RT Daily Blog

Mainstream Overview: January

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 27, 2014 | PERMALINK

Nothing is as it seems in this overview of our favorite January mainstream reads. This time, we’re adding a little magic and supernatural spice to the mix! So hold on tight, because this is going to be a magical ride!

Fans of CBS’s Ghost Whisperer are sure to devour Karen White’s Return to Tradd Street. Melanie Middleton has a lot on her plate: she’s single, pregnant and struggling to decide whether or not she should marry her baby’s father, Jack Trenholm. To top it all off, her ability to communicate with ghosts has disappeared thanks to her pregnancy. When the remains of a child and a malicious ghost surface in her haunted home, Melanie must get to the bottom of things — and fast.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Excerpt: Sarah Addison Allen's Lost Lake — with Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 23, 2014 | PERMALINK

Oh readers, it's real cold outside. The snow isn't quite so shimmery anymore. And it's only Thursday. So let's all take an excerpt break, shall we? Today for you we've got Sarah Addison Allen's RT Top Pick! Lost Lake. It's the story of a grieving Kate, who moves with her son to her great aunt's cabins in Lost Lake, Ga., to try and get over the death of her husband. RT reviewer Melissa Parcel calls this one a "truly great read to be savored." Curious? Read on, and enter below for a chance to win!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Nora Ephron Knows All: Linda Yellin talks Inspiration

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 22, 2014 | PERMALINK

From Harry and Sally’s on-again-off-again love affair, to You’ve Got Mail, where Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks fall in love over books, clearly the great Nora Ephron knew the way to our hearts. Which is why our interest was piqued by Linda Yellin’s What Nora Knew, the mainstream RT Top Pick! that follows 39-year-old writer Molly Hallberg. Molly’s stuck in a relationship rut until she turns an assignment about finding romance in New York City into her own real-life love story, with Nora’s films as her guides. We had to ask:

***

What is it about Nora Ephron’s stories that people want to revisit again and again?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kim Gruenenfelder's Favorite Bridal Shower Pins

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

Wedding showers can sure be a hoot — there's that hat made of bows, the one inappropriate guest who brings racy lingerie as a present and the biting comments from the mother-in-law to be. Honestly, we mostly go for the spiked punch ourselves. Mainstream author Kim Gruenenfelder — whose RT Top Pick!, Keep Calm and Carry a Big Drink, features an enchanted bridal shower cake — pinned some of her favorite (and downright ridiculous) wedding shower elements, from gifts to decorations to cake! You can check out some of our favorites below, along with Kim's witty captions, and see all of her wedding-centric Pinterest boards here.

Someone gave this as a bridal shower gift. See ladies, this is why you register.

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Three Questions for … Author Ellen Marie Wiseman

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 26, 2013 | PERMALINK

History books are filled with the deeds of war heroes and kings, but up-and-coming author Ellen Marie Wiseman peers into the lives of the children who slipped quietly through the cracks in her latest novel, What She Left Behind (Kensington). Alternating between the past and present, the story follows 18-year-old Clara Cartright, whose parents committed her to a mental institution in 1929 after she fell in love with an Italian immigrant and refused an arranged marriage, and 17-year-old Izzy Stone, a foster kid who finds Clara’s letters decades later in the now-abandoned state asylum after her mother is sentenced to prison for murdering her father. Here, the author explains more about these two characters, whose resilience in the face of unthinkable circumstances transcends time.

1. How were you able to flesh out your characters with historical details when dealing with people whom society has largely forgotten?


Read More>>

Tags: Mainstream, RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Wednesday Free for All: Adriana Trigiani's The Supreme Macaroni Company

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 27, 2013 | PERMALINK

 

For today's giveaway, we're in the mood for some family drama, a saga of sorts. Perhaps because we're all about to celebrate Thanksgiving with our clans? We'd rather not say. What we will tell you is that we've got five copies of Adriana Trigiani's latest RT Top Pick!, The Supreme Macaroni Companyto give away. The finale to the Valentine trilogy, it's the story of Valentine, a teacher-turned shoemaker, and her erstwhile love, tanner Gianluca. They announce their engagement, to the excitement of both families. Until a secret is revealed that changes everything. RT reviewer Jaime said this one "boasts captivating characters, a couple of jaw-dropping plot twists and a romance as rich as a full-bodied merlot." 

If we've caught your interest, comment below, telling us your favorite kind of pasta, to win! You can also email your entry here with the subject "Supreme Macaroni Co Giveaway" along with your mailing address. U.S. residents only, please. Winners will be announced here next Wednesday.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Hilary Fields' Bliss-ful Dessert Recipes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 21, 2013 | PERMALINK

'Tis the season for cooking for crowds and baking up a storm. Since you're probably already drowning in cookie recipes, we asked author Hilary Fields, whose latest novel Bliss features a bakery-owning heroine whose business also doubles as an "adult store" in the back, to share some of her protagonist's recipes of the non-cookie variety. Enjoy!

My novel Bliss is all about letting loose and exploring your sensuality. For my heroine Serafina, that sensuality first finds its expression in her love of delectable treats. As a pastry chef, Sera shares her passion by way of her desserts. As an author, I share mine with my words. So here's the best of both worlds, a recipe for Bliss!

- Hilary Fields

click image to enlarge


 

click image to enlarge

You can pick up a copy of Bliss, available in stores and online now! For more holiday recipes keep an eye on the RT Daily Blog.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

November Mainstream Overview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 12, 2013 | PERMALINK

They say it’s not wise to mix business and pleasure, but business is at the heart of this month’s selection of mainstream recommendations, resulting in unique, sweet and dramatic stories of love, family and self-discovery. Take a look:

In Adriana Trigiani’s The Supreme Macaroni Company, the third and final book in her Valentine trilogy, a business partnership runs along the course of true love. But, of course, things never do run smooth. Shoemaker Valentine Roncalli and tanner Gianluca Vechiarelli announce their engagement, much to the excitement of their families, who have been in business together for many years. It isn’t long, however, until a devastating secret is revealed, leaving Val to make the most difficult decision in her life. Will Val and Gianluca get their happy ending?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Excerpt: Wally Lamb's We Are Water

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 23, 2013 | PERMALINK

Story time! We once had the pleasure of interviewing bestselling author Wally Lamb, and he told us an awesome Oprah anecdote — earning our undying devotion forever.

It seems that even before Oprah started her amazingly popular book club, she had a habit of calling up authors of books she liked, just to tell them so. When Wally recieved his first call from O, he was flabbergasted. Of course, Oprah went on to found that book club, and to choose not one but two of Wally's titles as picks (both She's Come Undone and I Know This Much is True). We're not sure if Wally's phone has rung yet regarding the RT Top Pick! GOLD rated We Are Water, out this week, but we're hoping it did. 

If you want to find out if your and Oprah's tastes line up, then why not check out our exclusive excerpt of We Are Water, which our reviewer called, "powerful" and a "must read." 


Read More>>

Tags: General Mainstream Fiction, Mainstream, RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

October Mainstream Overview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 09, 2013 | PERMALINK

The art and sciences are front and center in this month's selection of noteworthy mainstream reads. These powerful novels illustrate the power and beauty of the world around us, and the way that it can influence one’s life. You won't want to miss these enthralling stories.

In Wally Lamb’s We Are Water, which earned the very rare Top Pick! GOLD rating from RT, intertwines narratives as we learn of Annie Oh, an artist remarrying after 27 years of marriage. Told in alternating points of view, this tale of love and acceptance, and the role of art in life, is sure to enthrall readers from start to finish.

In The Goldfinch, Donna Tartt weaves a harrowing story of a boy who must deal with the aftermath of his mother’s death — and the valuable painting now in his possession. As he bounces from place to place, he holds onto the painting, protects it and uses it to help him navigate the murky waters of life.


Read More>>

Tags: Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST