RT Daily Blog

Extended Review: The Principle of Desire by Delphine Dryden

BY Elisa Verna, DECEMBER 09, 2013 | PERMALINK

My official RT review for Delphine Dryden’s “The Principle of Desire” appears in the February 2014 issue of the magazine, which means it won’t be available online until mid-month, but the book releases today and I can tell you right now, I absolutely adored it.

Out of the three novellas in Dryden’s Science of Temptation series, this one by far is my favorite. And if you know my reading habits at all, you won’t be surprised. This story contains so many things I love reading about, especially in erotic romance: BDSM, a strong heroine on which the story is primarily focused and an asshole ex you love to hate.

For those who like their erotica hero-centric (which I know many people do, I’m the odd woman out here), this one might not be your cup of tea because it mainly focuses on heroine Beth and her transformation, while hero Ed experiences less dramatic growth, although he does learn more about himself and discovers new things he never thought he’d enjoy.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Self-Published Romance and Erotica: Titles Self-Pub Authors Recommend

BY Cyndy Aleo, DECEMBER 05, 2013 | PERMALINK

Reader Karen Ancell really deserves a thank you for the email she sent that appeared in RT's December. Had it not been for her frustration with the self-published romance and erotica she was finding, the inspiration for this series might never have existed.

The first part of this series featured popular self-published authors Penny Watson and Kit Rocha. And then in part two, I featured hybrid author Kristen Proby.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Excerpt Break + Giveaway: Sylvain Reynard's Gabriel's Redemption

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 25, 2013 | PERMALINK

It's a short week for America as we prepare to celebrate Thanksgiving. We know it's hard to concentrate, and, as always, we're here for you. With an excerpt break! Today we've got a sneak peak at Gabriel's Redemption, the much-anticipated conclusion to Slyvain Reynard's smoking hot trilogy, out next week. We've also got a giveaway, details below!

We'll set the scene for you: Julianne and Gabriel are relaxing at his parents’ former home in Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania. They’ve spent a long day entertaining relatives from both sides of their family and are looking forward to a quiet, private evening in the sanctuary of the master bedroom.

And now we know your interested is piqued … 

As Julianne waited for the water level to rise, she felt the hairs of her neck stand on end. She turned to find Gabriel standing by the vanity. He’d unbuttoned the top three buttons of his dress shirt; a few strands of chest hair were now visible over the band of his white undershirt.

“I’ll never tire of looking at you.” He pressed a kiss to her neck before removing the plush towel she’d wrapped around herself.

“I should paint you.” He stroked her spine with his fingertips, up and down.


Read More>>

Tags: Erotic Romance, RT Daily Blog, Erotica
92COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Self-Published Romance and Erotica: Kristen Proby On How To Find The Good Ones

BY Cyndy Aleo, NOVEMBER 20, 2013 | PERMALINK

The December issue of RT Book Reviews featured a letter from reader Karen Ancell, who was frustrated with her experiences in trying to find good — and even great — self-published romance and erotica.

I'm a self-published author myself — although not in either romance or erotica — and the email from Ms. Ancell inspired me to go out and ask some other self-published authors what makes a good self-published book, as well as how to find these standouts.

The first of this three-part series featured popular self-published authors Penny Watson  and Kit Rocha.

In this second part, reviewer- (she's nominated for a 2013 Reviewers's Choice Award!) and fan-favorite author Kristen Proby talks about switching between the worlds of self and traditional publishing. She also provides more tips for finding the great stuff in self-published romance and erotica.

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Author Spotlight: Dana Lorraine

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 20, 2013 | PERMALINK

There are few things we haven't seen in a book here at the RT offices. Gods with more than one, erm, piece of equipment? Yep. Shifters of all shapes and types? You bet. Vampire viking angels? Oh yea. So when we heard that Dana Lorraine's debut, Dying to Love Her, featured vampire gym-owning heroes who provide horizontal workouts, we had to know more about both the story and the author, because this was something we'd never heard of before!

Name: Dana Lorraine

Debut Book: Dying to Love Her

Genre: Erotic Paranormal Ménage

Current Home: Sunny South Florida

Favorite word: Just. It’s not clever or pretty sounding but judging from the sheer number of times I have to remove it from my manuscripts, it must be my favorite.

How did you start writing? Like many authors, I stumbled upon my passion for writing through reading. The first year I attended the Romantic Times Convention I found myself gravitating to workshops for writers. I came home, started to write and realized that I got the same rush of excitement creating a story as I did from reading a great book. I was hooked.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Celebrate The Big Easy With An Erotic E-Book Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 18, 2013 | PERMALINK

It’s Monday, so let’s start the week off with a giveaway! Because it turns out we’re not the only ones super excited about heading to New Orleans for the RT Convention in May 2014, eight erotica authors, including Jayne Rylon, Eden Bradley and Mari Carr, were so … ahem … inspired, they wrote stories set in the city of sin, all compiled in the Midnight Ink anthology. Tell us more, ladies! And don't forget to check out our giveaway details below.

The Midnight Ink box set was always going to be in New Orleans. There was never any doubt. Not only has it been on all our minds since we discovered the 2014 RT convention was going to be held there, but the city instantly brings to mind words like sultry, steamy and decadent. How could eight erotic romance writers resist?

It doesn't hurt that most of the authors have or are beginning series that take place in the Big Easy.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
23COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2013 RT Awards Nominees Celebration: Ebook Erotic Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 14, 2013 | PERMALINK

Every year, the review staff at RT Book Reviews reads and rates more than three thousand books. And when each year draws to a close, we pick the best of the bunch for our readers to enjoy — the Reviewers’ Choice Awards. For the next few weeks, leading up to Thanksgiving, we’re going to be celebrating the nominations for many of these awards, across genres. We hope you’ll join us in congratulating all these wonderful authors, and, hey, if you find a great new book to read, all the better!

Today, we celebrate the nominees of Ebook Erotic Romance!



Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday Free For All: Alice Clayton's Redhead Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 08, 2013 | PERMALINK


       


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Audio Interview: Beautiful Bastard Authors Christina Lauren Talk Beautiful Player, Fanfiction And Twilight

BY Elisa Verna, NOVEMBER 07, 2013 | PERMALINK

     

     

Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Q&A: Maya Banks Talks Colters' Gift And Upcoming Projects

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 05, 2013 | PERMALINK

Maya Banks has quickly become a major name in the romance world thanks to her impressively sexy and bold stories that have captured readers' hearts, including ours! Today, we chat with Maya about Colters' Gift, her latest release and the last book in the Colters' Legacy series. It's been seven years since the first book in the series was published, and Maya discusses how her writing process has changed, the challenges of writing the new book and what her readers can expect to see next.

***

It’s been seven years since the first Colters’ Legacy book, Colters’ Woman, hit shelves in 2006 and you’ve released many stories since then. How has your writing process changed since the first Colters’ Legacy book?

Gosh it’s hard to believe it’s been seven years since Colters’ Woman released! So much has happened since then and yet that book, in many ways, defined my career. It was the book that readers really responded to and gained me such a large audience.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST