RT Daily Blog

RT Reports From Brooklyn Story's Launch Party

BY Faygie Levy, NOVEMBER 03, 2010 | PERMALINK

We at RT are always happy when we hear about a new author, but there's something special when the author is from Brooklyn, where RT is based. The latest author to celebrate the borough is Suzanne Corso. The author is getting raves for her debut mainstream novel, Brooklyn Story, which will be out in late December.

The book tells the story of a half-Italian, half-Jewish girl from Bensonhurst, Brooklyn in the late 1970s and her journey to find her place in the world. Brooklyn Story, which is already being looked at for film adaptation, with no less than Penny Marshall and Lorraine Bracco attached, was first written by Corso when she was just 19. Though it has been rewritten and revised, Corso says the essence of her story remained.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writing Advice from Mainstream Author Cathy Lamb

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 02, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Cathy Lamb shares the wise advice that helped her get published when she was an aspiring author. And don't miss the excerpt of her 2007 debut novel, Julia's Chocolates, at the end of the post!

I will give all aspiring writers the advice that I wish I had gotten years and years ago, before a mountain sized load of rejection letters from two category romance publishers almost buried me in a literary avalanche. You may not want to hear it, you may not agree with it, you may find it discouraging….or, like me, you might follow it with a hop, skip, and a jump, or at least a tiny jig.

So, here it is: If you are continually getting rejections in one genre – category romance, science fiction, fiction, nonfiction, whatever it is - and brace yourself here - you may need to change genres entirely. Yep. You may need to take a deep breath, drown yourself in decaf mochas, which is what I do, or a box of chocolates, which is what I did when I was in the midst of rejection hell, and start over. 

Here’s the truth: Your talents may not lie in the place you’re currently trying to publish in.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Q&A With Richard Paul Evans

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 27, 2010 | PERMALINK

Richard Paul Evans is well known for his engaging holiday tales. In his newest release, Promise Me, the author confronts timeless challenges that every family would hate to face, no matter the season. In this revealing interview the author shares a behind-the-scenes look at Promise Me.

 

Your novels frequently include the magic of the winter holidays. What is your favorite part of the season?
I love everything about the season, but, most of all, the generosity of spirit. As Dickens wrote, “It’s the one time of the year that we view each other as we truly are: fellow passengers to the grave…” or something like that. 

That and Egg nog. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Barbara Taylor Bradford

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

In this intimate interview best-selling author Barbara Taylor Bradford chats with RT Senior Historical Reviewer Kathe Robin about her incredible writing career. They discuss the author's beloved heroine Emma, the evolution of her popular series and what inspired the author to write about women of "substance".

 

Barbara Taylor Bradford Reflects On Her Writing Career >>

We also got a chance to speak with Barbara Taylor Bradford earlier this month about her October release, Playing the Game, and she shared these details about her newest novel:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Big Move For Debbie Macomber!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 06, 2010 | PERMALINK

Debbie Macomber is moving, but not out of Port Orchard, Washington. The author is changing publishing houses. Starting in 2012, Macomber will be releasing six new novels with Ballantine Bantam Dell!

Readers need not worry, Macomber's new publisher is devoted to keeping the same small town charm of her previous novels. “The values of family, community and service are integral elements of Debbie Macomber's storytelling, which are cherished by her readers and admired by her peers,” says Theresa Zoro, the director of publicity at Random House which owns Ballantine Bantam Dell. 

The first three of these six books will hit shelves in 2012, with Ballantine planning to publish three Macomber novels the following year. The even better news is that Macomber will be starting a new series set in Port Orchard, Washington — the inspiration for her popular Cedar Cove books!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

From Soap Actress To Author

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 05, 2010 | PERMALINK

Superstar soap opera actress Lisa Rinna is now wowing fans in a whole new way. This Days of Our Life and Melrose Place veteran is making her fiction debut with Starlit, the story of a waitress who becomes a star — and then must deal with the consequences of fame. So we caught up with the actress to find out what it was like for her to become an author!

You've been in the public eye for so long as an actress, what reaction did you get from friends and fans when you announced you were going to start writing?
Well they know I like to do things outside of the box and things that scare me and so I don't think anyone was that surprised :)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debbie Macomber Reflects On Her Ten Book Strong Cedar Cove Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 31, 2010 | PERMALINK

Mega-star author Debbie Macomber reflects on her tenth Cedar Cove novel, 1022 Evergreen Place. Learn which true-life love story inspired the mystery that characters Mack and Mary Jo stumble upon. And find out more about the town that inspired the series, including a map of Cedar Cove aka Port Orchard, Washington at the end of this post!

It doesn't seem possible that my first Cedar Cove book (16 Lighthouse Road) was published ten years ago. Even more incredible is that 1022 Evergreen Place is the tenth book in this ongoing series. How long will the series last? Until all the stories are told! 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Go In-Depth With July's Seal of Excellence Winner: Kate Racculia

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 23, 2010 | PERMALINK

Debut author Kate Racculia is the recipient of RT's July Seal of Excellence for her novel, This Must Be The Place. Now the author sits down with RT's Whitney Sullivan to discuss the novel that begins as a tale about a grieving widower but becomes something entirely more complex. The pair chat about Racculia's background in art, the parent-child relationship she found most challenging to write, what we can expect next from this bright new talent and much more!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Karen White Comes By To Answer RT's Questions

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 17, 2010 | PERMALINK

Karen White, the author of this summer's mainstream novel hit, On Folly Beach, caught our attention with her vibrant characters, detailed settings and "clear, sweet voice." So the author kindly agreed to by and answer our questions about her research process, the evolution of her writing and what a "Karen White" heroine is. 

RT: On Folly Beach follows a multi-decade story. What techniques did you use to make history come alive?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Molly Harper: Paranormal vs. Mainstream

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 12, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Molly Harper has genre-jumped from paranormal to mainstream fiction. Harper discusses the experience of changing genres, offers a side-by-side comparison of her latest novels and shares an excerpt of And One Last Thing... as she petitions RT readers for "dual-genre citizenship".

After my three-book vampire librarian series, people were surprised that my fourth book would be published in July with nary a supernatural creature in sight. And One Last Thing ... is the story of Lacey Terwilliger, who uses her husband’s company mailing list to send a mass e-mail to everyone they know, detailing the special brand of “administrative support” Mike’s assistant provides. Faster than you can say, “instant Snopes article,” Lacey is exiled from her tiny hometown in the wake of her widely forwarded, anti-adultery missive.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST