RT Daily Blog

It's Not All Kissable Lips: Cynthia Ruchti on Real, Enduring Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 06, 2014 | PERMALINK

Sure, we all love reading about impossibly romantic heroes — but sometimes the sweetest gesture of all isn't a bouquet or being swept away for a weekend (though we won't say no to any of those, Mother's Day is Sunday), it's the more meaningful, real gestures that tell us if a guy's really a keeper. Today Cynthia Ruchti, whose inspirational romance All My Belongings is out this week, talks real life romance. Take it away, Cynthia!

The cover of All My Belongings

A relationship expert once told me, in effect, “Don’t base your assessment of the romance’s potential on the fancy dinner, fun evening and his lips’ kissability rating. Balance a checkbook with him. Go to a funeral with him. Watch how he interacts with his siblings, parents, grandparents. How does he handle stress? Grief? His menopausal mother? His toddler cousin? How does he respond when you have the flu? That will tell you whether his character is worth snuggling up to.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Fanning the Spark: Debut Inspirational Author Emily T. Wierenga on Marriage and Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 23, 2014 | PERMALINK

Marriage is great, certainly, but it doesn't always resemble a romance novel. After years together, sometimes the spark dims as your time is taken over by kids, chores and work. (Don't get us started on the never ending trips to the grocery store.) But there's hope! Today we have debut inspirational novelist Emily T. Wierenga, who's here to ruminate on her marriage, when she first met her husband (college sweethearts!) how it all contributed to her romance, A Promise in Pieces.

The cover of A Promise in Pieces

He had one break dance move, and he used it that afternoon, in the townhouse packed with college students, him in the middle of the rough textile carpet, dancing.

I had a soda in my hand and the air smelled of musk and potato chips. It was the first time I’d seen him—the long-legged, muscular farm boy with the shy smile and the large hazel eyes. We spent the rest of the night in the kitchen, him sitting on the counter and me standing close enough to see the freckle on his right cheek. And he told me about life growing up in a Dutch hamlet.

I didn’t know then that one day we’d make a life in that hamlet, too, with two little boys and a large triangular garden, all I knew was that his one break-dance move had made this preacher’s daughter feel sinful.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Suspenseful Journey - Danger And Intrigue In April's Inspirational Fiction

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 21, 2014 | PERMALINK

In the mood for some high stakes danger, but with a message? In this month’s Inspirational Overview, we take a look at four noteworthy books that have a bit of suspense thrown in for good measure. These are perfect for readers looking for a little danger and intrigue mixed in with inspirational goodness. Take a look:

Nancy Mehl starts off our overview with Gathering Shadows. In this romantic suspense read, TV reporter Wynter Evans is desperately looking for a major story to cover to not only please her boss, but also keep her job safe. When she stumbles across a photo of a boy who resembles her brother, who disappeared nine years ago, she sets out to uncover the truth. She winds up in the town of Sanctuary, where she befriends the Mayor, who warns her of the secretive nature of Sanctuary’s residents. Will Wynter be able to find the answers she seeks?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Magazine Extra: How Deeanne Gist Went from Bad Girl to Good Girl

BY Tricia Carr, APRIL 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

When you read our June feature on historical fiction author Deeanne Gist, you’ll learn all about her May release, Fair Play, which stars a heroine, a doctor at the 1893 Chicago World’s Fair — a “man’s” job — and a hero who’s part 1980s alpha male and part Ryan Gosling. So we're pretty sure you're going to want to read it ASAP.

But there’s one story we didn’t have room to share with RT readers in the magazine. Gist recently told some RT editors that she was the “bad girl” of inspirational fiction before she crossed over to the mainstream market. What made her so naughty that her editor was fanning herself? She used too much “tongue”! Here’s the whole story from Gist:

The cover of Fair Play by Deeanne Gist

I first realized something was amiss after I sold my first book to an inspirational house. They told me they loved it and gave me a contract. We all signed on the dotted line. And then I got the revision letter.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inspirational Overview: March

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 25, 2014 | PERMALINK

Let's face it, life can be challenging. Especially when we — or our loved ones — are beset by health concerns far outside our control. In this month’s Inspirational overview, we take a look at four uplifting reads that feature strength and resilience as characters overcome illness, physical limitations and more. Take a look:

A Simple Hope cover

In Rosalind Lauer’s A Simple Hope, James Lapp must adapt to life in a wheelchair following an accident that left him without the use of his legs. Struggling to help maintain his family’s orchard, James has lost his faith and begins doubting his future with Rachel, the girl he intended to marry prior to the accident. But Rachel hasn’t given up, and she will do anything to help James regain his faith and love for life.

The cover of The Winner's Game


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Deeanne Gist Gives Back with 2 Who Care: You Could Win $1,000!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

The cover of Fair Play

Authors writing awesome books and giving back to the community, is there anything better? We sure don't think so! Deeanne Gist is one such do gooder, and she's sponsoring a great contest we just have to tell you about. 

Inspired by her upcoming May novel, Fair Play, which stars a Texas Ranger and a woman doctor who find love and intrigue at the 1893 Chicago World's Fair, Deeanne decided she wanted to honor modern couples who are giving back to their communities. 

So she started the 2 Who Care contest, to award one volunteer couple in the U.S. $1,000 for what they’re doing to improve their community. Here’s what she had to say about the contest entries that have been streaming in so far:

“I knew there were couples out there making in a difference in their communities, but knowing something and learning about it firsthand are two very different things. There’s a mom and dad who decided to provide free lunches to everyone in their community on certain days each summer. They’ve now served more than 2,000 lunches!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inspirational Overview: February

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 24, 2014 | PERMALINK

Siblings. Most of us have them and while we love them to death, sometimes they make life a bit more complicated. In this month’s inspirational overview, we’re taking a look at our recent favorite stories, all featuring troublesome siblings and the powerful choices we make because of them.

cover of Sadie's Secret

Kathleen Y’Barbo is up first with Sadie’s Secret, the third installment in her Secret Lives series. In this latest addition, Sadie Callum leads a secret life as an undercover agent for the Pinkerton Agency and her latest mission is to rectify a mess created by fellow agent Will Tucker’s twin brother, who escaped prison by framing Will. Now Will must rely on Sadie and her circle of high society connections to clear his name, but in doing so he finds himself falling in love. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inspirational YA Giveaway: Amy Clipston's Roadside Assistance & Destination Unknown

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

Listen, it can be hard figuring out who you are — who you're supposed to be. It's the only possible explanation we can think of as to why those quizzes are so popular on Facebook. And it's why we think Amy Clipston's inspirational YA so speaks to teens — and, ahem, adults who read YA. In Amy's two latest contemporary-set YA stand-alones, two teens find their own way, and become better people for it. In Roadside Assistance, car fanatic Emily and her dad must move in with her wealthy aunt after the hospital bills from Emily's mother's death leave them broke. Emily must fight against expectations of what a young lady should be, and maybe the cute boy with the 1970 Dodge Challenger can help. Meanwhile in Destination Unknown, always perfect Whitney gets a D in calculus. Her cute and different tutor, Taylor, helps her see what expectations have done to her life, and how she wants to change them.

 

     

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

My How Things Have Changed! Robin Lee Hatcher on her 30th Writing Anniversary

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 16, 2014 | PERMALINK

Thirty years is a good long time. Several members (though not all, ahem) of RT’s Web Team haven’t been on this planet for 30 years! But that’s the amount of time that Robin Lee Hatcher has been writing books. This month, her 30th publishing anniversary, Robin releases her 69th title, an RT Top Pick!, A Promise Kept. We had to hear everything.

I would love to tell you that I was only ten when my first book released, but I must confess, I was a little (cough, cough) bit older than that.

When I wrote my first books, I used a pen and yellow legal pads, writing evenings and weekends whenever I found a spare moment. During coffee breaks and lunch hours at work, I would use the office IBM Selectric to type the pages I’d written the night before (anybody remember onion skin and carbon paper?).


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inspirational Overview: January

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

Slavery is never an easy topic to tackle, but this month’s Inspirational picks all address this serious issue with hope and love. Whether they’re battling sex slavery, navigating the Underground railroad or struggling to free themselves of society’s control, the characters in the following books persevere and show that there’s always light at the end of a dark road.

In Michael K. Reynolds’s Songs of the Shenandoah, the final installment in his Heirs of Ireland trilogy, Clare Royce is happily married and enjoying motherhood, but something else is on her mind. Wanting to free those in slavery, Clare sets out to use her husband’s newspaper connections to help her succeed. But as other members of her family find success in unexpected places, she must decide which course is best for all.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST