RT Daily Blog

Leann Harris On Her Inspiration For Creating Military Heroes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 14, 2012 | PERMALINK

Series author Leann Harris is known for writing shorter romances that pack a punch, and writing incredibly strong heroes who readers can't help but fall for. Her latest story, Redemption Ranch, features timid army soldier, Tyler. Today, we hear from the author about where she finds the inspiration to craft such wonderful and heartwarming characters. 

People often ask how do I get story ideas? They are everywhere. The idea for Redemption Ranch came from the Military Channel program entitled Dogs of War, about dogs the US Army used during WWII. Americans volunteered their dogs and they were trained and used in the Pacific. That show was followed by another entitled No Dog Left Behind about dogs American soldiers found in Iraq.  


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
21COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Dan Walsh On The Discovery

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 02, 2012 | PERMALINK

Inspirational author Dan Walsh returns this month with The Discovery, an extraordinary Top Pick!-earning story. After hero Michael Warner's grandfather, a celebrated author, dies, the younger man inherits his estate. Among the possessions, he finds a lost manuscript that contains secrets about their family, secrets so big that they would've shattered worlds if his grandfather ever revealed them. Today RT reviewer Leslie L. McKee asks Walsh about this compelling tale and learns what's next for this award winning author.

***

The Discovery has a unique literary arc — a novel within a novel. Why did you decide to write two storylines? How are they connected?

The idea for the book came to me before the structure did. As I pondered how the grandfather would share his hidden past the ‘book-within-a-book’ idea surfaced. I knew it would be a challenge to pull off, but I’m happy with how it worked out. The reader gets to read over Michael’s shoulder, so to speak (Michael’s the grandson). By the end of the book, both he and the reader make all the necessary connections.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A "Bad Girl's" Thoughts On The Good Girl's Guide To Great Sex

BY Janine Johnston, MARCH 02, 2012 | PERMALINK

First and foremost, I am probably a “bad girl.” I mean, my last two blog posts were about horror and erotica, so draw your own conclusions. But when I stumbled upon Sheila Wray Gregorie’s recent nonfic book, The Good Girl’s Guide to Great Sex, I was very intrigued by both the subject matter and the sleek cover. I never thought there could be such a thing as a Christian sex guide, and before this book, I figured such a guide would only contain one sentence: Don’t have sex until you’re married. But this guide goes beyond that to explore the complex dynamics behind a healthy, happy (and yes, married, heterosexual) sex life. From intimacy issues to the importance of communication and even the not-so-dirty deed itself, this book covers all the bases when it comes to Christian marriage, love and sex. I was so pleasantly surprised by The Good Girl’s Guide to Great Sex that I’ve decided to share 10 topics this book covers that I wasn’t expecting.

PLEASE NOTE: THE FOLLOWING MATERIAL CONTAINS AN EXPLICIT, FRANK DISCUSSION OF SEX AND SEXUAL ACTS.




Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five On Friday: Newly Announced Inspirational Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 10, 2012 | PERMALINK

There are so many new book deals being made in the inspirational market that we’ve decided to devote a new special column to them. Here are five of this week's most inspiring inspirational book deals — just after they’ve been announced!

Tosca Lee returns to her historical roots to take on “the most reviled man in Christendom” for her upcoming novel, Iscariot. The story will follow the character’s arc, giving readers a look at his life and choices. Publication date: TBA.

In 1890s Holliston Maine, change is coming and it's moving faster than some might like. When a local lumber baron’s son looses his heart to a poor immigrant’s daughter, it’s clear that class lines are going to be crossed. But will this young couple emerge from the town’s — and their families’ — censure with their love still standing strong? To find out you’ll have to pick up a copy of Her Good Name by Ruth Axtell.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five On Friday: Newly Announced Inspirational Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 27, 2012 | PERMALINK

There are so many new book deals being made in the inspirational market that we’ve decided to devote a new special column to them. Here are five of this week's most inspiring inspirational book deals — just after they’ve been announced!

Guidepost’s The Secrets of Mary’s Bookshop series is co-written by several different authors but all of the stories feature an amateur sleuth slash Cape Cod bookstore owner. We’ve just gotten word that the sixth installment will be penned by Melanie Dobson and published sometime this year.

A teacher's changing life is the focus of Jennifer Johnson’s Pantry Promises. In this story, the heroine has always dreamed of being a mother and is thrilled to meet a contractor who has a ready-made family. This sounds like a match in made in heaven, but will the man’s unemployment become a problem as the couple embarks on a new relationship?

Teachers are also the center of attention in the upcoming historical romance from Frances Devine. Whispers of the Wind is set in at a school for the deaf and blind Georgia in the 1800s and the story follows three school teachers that each find love.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five On Friday: Newly Announced Inspirational Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 19, 2012 | PERMALINK

There are so many new book deals being made in the inspirational market that we’ve decided to devote a new special column to them. Here are five of this week's most inspiring inspirational book deals — just after they’ve been announced!

A Brother’s Gift by S. Dionne Moore tells the tale of an unlikely romance that develops between a Civil War soldier and a nurse when he returns her brother’s quilt from the frontlines. This story will be part of the Quilts of Love series, which is scheduled to begin with October 2012’s Storm’s Signal by Carolyn Zane and continue through March 2014 (although there’s no word yet on a pub date for A Brother’s Gift).

Another forthcoming installment of the Quilts of Love series will be written by Barbara Cameron. Her novel Scraps of Evidence will feature a vintage quilt that inspires a young woman to re-examine what she thought she knew about her aunt’s accident — and her family’s history.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

New Year, New Series: Suzanne Woods Fisher's Stoney Ridge Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

All week long, we have been giving readers the inside scoop on newly released inspirational series. Today we catch up with author Suzanne Woods Fisher, who kicks off her new Stoney Ridge series this month with The Keeper. This book is "a keeper" itself and features Amish characters facing difficult challenges. Find out just what's in store for Fisher's newest characters with today's special interview!

***

What gave you the inspiration for your Stoney Ridge Seasons series?

This series is about the Lapp sisters—Julia, Sadie, M.K.—and each sister will take a turn as the main character. As for the inspiration behind the series…when I was researching my first non-fiction book about the Old Order Amish (Amish Peace), I became friendly with an Amish family who happened to have a red windmill. That red windmill became a metaphor for my experiences with the Amish—they’re always surprising me! The Lapp family in my story has a red windmill on their farm. They’re a quirky, endearing family whom I think readers will quickly love.  


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

New Year, New Series: Becky Melby's Lost Sanctuary Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 12, 2012 | PERMALINK

All this week we're taking a look at all the new inspirational series that are beginning in 2012. Author Becky Melby is among those embarking on a new collection in her Lost Sanctuary series. Today you can get a special look at this set of contemporary romances (with a historical twist) as the author chats about her series starter, Tomorrow's Sun!

***

What gave you the inspiration for your Lost Sanctuary series?

My husband and I were having lunch at Chances, a restaurant in Rochester, Wisconsin. While we waited to order, I read the front of the menu and became fascinated with the history of the building, built in 1843 with eighteen-inch-thick walls. Local legend claims there was once a tunnel connecting Chances, then known as the Union House, to the river; and runaway slaves on their way to freedom in Canada found shelter at the inn. That was all the information needed to awaken the muse. Research showed evidence that several homes and buildings in the area were used to hide runaway slaves, so I started asking "What if" questions: What if a contemporary heroine moved into an empty house that had once been part of the Underground Railroad? How would she uncover the truth about the people who occupied the house more than a hundred and fifty years ago? Weaving strands of history into the fabric of a fiction story was a delightful challenge.

Will the books in this new series be similar to the writing style of your previous works, or can audiences expect something different? 


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

New Year, New Series: Sue Duffy's Red Returning Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 11, 2012 | PERMALINK

It's a new year and with it come a plethora of new inspirational series. All week long we are taking a look at some of our favorite series starting titles and today we have Sue Duffy's suspense novel The Sound of Red Returning in our crosshairs. Here's what the author had to say about what readers can expect from her new series. 

***

What gave you the inspiration for your Red Returning series?

A few years ago, I wrote a magazine feature about a concert pianist from Ukraine. Her story of life upon the world’s stages, played out against the backdrop of combustible politics and ideologies, fascinated me. Add to that the rising tide of tension between the U.S. and Russia plus the discovery of Russian spy rings operating in our midst, and a story began to percolate. 

Will the books in this new series be similar to the writing style of your previous works, or can audiences expect something different? 


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

New Year, New Series: Amanda Cabot's Westward Winds Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 10, 2012 | PERMALINK

Looking forward to reading some great inspirational romances in the new year? Then you are in luck because there are several great series starting in 2012. Here at RT, we are especially looking forward to the Westward Winds books by Amanda Cabot. This month's release, Summer of Promise, kicks off the historical series that was inspired by the author's real life move. Today we go behind the scenes with the author so readers can learn just what they can expect from this fresh series. 

***

What gave you the initial idea for your Westward Winds series?

When we first moved to Wyoming, my husband and I needed a break from unpacking, hanging curtains, planning landscaping and all the other activities associated with a new house. We knew we couldn’t play hooky for too long, so we limited ourselves to a day trip, but what a day trip that was. When we set foot inside Fort Laramie National Historic Site, it was love at first sight. The fort was very different from my mental image, but that was part of its appeal. And when I discovered how genteel life was at Fort Laramie during the 1880s, I couldn’t stop thinking about the people who might have lived there. Summer of Promise is the result.

Will the books in this new series be similar to the writing style of your previous works, or can audiences expect something different? 

I think readers will find my writing style similar to my Texas Dreams books. To be honest, I'm not sure I can change my writing style. It's part of me. However, the stories in the Westward Winds trilogy are quite different from Texas Dreams. In part that's because they're set in two real locations (Fort Laramie and Cheyenne) rather than a single fictional town like Ladreville. That means that there are fewer continuing characters from book to book. You'll note that I said 'fewer,' not 'no' continuing characters. That's because I love writing connected stories. In this case the primary connection among the books is that the heroines are sisters who leave the East for love and adventure in Wyoming Territory.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST