RT Daily Blog

Exclusive Excerpt: A Plain Disappearance

BY Elissa Petruzzi, SEPTEMBER 04, 2013 | PERMALINK

RT readers are always in the know, so of course we're all aware that Amish fiction is incredibly popular right now. The appeal of the simpler life, and those sweet romances, attracts readers in droves. And today we've got a treat for you, an exclusive excerpt from Amanda Flower's A Plain Disappearance, an RT Top Pick! Our reviewer said of this intriguing mystery, "Flower has hit it out of the ballpark with this series and continues to amaze with her knowledge of the Amish way of life." 

Curious? Read on ...

Steam rose from Sparky’s nose and mouth into the frigid late December air as he shook his bridle and pulled the sleigh over a small hill. The sleigh owner’s grandson, Timothy Troyer, sat in the driver seat, wearing a thick wool coat, black knit cap, and navy scarf wrapped about his neck. He held the reins with a light but firm touch, and he looked every bit the part of a young Amish man out for a sleigh ride—even though he’d left the Amish way years before.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

August Inspirational Overview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 07, 2013 | PERMALINK

A novel’s setting plays a major role in the overall story and, more often than not, becomes more like a character than a simple writing device. The setting can not only provide readers with an idea of where the story takes place, it can also help illuminate the characters and plots in insightful and engaging ways. This month’s inspirational fiction recommendations all take place in different locations, ranging from Jerusalem to a local high school, but all of the settings help readers better understand the characters and their journeys.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Camy Tang On Wild (Fictional) Wedding Planning

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 01, 2013 | PERMALINK

Evangeline Kelley is the pen name for the writing team of Pam Hanson, Patti Berg, Barbara Andrews and Camy Tang. Together they write the Postcards from Misty Harbor Inn series, made up of sweet, contemporary love stories set in beautiful Nantucket. The latest in the series, Whispers on the Dock, releases today and we reached out to Camy Tang to ask her about how she became a romance author and why weddings are her favorite scenes to write!

I have been a romance reader since I was very young. I liked reading Nancy Drew because of her relationship with her boyfriend Ned. I read the entire Little House on the Prairie series, but my favorite was These Happy Golden Years when Almanzo proposes to Laura. I devoured Tamora Pierce’s Song of the Lionness series, mostly because I wanted to know about the romance between Alanna and Prince Jonathan. No matter what genre of book I read, I found myself more interested in the love story subplot than the main plot.

Imagine my delight in discovering Harlequin romance novels! My mom subscribed to the reader service, and so I started reading them along with her. I loved feisty, strong heroines and strong, protective heroes.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inspirational Book Recommendations: July 2013

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 09, 2013 | PERMALINK

Life can be considered many things, but most will agree it is a journey, a journey to self-discovery, love and home. We learn the most important lessons as we navigate the winding road and every experience — both good and bad — helps us grow and continue forward. Many of the characters in the inspirational stories featured this month have a journey of their own to take, so be sure to check out these books to see where they end up.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lisa Takeuchi Cullen Reveals How Art Imitates Life

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 19, 2013 | PERMALINK

A fantastic story has the power to move us, and for author Lisa Takeuchi Cullen, one story in particular hits a little close to home. Today the author shares how Colleen McCullough's 1978 family drama The Thorn Birds is eerily similar to Cullen's own personal family story — family being the theme Cullen explores in her latest release, Pastors' Wives.

When I first read The Thorn Birds, I didn’t immediately recognize the parallels to my own family.

Colleen McCullough’s 1978 novel centers on Meggie Cleary, a beautiful girl who lives and works on the Australian estate of her enormously wealthy aunt. Lonely Meggie befriends Father Ralph de Bricassart, a dashing and ambitious young priest eager to win over the aunt’s sponsorship so he can advance in the Roman Catholic Church.

As Meggie develops into a gorgeous young woman, her friendship with Ralph blossoms into love. But the jealous aunt fixes things so Ralph has to choose between his ambitions and his heart. He chooses Rome.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inspirational Book Recommendations: June 2013

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 10, 2013 | PERMALINK

Those who live in faith know that their talents are gifts from God. And to honor their Maker, these precious abilities should be used to help others. This month there are many inspirational characters who embrace their skills in order to realize their full potential. They must learn to accept their gifts and embrace their passion in life. Do you like characters who fight to not just survive but really live? If so, make sure to check out these June inspirational tale.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Beth K. Vogt Asks How Important Age Is In Romance Novels

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 29, 2013 | PERMALINK

Traditionally, there are set ages for romance heroes and heroines. A young miss often pairs nicely with a (slightly) older man. But many readers know that age is just a number, it is a great story that really counts. Today inspirational author Beth K. Vogt visits the RT Daily Blog to discuss how love — true love — doesn't only happen in one's twenties. Mature characters can also find their perfect match, like the couple in Vogt's newest release Catch A Falling Star.

There is no expiration date on romance.

If you read that sentence and mentally agreed with me — bravo! The question then becomes why are so many romance novels centered on twenty-somethings pursuing their happily-ever-afters?


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inspirational Book Recommendations: May 2013

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 22, 2013 | PERMALINK

No matter where you find yourself, tomorrow and the next day and the next will always bring something new. This topic of change is at the center of many faith based reads releasing this month. Do you want to meet characters who face new opportunities and situations? If so, make sure to check out these inspirational books. 


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Deeanne Gist Visits The 1893 Chicago World's Fair In Her Latest Novel - With Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 09, 2013 | PERMALINK

Never before or since has there been quite the extravaganza as at the 1893 Chicago World's Fair. This amazing event has gone down in history — both for exhibiting groundbreaking innovations as well as offering a snapshot at American life during the late 19th century. In her latest novel It Happened At The Fair, author Deeanne Gist brings this historical event to life. This inspirational novel follows a man who risks everything to travel to the World's Fair to sell his invention. But with the hustle and bustle of the crowds, he requires the help of a lip reading schoolteacher to guide him through the chaos. Today the author shares what she learned about the Fair and how she incorporated her research into her story. After hearing from the author, if you would like to be entered into a giveaway for It Happened At The Fair, leave a comment at end of of this post. 


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Joan Wolf On Her Version Of Mary Magdalene's Story

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 22, 2013 | PERMALINK

This month author Joan Wolf treats readers to her rendition of Mary Magdalene's story in Daughter of Jerusalem. According to RT reviewer Kerry Sutherland, Mary is a character who "comes alive at the author’s hand." We were intrigued by Wolf's tale of love, loss and Mary's relationship with Jesus, and went to the author to learn more about what motivated her to write about a woman who has fascinated people for centuries. 

Daughter of Jerusalem, my novel about Mary Magdalene, was in the back of my mind for a long time before I finally felt ready to sit down and write it. Mary is a fascinating figure, and has been so down through the ages. One of the reasons she is so remarkably interesting is that she is one of the very few women in the gospels who is actually named. Jesus interacted with many women during the course of his ministry, but most of them remain nameless, evidently not of enough interest to the evangelists to deserve identification (they do name many even minor male figures, however).


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST