RT Daily Blog

Wrapping Up Inspirational Month With A List Of Upcoming Releases

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 30, 2011 | PERMALINK

We want to thank all of the readers who have helped make Inspirational month on the RT website a success. We've celebrated faith-based novels all November with exclusive content and videos. (You can check out all of this month's inspirational action here.) But we wouldn't dream of wrapping up the month without giving you a peek at what's to come in the genre. We've selected six titles that have piqued our curiousity and will be hitting shelves in the upcoming months. Let us know which books you can't wait for in the comments below!

 

 

Duty to Protect by Roxanne Rustand
Releases December 2011

When Emma Graves is framed for her parents' murder, she goes on the run and lands in the arms of the cop-turned-rancher Jake Kincaid in this Steeple Hill Love Inspired novel that has been nominated for an RT Reviewers' Choice award!

Read the Review >>


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Billy Coffey On Paper Angels, Heavenly Friends And His Next Projects

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

Billy Coffey crafts an uplifting inspirational romance with his new novel Paper Angels. A brutal attack has left the story's hero, Andy, with a broken body and questioning his faith in God. But things are not always what they seem. While Andy heals at a local hospital, a Heavenly friend — and angel Andy calls Old Man — and the hospital's beautiful counselor Elizabeth, help Andy discover that life has been anything but ordinary. Today RT reviewer Patsy Glans interviews Billy Coffey for an insider's look at the author's inspiration for this new story, his own thoughts about angels and how he hopes Paper Angels will touch readers' hearts.

***

What was your inspiration for the story line in Paper Angels?


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Four Inspirational Authors Give Thanks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

As we celebrate inspirational reads all month long, we thought that on the eve of Thanksgiving it was only fitting to chat with a few of our favorite writers about what they are thankful for. Today four fantastic authors share a look at the blessings in their life and the stories they write about keeping the faith.


CATHERINE RICHMOND

When I wrote Spring for Susannah, I focused on the story with little thought about who might read it. Deciphering early Dakota Territory newspapers, trying on a corset, touring General Custer’s house? Anything for the story!    

Since the book was released, I’ve been surprised by letters from readers. How wonderful to hear from a new mother who read it between feedings and a long-time friend who stayed up all night to finish it. Several felt a deepened appreciation for the struggles of their pioneer grandparents. Two fell in love with the hero even faster than the heroine did. And how gratifying to know the story drew a reader closer to her husband. Every letter was a blessing! 


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Colleen Coble

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

We're spotlighting inspirational reads all throughout November and in today's video interview author Colleen Coble takes RT's Morgan behind the scenes of the writer's ongoing historical and contemporary series. Learn about what elements the modern day Texas-set Lonestar series shares with Coble's historical tales that take place at the turn of the century in Mercy Falls. (Hint: Think lots of romance and suspense!) And then discover how Colleen Coble crafted the challenge that faces the hero and heroine of her newest contemporary tale Lonestar Angel — and what fans can expect next.

Behind The Scenes With Colleen Coble >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Anna Schmidt On Her New Stand-Alone Mennonite Romance Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Anna Schmidt may be best known for her Steeple Hill series romances, but this month the author is turning a new page in her career with the release of her new single-title Mennonite romance series. The books begin with this months' A Stranger's Gift. The story follows a young woman who strives to help her community before a hurricane strikes, and amidst the chaos, discovers true love. For a special look at Schmidt's newest venture, RT reviewer Patsy Glans interviews the author about her new project and what's ahead for the series. 

***

What was your inspiration for A Stranger's Gift? What type of research did you have to do? 


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Robin Caroll Shares A Look At Her January 2012 Release Injustice For All

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Robin Caroll has graced the inspirational genre with books in the Steeple Hill imprint as well as thrilling faith-inspired mysteries. Her upcoming mystery, Injustice For All, follows an FBI agent as he investigates the backwaters of rural Louisiana, looking for the man who murdered a federal judge. In this interview with RT reviewer Terri Dukes, the author gives readers a special look at her January 2012 novel and chats about her inspiration — and motivation — for writing. 

***

What was your inspiration to write Injustice For All? 

I had the unique opportunity to sit in on three different trials regarding one case. As I sat on the VERY hard wooden pew in the galley, I learned things aren't always as they seem in trials. I began interviewing all sorts of people affiliated with trials-attorneys, bailiffs, even a former US Attorney. I was shocked when I realized the full extent of manipulation. My shock led to my determination to write about the possibility of worst-case scenario. And to avenge my outrage at injustice. 

How long did it take you to write the book?


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Ginger Garrett On Samson's Untold Story

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

Inspirational historical fiction writer, Ginger Garrett puts her own spin on a classic Biblical tale with her latest novel, Desired. In this book, the talented author tells the tale of Samson's strength and heartbreak through the eyes of the three most important women in his life. Today, go behind the scenes of the story to discover how Garrett re-imagined one of the Bible's most heroic figures.

Delilah was a legendary seductress. (Wasn’t she?) Samson was a gorgeous hunk who was a feast for the eyes. (Right?) And his mother, who is never named, was just a minor figure in his story. (Maybe?)

All these questions tempted me to explore the tale of Samson as told in the book of Judges. Having grown up with the old Hollywood version of the story, I was perplexed by the biblical account. Samson’s story was more complicated, unsettling, and beautiful than I had imagined. Here were a few verses from Scripture that especially intrigued me:


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Pamela S. Thibodeaux On Faith-Based Supernatural Fiction

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

All month long we are featuring a special spotlight on the inspirational genre. Today we've asked Pamela S. Thibodeaux, author of the new Inspirational novel, The Visionary , to chat about how she weaves fantasy elements into her faith-based fiction.

When Morgan first contacted me about being a guest on RT website, I was thrilled! I mean, who wouldn't want to do this?! Then her comment caught me by surprise.... "I was thinking that since you write fantasy novels, you might want to share what it is like to include fantastical elements in your story along with strong messages of faith."

What? I don't write fantasy novels, I write romance & women's fiction novels with an occasional suspense thrown in (although I never intended to write that either — it just sort of showed up in the story LOL!).

Then I re-read the RT review of The Visionary ... Readers will be offered inspiration, science fiction, supernatural events, drama and ultimately, redemption.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
15COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lori Copeland On The Secular Vs. Christian Book Market

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

Penning an assortment of titles from historical to contemporary romance, Lori Copeland is an established author in both the secular and inspirational markets. Today, she shares how writers can decide which market best suits their work, and how you know when crafting Christian fiction is right for you.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five On Friday: Newly Announced Inspirational Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

There are so many new book deals being made in the inspirational market that we’ve decided to devote a new special column to them. Here are five of this week's most inspiring inspirational book deals — just after they’ve been announced!

Lyn Cote is back with a brand new series, Wilderness Brides, set just after the Civil War in the budding Mississippi River town of Pepin, Wisconsin. (Fun Fact: Pepin is also Laura Ingalls Wilder's hometown.) There’s no release date for Cote's books yet, but we can’t wait for more Love Inspired Historicals from this fan favorite.

Writing as Jennifer Delamere, Jennifer Harrington will be releasing an inspirational historical romance that follows the adventures of a woman disguised as a missing heiress, who falls for a forbidden suitor. The heroine's intriguing story will take place over the course of three books, the first of which hits shelves November 2012.

Set against the backdrop of the 1960s Oklahoma prairie, a young female farmer challenges Jim Crow laws in Anita Higman’s Blue Moon. This is sure to be an uplifting story of triumph and overcoming the odds.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST