RT Daily Blog

Magazine Extra: How Deeanne Gist Went from Bad Girl to Good Girl

BY Tricia Carr, APRIL 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

When you read our June feature on historical fiction author Deeanne Gist, you’ll learn all about her May release, Fair Play, which stars a heroine, a doctor at the 1893 Chicago World’s Fair — a “man’s” job — and a hero who’s part 1980s alpha male and part Ryan Gosling. So we're pretty sure you're going to want to read it ASAP.

But there’s one story we didn’t have room to share with RT readers in the magazine. Gist recently told some RT editors that she was the “bad girl” of inspirational fiction before she crossed over to the mainstream market. What made her so naughty that her editor was fanning herself? She used too much “tongue”! Here’s the whole story from Gist:

The cover of Fair Play by Deeanne Gist

I first realized something was amiss after I sold my first book to an inspirational house. They told me they loved it and gave me a contract. We all signed on the dotted line. And then I got the revision letter.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inspirational Overview: March

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 25, 2014 | PERMALINK

Let's face it, life can be challenging. Especially when we — or our loved ones — are beset by health concerns far outside our control. In this month’s Inspirational overview, we take a look at four uplifting reads that feature strength and resilience as characters overcome illness, physical limitations and more. Take a look:

A Simple Hope cover

In Rosalind Lauer’s A Simple Hope, James Lapp must adapt to life in a wheelchair following an accident that left him without the use of his legs. Struggling to help maintain his family’s orchard, James has lost his faith and begins doubting his future with Rachel, the girl he intended to marry prior to the accident. But Rachel hasn’t given up, and she will do anything to help James regain his faith and love for life.

The cover of The Winner's Game


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Deeanne Gist Gives Back with 2 Who Care: You Could Win $1,000!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

The cover of Fair Play

Authors writing awesome books and giving back to the community, is there anything better? We sure don't think so! Deeanne Gist is one such do gooder, and she's sponsoring a great contest we just have to tell you about. 

Inspired by her upcoming May novel, Fair Play, which stars a Texas Ranger and a woman doctor who find love and intrigue at the 1893 Chicago World's Fair, Deeanne decided she wanted to honor modern couples who are giving back to their communities. 

So she started the 2 Who Care contest, to award one volunteer couple in the U.S. $1,000 for what they’re doing to improve their community. Here’s what she had to say about the contest entries that have been streaming in so far:

“I knew there were couples out there making in a difference in their communities, but knowing something and learning about it firsthand are two very different things. There’s a mom and dad who decided to provide free lunches to everyone in their community on certain days each summer. They’ve now served more than 2,000 lunches!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inspirational Overview: February

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 24, 2014 | PERMALINK

Siblings. Most of us have them and while we love them to death, sometimes they make life a bit more complicated. In this month’s inspirational overview, we’re taking a look at our recent favorite stories, all featuring troublesome siblings and the powerful choices we make because of them.

cover of Sadie's Secret

Kathleen Y’Barbo is up first with Sadie’s Secret, the third installment in her Secret Lives series. In this latest addition, Sadie Callum leads a secret life as an undercover agent for the Pinkerton Agency and her latest mission is to rectify a mess created by fellow agent Will Tucker’s twin brother, who escaped prison by framing Will. Now Will must rely on Sadie and her circle of high society connections to clear his name, but in doing so he finds himself falling in love. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inspirational YA Giveaway: Amy Clipston's Roadside Assistance & Destination Unknown

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

Listen, it can be hard figuring out who you are — who you're supposed to be. It's the only possible explanation we can think of as to why those quizzes are so popular on Facebook. And it's why we think Amy Clipston's inspirational YA so speaks to teens — and, ahem, adults who read YA. In Amy's two latest contemporary-set YA stand-alones, two teens find their own way, and become better people for it. In Roadside Assistance, car fanatic Emily and her dad must move in with her wealthy aunt after the hospital bills from Emily's mother's death leave them broke. Emily must fight against expectations of what a young lady should be, and maybe the cute boy with the 1970 Dodge Challenger can help. Meanwhile in Destination Unknown, always perfect Whitney gets a D in calculus. Her cute and different tutor, Taylor, helps her see what expectations have done to her life, and how she wants to change them.

 

     

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

My How Things Have Changed! Robin Lee Hatcher on her 30th Writing Anniversary

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 16, 2014 | PERMALINK

Thirty years is a good long time. Several members (though not all, ahem) of RT’s Web Team haven’t been on this planet for 30 years! But that’s the amount of time that Robin Lee Hatcher has been writing books. This month, her 30th publishing anniversary, Robin releases her 69th title, an RT Top Pick!, A Promise Kept. We had to hear everything.

I would love to tell you that I was only ten when my first book released, but I must confess, I was a little (cough, cough) bit older than that.

When I wrote my first books, I used a pen and yellow legal pads, writing evenings and weekends whenever I found a spare moment. During coffee breaks and lunch hours at work, I would use the office IBM Selectric to type the pages I’d written the night before (anybody remember onion skin and carbon paper?).


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inspirational Overview: January

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

Slavery is never an easy topic to tackle, but this month’s Inspirational picks all address this serious issue with hope and love. Whether they’re battling sex slavery, navigating the Underground railroad or struggling to free themselves of society’s control, the characters in the following books persevere and show that there’s always light at the end of a dark road.

In Michael K. Reynolds’s Songs of the Shenandoah, the final installment in his Heirs of Ireland trilogy, Clare Royce is happily married and enjoying motherhood, but something else is on her mind. Wanting to free those in slavery, Clare sets out to use her husband’s newspaper connections to help her succeed. But as other members of her family find success in unexpected places, she must decide which course is best for all.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inspirational Overview: December

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 19, 2013 | PERMALINK

Baby, it’s cold outside, which means it’s the perfect time to grab a good book and get cozy under your favorite quilt. In this month’s Inspirational recommendations, we’re highlighting stories that all feature quilts — special, magical blankets that bring families together and help others discover who they really are.

In Tempest’s Course, Lynette Sowell weaves the story of Kelly Frost, a textiles conservator who has been tasked with restoring a 150-year-old quilt belonging to the Gray House estate. Kelly must live at Gray House while restoring the quilt and there she meets Tom, the caretaker. As Kelly explores the old house, she discovers she and Tom have surprising connections to the estate. When strange accidents begin occurring, they must work together to stop more accidents from happening and endangering others.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lacy Williams Shares Her RT-Approved Holiday Candy Recipes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 16, 2013 | PERMALINK

We have to be honest, our favorite part of the holidays here at RT HQ is getting yummy treats from authors and industry folk. This year, when Lacy Williams gifted us homemade candies, we gobbled them up before anyone could even snap a photo. Keeping these candies to ourselves would be a crime, but since we're not fond of sharing our chocolate, we asked the author to share her recipes instead! Enjoy and happy holidays! 

I love Christmas and always have. Putting up the tree. Outside lights. The get-stuck-in-your-head music. And since my first daughter’s birth four years ago, I’ve gotten to see Christmas with the wonder of a child all over again.

But I’m not that great a cook and I always struggle with making homemade gifts for close friends — or even my editor. Until last year. I found two really easy recipes for homemade candy that even I can’t mess up, and the ladies at RT invited me to share them with you.

 

Peppermint Bark – This recipe is easy and always gets rave reviews. You need:

1 12-ounce package of white chocolate morsels

12 candy canes, crushed


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Love and Marriage (and Ownership) in the Victorian Age

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 11, 2013 | PERMALINK

We love historical romances, sure. But would we really want to live in the olden days? Today inspirational author Dorothy Love — whose historical inspirational romance, Carolina Gold, is out now — gives us some real talk about being a woman in the Victorian era. We'll take our rights and our WiFi, we think! Take it away, Dorothy!

As a reader and a writer of novels set in the Victorian age, I’m fascinated with the sumptuous clothing and jewelry of the period, and with the elaborate rules and rituals surrounding courtship and marriage. The signing of a marriage bond, the publishing of banns, the chaperoned walks about the garden, picnics by the sea, the filling of dance cards, the ardent love letters, breathless with longing and anticipation — is there anything more romantic?

The realities, however, were often quite different.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST