RT Daily Blog

Sparks Fly In Stephanie Grace Whitson's A Most Unsuitable Match

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

Opposites attract in Stephanie Grace Whitson's A Most Unsuitable Match. But what does that really mean for the well-to-do heroine Fannie and Samuel, the common man who catches her eye while they are both on board a steamship headed West? Today we get all the details about Fannie, Samuel and the spark of inspiration that became this new inspirational historical romance.

“They are opposites in every way … except in how neither one can stop thinking about the other.” The back cover copy for my August release A Most Unsuitable Match makes me smile every time I read it, because I didn’t set out to write that story. Honest. I’m a victim of my own characters, two young people who marched onto my raggedy steamboat and took things into their own hands.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five On Friday: Newly Announced Inspirational Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

There are so many new book deals being made in the inspirational market that we’ve decided to devote a new special column to them. Here are five of this week's most inspiring inspirational book deals — just after they’ve been announced! 

Mia Ross will thrill fans of sweet romance with her new novel Change of Heart. After the heroine has her dreams dashed in the big city, she comes home to her small town to find that true love has been waiting there all along. No publication date has been set for this upcoming Harlequin Love Inspired series romance.

Mary of Magdala, the newest novel from New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Joan Wolf, tells the story of this famous woman’s life. From Mary's childhood to when she became both emotionally and spiritually mature, we get an intimate portrait of this intriguing women. There’s no publication date yet, but we look forward to reading this gifted author’s take on the complex Biblical character. 


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves 8/3/2011: Inspirational Style

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our column On the Bookshelves we feature some of RT's highest-rated novels that are released across the genres each week. However this week there are so many great new inspirational books that we thought we'd provide a handy break down of what readers will find in stores this month. From tales of historical love, to dark and mysterious mainstream novels (we're thinking of you, Dancing on Glass), here's a look at the inspirational books we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Sarah Sundin On Her Inspirational Novels

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 02, 2011 | PERMALINK

Inspirational author Sarah Sundin sits down with RT reviewer Linda Mae Baldwin to share an insider’s look at her latest novel, Blue Skies Tomorrow, how she researched her WWII-era characters and what’s coming next from the pen of this popular writer!

Linda Mae Baldwin: How did you end up writing fiction, especially Christian fiction? Does your pharmacy background affect your writing?

Sarah Sundin: I never considered a writing career. Instead I chose a career in pharmacy and chose to work on-call and stay home with our three children. Then in 2000, I had a dream with such intriguing characters that I felt compelled to write their story. That first novel will never be published, nor should it, but it got me started. I knew I had to write Christian fiction—God infuses my view of life, and I can’t imagine not having Him a part of my characters’ lives.

Read The Complete Interview >>


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five Free E-Books From Inspirational Publisher Tyndale House

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

Inspirational publisher Tyndale House is offering five free e-reads! In honor of the publisher's new Digital First line, you can take advantage of this offer with reads that range from contemporary romance to fast-paced suspense. (There's even a non-fiction in the mix.)

Tyndale is offering the books in a variety of e-formats, but the post also includes the friendly reminder that you don't need an e-reader to enjoy this e-book deal — you can also read them on your computer. 

So will you be diving into Reinventing Leona by Lynne Gentry, the story of a pastor’s wife who must learn to stand on her own two feet? Or are you more in the mood to learn about the employees at a small town florist shop who must band together to save one of their own in Delivery by Diana Prusik? The great thing about free books is that you don’t need to choose just one, you can check out all five titles at the Tyndale blog!


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five On Friday: Newly Announced Inspirational Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

There are so many new book deals being made in the inspirational market that we’ve decided to devote a new special column to them. Here are five of this week's most inspiring inspirational book deals — just after they’ve been announced! 

Publishing soon is Siri Mitchell’s The Hello Girl, the story of a girl who rebels against her affluent family and gets a working class job at a call center. There she stumbles upon a conversation that puts lives in danger. There’s no publication date yet, but The Hello Girl is part of a three-book deal, so our fingers are crossed that there will be more great thrillers from Mitchell.

God has plans for the young heroine of Sandra Robbins’ Angel of the Cove. The protagonist's dreams of a nursing career in New York are thwarted when it is revealed that she must move to an isolated valley in the Smokey Mountains, a far cry from the life she thought she would have.


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mystery Month: Spotlight On Inspirational Mysteries

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

In honor of mystery month, today we are taking a look at some of the latest inspirational stories of suspense, danger and crime-solving that we've reviewed in the magazine. These books have a faith element, but they are easily accessible to most readers — and we suggest that genre fans hungry for more mystery reads check out some of the recent and upcoming titles we've spotlighted below.

OUT NOW

 

The Canary List
by Sigmund Brouwer
Subgenre: Suspense
Our Reviewer Says: “Clear your schedule: this is a one-sit read.”

When Crockett Grey, a teacher who is mourning the loss of his daughter, agrees to let one of his pre-teen students stay at his home, he doesn’t realize this act of kindness will plunge him into the center of a conspiracy that involves the Vatican.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sparks Fly on the Fourth of July!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 01, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today Lisa Lickel, the hostess of Clash of the Titles, highlights some of the fabulous inspirational tales (and authors) that, in the spirit of the fireworks that are the emblem of this weekend's holiday, have romance sparks flying! 

From some of our authors and friends of Clash of the Titles, we bring you the very best ways to create that romantic moment…fiction…and not! Enjoy the magic.

***

Deborah Kinnard

While working on a recent book (Powerline, reissue from Desert Breeze Publishing, September 2011), Deb was struck with a great way to have her characters fall in love. They would share a festival with the other dwellers in their small Illinois town. What better way for characters to complete the process of falling for one another than to wander through the fete, eating ice cream and manning the dunk tank?

Her characters liked the scenario just fine. A hot day, a cool night, good friends, a blanket under the trees – what’s not to contribute to falling in love?

- Deborah Kinnard, former honorable mention at Clash of the Titles

Seasons in the Mist, Sheaf House - winner, Grace Awards 2010

Timeless Romance, Transcendent Faith 


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

New Series Alert: Seasons Of The Heart By Martha Rogers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

 

There is nothing better than learning that a fan favorite author is launching a new series. So when we heard that inspirational author Martha Rogers has a new historical series releasing with this month's Summer Dreamwe just had to ask the author to give us an insider's look at her Seasons of the Heart series.

Seasons of the Heart, my new series, weaves together the lives of friends and family as they come to a place where they know God is the one true hope for the future. Four women, each from a different background discover that a dream can come true, God’s love can open eyes to truth, God will keep His promises, and there is hope for the future through forgiveness. Rachel, Kathleen, and Abigail’s strong faith bring their men the love they seek, and Libby shows how God works through her weakness to build strength. Beginning in Connecticut in 1888, the story moves to Texas in 1889 and follows the lives of these women as they find true love and bond in friendship only God could orchestrate.

 


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five On Friday: Newly Announced Inspirational Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

There are so many new book deals being made in the inspirational market that we’ve decided to devote a new special column to them. Here are five of this week's most inspiring inspirational book deals — just after they’ve been announced! 

Sparks fly when a former pickpocket becomes involved with a local deputy sheriff in Pam Hillman’s upcoming release Stealing Jake

Calling all Maureen Lang fans! Tyndale will be releasing two more books from the author tentatively titled Bees in the Butterfly Garden and Great Deeds Never Die


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST