RT Daily Blog

Mystery Month: Spotlight On Inspirational Mysteries

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

In honor of mystery month, today we are taking a look at some of the latest inspirational stories of suspense, danger and crime-solving that we've reviewed in the magazine. These books have a faith element, but they are easily accessible to most readers — and we suggest that genre fans hungry for more mystery reads check out some of the recent and upcoming titles we've spotlighted below.

OUT NOW

 

The Canary List
by Sigmund Brouwer
Subgenre: Suspense
Our Reviewer Says: “Clear your schedule: this is a one-sit read.”

When Crockett Grey, a teacher who is mourning the loss of his daughter, agrees to let one of his pre-teen students stay at his home, he doesn’t realize this act of kindness will plunge him into the center of a conspiracy that involves the Vatican.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sparks Fly on the Fourth of July!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 01, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today Lisa Lickel, the hostess of Clash of the Titles, highlights some of the fabulous inspirational tales (and authors) that, in the spirit of the fireworks that are the emblem of this weekend's holiday, have romance sparks flying! 

From some of our authors and friends of Clash of the Titles, we bring you the very best ways to create that romantic moment…fiction…and not! Enjoy the magic.

***

Deborah Kinnard

While working on a recent book (Powerline, reissue from Desert Breeze Publishing, September 2011), Deb was struck with a great way to have her characters fall in love. They would share a festival with the other dwellers in their small Illinois town. What better way for characters to complete the process of falling for one another than to wander through the fete, eating ice cream and manning the dunk tank?

Her characters liked the scenario just fine. A hot day, a cool night, good friends, a blanket under the trees – what’s not to contribute to falling in love?

- Deborah Kinnard, former honorable mention at Clash of the Titles

Seasons in the Mist, Sheaf House - winner, Grace Awards 2010

Timeless Romance, Transcendent Faith 


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

New Series Alert: Seasons Of The Heart By Martha Rogers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

 

There is nothing better than learning that a fan favorite author is launching a new series. So when we heard that inspirational author Martha Rogers has a new historical series releasing with this month's Summer Dreamwe just had to ask the author to give us an insider's look at her Seasons of the Heart series.

Seasons of the Heart, my new series, weaves together the lives of friends and family as they come to a place where they know God is the one true hope for the future. Four women, each from a different background discover that a dream can come true, God’s love can open eyes to truth, God will keep His promises, and there is hope for the future through forgiveness. Rachel, Kathleen, and Abigail’s strong faith bring their men the love they seek, and Libby shows how God works through her weakness to build strength. Beginning in Connecticut in 1888, the story moves to Texas in 1889 and follows the lives of these women as they find true love and bond in friendship only God could orchestrate.

 


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five On Friday: Newly Announced Inspirational Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

There are so many new book deals being made in the inspirational market that we’ve decided to devote a new special column to them. Here are five of this week's most inspiring inspirational book deals — just after they’ve been announced! 

Sparks fly when a former pickpocket becomes involved with a local deputy sheriff in Pam Hillman’s upcoming release Stealing Jake

Calling all Maureen Lang fans! Tyndale will be releasing two more books from the author tentatively titled Bees in the Butterfly Garden and Great Deeds Never Die


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Around The World: Traveling To Pompeii With T.L. Higley

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

Inspirational author T.L, Higley's new historical romance, Pompeii, is a Top Pick! RT Reviewer Lindy J. Swanson praises the story saying, "Higley’s meticulous research enhances readers’ understanding of the daring lives of the first Christians." Today we interview the author about her writing process and find out why Pompeii was the perfect setting for this tale that delves into the rise of early Christianity.

***

What first drew you to Pompeii as a setting for your book?

I’ve always loved ancient ruins and exotic locales. And what’s more fascinating than a lost city, frozen in time two millennia ago and then unearthed, exactly as it was at that moment? When archaeologists began digging out the ruins, they found an amazing amount of the city intact — from beautiful wall frescoes and mosaic floors, to shops, theaters, bakeries and even restaurants. They even found bowls of walnuts set out on a table, and loaves of bread cooling on a counter! Much of what we know of Roman life and culture comes from the discoveries of this buried city. I loved the idea of bringing it to life again, getting a glimpse of the people who lived and loved there.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

How Author Marybeth Whalen Used A Common Problem In Her New Book She Makes It Look Easy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today author Marybeth Whalen discuses how her own real life insecurities helped her connect with the characters in her newest release She Makes It Look Easy.

“Many books require no thought from those who read them, and for a very simple reason. They made no such demand upon those who wrote them.” - Charles Caleb Colton

My first novel, The Mailbox, was a light, fun beach read. While writing it, I basically went to the beach every day in my mind and thought about love all the time. What's not to like about that? 


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inspirational Publisher Tyndale House To Launch Digital First Imprint

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 01, 2011 | PERMALINK

Tyndale House, the Christian book publisher, has just announced that it will be launching a Digital First imprint. Readers will be able to purchase these e-book originals from online retailers starting this July.

In an effort to appeal to many different types of readers, Digital First's debut titles include a variety of genres and even a non fiction book. Fiction novels include Stealing Jake by Pam Hillman which is a historial romance; Delivery, a mainstream women’s fiction by Diana Prusik; Cash Burn a suspense novel by Michael Berrier and The Reinvention of Leona Harper, a contemporary story by Lynne Gentry. The non fiction work is 40 Days Without Food: Divine Goodness to a Starving Soul by Russ Masterson. For this book, Masterson goes on a month and a half long fast in order to explore what really matters in life. 

Associate publisher Karen Watson says of the new imprint, “Our challenge is that we see more publish-worthy novels than we can reasonably take to print in a year. This initiative gives us a way to say yes to books that deserve an opportunity and it helps Tyndale become more agile in serving a wider range of readers.”

Visit Tyndale House’s website for the latest from the publisher.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Carolyn Williford Found Inspiration From A Tragedy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 01, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Carolyn Williford found an unexpected inspiration for her newest release Bridge to a Distant Star. In the book, several people from all different walks of life, and all facing major dilemas, are united in their fight to survive a horrific bridge collapse. Today the author shares a look back at the accident that inspired her new inspirational mainstream tale.

On May 9, 1980, thirty-five people plunged into the Tampa Bay. Unbeknownst to them, a portion of the expansive Skyway Bridge had quite literally disappeared, and they were sent tumbling into the raging waters below. This actual incident that I’ve incorporated into my novel was a horrific tragedy—one that can leave a lasting impression on all who cross any bridge that spans a large body of water. Trust me in this: you will never again do so without probably at least one tense, insecure look ahead. And down. You’ll most likely have a strong urge to make sure that every section of that bridge is indeed still there!


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

De-Mythifying King Arthur With Linda Windsor

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 31, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Linda Windsor shares a look at her inspirational historical romance series including a focus on two of the characters in her books who play a large role in modern myth, King Arthur and Merlin.

When I began researching ancient Scotland for my Brides of Alba series, I had no idea that my story of the O’Byrne brothers finding their lady loves amidst Dark Age swash and buckle would become intricately woven with the Scottish Arthurian saga and historical traditions that rattled me to the roots of my faith. To my amazement, I first found that "arthur" and "merlin" were titles held by kings and sages/priests from the 4th and 5th centuries. The arthur I chose for this series was the last—the only one who was historically documented and actually bore the name Arthur as well. (It was taboo to call a person of great importance by his/her given name under penalty of death in the 4th and early 5th centuries.)


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five On Friday: Newly Announced Inspirational Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

There are so many new book deals being made in the inspirational market that we’ve decided to devote a new special column to them. Here are five of this week's most inspiring inspirational book deals — just after they’ve been announced! 

An Amish community is shocked by a local murder in Kit Wilkinson’s Death in Lancaster County. The detective investigating the homicide was raised in the faith and reluctantly returns, dreading seeing the woman he left behind. 

The couple in Annalisa Daughety's Wedding Date in Hot Springs agree to be stand-in dates for some major life events. However, the lines between truth and lies are blurred when the two start falling for each other. Publication set for 2012. 

In Erica Vetsch's upcoming historical romance A Bride Sews with Love in Needles, California is set during WWI. A young woman working from home in conjunction with the Red Cross falls in love with a man who hasn’t enlisted. Problems arise when he faces pressure from the rest of the townsfolk, who believe he is a coward, avoiding going to war. 


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST