RT Daily Blog

Ann H. Gabhart On The Universal Message In Angel Sister

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 01, 2011 | PERMALINK

Inspirational author Ann H. Gabhart chats about the tales that she wove together to create Angel Sister, an RT Top Pick! Learn how this new novel evolved from stories passed down through her family and what special message the author tried to send with her latest work.

People like to talk about the “good old days.” We often say we wish things were like they used to be, but most of us have selective memories when we think about our younger days. And that’s good. It’s a gift to dwell on the positive events of our pasts rather than things that weren’t so happy.

That’s the way it was for my mother. Mom was born in 1920 and remembers well the years of the Great Depression. Her family was poor but never went hungry at a time when many Americans did. My mother’s family avoided that by having a garden, a milk cow, and honeybees. And credit at the neighborhood grocery store. My mom and aunts loved to talk about when they were kids. Most of the time, they would end up laughing about their “good old days.” They felt loved and they were happy.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Karen Witemeyer On What She Considers Christian Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Karen Witemeyer talks about the definition of Inspirational romance, a term that is often used interchangeably with Christian romance. Learn why Witemeyer considers this romance "entertainment for the heart" in this special guest blog post.

As an inspirational romance author, I often get asked, "What exactly is Christian romance?" It seems like such a simple question, yet the answer is often hard to articulate succinctly. One could describe it by what it isn't—no sex scenes, no foul language, no overly graphic violence. But to do so would be like describing Christianity with a list of "thou shalt nots" and omitting all the wonders of grace, love, and joy inherent in a relationship with Christ. Such a definition fails to capture the richness of what the genre truly is.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Getting To Know A Preacher Man

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

In this special message, inspirational author Henry McLaughlin discusses constructing the main character of his newest historical romance, Journey to the Riverbend. This tale is a February RT Top Pick! Now learn what makes Michael Archer such a special hero:

Someone asked me what it was like to write a character who is an actual preacher.

Michael Archer, the hero of Journey to Riverbend, grew organically from my imagination and heart. True, he was filtered through my own life experiences as a Christian, a church volunteer, and as an observer of those who ministered to the sick, the poor, and those in prison. He is his own unique person, not an autobiographical image of myself nor a representation of anyone I personally know.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Three Inspirational First Kisses

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

For Valentine’s Day we are celebrating with three very special “first kiss” memories from Inspirational authors Vannetta Chapman, Camy Tang and Carrie Turansky. Read these three sweet stories and then share a first kiss that you remember fondly!

Vannetta Chapman, author of A Simple Amish Christmas, didn’t believe in love. Oh, it’d be nice to find a knight in shining armor ready to pluck her from her dreary, exhausted, single-parent living. But heroes didn’t exist. All the princes she knew turned salamander by the second date. Best she could hope for was a friendly dinner or two in between her monotonous Mondays. Then she met sweet, handsome Bob and knew he was perfect…for her sister. And she intended to tell him so, as soon as she got a chance.

But between his helping her hang her curtains, fixing her car and assisting in her cat’s birthing process; the timing never quite seemed right. What could she say? “Hey, thanks for helping with the kittens. Wanna date my sister?” And yet, it had to be done, before things got sticky.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Laurie Alice Eakes On The Power Of Midwives

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Laurie Alice Eakes shares the inspiration for her new historical romance Lady in the Mist. Learn how this story was influenced by Eakes' graduate level study of history and discover why the author finds midwives such compelling heroines. Then be sure to check out the excerpt of Lady in the Mist at the end of the post!

Never did I expect that my foray into academia in the late 1990s, frustration over a lack of resources, and a crunching deadline would lead me to selling my first mainstream historical romance novel. Without having to exaggerate or bend the truth, Lady in the Mist was born in the mountains of Virginia. 

While that gorgeous landscape turned red and gold beneath the autumn sun, I sat in my apartment, the university library, or my campus office and pored over books as much as three hundred years old. When my mind was supposed to be creating an academic paper, my subconscious was creating a novel.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
9COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Very Scottish Setting

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 01, 2011 | PERMALINK

Inspirational author Michael Phillips shares a behind the scenes look at the setting of his novel, Angel Harp. Discover how a friend's spooky experience inspired the Scottish Castle that plays a role in the author's newest tale!


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

FBI Agents, Detectives and Marshals—Oh My!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

Inspirational author Irene Hannon has transitioned from writing contemporary series books to creating tales of romantic suspense. Discover which classic tales of suspense inspired the author to try her hand at this new genre and find out what she's learned as she starts her second romantic suspense series.

When I decided to dip my toes into romantic suspense after writing 20+ contemporary series romances, I knew I’d be entering a whole new world.

It wasn’t going to be Kansas anymore.

And taking such a plunge is always a little scary.

But I’ve loved romantic suspense ever since my Nancy Drew days. In fact, my first novel—now buried in the deepest, darkest corner of my closet, where it shall forever remain—was a romantic suspense. And it was bad. Really bad. I didn’t have the law enforcement background to write that kind of book, nor was the internet around in those days. So I went with contemporary romance.

A few years ago, however, the urge to write romantic suspense returned.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

James L. Rubart On the Personal Inspiration for His New Novel

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author James L. Rubart’s latest tale, Book of Days, follows hero Cameron Vaux as the man quests to find God's Book of Days. Learn about the author's personal emotional journey that inspired him to create this new mystery.

Do you take photos? Me too. Why do we fill our phones and flash cards with thousands of pictures of our family and friends, of landscapes, of birthdays and holidays and the events that shape our lives? 

Because something inside us wants to remember.

Something inside us longs to capture that moment of joy or breakthrough or tenderness. I believe it’s because of a universal desire to record our lives, to somehow keep the ravages of time from eroding our most treasured moments. 

It was around 2000 that my family realized my dad had started losing his most treasured moments. As parts of his mind slipped away, it only caused the joy inside him to be released in fuller measure—that part was a gift. Even so, the pain of watching him walk down the path of the long-goodbye was wrenching.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Scrapbooking With Series Author Carolyne Aarsen - Plus Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

Inspirational series romance author Carolyne Aarsen shares how her love of scrapbooking helped her craft her latest multi-dimensional heroine, Beth. Learn how Beth uses crafting in this month's The Baby Promise and enter to win your own copy of this new Steeple Hill romance!

Every time I work on a book one of the struggles I have is rounding out my characters, especially my heroine. Who is she? What does she want? Why does she want it? With my book coming out in January I had a heroine who didn’t trust words. She needed to find another way to express herself.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Melody Carlson’s Conversation With a Character

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 28, 2010 | PERMALINK

Inspirational author Melody Carlson gives readers a special look behind the scenes of her YA novel Damaged.

For amusement, I have invited my protagonist from the book I’m currently writing to speak to me outside of the perimeters of the story. This fictional character, sixteen year old Haley McLean, stars in a rather serious novel titled Damaged in my young adult series Secrets published by Nav Press. 

Melody: So, Haley, is there anything you’d like to tell me? 

Haley: Yes. Why are you being so mean to me?

Melody: Mean? I’m not being mean, I’m just telling a story. 

Haley: Says you. I’m the one doing all the suffering here. For starters you give me these practically useless parents. 

Melody: All teens think their parents are useless. 

Haley: Fine, but mine take it to a whole new level. Not only are they divorced, but my mom is a religious freak and my dad is all about himself. 


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST