RT Daily Blog

ACFW 2012: Allen Arnold and James Rubart On Living Free and Writing Free

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 25, 2012 | PERMALINK

During the American Christian Fiction Writers Conference last week, former vice president of Thomas Nelson Publishers Allen Arnold and award winning author Jim Rubart presented the workshop “Live Free. Write Free.” which focused on what they call the “heart of the storyteller.”

Because writing is a performance-driven profession, it can be easy for authors to be subsumed by their career and neglect themselves. This can be harmful to the writer as well as their writing. As Allen says, “You can’t write what you aren’t.” So during their presentation, these two speakers gave some important tips on how writers can stay true to themselves and their message. The advice given during this interactive workshop was for authors, but there were also some great gems that everyone can use in their daily lives.

***

THE PROBLEM

Feeling inadequate and being unable to write.

THE SOLUTION

Allen says that he has seen many, many authors struggle with writing. At one time or another, every author will feel like they can’t get their characters right or the plot is not flowing. This leads to a lack of joy in their writing. Allen warns that this is not a problem with writing techniques, but actually an issue within the writer’s heart.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, Inspirational
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Nancy Mehl Gives Us A Special Look Inside A Mennonite Wedding

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

We recently asked various Amish romance writers to tell us a bit about Amish wedding traditions. Both RT staff and readers were so fascinated by what we learned, that we decided to take a look at a similar, yet entirely seperate, community's wedding customs — the Mennonites. Author Nancy Mehl is known for her uplifting fiction about Mennonite culture, including her latest release Inescapable. Today she shares what she's learned about how Mennonites celebrate their big day. 

Describing a Mennonite wedding is difficult since traditions are widespread throughout the church. Modern Mennonite churches aren’t much different than most Protestant churches therefore their weddings are very similar. However, a Conservative Mennonite wedding has some distinct differences from modern ceremonies.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

September Inspirational Overview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 12, 2012 | PERMALINK

As lazy summer days give way to fall, inspirational fiction continues to shed light on matters of faith. This September we look ahead to the upcoming — and eagerly awaited — holiday season with the heartwarming tale of a little girl’s wish in The Christmas Pony. We continue our overview of new releases by meeting several fictional women who lend a helping hand. Then, inspy mystery authors give us startling insight into the minds of their villains, one Tweet at a time. And finally, we round up the some of this month’s best Amish romances.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

August Inspirational Overview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 03, 2012 | PERMALINK

There are several interesting themes running through this month’s new inspirational fiction releases. A number of August’s books take a look at mixing religions — and the challenges and the rewards that come with multi-faith communities. Then we hear from an author about the significance a certain scripture passage has for her new novel The Other Side of Goodness. Next, we take a look at several stories that bring people together with the running theme of the importance of writing. Plus, don’t miss our look at the series romances that are keeping the faith this month. And finally, we round out this wrap-up with a look at the inspirational genre-related news stories that are making headlines in the publishing industry!


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

July Inspirational Overview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

If you are on the hunt for a fantastic inspirational read, this month it’s all about standout books from the various subgenres. From stories of suspense to love set in the past, this month fans will find a wide variety of stories about people wrestling with faith and real-world choices. The selection of July’s inspy new releases are sure to delight a reader of any age!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Spotlight On The Traditional Amish Wedding

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 21, 2012 | PERMALINK

June marks the beginning of the wedding season, but that word doesn't mean white silk, bouquets and veils for everyone. In today's multicultural world, people celebrate marriage festivities with very different components. Always interested in learning more about cultures and religion, we've asked three authors discuss the wedding traditions of an insular group of people — the Amish. Read on to get insight from Suzanne Woods Fisher, Tricia Goyer and and Beth Wiseman on how the Amish herald a new union.

***

WHAT DOES A GARDEN SAY ABOUT LOVE? WITH SUZANNE WOODS FISHER

Courtships among the Old Order Amish are very hush-hush. When a couple is “published” (code for when an engagement is announced in church), it often comes as a surprise to others. But for nosey types, like you and me, all we need to do is to keep an eye on a family’s vegetable garden. If you happen to notice celery—a lot of celery! Four hundred stalks or more—chances are that love is in the air for the young lady in the household. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

June Inspirational Overview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 01, 2012 | PERMALINK

The inspirational novels of June are sure to get you revved up and ready to recommit yourself to your faith. In this month’s roundup we are featuring a slew of must-read stories, from an RT Top Pick!-rated series in the spotlight to a look at books that have us thinking of “rollin', rollin', rollin' on the river.” We will also introduce you to debut author Alexa Schnee, get you caught up on genre news and reveal some just-made deals that will have you giddy with glee!

SPOTLIGHT SERIES: BRIDES OF ALBA

Linda Windsor’s Brides of Alba novels will inspire readers with tales of triumphant heroines in Arthurian Britain. The three books in this series all received ratings of RT Top Pick! And with heroines like these, we are all motivated to try to be the best people we can. RT reviewer Lindy says, “The series should be read in order, and readers will want to discuss these books with friends for hours.” 


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Candace Calvert Reveals Her Inspiration Behind Trauma Plan

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 17, 2012 | PERMALINK

If you like your inspirational romance with a medical element, you're probably no stranger to Candace Calvert 's novels. The author crafts uplifting tales of medical professionals and their everyday struggles to bring hope to the ill. Calvert recently kicked off her new Grace Medical series with Trauma Plan, which tells the story of nurse chaplain Riley Hale as she attempts to resist the charm of Dr. Jack Travis. With such realistic detail in the novel, we weren't surprised to learn that this author uses her own experiences as an ER nurse to add a realistic touch to her stories. Today the author shares how she spins her medical know-how into addicting inspirational reads.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
23COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Author Spotlight: Dani Pettrey

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 10, 2012 | PERMALINK

Name: Dani Pettrey

Book: Submerged

Current Home: Maryland

Job (when not writing): Homeschool mom 

Author Icon: I’ve been inspired by so many writers, but if I had to pick just one, I would definitely say Dee Henderson. She’s a phenomenal story teller and such an inspiring person.

How many manuscripts do you have hidden under the bed?: Two under the bed and two more that may still see publication one day :)

How long did it take you to sell your first book?: From the first thought of "maybe I’ll write a book" to contract was seven years.

Can you give us a rundown of writing Submerged?


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

May Inspirational Overview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 03, 2012 | PERMALINK

May’s inspirational novels have something for everyone. Whether you prefer to read tales set in the past or present, with romance or mystery, adult or teen heroes, there’s a new read on shelves this month that is sure to give you your faith filled fiction fix! Take a look at some of the religious-based reads that are making our TBR lists.


HISTORICAL ROMANCE

 

Pursuit of Lucy Banning
by Olivia Newport

Why you should check out this read: RT reviewer Patsy says that in this book readers can expect to “be treated to the grandeur and charm of the wealthy and the not-so-wealthy. In this story thick with secrets and lies, Newport’s characters are by turn charming, conniving or trying to be true to themselves in spite of what society expects of them.”


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST