RT Daily Blog

Ginger Garrett On Samson's Untold Story

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

Inspirational historical fiction writer, Ginger Garrett puts her own spin on a classic Biblical tale with her latest novel, Desired. In this book, the talented author tells the tale of Samson's strength and heartbreak through the eyes of the three most important women in his life. Today, go behind the scenes of the story to discover how Garrett re-imagined one of the Bible's most heroic figures.

Delilah was a legendary seductress. (Wasn’t she?) Samson was a gorgeous hunk who was a feast for the eyes. (Right?) And his mother, who is never named, was just a minor figure in his story. (Maybe?)

All these questions tempted me to explore the tale of Samson as told in the book of Judges. Having grown up with the old Hollywood version of the story, I was perplexed by the biblical account. Samson’s story was more complicated, unsettling, and beautiful than I had imagined. Here were a few verses from Scripture that especially intrigued me:


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Pamela S. Thibodeaux On Faith-Based Supernatural Fiction

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

All month long we are featuring a special spotlight on the inspirational genre. Today we've asked Pamela S. Thibodeaux, author of the new Inspirational novel, The Visionary , to chat about how she weaves fantasy elements into her faith-based fiction.

When Morgan first contacted me about being a guest on RT website, I was thrilled! I mean, who wouldn't want to do this?! Then her comment caught me by surprise.... "I was thinking that since you write fantasy novels, you might want to share what it is like to include fantastical elements in your story along with strong messages of faith."

What? I don't write fantasy novels, I write romance & women's fiction novels with an occasional suspense thrown in (although I never intended to write that either — it just sort of showed up in the story LOL!).

Then I re-read the RT review of The Visionary ... Readers will be offered inspiration, science fiction, supernatural events, drama and ultimately, redemption.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
15COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lori Copeland On The Secular Vs. Christian Book Market

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

Penning an assortment of titles from historical to contemporary romance, Lori Copeland is an established author in both the secular and inspirational markets. Today, she shares how writers can decide which market best suits their work, and how you know when crafting Christian fiction is right for you.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five On Friday: Newly Announced Inspirational Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

There are so many new book deals being made in the inspirational market that we’ve decided to devote a new special column to them. Here are five of this week's most inspiring inspirational book deals — just after they’ve been announced!

Lyn Cote is back with a brand new series, Wilderness Brides, set just after the Civil War in the budding Mississippi River town of Pepin, Wisconsin. (Fun Fact: Pepin is also Laura Ingalls Wilder's hometown.) There’s no release date for Cote's books yet, but we can’t wait for more Love Inspired Historicals from this fan favorite.

Writing as Jennifer Delamere, Jennifer Harrington will be releasing an inspirational historical romance that follows the adventures of a woman disguised as a missing heiress, who falls for a forbidden suitor. The heroine's intriguing story will take place over the course of three books, the first of which hits shelves November 2012.

Set against the backdrop of the 1960s Oklahoma prairie, a young female farmer challenges Jim Crow laws in Anita Higman’s Blue Moon. This is sure to be an uplifting story of triumph and overcoming the odds.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Kathleen Y’Barbo On Her Inspirational Works

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Known for transporting readers to bygone eras with her historical inspirational romances, author Kathleen Y'Barbo is an undeniable talent. And her latest novel, The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck, has just been nominated for a 2011 Reviewers Choice Inspirational Award. Today RT reviewer Linda Mae Baldwin talks with the author about her influences, career and her advice for aspiring writers.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Websites And Blogs For Inspirational Fiction Fans

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

As we celebrate Inspirational Month on the RT website, you can find genre news and a look at the latest releases on our Everything Inspirational Page and connect with fellow fans at our inspirational message board. But today we are highlighting some of the other fantastic sites for inspirational readers. From what to read to where to buy it (and how to win it) — we’re bringing you our top ten picks for where to head on the Internet.


Where To Find Great Books  

Fiction Finder is a free website put together by the American Christian Fiction Writers association. The site is comprised of several different ways to help guide your book buying (and borrowing) choices. Once you register as a member, you have access to author interviews, an online faith-based book club and a break-down of new reads. Also, each book’s page shows additional books by the same author as well as other stories with similar themes. If you are looking to build up your TBR pile, we suggest you stop by Fiction Finder. 


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Lisa Tawn Bergren On Her River of Time Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Inspirational author Lisa Tawn Bergren has had great success with her current YA series, River of Time. Following the adventures of two time traveling teens that end up in medieval Italy, the River of Time books offer readers plenty of suspense and romance along with a message of faith. Today the author talks with RT about her inspiration, writing faith-based fiction for all ages and her experiences researching different time periods.

***

This year readers have gotten three books in your Young Adult inspirational series River of Time. Can you give us a bit of background on what inspired your time traveling sisters?

It was really a confluence of several factors: two teen daughters who only like rockin', page-turning stories with a good dose of romance; a fascination with history that always makes me wish I could travel through time; and the desire to try something different with my writing.

Much of the series takes place during medieval times and you have been able to wow readers with the sword fights as well as other fun details from this time period. What type of research went into creating your realistic world?


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Inspirational Fun For All At The 2012 RT Booklovers Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

There’s no doubt about it, the inspirational fiction market is growing fast. And this year at the RT Booklovers Convention readers can meet some of their favorite authors and aspiring authors can learn about how to succeed in the market. Furthermore, published authors will be recognized for their hard work at the annual RT Awards Ceremony. Today, we are sharing an early peek at all the fun in store for inspirational fans at our upcoming convention in April 2012!

The Giant Saturday Book Fair at RT Booklovers Convention 2011

Among the authors at the convention will be Lyn Cote, who is best known for her Steeple Hill Love Inspired romances (both contemporary and historical). Cote is the winner of last year’s RT Reviewers’ Choice Award in the Steeple Hill Love Inspired Historical category. Cote’s fellow Steeple Hill Love Inspired Historical authors Allie Pleiter and Winnie Griggs will also be in attendance. Fans will also be able to meet author Dorothy Love whose 2011 historical romance Beyond All Measure got 4 1/2 stars. These are just a few of the inspirational authors who will take part in the upcoming convention.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Books By The Banks: Linda McMaken Interviews Ann Gabhart

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

Yesterday author and RT Contributor Linda McMaken shared her experiences at this year's Cincinnati book festival, Books By The Banks. Today we share one more mini-interview that Linda conducted during the one-day event. She got a chance to sit down with the fantastic inspirational author Ann Gabhart for a very special look at the author's career and her next novel!

***

Ann Gabhart is the author of an inspirational Shaker series. What an absolutely delightful author, with a charming Southern accent, and genuine graciousness. Talking to Ann was like sitting on the porch with a friend.

Can you share one detail from the book you’re writing now with readers?

I just finished the final edits on my book, Words Spoken True, scheduled for release in February. Set in 1855 Louisville, my main female character, Adriane Darcy, is a newspaper editor’s daughter who has ink in her blood.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Tamera Alexander On Bringing The Antebellum South To Life

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 02, 2011 | PERMALINK

We're spotlighting inspirational reads all throughout November! And what better way to celebrate the genre than taking readers behind the scenes of an anxiously anticipated series? Today we've got a special look at author Tamera Alexander's new inspirational historical romance series, the Belmont Mansion Novels, that begins with this month's new release, A Lasting Impression. In this video interview, the author chats with RT's Morgan about the process of weaving true historical details of the antebellum south into this series that is not only set in the actual Belmont Mansion, but also includes many of the historical figures who lived in (or nearby) the mansion during the era. Alexander also shares a look at the sources that she relied on to accurately bring the age to life. And then find out how the author crafted her characters' spiritual journey, as they learn how to be authentic to themselves and to God.

Tamera Alexander Talks The Belmont Mansion Novels >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST