RT Daily Blog

Five On Friday: Newly Announced Inspirational Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

There are so many new book deals being made in the inspirational market that we’ve decided to devote a new special column to them. Here are five of this week's most inspiring inspirational book deals — just after they’ve been announced! 

English author and public radio personality Martin Spinelli‘s debut novel After the Crash tells the story of his young son Leo’s amazing recovery from the car crash that killed his mother and left him severely brain damaged. This incredible true story will hit shelves in 2012!

Another upcoming tale with roots in real life is Tricia Goyer’s The Memory Jar. When 30 to 40 young men travel to a small Amish community in West Kootenai, Montana to work there for six months, they receive “resident” status, which allows them to hunt during the season. But in some cases they meet their matches in the young women who live in West Kootenai. Anxious to get your hands on this love story? Mark your 2012 calendar, it will be out a year from this October. 


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Interview With Laura Frantz On The Colonel's Lady

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today inspirational author Laura Frantz answers RT reviewer Patsy Glans' questions about her latest historical romance The Colonel's Lady

What was your inspiration for The Colonel's Lady?

I fell in love with an old portrait while visiting Locust Grove in Louisville, Kentucky, the place George Rogers Clark spent the last years of his very adventurous, troubled life. When I walked into his bedchamber and came face to face with this heroic man on canvas, I wished I could undo history and give him the happy ending I thought he deserved. So after a great deal of research and prayer, I sat down and began The Colonel’s Lady.

What was hardest challenge you had to include in The Colonel's Lady?

Creating a rogue of a hero who has amazing strengths and amazing weaknesses but is ultimately redeemable — and getting all that Revolutionary War history straight!

What is the message you are conveying to readers with this story?


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Making Marriage Work In Michelle Sutton's Their Seperate Ways

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today author Michelle Sutton illustrates the differences between two struggling marriages in Their Separate Ways, her new inspirational mainstream novel that follows last year's Never Without Hope. Get a special look at these challenged characters and find out what feelings compelled Sutton to write about this painful subject matter.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sparks Fly In Stephanie Grace Whitson's A Most Unsuitable Match

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

Opposites attract in Stephanie Grace Whitson's A Most Unsuitable Match. But what does that really mean for the well-to-do heroine Fannie and Samuel, the common man who catches her eye while they are both on board a steamship headed West? Today we get all the details about Fannie, Samuel and the spark of inspiration that became this new inspirational historical romance.

“They are opposites in every way … except in how neither one can stop thinking about the other.” The back cover copy for my August release A Most Unsuitable Match makes me smile every time I read it, because I didn’t set out to write that story. Honest. I’m a victim of my own characters, two young people who marched onto my raggedy steamboat and took things into their own hands.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five On Friday: Newly Announced Inspirational Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

There are so many new book deals being made in the inspirational market that we’ve decided to devote a new special column to them. Here are five of this week's most inspiring inspirational book deals — just after they’ve been announced! 

Mia Ross will thrill fans of sweet romance with her new novel Change of Heart. After the heroine has her dreams dashed in the big city, she comes home to her small town to find that true love has been waiting there all along. No publication date has been set for this upcoming Harlequin Love Inspired series romance.

Mary of Magdala, the newest novel from New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Joan Wolf, tells the story of this famous woman’s life. From Mary's childhood to when she became both emotionally and spiritually mature, we get an intimate portrait of this intriguing women. There’s no publication date yet, but we look forward to reading this gifted author’s take on the complex Biblical character. 


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves 8/3/2011: Inspirational Style

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our column On the Bookshelves we feature some of RT's highest-rated novels that are released across the genres each week. However this week there are so many great new inspirational books that we thought we'd provide a handy break down of what readers will find in stores this month. From tales of historical love, to dark and mysterious mainstream novels (we're thinking of you, Dancing on Glass), here's a look at the inspirational books we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Sarah Sundin On Her Inspirational Novels

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 02, 2011 | PERMALINK

Inspirational author Sarah Sundin sits down with RT reviewer Linda Mae Baldwin to share an insider’s look at her latest novel, Blue Skies Tomorrow, how she researched her WWII-era characters and what’s coming next from the pen of this popular writer!

Linda Mae Baldwin: How did you end up writing fiction, especially Christian fiction? Does your pharmacy background affect your writing?

Sarah Sundin: I never considered a writing career. Instead I chose a career in pharmacy and chose to work on-call and stay home with our three children. Then in 2000, I had a dream with such intriguing characters that I felt compelled to write their story. That first novel will never be published, nor should it, but it got me started. I knew I had to write Christian fiction—God infuses my view of life, and I can’t imagine not having Him a part of my characters’ lives.

Read The Complete Interview >>


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five Free E-Books From Inspirational Publisher Tyndale House

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

Inspirational publisher Tyndale House is offering five free e-reads! In honor of the publisher's new Digital First line, you can take advantage of this offer with reads that range from contemporary romance to fast-paced suspense. (There's even a non-fiction in the mix.)

Tyndale is offering the books in a variety of e-formats, but the post also includes the friendly reminder that you don't need an e-reader to enjoy this e-book deal — you can also read them on your computer. 

So will you be diving into Reinventing Leona by Lynne Gentry, the story of a pastor’s wife who must learn to stand on her own two feet? Or are you more in the mood to learn about the employees at a small town florist shop who must band together to save one of their own in Delivery by Diana Prusik? The great thing about free books is that you don’t need to choose just one, you can check out all five titles at the Tyndale blog!


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five On Friday: Newly Announced Inspirational Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

There are so many new book deals being made in the inspirational market that we’ve decided to devote a new special column to them. Here are five of this week's most inspiring inspirational book deals — just after they’ve been announced! 

Publishing soon is Siri Mitchell’s The Hello Girl, the story of a girl who rebels against her affluent family and gets a working class job at a call center. There she stumbles upon a conversation that puts lives in danger. There’s no publication date yet, but The Hello Girl is part of a three-book deal, so our fingers are crossed that there will be more great thrillers from Mitchell.

God has plans for the young heroine of Sandra Robbins’ Angel of the Cove. The protagonist's dreams of a nursing career in New York are thwarted when it is revealed that she must move to an isolated valley in the Smokey Mountains, a far cry from the life she thought she would have.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mystery Month: Spotlight On Inspirational Mysteries

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

In honor of mystery month, today we are taking a look at some of the latest inspirational stories of suspense, danger and crime-solving that we've reviewed in the magazine. These books have a faith element, but they are easily accessible to most readers — and we suggest that genre fans hungry for more mystery reads check out some of the recent and upcoming titles we've spotlighted below.

OUT NOW

 

The Canary List
by Sigmund Brouwer
Subgenre: Suspense
Our Reviewer Says: “Clear your schedule: this is a one-sit read.”

When Crockett Grey, a teacher who is mourning the loss of his daughter, agrees to let one of his pre-teen students stay at his home, he doesn’t realize this act of kindness will plunge him into the center of a conspiracy that involves the Vatican.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST