RT Daily Blog

Author Interview: Kathleen Y’Barbo On Her Inspirational Works

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Known for transporting readers to bygone eras with her historical inspirational romances, author Kathleen Y'Barbo is an undeniable talent. And her latest novel, The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck, has just been nominated for a 2011 Reviewers Choice Inspirational Award. Today RT reviewer Linda Mae Baldwin talks with the author about her influences, career and her advice for aspiring writers.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Websites And Blogs For Inspirational Fiction Fans

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

As we celebrate Inspirational Month on the RT website, you can find genre news and a look at the latest releases on our Everything Inspirational Page and connect with fellow fans at our inspirational message board. But today we are highlighting some of the other fantastic sites for inspirational readers. From what to read to where to buy it (and how to win it) — we’re bringing you our top ten picks for where to head on the Internet.


Where To Find Great Books  

Fiction Finder is a free website put together by the American Christian Fiction Writers association. The site is comprised of several different ways to help guide your book buying (and borrowing) choices. Once you register as a member, you have access to author interviews, an online faith-based book club and a break-down of new reads. Also, each book’s page shows additional books by the same author as well as other stories with similar themes. If you are looking to build up your TBR pile, we suggest you stop by Fiction Finder. 


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Lisa Tawn Bergren On Her River of Time Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Inspirational author Lisa Tawn Bergren has had great success with her current YA series, River of Time. Following the adventures of two time traveling teens that end up in medieval Italy, the River of Time books offer readers plenty of suspense and romance along with a message of faith. Today the author talks with RT about her inspiration, writing faith-based fiction for all ages and her experiences researching different time periods.

***

This year readers have gotten three books in your Young Adult inspirational series River of Time. Can you give us a bit of background on what inspired your time traveling sisters?

It was really a confluence of several factors: two teen daughters who only like rockin', page-turning stories with a good dose of romance; a fascination with history that always makes me wish I could travel through time; and the desire to try something different with my writing.

Much of the series takes place during medieval times and you have been able to wow readers with the sword fights as well as other fun details from this time period. What type of research went into creating your realistic world?


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inspirational Fun For All At The 2012 RT Booklovers Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

There’s no doubt about it, the inspirational fiction market is growing fast. And this year at the RT Booklovers Convention readers can meet some of their favorite authors and aspiring authors can learn about how to succeed in the market. Furthermore, published authors will be recognized for their hard work at the annual RT Awards Ceremony. Today, we are sharing an early peek at all the fun in store for inspirational fans at our upcoming convention in April 2012!

The Giant Saturday Book Fair at RT Booklovers Convention 2011

Among the authors at the convention will be Lyn Cote, who is best known for her Steeple Hill Love Inspired romances (both contemporary and historical). Cote is the winner of last year’s RT Reviewers’ Choice Award in the Steeple Hill Love Inspired Historical category. Cote’s fellow Steeple Hill Love Inspired Historical authors Allie Pleiter and Winnie Griggs will also be in attendance. Fans will also be able to meet author Dorothy Love whose 2011 historical romance Beyond All Measure got 4 1/2 stars. These are just a few of the inspirational authors who will take part in the upcoming convention.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Books By The Banks: Linda McMaken Interviews Ann Gabhart

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

Yesterday author and RT Contributor Linda McMaken shared her experiences at this year's Cincinnati book festival, Books By The Banks. Today we share one more mini-interview that Linda conducted during the one-day event. She got a chance to sit down with the fantastic inspirational author Ann Gabhart for a very special look at the author's career and her next novel!

***

Ann Gabhart is the author of an inspirational Shaker series. What an absolutely delightful author, with a charming Southern accent, and genuine graciousness. Talking to Ann was like sitting on the porch with a friend.

Can you share one detail from the book you’re writing now with readers?

I just finished the final edits on my book, Words Spoken True, scheduled for release in February. Set in 1855 Louisville, my main female character, Adriane Darcy, is a newspaper editor’s daughter who has ink in her blood.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Tamera Alexander On Bringing The Antebellum South To Life

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 02, 2011 | PERMALINK

We're spotlighting inspirational reads all throughout November! And what better way to celebrate the genre than taking readers behind the scenes of an anxiously anticipated series? Today we've got a special look at author Tamera Alexander's new inspirational historical romance series, the Belmont Mansion Novels, that begins with this month's new release, A Lasting Impression. In this video interview, the author chats with RT's Morgan about the process of weaving true historical details of the antebellum south into this series that is not only set in the actual Belmont Mansion, but also includes many of the historical figures who lived in (or nearby) the mansion during the era. Alexander also shares a look at the sources that she relied on to accurately bring the age to life. And then find out how the author crafted her characters' spiritual journey, as they learn how to be authentic to themselves and to God.

Tamera Alexander Talks The Belmont Mansion Novels >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

HarperCollins To Buy Inspirational Publisher Thomas Nelson

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 01, 2011 | PERMALINK

HarperCollins will soon purchase the inspirational publisher Thomas Nelson. HarperCollins already owns the lucrative faith-based publishing line Zondervan. And now plans are in motion for to buy Zondervan’s market rival, Thomas Nelson.

As we begin our month long celebration of the Inspirational genre, we were surprised to hear that the two largest inspirational publishing houses will soon be united under a single parent company. Thomas Nelson is one of the leading inspirational publishers in the world, and is renowned for their selection of inspirational fiction by genre heavy-hitters Ted Dekker, Colleen Coble and Beth Wiseman. Additionally, Thomas Nelson has steady sales in non-fiction as well. The company is known for their inspirational business books, gift books and Bibles. 

HarperCollins acquired Thomas Nelson’s rival, Zondervan, back in the 1980s, and has grown the line to be one of the largest faith-based publishers in the nation. When discussing the coming purchase of Thomas Nelson, HarperCollins CEO Brian Murray said it was the other company’s lineup of authors and content that made it such a good acquisition. Murray said, “Thomas Nelson adds further balance to our existing publishing programs.” 


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five On Friday: Newly Announced Inspirational Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

There are so many new book deals being made in the inspirational market that we’ve decided to devote a new special column to them. Here are five of this week's most inspiring inspirational book deals — just after they’ve been announced!

A serial killer with a “biblical bent” is terrifying a town in Alton Gansky’s upcoming Wounds. When the police turn to a seminary professor to help unravel the murderer’s actions, will they be able to end the killing spree before it’s too late?

The heroine from Amanda Flower's next release has her hands full; she’s just moved to Ohio’s Amish Country and is promptly sucked into tense college politics, the plight of a runaway Amish girl’s and a series of mysterious murders in A Plain Death. Find out if this heroine will be able to handle it all when the book hits shelves in July 2012.

Although there’s no word yet when Debra Ullrick’s Groom Wanted will be in stores, it is sure to please historical romance fans. Expect a lavish mansion, a hopeful heroine and dreams of a Mr. Darcy-esque hero in this upcoming Love Inspired tale.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inspirational Comic Books From Kingstone Comics

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author and RT’s Columnist on comics, graphic novels and manga, Anne Elizabeth shares a look at Kingstone Media Group and chats about how faith-based comic books have found their niche with Kingstone Comics’ President Art Ayris.

There’s a new comic book company joining the shelves alongside Marvel, DC Comics, Dark Horse and IDW: Kingstone Comics. 

Today the president of Kingstone Comics, Art Ayris, gives RT readers the inside track on why he began this faith-based company and what it means to him. 

“My wife was a television director and producer and I had some friends in the film and television business so I had been around that part of media and communication for years, but more on the fringes. Then I had some success in screenwriting with winning some writing awards, including Best TV Movie in Hollywood's Next Success contest. About the same time we saw some niches that were not being adequately served in the graphic media market and decided to throw our hat in the ring as a publisher so we could manage and promote great new content - as well as market it to film and television companies,” Ayris told me. 


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST