RT Daily Blog

Video Interview: Ronie Kendig

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 30, 2011 | PERMALINK

At RT, we have always been impressed by author Ronie Kendig's skill at weaving elements of action and suspense into her inspirational tales. So when we met up with Ronie at the American Christian Fiction Writers conference earlier this year, we just had to speak with her about her gripping Discarded Heroes series. Watch the video to learn why the military plays such a big role in all of Kendig's stories, get a peek at the series ender, Firethorn, before it hits shelves early next week and then find out what you can expect from the author's upcoming series which will be released in Fall 2012!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five On Friday: Newly Announced Inspirational Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

There are so many new book deals being made in the inspirational market that we’ve decided to devote a new special column to them. Here are five of this week's most inspiring inspirational book deals — just after they’ve been announced!

When the heroine of Meg Moseley’s upcoming novel Undo the Dark returns home for her estranged mother’s funeral, she’s forced to face her mentally scarred Vietnam vet father. She also learns that her former love has been awaiting her return. Someone tell us where to sign up for what sounds like a satisfying tale of loss and re-found love!

Amish romance readers seeking a thrill will be glad to learn that Marta Perry has a new series in the works. The Watcher in the Dark series will feature three old friends as they reunite after the death of an Amish teen shakes their small hometown. Each woman holds a piece of the puzzle that will bring justice to their community, but digging up the past may have deadly consequences …


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Brandilyn Collins On Character Building And A First Look At Her March 2012 Tale!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

Bestselling author Brandilyn Collins talks with RT's Morgan about crafting suspense stories with true crossover appeal, tales that resonate with both inspirational and secular readers. The author is best known for her gripping mysteries, but it's her well-drawn characters that keep us coming back time after time. Today, Collins shares a look how she creates these detailed heroes and heroines and gives RT readers a sneak peek her March 2012 novel, Gone to Ground!

Brandilyn Collins On Character Building And Her Upcoming Tale >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Wrapping Up Inspirational Month With A List Of Upcoming Releases

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 30, 2011 | PERMALINK

We want to thank all of the readers who have helped make Inspirational month on the RT website a success. We've celebrated faith-based novels all November with exclusive content and videos. (You can check out all of this month's inspirational action here.) But we wouldn't dream of wrapping up the month without giving you a peek at what's to come in the genre. We've selected six titles that have piqued our curiousity and will be hitting shelves in the upcoming months. Let us know which books you can't wait for in the comments below!

 

 

Duty to Protect by Roxanne Rustand
Releases December 2011

When Emma Graves is framed for her parents' murder, she goes on the run and lands in the arms of the cop-turned-rancher Jake Kincaid in this Steeple Hill Love Inspired novel that has been nominated for an RT Reviewers' Choice award!

Read the Review >>


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Billy Coffey On Paper Angels, Heavenly Friends And His Next Projects

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

Billy Coffey crafts an uplifting inspirational romance with his new novel Paper Angels. A brutal attack has left the story's hero, Andy, with a broken body and questioning his faith in God. But things are not always what they seem. While Andy heals at a local hospital, a Heavenly friend — and angel Andy calls Old Man — and the hospital's beautiful counselor Elizabeth, help Andy discover that life has been anything but ordinary. Today RT reviewer Patsy Glans interviews Billy Coffey for an insider's look at the author's inspiration for this new story, his own thoughts about angels and how he hopes Paper Angels will touch readers' hearts.

***

What was your inspiration for the story line in Paper Angels?


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Four Inspirational Authors Give Thanks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

As we celebrate inspirational reads all month long, we thought that on the eve of Thanksgiving it was only fitting to chat with a few of our favorite writers about what they are thankful for. Today four fantastic authors share a look at the blessings in their life and the stories they write about keeping the faith.


CATHERINE RICHMOND

When I wrote Spring for Susannah, I focused on the story with little thought about who might read it. Deciphering early Dakota Territory newspapers, trying on a corset, touring General Custer’s house? Anything for the story!    

Since the book was released, I’ve been surprised by letters from readers. How wonderful to hear from a new mother who read it between feedings and a long-time friend who stayed up all night to finish it. Several felt a deepened appreciation for the struggles of their pioneer grandparents. Two fell in love with the hero even faster than the heroine did. And how gratifying to know the story drew a reader closer to her husband. Every letter was a blessing! 


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Colleen Coble

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

We're spotlighting inspirational reads all throughout November and in today's video interview author Colleen Coble takes RT's Morgan behind the scenes of the writer's ongoing historical and contemporary series. Learn about what elements the modern day Texas-set Lonestar series shares with Coble's historical tales that take place at the turn of the century in Mercy Falls. (Hint: Think lots of romance and suspense!) And then discover how Colleen Coble crafted the challenge that faces the hero and heroine of her newest contemporary tale Lonestar Angel — and what fans can expect next.

Behind The Scenes With Colleen Coble >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Anna Schmidt On Her New Stand-Alone Mennonite Romance Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Anna Schmidt may be best known for her Steeple Hill series romances, but this month the author is turning a new page in her career with the release of her new single-title Mennonite romance series. The books begin with this months' A Stranger's Gift. The story follows a young woman who strives to help her community before a hurricane strikes, and amidst the chaos, discovers true love. For a special look at Schmidt's newest venture, RT reviewer Patsy Glans interviews the author about her new project and what's ahead for the series. 

***

What was your inspiration for A Stranger's Gift? What type of research did you have to do? 


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Robin Caroll Shares A Look At Her January 2012 Release Injustice For All

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Robin Caroll has graced the inspirational genre with books in the Steeple Hill imprint as well as thrilling faith-inspired mysteries. Her upcoming mystery, Injustice For All, follows an FBI agent as he investigates the backwaters of rural Louisiana, looking for the man who murdered a federal judge. In this interview with RT reviewer Terri Dukes, the author gives readers a special look at her January 2012 novel and chats about her inspiration — and motivation — for writing. 

***

What was your inspiration to write Injustice For All? 

I had the unique opportunity to sit in on three different trials regarding one case. As I sat on the VERY hard wooden pew in the galley, I learned things aren't always as they seem in trials. I began interviewing all sorts of people affiliated with trials-attorneys, bailiffs, even a former US Attorney. I was shocked when I realized the full extent of manipulation. My shock led to my determination to write about the possibility of worst-case scenario. And to avenge my outrage at injustice. 

How long did it take you to write the book?


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Ginger Garrett On Samson's Untold Story

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

Inspirational historical fiction writer, Ginger Garrett puts her own spin on a classic Biblical tale with her latest novel, Desired. In this book, the talented author tells the tale of Samson's strength and heartbreak through the eyes of the three most important women in his life. Today, go behind the scenes of the story to discover how Garrett re-imagined one of the Bible's most heroic figures.

Delilah was a legendary seductress. (Wasn’t she?) Samson was a gorgeous hunk who was a feast for the eyes. (Right?) And his mother, who is never named, was just a minor figure in his story. (Maybe?)

All these questions tempted me to explore the tale of Samson as told in the book of Judges. Having grown up with the old Hollywood version of the story, I was perplexed by the biblical account. Samson’s story was more complicated, unsettling, and beautiful than I had imagined. Here were a few verses from Scripture that especially intrigued me:


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST