RT Daily Blog

Friday Free For All: An Erotic Anthology Bundle From Cleis Press

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 07, 2014 | PERMALINK

We're definitely in the camp of people who groan when we see Christmas decorations on sale the day after Halloween, but with Valentine's Day, it's never too early to start celebrating! Pink-and-red everything, cheesy greeting cards with shirtless men on them, even those chalky candy hearts — we love it all. So to help kickstart Valentine's Day 2k14, we've got an extra steamy giveaway for you today. Cleis Press is offering a bundle of all four of their February erotica anthologies, including XOXO: Sweet and Sexy Romance and Best Erotic Romance 2014, both edited by Kristina Wright. Also in the bundle? Best Gay Romance 2014 edited by Timothy J. Lambert and R. D. Cochrane and Best Lesbian Romance 2014 edited by Radclyffe. Smut for everyone!

One lucky winner will win all four titles. You can keep 'em for yourself, gift them to a sweetie or pass some off to a friend. To enter, just fill out the widget below. A winner will be announced Monday, February 10th. Good luck!

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Read More>>

Tags: Convention, Erotica
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: Kate Douglas' Dark Moon

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

If you're in the Northeast, your hump day is probably a lot like ours: cold and slushy. Luckily, we've got a steamy excerpt to warm you right up. Today we've got a scene from Kate Douglas' latest Chanku shifters tale, Dark Moon. It's the story of shifter Mikaela Star Fuentes, who, as a young teen, leaves her spirit guide Igmutaka when she realizes her feelings for him are too intense. When she returns as an adult, she's ready to face those feelings, and Ig is more than willing to help. Enjoy!

Igmutaka paused in the doorway and stared at Mikaela Star. She stood on the opposite side of the big bed, looking down as she straightened the covers. Somehow, seeing her doing something so domestic relaxed him as nothing else could.

Oh, he was still hard as a post and so damned horny he ached, but he wasn’t afraid anymore. He never should have been. This was little Mikaela Star all grown up, but she was still the same person, the same amazing soul that she’d always been.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Read Along: Megan Hart's Every Part of You - Part 1, "Tempts Me"

BY Elisa Verna, FEBRUARY 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

It's time for another RT Read Along — where we ask you to join us in reading a brand new e-serial from one of our favorite authors. This time I'm tackling Megan Hart's new five-part erotic serial Every Part of You. For the next five Tuesdays I'll be posting a recap of each serial section. The good, the bad and the smutty — it'll all be here. So join me, won't you? This week I begin with part one, "Tempts Me." And oh, what an accurate title!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Story So Far … Jaci Burton's Play-by-Play Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

You’ve seen the covers. We know you have. Jaci Burton’s Play-by-Play series has surely been blessed by the cover gods. And because we also love what’s inside these books so much — including the latest release, out this week, Melting the Ice — we thought we’d get Jaci to give us the inside scoop on each of the seven titles in the series. That way if you’re not caught up, or aren’t sure where to start, you’ll have a primer ready the next time you’re book shopping. And so here’s The Story So Far … for Jaci Burton’s Play-by-Play series.

 

     

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: Reaper's Legacy By Joanna Wylde

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 29, 2014 | PERMALINK

Another hump day is upon us, which means only two more days until the weekend! It also means that we've got another steamy scene for you from a recently released erotic romance. Today we've got an emotional, sexy snippet from Joanna Wylde's Reaper's Legacy. It's the story of Sophie, a single mom barely scraping by after her deadbeat husband leaves her, and Ruger, the misunderstood, über Alpha biker from her past who's determined to make Sophie his. In this scene Sophie tells Ruger the truth about her ex — who just happens to be Ruger's brother. Enjoy!

“How long was Zach hurtin’ you before it all went down?”

I shook my head, looking away, trying to think.

“It wasn’t big stuff,” I said finally. “Not at first. He’d yell at me, make me feel like shit. Then he started doing it in front of Noah.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 Reading Challenge: Erotica - The Resolution

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 29, 2014 | PERMALINK

Well, we've gone and done it. RT's Webmistress Elisa convinced her fellow web team members Elissa and DJ to read Tiffany Reisz's The Siren. You can read part one in our adventure here and part two here. How did the YA and romance fans fare? We go to the results (spoilers abound, consider yourself warned):

Elissa P: Well! My, my, my. I totally get why everyone has been so excited by Tiffany's books. Her prose is engaging, the sex scenes scorching. But, okay, here's the thing: I did not feel good when this book ended. When I read a romance or a YA, or even a mystery, for goodness sakes, there's closure and generally a nice dose of 'everything's going to be all right now.' Not so much here. Nora goes back to Søren, but she's certainly not happy about it, Wesley is heartbroken. Zach gets his woman, so that's nice, but Nora is inexplicably hurt by how he … used her, or something? And so I couldn't even be happy about them getting their HEA.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: Tangled By Emma Chase

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 22, 2014 | PERMALINK

Another hump day is upon us, which means only two more days until the weekend! And what better way to celebrate surviving half of the week than with an excerpt from a steamy erotic romance? Today we've got a fantastic scene from Emma Chase's Tangled — a sexy rom com told from hero Drew's point of view. In this scene, Drew and Kate — his co-worker and love interest — are thrown together to complete a big project, causing them to reevaluate their love/hate (ok, mostly hate/hate up until this point) relationship. Enjoy!

I rub my hand down my face. “Okay, look, this is getting us nowhere fast. We’re screwed. We both still want Anderson, and the only way we’re going to get him is if we somehow get our shit together. We’ve got . . . thirty hours to do that. Are you in or not?”

Her lips come together in flat-out determination.

“You’re right. I’m in.”

“Meet me in my office in twenty minutes, and we’ll get to work.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Casting Couch: Sylvia Day's Spellbound - With Giveaway!

BY Mandy Boles, JANUARY 22, 2014 | PERMALINK

Sylvia Day is blowing up right now, with her eight-digit book deal (!) and her latest release, Spellbound. We couldn't be happier for such a nice, smart lady, so we were thrilled when RT reviewer Mandy Boles wanted to cast Spellbound for us. If you haven't read the book yet, have no fear, we're giving away five copies at the end of this post! Take it away, Mandy!

Anytime a really great book comes out, I'm always mentally casting the movie version, so by the time I read and reviewed Spellbound by Sylvia Day, I'd coming up with my dream film cast. 

Victoria St. John

I immediately pictured Evan Rachel Wood as Victoria. In the Spellbound universe Victoria is a Familiar — a female assigned to assist a male Warlock and act as his submissive — gone feral. Victoria was assigned Warlock Darius, who didn’t mind her uncommon need to be dominant. When Darius died he passed his magical ability onto Victoria, making her a very powerful Familiar. His death devastated Victoria and turned her away from the world of magic, so she decided to mingle with humans.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: The Delicious Torment by Alison Tyler

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

We're finally at the top of the hill! That's right, it's hump day! And what better way to celebrate surviving half of the week than with an excerpt from a steamy erotic romance? Perfect to go with your second — or fifth, we don't judge — coffee of the day. Today we've got a fantastic scene from Alison Tyler's The Delicious Torment: A Story of Submission — a story loosely based on Tyler's own experiences. Enjoy!

Did I think that “I love you” would change everything? That the words would magically turn Jack into some tenderhearted prince? Or a docile shadow of his former Dom self?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 Reading Challenge: Erotica - Part 2

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

All right, we're at the halfway point as erotica newbies Elissa and DJ read Elisa's pick, The Siren by Tiffany Reisz! If you're new 'round these parts, this experiment is part of our 2014 Reading Resolution — to read outside of our comfort zones! We kicked things off last week with erotica. So, how are our BDSM erotica newbies faring? Do they want to hug or punch Søren? Let's find out ....

***

Elissa's thoughts:

Well! My, my, my. I'm halfway through The Siren and I've been surprised by a few things:

1. There's not so much sex. The sex there is, however, hoo boy! I was reading The Siren on the train the other day and I had to keep moving my ereader away from the snooping man sitting next to me. Not sure you're ready for Søren, good sir. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST