RT Daily Blog

Adena Halpern On Taking The "Wrong" Path

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

Adena Halpern shares how a doomed relationship, the movie Sliding Doors and underwear from Target all contributed to her new mainstream novel, 29.  And don't miss the author's list of "The Top Ten Mistakes Every Woman Should Make Once" at the end of the post!

When I was 21 years old, I moved to Los Angeles from New York City, 3,000 miles away from my family for a guy I was madly in love with. My parents tried to change my mind. “Are you sure you want to leave your life where everyone knows and loves you for him? Wasn’t it your dream to live in New York City and become a famous novelist?” I told them they didn’t understand true love. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Bollywood In A Book

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 26, 2010 | PERMALINK

Mainstream author Shobhan Bantwal chats about her new release,  The Unexpected Son , and her reputation for creating "Bollywood in a book." And don't miss the EXCERPT of The Unexpected Son at the end of this post!

When I decided to take up fiction writing at the age of 50, a result of what I call a "menopausal epiphany," I naturally turned to my own Indian-Hindu culture for story ideas, which offers a delicious and intriguing array of topics.

While conflict is part and parcel of every society, it is even more abundant in conservative cultures like India, where love and romance are rarely given credence. The rigid caste system and arranged marriage still exist in contemporary India, dowry abuse is rampant, women are still considered burdens, and dominant males are fierce guardians of their heritage. I grew up in the midst of it all, in a strict Brahmin family. I also had an arranged marriage.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 6/29/2010

BY admin, JUNE 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance

  Love In The Afternoon by Lisa Kleypas

"Uncoventional, delightful, touching and unforgettable."

 

Mystery/Suspense/Thriller


Read More>>

Tags: Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Mainstream, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Summer Heat Genre Giveaway

BY admin, JUNE 23, 2010 | PERMALINK

In honor of this week's summer heat, we are giving away some of the hottest books to be released between June 10th and 29th. We are giving away books from aross the genres. So whether you are a fan of historicals, like Courtesan's Kiss by Mary Blayney, or thrillers, like Barry Eisler's Inside Out, we've got a book for you.

All you need to do is pick the genre that you'd like to win, and follow the instructions below!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Inspirational, Mainstream, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Shelves Tuesday 6/22/2010

BY admin, JUNE 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance

  Twice Tempted By A Rogue by Tessa Dare

"A great book that deserves a place on your keeper shelf"  

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Inspirational, Mainstream, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Eva Marie Everson Asks The Question - When Are Historicals, Historical?

BY admin, JUNE 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Eva Marie Everson reflects on the 1960s and why she set her newest release, This Fine Life, in the tumultuous decade.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Post A Review for a Chance To Win a 2011 RT BOOKLOVERS CONVENTION Registration

BY admin, JUNE 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

On your mark, get set, post your own review!

On each of our book reviews, you can tell us (and your fellow readers) exactly what you think of the books you have read. Now is the time to let everyone know your opinion about your favorite (or not so favorite) stories. With over 40,000 reviews on the RT BOOK REVIEWS site, the possibilities to share are almost endless.

Now until August 1st, each time you review a book you will be entered to win a free registration to the 2011 RT BOOKLOVERS Convention in L.A. The more reviews you post, the more chances you have to win. We will randomly choose one lucky winner to receive the free convention registration.

Not registered as a visitor? No problem! Click here to sign up for an RT site login. Its free and easy.

Already have a login? You are ready to post. Use the advanced book search for help finding the titles you would like to review.

Official Contest Rules >>

Let us know what books you are reviewing - comment below and keep us informed!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, E-Book, Erotica, Inspirational, Mainstream, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hot Book Club Titles For Fall From BEA

BY admin, MAY 26, 2010 | PERMALINK

This morning at BEA a group of industry professionals met to discuss the hot book club titles for fall.

Even before the presentation began, the room was abuzz with energy. It was barely 10 am and already conference attendees were weighed down with bags of books and pamphlets. However, they were thrilled to see that already laid out on their chairs was a convenient carrying bag and yet more books. Among the titless waiting for attendees were Brooklyn by Colm Toibin and Little Bee by Chris Cleave - both books surrounded by incredible buzz. Any booklover knows that when it comes to books, you can never have too many.

The panel was moderated by Carol Fitzgerald of ReadingGroupGuides.com and President of BookReportNetwork.com. Representatives from Simon & Schuster, Harper Collins and Avon, Penguin Group USA Random House Macmillan and Hachette Book Group all brought their favorite picks for fall to the table. Although each only had nine minutes to speak, they were well prepared and also distributed a handout of their powerpoint presentation.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mary Kay Andrews Opens Her Doors In Better Homes And Gardens Magazine

BY admin, MAY 25, 2010 | PERMALINK

Mainstream author Mary Kay Andrews is in the June issue of Better Homes and Gardens magazine!

The article features a photo spread of the author's family beach cottage, The Breeze Inn, on Tybee Island in Georgia. Andrews also wrote the story that runs alongside the spread.

Andrews' latest release, The Fixer Upper, is now available in paperback. Reader PJ Writer suggests, "If you loved the novels featuring Weezie and Bebe, you will love this cottage!" So don't miss the chance to sneak a peek into the world of Andrews' characters which have come to life on Tybee Island. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

THE EVER-EVOLVING ELIZABETH BASS

BY admin, MAY 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

Elizabeth Bass has taken a writing journey through genre fiction, but never expected to pen a story based on her own life.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST