RT Daily Blog

Francine Rivers On Faith And Family In Her New Novels

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Francine Rivers shares how her latest inspirational novels helped her find answers about her own family's emotional journey toward love and acceptance.

Her Mother’s Hope began my odyssey of seeking answers regarding relationships in my own family, primarily the relationship between my mother and grandmother. Once very close, they were somewhat estranged when my grandmother died. Sometimes expectations get in the way of reality. While examining their lives (through my grandmother’s brief memoir and my mother’s many journals) I saw how they had different ways of living out their Christian faith. Marta (inspired by my grandmother) had to leave everyone and everything behind in order to achieve her dreams. She had her mother’s blessing to do so. Marta’s (and my grandmother’s) view of faith: God helps those who help themselves.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

WIN A Pair Of Inspirational Novels!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 18, 2010 | PERMALINK

In the second of three pairs of novel giveaways, today you have a chance to win a pair inspirational novels. These are two signed books that RT Executive Editor Faygie Levy brought back from this year's national RWA conference. If you are the lucky winner, you will be receiving two Love Inspired novels, Running Scared by Shirlee McCoy and Loving Bella by Renee Ryan.

In honor of this giveaway, RT's Whitney Sullivan chatted with Renee Ryan about some of the hidden details of Loving Bella and what the author is working on next.

Whitney Sullivan: What's something you love about the process of writing inspirational romances?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lisa Samson On The Power Of Fear

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 18, 2010 | PERMALINK

With her new novel, Resurrection In May, author Lisa Samson challenges readers to face their fears. Samson explains why she chose to write about an American female missionary's experiences living through the genocide in Rwanda during 1994 and shares the story of the single real-life American missionary who did the same.

Improbable? Maybe. Impossible? Definitely not. In Resurrection In May, May Seymour, living at a mission in Rwanda, hears the invective on the radio against the Tutsi. And still she loves. She hears the gunshots coming closer. And still she loves. She realizes the monstrous forces bent on destruction are just outside the door. And still she loves? Really? Is it likely an American would have stayed in Rwanda during the genocide that took almost a million lives in 1994?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

What Is Inspiring Inspirational Author Ronie Kendig

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

Ronie Kendig, author of the new inspirational novel Nightshade, shares how her hero Max was inspired by the members of the U.S. Armed Forces and the challenges that are still ahead of these real-life heroes when they return from the front lines of battle. And don't miss the excerpt of Nightshade after the blog post. 

This is who I am, Sydney. You didn’t have a problem with me when we got married.” — Nightshade, pg. 73

That line is Max Jacobs’s best defense. And it’s a lie. But Max will do anything to avoid the truth, to ignore the cage of demons locked in his mind. To acknowledge the truth, he must face what left him haunted—and that’s a mission this former Navy SEAL won’t accept. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Destination: Hawaii

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 12, 2010 | PERMALINK

Novels allow readers to travel around the world even if they can't drop everything and head to somewhere like Russia, Singapore or Indonesia. When writing about a foreign country, authors use the locale's culture, language and particular destinations to bring their stories to life. Now the RT Web Team is going in-depth to find out how authors are inspired by these countries and what details they use to transport readers around the world.

Today, join us for a look at Hawaii when RT interviews inspirational author Robin Jones Gunn of this month's Under The Maui Moon ...

RT: Why did you choose Hawaii as your setting for Under The Maui Moon?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Summer Heat Genre Giveaway

BY admin, JUNE 23, 2010 | PERMALINK

In honor of this week's summer heat, we are giving away some of the hottest books to be released between June 10th and 29th. We are giving away books from aross the genres. So whether you are a fan of historicals, like Courtesan's Kiss by Mary Blayney, or thrillers, like Barry Eisler's Inside Out, we've got a book for you.

All you need to do is pick the genre that you'd like to win, and follow the instructions below!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Inspirational, Mainstream, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Shelves Tuesday 6/22/2010

BY admin, JUNE 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance

  Twice Tempted By A Rogue by Tessa Dare

"A great book that deserves a place on your keeper shelf"  

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Inspirational, Mainstream, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Eva Marie Everson Asks The Question - When Are Historicals, Historical?

BY admin, JUNE 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Eva Marie Everson reflects on the 1960s and why she set her newest release, This Fine Life, in the tumultuous decade.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Post A Review for a Chance To Win a 2011 RT BOOKLOVERS CONVENTION Registration

BY admin, JUNE 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

On your mark, get set, post your own review!

On each of our book reviews, you can tell us (and your fellow readers) exactly what you think of the books you have read. Now is the time to let everyone know your opinion about your favorite (or not so favorite) stories. With over 40,000 reviews on the RT BOOK REVIEWS site, the possibilities to share are almost endless.

Now until August 1st, each time you review a book you will be entered to win a free registration to the 2011 RT BOOKLOVERS Convention in L.A. The more reviews you post, the more chances you have to win. We will randomly choose one lucky winner to receive the free convention registration.

Not registered as a visitor? No problem! Click here to sign up for an RT site login. Its free and easy.

Already have a login? You are ready to post. Use the advanced book search for help finding the titles you would like to review.

Official Contest Rules >>

Let us know what books you are reviewing - comment below and keep us informed!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, E-Book, Erotica, Inspirational, Mainstream, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inspirational Author Erin Healy Asks: What Cannot Be Forgiven?

BY admin, MAY 28, 2010 | PERMALINK
 

Inspirational author, Erin Healy, asks the question: Is there anyone in your life you’ll never be able to forgive?

My novel Never Let You Go grew out of this question. I’d been thinking a lot about forgiveness, or more specifically, unforgiveness, after pondering a strange encounter.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST