RT Daily Blog

Beth Wiseman's Tips On Crafting A Good Inspirational Romance Novel

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 09, 2013 | PERMALINK

Beth Wiseman knows a thing or three about crafting a sweet, small town inspirational romance. The author's dozen plus novels are full of beautiful love stories and touching characters. Today she shares her process for the planning, plotting and pruning of her latest novel, The House that Love Built.

I love a good romance, but I also need a few twists and turns along the way. I realized a long time ago that my reading and writing preferences include more than just the standard ‘boy meets girl’ plot. When you pick up a romance novel, you know there is going to be a happily-ever-after ending for the couple, but it’s what happens throughout the story that keeps us turning the pages.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cynthia Ruchti On Motherhood In Many Forms

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 01, 2013 | PERMALINK

Today Cynthia Ruchti releases her novel When the Morning Glory Blooms which tells the story of three women whose lives are changed forever by motherhood. Becky is the mother of a teen who unexpectedly gets pregnant. Ivy becomes pregnant and her soldier husband, who is fighting overseas, is unaware of the news. And Anna, an elderly woman Ivy meets working in a nursing home, shares some very valuable words of wisdom gained through a lifetime of living. Today the author shares how motherhood can shape us in many ways, and what drove her to craft this heartwarming tale.

I dreamed about her again last night. The mom who will be handed When the Morning Glory Blooms for Mother’s Day along with a note that says, “Thank you for loving me … even then.”

The high school student hoping to graduate before her due date. She opens her backpack to find a ribbon-wrapped, morning glory-splashed novel and a note from her broken-hearted mother. “I’m here. Lean on me.”


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inspirational Book Recommendations: March 2013

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 08, 2013 | PERMALINK

Not feeling inspired when it comes to your next faith-based read? We are here to help! Here are our recommendations for some great inspirational books releasing this month.

 

If drama is what you crave, then we suggest you check out the historical inspirational Forsaken Dreams by MaryLu Tyndall. The story features Eliza Crawford, a woman recovering from the destruction of the Civil War. Another emotional read releasing this month is the contemporary tale Wings of Glass by Gina Holmes, which centers on the unhealthy relationship between Penny and Trent. The story asks a tough question — once an abuser, always an abuser?


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

January Inspirational Overview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 18, 2013 | PERMALINK

From small town living to mining the past for inspiration, there is a plethora of excellent faith based reads releasing this month. For the complete list and ratings of great inspirational titles, check out the January issue of RT, but for a quick overview of our favorites read on. 


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: James Rubart

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 28, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author James Rubart writes thrilling, fast-paced inspirational stories laced with suspense and mystery. His latest release, Soul's Gate, is an exceptional tale about Reece Roth, a man who must join forces with God in an epic battle of good versus evil. Reece's power? He's able to journey inside a person's soul and help them fight their inner demons. But Satan has a plan of his own, and if Reece wants to fight for the Lord in the spiritual realm, he's going to have to come to terms with his own tortured past. During the recent American Christian Fiction Writers Conference, RT's Morgan got a chance to talk with the author, who discusses the philosophical themes in his novels, how his Christian faith plays a role in his writing, where his work falls in the realm of speculative fiction and what's next for his writing.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Girls, Interrupted: Heroines In November’s Inspirational Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 19, 2012 | PERMALINK

The best-laid schemes of mice and men,
Often go awry.
- Robert Burns

Everyone loves a take-charge heroine, especially a lady with a plan. However, despite careful plotting, the characters in November’s inspirational fiction are thwarted over and over again. Today we look at several of the schemes that these ladies concoct to get themselves out of trouble. Unfortunately for them, even the most well thought out strategy can fail as not everything goes according to plan ...


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

More Of RT's 2012 Award Nominees - Inspirational

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 07, 2012 | PERMALINK

This week RT BOOK REVIEWS is revealing our nominees for 2012 Reviewers' Choice Awards. (We have already listed our picks for our favorite Historical Romance, Young Adult, Science Fiction/Fantasy, Erotic Romance, Contemporary Romance & Romantic Suspense, Series Romance, Mystery/Suspense and Paranormal/Urban Fantasy books with other genres including Mainstream Fiction & Multicultural to come later today.) But right now, we are focused on books that reinforce our faith and give us hope. Here is a list of our nominations for our favorite Inspirational novels of the year.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
17COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

October Inspirational Overview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 04, 2012 | PERMALINK

With the expansion of inspirational fiction, readers are able to find a wide variety of books about characters wrestling with faith and real-world issues. Whether you are looking for a historically set story or a contemporary read, these books will warm your heart while giving you hope in your own life. This month there are several great new releases that fans of faith-based fiction are sure to want to check out. Here are a few of our favorites:

 


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

ACFW 2012: Allen Arnold and James Rubart On Living Free and Writing Free

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 25, 2012 | PERMALINK

During the American Christian Fiction Writers Conference last week, former vice president of Thomas Nelson Publishers Allen Arnold and award winning author Jim Rubart presented the workshop “Live Free. Write Free.” which focused on what they call the “heart of the storyteller.”

Because writing is a performance-driven profession, it can be easy for authors to be subsumed by their career and neglect themselves. This can be harmful to the writer as well as their writing. As Allen says, “You can’t write what you aren’t.” So during their presentation, these two speakers gave some important tips on how writers can stay true to themselves and their message. The advice given during this interactive workshop was for authors, but there were also some great gems that everyone can use in their daily lives.

***

THE PROBLEM

Feeling inadequate and being unable to write.

THE SOLUTION

Allen says that he has seen many, many authors struggle with writing. At one time or another, every author will feel like they can’t get their characters right or the plot is not flowing. This leads to a lack of joy in their writing. Allen warns that this is not a problem with writing techniques, but actually an issue within the writer’s heart.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, Inspirational
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Nancy Mehl Gives Us A Special Look Inside A Mennonite Wedding

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

We recently asked various Amish romance writers to tell us a bit about Amish wedding traditions. Both RT staff and readers were so fascinated by what we learned, that we decided to take a look at a similar, yet entirely seperate, community's wedding customs — the Mennonites. Author Nancy Mehl is known for her uplifting fiction about Mennonite culture, including her latest release Inescapable. Today she shares what she's learned about how Mennonites celebrate their big day. 

Describing a Mennonite wedding is difficult since traditions are widespread throughout the church. Modern Mennonite churches aren’t much different than most Protestant churches therefore their weddings are very similar. However, a Conservative Mennonite wedding has some distinct differences from modern ceremonies.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST