RT Daily Blog

Debut Author Spotlight: Dana Lorraine

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 20, 2013 | PERMALINK

There are few things we haven't seen in a book here at the RT offices. Gods with more than one, erm, piece of equipment? Yep. Shifters of all shapes and types? You bet. Vampire viking angels? Oh yea. So when we heard that Dana Lorraine's debut, Dying to Love Her, featured vampire gym-owning heroes who provide horizontal workouts, we had to know more about both the story and the author, because this was something we'd never heard of before!

Name: Dana Lorraine

Debut Book: Dying to Love Her

Genre: Erotic Paranormal Ménage

Current Home: Sunny South Florida

Favorite word: Just. It’s not clever or pretty sounding but judging from the sheer number of times I have to remove it from my manuscripts, it must be my favorite.

How did you start writing? Like many authors, I stumbled upon my passion for writing through reading. The first year I attended the Romantic Times Convention I found myself gravitating to workshops for writers. I came home, started to write and realized that I got the same rush of excitement creating a story as I did from reading a great book. I was hooked.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Celebrate The Big Easy With An Erotic E-Book Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 18, 2013 | PERMALINK

It’s Monday, so let’s start the week off with a giveaway! Because it turns out we’re not the only ones super excited about heading to New Orleans for the RT Convention in May 2014, eight erotica authors, including Jayne Rylon, Eden Bradley and Mari Carr, were so … ahem … inspired, they wrote stories set in the city of sin, all compiled in the Midnight Ink anthology. Tell us more, ladies! And don't forget to check out our giveaway details below.

The Midnight Ink box set was always going to be in New Orleans. There was never any doubt. Not only has it been on all our minds since we discovered the 2014 RT convention was going to be held there, but the city instantly brings to mind words like sultry, steamy and decadent. How could eight erotic romance writers resist?

It doesn't hurt that most of the authors have or are beginning series that take place in the Big Easy.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
23COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2013 RT Awards Nominees Celebration: Ebook Erotic Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 14, 2013 | PERMALINK

Every year, the review staff at RT Book Reviews reads and rates more than three thousand books. And when each year draws to a close, we pick the best of the bunch for our readers to enjoy — the Reviewers’ Choice Awards. For the next few weeks, leading up to Thanksgiving, we’re going to be celebrating the nominations for many of these awards, across genres. We hope you’ll join us in congratulating all these wonderful authors, and, hey, if you find a great new book to read, all the better!

Today, we celebrate the nominees of Ebook Erotic Romance!



Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday Free For All: Alice Clayton's Redhead Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 08, 2013 | PERMALINK


       


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Audio Interview: Beautiful Bastard Authors Christina Lauren Talk Beautiful Player, Fanfiction And Twilight

BY Elisa Verna, NOVEMBER 07, 2013 | PERMALINK

     

     

Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Q&A: Maya Banks Talks Colters' Gift And Upcoming Projects

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 05, 2013 | PERMALINK

Maya Banks has quickly become a major name in the romance world thanks to her impressively sexy and bold stories that have captured readers' hearts, including ours! Today, we chat with Maya about Colters' Gift, her latest release and the last book in the Colters' Legacy series. It's been seven years since the first book in the series was published, and Maya discusses how her writing process has changed, the challenges of writing the new book and what her readers can expect to see next.

***

It’s been seven years since the first Colters’ Legacy book, Colters’ Woman, hit shelves in 2006 and you’ve released many stories since then. How has your writing process changed since the first Colters’ Legacy book?

Gosh it’s hard to believe it’s been seven years since Colters’ Woman released! So much has happened since then and yet that book, in many ways, defined my career. It was the book that readers really responded to and gained me such a large audience.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Logan Belle on Last Chance Romance: When a Heroine Hits Close to Home

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 29, 2013 | PERMALINK
Sure, we all love to read about twentysomethings looking for love, but what about the rest of us? What about when life gets tough? Do we turn to books for escape — or for hope? Today erotic romance author Logan Belle is here to talk about her wake-up call, and the book that it inpsired.

The heroines in my erotic romances typically offer me a bit of escape from my every day life. They are young women in their twenties, at a stage where everything is in front of them: all their mistakes, all their accomplishments. Life is a long road that has yet to unfold. Love, sex and romance are all new to them.

This summer, I was in the middle of writing a novel about an NYU college student when reality intruded. I was diagnosed with early stage breast cancer. It was a reminder that while it’s fun to write about twenty-something women discovering love for the first time, I am a forty-something woman who experiences love and sex from a very different perspective. And I suspected I could no longer resist writing about that. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Self-Published Romance and Erotica: Why, Who and Where Can You Find the Good Ones?

BY Cyndy Aleo, OCTOBER 29, 2013 | PERMALINK

This is the first in a three-part series on self-published romance. Today we're focusing on those who are solely author-publishers. We'll also include a piece on authors who do both — publish traditionally as well as self-publish — and finish up with some recommendations in this popular (and often inexpensive) category.

The December issue of RT Book Reviews features a letter from reader Karen Ancell, who despairs of ever reading a self-published book again. In her letter, she states, "I am always looking to add authors to my list, but the people who self-publish may no longer be an option." She adds that her feelings hinge on the lack of a standard when it comes to "grammar, sentence structure and spelling." 

As a self-published author — although not in romance or erotica — Ms. Ansell's email wasn't a surprise to me, but it was a disappointment. Those of us who have self-published are well aware of the many books out there which simply aren't "ready for prime time" — and the stereotype of a self-published author as one who either doesn't care about good writing or doesn't know how to write well in the first place. 

So I did what any self-respecting blogger who has self-published would do: I tracked down some of my fellow self-published authors to talk about self-published romance and erotica.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Charlie Hunnam Drops Out Of Fifty Shades Of Grey Film - Who Should Be The Next Christian?

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 14, 2013 | PERMALINK

If not Charlie Hunnam, then who?

You may have already heard that Sons of Anarchy star Charlie Hunnam has dropped out of the role of Christian Grey for the 50 Shades of Grey film adaptaion. Citing fan dissaproval as his main reason for leaving the role, Hunnam explained to Entertainment Weekly:

"'There are so many fans of that book and I know that on the surface, I’m probably not what everybody imagined,' the actor admits. 'Because reading is so personal and people bring a character to life in their imagination, they feel ownership over that character. That’s daunting if I allowed myself to think about it too much. I’m taking it very seriously and intend to explore the nature of who this character is, what motivates him—and also dress up nice and look good in those suits.'"

Sounds like 50 Shades fans got the best of Hunnam, which is a shame, because we think he cleans up quite nicely! Still, the fact remains: 50 Shades of Grey needs a new Christian.

So tell us, readers, what do you think of Hunnam dropping out? And more importantly, who should be the new Christian Grey?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

We Taste Test The 50 Shades of Grey Wine

BY Elisa Verna, OCTOBER 09, 2013 | PERMALINK

You might've seen that the 50 Shades franchise has gone beyond books, film and sex toys to now include wine. This isn't a huge surprise, given that in 50 Shades of Grey there's a lot of wine drinking. Christian Grey even goes so far as to actually spit wine into Anastasia Steele's mouth, because nothing is sexier than drinking wine that contains a good dose of your lover's saliva. (Note: Our editor Regina Small was so freaked out by this moment in the book that she actually noted it on Goodreads.)

But E.L. James has "always had a penchant for good wine," so we decided to test this claim by trying the wine ourselves. Dubbed "Red Satin" and "White Silk," both bottles retail for $17.99 each, which is a little steep for what we were expecting to be Franzia in a bottle. But the wine did not disappoint! It was actually good, you guys. We should have known a billionaire would have good taste. It wasn't amazing, but I would bring it to a party. The white was fruity but not too sweet and the red was robust, but did not taste like leather, as the description claims (ew).

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST