people do, I’m the odd woman out here), this one might not be your cup of tea because it mainly focuses on heroine Beth and her transformation, while hero Ed experiences less dramatic growth, although he does learn more about himself and discovers new things he never thought he’d enjoy.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Self-Published Romance and Erotica: Titles Self-Pub Authors Recommend

BY Cyndy Aleo, DECEMBER 05, 2013 | PERMALINK

Reader Karen Ancell really deserves a thank you for the email she sent that appeared in RT's December. Had it not been for her frustration with the self-published romance and erotica she was finding, the inspiration for this series might never have existed.

The first part of this series featured popular self-published authors Penny Watson and Kit Rocha. And then in part two, I featured hybrid author Kristen Proby.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Excerpt Break + Giveaway: Sylvain Reynard's Gabriel's Redemption

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 25, 2013 | PERMALINK

It's a short week for America as we prepare to celebrate Thanksgiving. We know it's hard to concentrate, and, as always, we're here for you. With an excerpt break! Today we've got a sneak peak at Gabriel's Redemption, the much-anticipated conclusion to Slyvain Reynard's smoking hot trilogy, out next week. We've also got a giveaway, details below!

We'll set the scene for you: Julianne and Gabriel are relaxing at his parents’ former home in Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania. They’ve spent a long day entertaining relatives from both sides of their family and are looking forward to a quiet, private evening in the sanctuary of the master bedroom.

And now we know your interested is piqued … 

As Julianne waited for the water level to rise, she felt the hairs of her neck stand on end. She turned to find Gabriel standing by the vanity. He’d unbuttoned the top three buttons of his dress shirt; a few strands of chest hair were now visible over the band of his white undershirt.

“I’ll never tire of looking at you.” He pressed a kiss to her neck before removing the plush towel she’d wrapped around herself.

“I should paint you.” He stroked her spine with his fingertips, up and down.


Read More>>

Tags: Erotic Romance, RT Daily Blog, Erotica
92COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Self-Published Romance and Erotica: Kristen Proby On How To Find The Good Ones

BY Cyndy Aleo, NOVEMBER 20, 2013 | PERMALINK

The December issue of RT Book Reviews featured a letter from reader Karen Ancell, who was frustrated with her experiences in trying to find good — and even great — self-published romance and erotica.

I'm a self-published author myself — although not in either romance or erotica — and the email from Ms. Ancell inspired me to go out and ask some other self-published authors what makes a good self-published book, as well as how to find these standouts.

The first of this three-part series featured popular self-published authors Penny Watson  and Kit Rocha.

In this second part, reviewer- (she's nominated for a 2013 Reviewers's Choice Award!) and fan-favorite author Kristen Proby talks about switching between the worlds of self and traditional publishing. She also provides more tips for finding the great stuff in self-published romance and erotica.

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST