RT Daily Blog

Author Interview With Chris Fabry

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 21, 2010 | PERMALINK

In his newest RT Top Pick! rated release Almost Heaven, inspirational author Chris Fabry uses his real life experiences as a radio host to enhance his story. Now the author discusses what it is like to use personal anecdotes in his fiction and what readers can expect in his next book.

RT BOOK REVIEWS: Almost Heaven is told in alternating viewpoints, that of Billy and the angel Malachai. What is a something you used when writing from Malachai's point of view to reinforce the angel's heavenly voice?

Chris FabryAngels have always been difficult to get right as far as voice. They either come off sounding too Elizabethan or too hokey. I tried hard to keep a somewhat distant voice, separate in a way, but still inquisitive and full of wonder. I can’t wait to see if I was anywhere close.

Read the Interview >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

What in the World is an Ecclesiastical Thriller? - With Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 14, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Donna Fletcher Crow talks about the crossroad between thrillers and the inspirational genre. Learn what an Ecclesiastical Thriller is and by what other names it is known by, such as Clerical Mystery. And then check out the excerpt of the author’s latest Ecclesiastical Thriller, A Very Private Grave, at the end of the post!

I am so delighted to be a guest today on The RT Daily Blog to introduce your readers to my Ecclesiastical Thriller A Very Private Grave, book #1 in my Monastery Murders series.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Take a Look Behind the Scenes of Valeria's Cross!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 07, 2010 | PERMALINK

Kathi Macias and Susan Wales are California girls with a passion for telling stories, so it seemed like fate when they connected to write co-write this stunning inspirational historical novel about “lost love, torn loyalties…and a dangerous faith.” Now the authors share a look behind the scenes at the making of Valeria's Cross.

Susan: A southerner by birth, I consider myself a great storyteller and an incurable romantic, but as a writer, editing always presents a challenge for me. When I met Kathi, a renowned writer/editor, in several writer/speaker groups, and she suggested that we collaborate on a book, it sounded like a match made in heaven! I was intrigued when she invited me to lunch to chat about project possibilities.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Ladies' Shooting Club Comes to an End

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 23, 2010 | PERMALINK

The Blacksmith's Bravery wraps up author Susan Page Davis' latest inspirational series. Now the author gives readers behind the scenes look at her popular trilogy.

This book is the third in my series called The Ladies’ Shooting Club, set in an Idaho mountain town in the 1880s. When I first thought of this series, I wanted to write about a group of women who supported each other and did something unusual in the time and place.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Francine Rivers On Faith And Family In Her New Novels

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Francine Rivers shares how her latest inspirational novels helped her find answers about her own family's emotional journey toward love and acceptance.

Her Mother’s Hope began my odyssey of seeking answers regarding relationships in my own family, primarily the relationship between my mother and grandmother. Once very close, they were somewhat estranged when my grandmother died. Sometimes expectations get in the way of reality. While examining their lives (through my grandmother’s brief memoir and my mother’s many journals) I saw how they had different ways of living out their Christian faith. Marta (inspired by my grandmother) had to leave everyone and everything behind in order to achieve her dreams. She had her mother’s blessing to do so. Marta’s (and my grandmother’s) view of faith: God helps those who help themselves.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

WIN A Pair Of Inspirational Novels!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 18, 2010 | PERMALINK

In the second of three pairs of novel giveaways, today you have a chance to win a pair inspirational novels. These are two signed books that RT Executive Editor Faygie Levy brought back from this year's national RWA conference. If you are the lucky winner, you will be receiving two Love Inspired novels, Running Scared by Shirlee McCoy and Loving Bella by Renee Ryan.

In honor of this giveaway, RT's Whitney Sullivan chatted with Renee Ryan about some of the hidden details of Loving Bella and what the author is working on next.

Whitney Sullivan: What's something you love about the process of writing inspirational romances?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lisa Samson On The Power Of Fear

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 18, 2010 | PERMALINK

With her new novel, Resurrection In May, author Lisa Samson challenges readers to face their fears. Samson explains why she chose to write about an American female missionary's experiences living through the genocide in Rwanda during 1994 and shares the story of the single real-life American missionary who did the same.

Improbable? Maybe. Impossible? Definitely not. In Resurrection In May, May Seymour, living at a mission in Rwanda, hears the invective on the radio against the Tutsi. And still she loves. She hears the gunshots coming closer. And still she loves. She realizes the monstrous forces bent on destruction are just outside the door. And still she loves? Really? Is it likely an American would have stayed in Rwanda during the genocide that took almost a million lives in 1994?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

What Is Inspiring Inspirational Author Ronie Kendig

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

Ronie Kendig, author of the new inspirational novel Nightshade, shares how her hero Max was inspired by the members of the U.S. Armed Forces and the challenges that are still ahead of these real-life heroes when they return from the front lines of battle. And don't miss the excerpt of Nightshade after the blog post. 

This is who I am, Sydney. You didn’t have a problem with me when we got married.” — Nightshade, pg. 73

That line is Max Jacobs’s best defense. And it’s a lie. But Max will do anything to avoid the truth, to ignore the cage of demons locked in his mind. To acknowledge the truth, he must face what left him haunted—and that’s a mission this former Navy SEAL won’t accept. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Destination: Hawaii

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 12, 2010 | PERMALINK

Novels allow readers to travel around the world even if they can't drop everything and head to somewhere like Russia, Singapore or Indonesia. When writing about a foreign country, authors use the locale's culture, language and particular destinations to bring their stories to life. Now the RT Web Team is going in-depth to find out how authors are inspired by these countries and what details they use to transport readers around the world.

Today, join us for a look at Hawaii when RT interviews inspirational author Robin Jones Gunn of this month's Under The Maui Moon ...

RT: Why did you choose Hawaii as your setting for Under The Maui Moon?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Summer Heat Genre Giveaway

BY admin, JUNE 23, 2010 | PERMALINK

In honor of this week's summer heat, we are giving away some of the hottest books to be released between June 10th and 29th. We are giving away books from aross the genres. So whether you are a fan of historicals, like Courtesan's Kiss by Mary Blayney, or thrillers, like Barry Eisler's Inside Out, we've got a book for you.

All you need to do is pick the genre that you'd like to win, and follow the instructions below!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Inspirational, Mainstream, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST