RT Daily Blog

Five On Friday: Newly Announced Inspirational Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 27, 2012 | PERMALINK

There are so many new book deals being made in the inspirational market that we’ve decided to devote a new special column to them. Here are five of this week's most inspiring inspirational book deals — just after they’ve been announced!

Guidepost’s The Secrets of Mary’s Bookshop series is co-written by several different authors but all of the stories feature an amateur sleuth slash Cape Cod bookstore owner. We’ve just gotten word that the sixth installment will be penned by Melanie Dobson and published sometime this year.

A teacher's changing life is the focus of Jennifer Johnson’s Pantry Promises. In this story, the heroine has always dreamed of being a mother and is thrilled to meet a contractor who has a ready-made family. This sounds like a match in made in heaven, but will the man’s unemployment become a problem as the couple embarks on a new relationship?

Teachers are also the center of attention in the upcoming historical romance from Frances Devine. Whispers of the Wind is set in at a school for the deaf and blind Georgia in the 1800s and the story follows three school teachers that each find love.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five On Friday: Newly Announced Inspirational Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 19, 2012 | PERMALINK

There are so many new book deals being made in the inspirational market that we’ve decided to devote a new special column to them. Here are five of this week's most inspiring inspirational book deals — just after they’ve been announced!

A Brother’s Gift by S. Dionne Moore tells the tale of an unlikely romance that develops between a Civil War soldier and a nurse when he returns her brother’s quilt from the frontlines. This story will be part of the Quilts of Love series, which is scheduled to begin with October 2012’s Storm’s Signal by Carolyn Zane and continue through March 2014 (although there’s no word yet on a pub date for A Brother’s Gift).

Another forthcoming installment of the Quilts of Love series will be written by Barbara Cameron. Her novel Scraps of Evidence will feature a vintage quilt that inspires a young woman to re-examine what she thought she knew about her aunt’s accident — and her family’s history.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

New Year, New Series: Suzanne Woods Fisher's Stoney Ridge Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

All week long, we have been giving readers the inside scoop on newly released inspirational series. Today we catch up with author Suzanne Woods Fisher, who kicks off her new Stoney Ridge series this month with The Keeper. This book is "a keeper" itself and features Amish characters facing difficult challenges. Find out just what's in store for Fisher's newest characters with today's special interview!

***

What gave you the inspiration for your Stoney Ridge Seasons series?

This series is about the Lapp sisters—Julia, Sadie, M.K.—and each sister will take a turn as the main character. As for the inspiration behind the series…when I was researching my first non-fiction book about the Old Order Amish (Amish Peace), I became friendly with an Amish family who happened to have a red windmill. That red windmill became a metaphor for my experiences with the Amish—they’re always surprising me! The Lapp family in my story has a red windmill on their farm. They’re a quirky, endearing family whom I think readers will quickly love.  


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

New Year, New Series: Becky Melby's Lost Sanctuary Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 12, 2012 | PERMALINK

All this week we're taking a look at all the new inspirational series that are beginning in 2012. Author Becky Melby is among those embarking on a new collection in her Lost Sanctuary series. Today you can get a special look at this set of contemporary romances (with a historical twist) as the author chats about her series starter, Tomorrow's Sun!

***

What gave you the inspiration for your Lost Sanctuary series?

My husband and I were having lunch at Chances, a restaurant in Rochester, Wisconsin. While we waited to order, I read the front of the menu and became fascinated with the history of the building, built in 1843 with eighteen-inch-thick walls. Local legend claims there was once a tunnel connecting Chances, then known as the Union House, to the river; and runaway slaves on their way to freedom in Canada found shelter at the inn. That was all the information needed to awaken the muse. Research showed evidence that several homes and buildings in the area were used to hide runaway slaves, so I started asking "What if" questions: What if a contemporary heroine moved into an empty house that had once been part of the Underground Railroad? How would she uncover the truth about the people who occupied the house more than a hundred and fifty years ago? Weaving strands of history into the fabric of a fiction story was a delightful challenge.

Will the books in this new series be similar to the writing style of your previous works, or can audiences expect something different? 


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

New Year, New Series: Sue Duffy's Red Returning Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 11, 2012 | PERMALINK

It's a new year and with it come a plethora of new inspirational series. All week long we are taking a look at some of our favorite series starting titles and today we have Sue Duffy's suspense novel The Sound of Red Returning in our crosshairs. Here's what the author had to say about what readers can expect from her new series. 

***

What gave you the inspiration for your Red Returning series?

A few years ago, I wrote a magazine feature about a concert pianist from Ukraine. Her story of life upon the world’s stages, played out against the backdrop of combustible politics and ideologies, fascinated me. Add to that the rising tide of tension between the U.S. and Russia plus the discovery of Russian spy rings operating in our midst, and a story began to percolate. 

Will the books in this new series be similar to the writing style of your previous works, or can audiences expect something different? 


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

New Year, New Series: Amanda Cabot's Westward Winds Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 10, 2012 | PERMALINK

Looking forward to reading some great inspirational romances in the new year? Then you are in luck because there are several great series starting in 2012. Here at RT, we are especially looking forward to the Westward Winds books by Amanda Cabot. This month's release, Summer of Promise, kicks off the historical series that was inspired by the author's real life move. Today we go behind the scenes with the author so readers can learn just what they can expect from this fresh series. 

***

What gave you the initial idea for your Westward Winds series?

When we first moved to Wyoming, my husband and I needed a break from unpacking, hanging curtains, planning landscaping and all the other activities associated with a new house. We knew we couldn’t play hooky for too long, so we limited ourselves to a day trip, but what a day trip that was. When we set foot inside Fort Laramie National Historic Site, it was love at first sight. The fort was very different from my mental image, but that was part of its appeal. And when I discovered how genteel life was at Fort Laramie during the 1880s, I couldn’t stop thinking about the people who might have lived there. Summer of Promise is the result.

Will the books in this new series be similar to the writing style of your previous works, or can audiences expect something different? 

I think readers will find my writing style similar to my Texas Dreams books. To be honest, I'm not sure I can change my writing style. It's part of me. However, the stories in the Westward Winds trilogy are quite different from Texas Dreams. In part that's because they're set in two real locations (Fort Laramie and Cheyenne) rather than a single fictional town like Ladreville. That means that there are fewer continuing characters from book to book. You'll note that I said 'fewer,' not 'no' continuing characters. That's because I love writing connected stories. In this case the primary connection among the books is that the heroines are sisters who leave the East for love and adventure in Wyoming Territory.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

New Year, New Series: Ann Shorey's Sisters At Heart Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 09, 2012 | PERMALINK

It's a new year and there is a lot to look forward to in 2012! Topping our list of exciting book projects are several great new inspirational series that launch this month. All week long we will be bringing readers the highest rated series starters in the inspirational genre. Today we kick off the list with Ann Shorey, as we interview the author about her new historical novel, Where Wildflowers Bloom, the first in Shorey's Sisters at Heart series. 

***

Ann, what gave you the inspiration for your Sisters at Heart series?

Two inspirations converged with this series. I decided to set the stories in southern Missouri because my great-grandparents settled there following their marriage in 1867. They were married in Illinois after he returned from the War Between the States, then traveled to Missouri shortly afterwards to take up farming.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Ronie Kendig

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 30, 2011 | PERMALINK

At RT, we have always been impressed by author Ronie Kendig's skill at weaving elements of action and suspense into her inspirational tales. So when we met up with Ronie at the American Christian Fiction Writers conference earlier this year, we just had to speak with her about her gripping Discarded Heroes series. Watch the video to learn why the military plays such a big role in all of Kendig's stories, get a peek at the series ender, Firethorn, before it hits shelves early next week and then find out what you can expect from the author's upcoming series which will be released in Fall 2012!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five On Friday: Newly Announced Inspirational Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

There are so many new book deals being made in the inspirational market that we’ve decided to devote a new special column to them. Here are five of this week's most inspiring inspirational book deals — just after they’ve been announced!

When the heroine of Meg Moseley’s upcoming novel Undo the Dark returns home for her estranged mother’s funeral, she’s forced to face her mentally scarred Vietnam vet father. She also learns that her former love has been awaiting her return. Someone tell us where to sign up for what sounds like a satisfying tale of loss and re-found love!

Amish romance readers seeking a thrill will be glad to learn that Marta Perry has a new series in the works. The Watcher in the Dark series will feature three old friends as they reunite after the death of an Amish teen shakes their small hometown. Each woman holds a piece of the puzzle that will bring justice to their community, but digging up the past may have deadly consequences …


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Brandilyn Collins On Character Building And A First Look At Her March 2012 Tale!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

Bestselling author Brandilyn Collins talks with RT's Morgan about crafting suspense stories with true crossover appeal, tales that resonate with both inspirational and secular readers. The author is best known for her gripping mysteries, but it's her well-drawn characters that keep us coming back time after time. Today, Collins shares a look how she creates these detailed heroes and heroines and gives RT readers a sneak peek her March 2012 novel, Gone to Ground!

Brandilyn Collins On Character Building And Her Upcoming Tale >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST