RT Daily Blog

Hump Day Excerpt: Reaper's Legacy By Joanna Wylde

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 29, 2014 | PERMALINK

Another hump day is upon us, which means only two more days until the weekend! It also means that we've got another steamy scene for you from a recently released erotic romance. Today we've got an emotional, sexy snippet from Joanna Wylde's Reaper's Legacy. It's the story of Sophie, a single mom barely scraping by after her deadbeat husband leaves her, and Ruger, the misunderstood, über Alpha biker from her past who's determined to make Sophie his. In this scene Sophie tells Ruger the truth about her ex — who just happens to be Ruger's brother. Enjoy!

“How long was Zach hurtin’ you before it all went down?”

I shook my head, looking away, trying to think.

“It wasn’t big stuff,” I said finally. “Not at first. He’d yell at me, make me feel like shit. Then he started doing it in front of Noah.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 Reading Challenge: Erotica - The Resolution

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 29, 2014 | PERMALINK

Well, we've gone and done it. RT's Webmistress Elisa convinced her fellow web team members Elissa and DJ to read Tiffany Reisz's The Siren. You can read part one in our adventure here and part two here. How did the YA and romance fans fare? We go to the results (spoilers abound, consider yourself warned):

Elissa P: Well! My, my, my. I totally get why everyone has been so excited by Tiffany's books. Her prose is engaging, the sex scenes scorching. But, okay, here's the thing: I did not feel good when this book ended. When I read a romance or a YA, or even a mystery, for goodness sakes, there's closure and generally a nice dose of 'everything's going to be all right now.' Not so much here. Nora goes back to Søren, but she's certainly not happy about it, Wesley is heartbroken. Zach gets his woman, so that's nice, but Nora is inexplicably hurt by how he … used her, or something? And so I couldn't even be happy about them getting their HEA.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: Tangled By Emma Chase

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 22, 2014 | PERMALINK

Another hump day is upon us, which means only two more days until the weekend! And what better way to celebrate surviving half of the week than with an excerpt from a steamy erotic romance? Today we've got a fantastic scene from Emma Chase's Tangled — a sexy rom com told from hero Drew's point of view. In this scene, Drew and Kate — his co-worker and love interest — are thrown together to complete a big project, causing them to reevaluate their love/hate (ok, mostly hate/hate up until this point) relationship. Enjoy!

I rub my hand down my face. “Okay, look, this is getting us nowhere fast. We’re screwed. We both still want Anderson, and the only way we’re going to get him is if we somehow get our shit together. We’ve got . . . thirty hours to do that. Are you in or not?”

Her lips come together in flat-out determination.

“You’re right. I’m in.”

“Meet me in my office in twenty minutes, and we’ll get to work.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Casting Couch: Sylvia Day's Spellbound - With Giveaway!

BY Mandy Boles, JANUARY 22, 2014 | PERMALINK

Sylvia Day is blowing up right now, with her eight-digit book deal (!) and her latest release, Spellbound. We couldn't be happier for such a nice, smart lady, so we were thrilled when RT reviewer Mandy Boles wanted to cast Spellbound for us. If you haven't read the book yet, have no fear, we're giving away five copies at the end of this post! Take it away, Mandy!

Anytime a really great book comes out, I'm always mentally casting the movie version, so by the time I read and reviewed Spellbound by Sylvia Day, I'd coming up with my dream film cast. 

Victoria St. John

I immediately pictured Evan Rachel Wood as Victoria. In the Spellbound universe Victoria is a Familiar — a female assigned to assist a male Warlock and act as his submissive — gone feral. Victoria was assigned Warlock Darius, who didn’t mind her uncommon need to be dominant. When Darius died he passed his magical ability onto Victoria, making her a very powerful Familiar. His death devastated Victoria and turned her away from the world of magic, so she decided to mingle with humans.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: The Delicious Torment by Alison Tyler

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

We're finally at the top of the hill! That's right, it's hump day! And what better way to celebrate surviving half of the week than with an excerpt from a steamy erotic romance? Perfect to go with your second — or fifth, we don't judge — coffee of the day. Today we've got a fantastic scene from Alison Tyler's The Delicious Torment: A Story of Submission — a story loosely based on Tyler's own experiences. Enjoy!

Did I think that “I love you” would change everything? That the words would magically turn Jack into some tenderhearted prince? Or a docile shadow of his former Dom self?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 Reading Challenge: Erotica - Part 2

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

All right, we're at the halfway point as erotica newbies Elissa and DJ read Elisa's pick, The Siren by Tiffany Reisz! If you're new 'round these parts, this experiment is part of our 2014 Reading Resolution — to read outside of our comfort zones! We kicked things off last week with erotica. So, how are our BDSM erotica newbies faring? Do they want to hug or punch Søren? Let's find out ....

***

Elissa's thoughts:

Well! My, my, my. I'm halfway through The Siren and I've been surprised by a few things:

1. There's not so much sex. The sex there is, however, hoo boy! I was reading The Siren on the train the other day and I had to keep moving my ereader away from the snooping man sitting next to me. Not sure you're ready for Søren, good sir. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

1001 Dark Nights with Shayla Black — Plus Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

It’s a new year, the perfect time for an exciting new publishing project! How about one based on The Arabian Nights: 1001 Nights, helmed by Liz Berry and MJ Rose? You’ll remember that in those 1001 tales, Scheherazade desperately attempts to entertain her husband, the King of Persia, with new tales so he will postpone her execution.

1001 Dark Nights is a collection of sexy erotic or paranormal novellas, written by 12 bestselling authors, including Heather Graham, Larissa Ione and Lorelei James, who will entertain readers long into the night. The stories will be released one per month throughout 2014. Shayla Black, the first author to be featured in this new undertaking, has an excerpt of her story to peek at today. Read on for more — and a giveaway!

Shayla tells us:


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Spoiled: Tiffany Reisz On Taboos And The Saint - With Advanced Excerpt!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 13, 2014 | PERMALINK

Our spoiled column shares a look at the books you can't wait to read, long before they hit stores. Today Tiffany Reisz shares how her upcoming Original Sinners novel, The Saint, takes taboo to a new level with the story of how Nora and Søren's relationship got started — when Nora was a 15-year-old parishioner. Plus, Reisz offers readers a touching, super advanced excerpt from the novel at the end of this post!

On Twitter recently, author Delilah Dawson posed a question for her writer-friends. Do you see recurring themes in your books? My answer? Yes. Every one of my Original Sinners novels tackles the theme of the taboo — underage sex, sadism, incest. In the Western world, little is considered more taboo than sex between a Catholic priest and a young person in their congregation. So naturally The Saint (book five in The Original Sinners series), which is a love story between a priest and a teenage parishioner, is my favorite book I’ve ever written.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Book Hankerings: Our Most Anticipated Erotica Coming In 2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

Happy New Year, readers! The best thing about the new year, in our humble opinions anyway, is all the new books to look forward to! We don’t know about you, but there are an awful lot of books we’re hankering for in 2014. In the hopes that you’ll join us in obsessing, over the next week we’ll be listing our most anticipated books of 2014, by genre. Today, we continue with erotica!


 

Marked by Lauren Dane, Vivian Arend and Kit Rocha

Releases February 2014

This self-published anthology offers a new novella from each of these acclaimed authors — all sharing a tattoo theme. Dane kicks off her new futuristic Metamorphosis series with "All That Remains," while readers get another visit to the Six Pack Ranch in Vivian Arend's "Rocky Ride." Kit Rocha gives us more O'Kane goodness with "Beyond Temptation." So, if you're counting, that's one new universe, two familiar worlds and three fabulous writers!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: Obsessed By Him By Red Garnier

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

We're finally at the top of the hill that is undoubtedly the hardest work week to get through: the week after the holidays. That's right, it's hump day! And what better way to celebrate surviving half of the week than with an excerpt from a steamy erotic romance? Perfect to go with your second — or fifth, we don't judge — coffee of the day. Today we've got the entire first chapter of Red Garnier's recent release, Obsessed by Him. And hoo boy, it's so hot that by the end you'll be asking, "Polar Vortex, what?" Enjoy!

Chapter One

Graves Buchanan’s balls were up on the poker table, and if he lost this hand, it was going to hurt like hell. He was already a million dollars under, and up on that table, his second million sat nice and tight in a blue-chip stack, right atop the green felt center.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST