RT Daily Blog

Mainstream Book Recommendations: May 2013

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 23, 2013 | PERMALINK

18, 38 or 88 — it doesn't matter how old a person is, life changing events can happen at any age. And the characters in this month's mainstream novels can certainly attest to the fact that birthdates don't matter when facing tough decisions. But now there is a decision you have to make — what age protagonist do you want to read about next? No matter what your answer, we've got a recently released mainstream book that is right for you. 

Oh, the drama that comes with being a young adult! The teenage years and early twenties are times of growth and freedom, but they can also bring heartache and confusion. Two characters that must navigate this tricky age are Maya in Isabel Allende’s Maya’s Notebook and young London socialite Grace from Kathleen Tessaro’s The Perfume Collector. While Maya is on a road to self-destruction after the death of her grandfather, Grace is on a better path as she learns about a large inheritance waiting for her in Paris.


Read More>>

Tags: Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Beth Kendrick's Heroine's To-Do List The Week Before The Wedding

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 07, 2013 | PERMALINK

It's obvious that any wedding — from an intimate gathering to a lavish celebration — takes planning. And in Beth Kendrick's latest release, The Week Before the Wedding, heroine Emily McKellips definitely knows a thing or two about arranging her big day. She's spent years getting her life sorted out. Now that Emily's dream wedding is near, there's nothing that can go wrong — that is, until her first husband shows up. But ex-husband drama aside, there's a ton to keep Emily busy. We asked the author to share what her heroine has on her wedding to-do list, and she was more than happy to share.

***

TO-DO LIST:


Read More>>

Tags: Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mainstream Book Recommendations: April 2013

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 04, 2013 | PERMALINK

The mainstream genre covers a lot of ground. From family drama to coping with illness to sweet romance, these titles can include a bit of everything. This month we picked out books focusing on three topics — humor, friendship and mystery — to help you chose which type of mainstream novel you may want to add to your TBR pile.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mainstream Book Recommendations: March 2013

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 15, 2013 | PERMALINK

Relationships can be tricky. Whether you are navigating family dynamics, dealing with a significant other or even getting to know yourself better, working on personal issues never seems to go away. If you enjoy reading about characters struggling with complex relationships, then check out the following chart where we recommend some great mainstream reads releasing this month. 


Read More>>

Tags: Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lucy Dillon On The Evolution of Happily Ever After

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 06, 2013 | PERMALINK

Lucy Dillon's latest mainstream novel The Secret of Happy Every After follows two best friends — wife Anna who wants a family of her own but copes with her husband's stepdaughters, and divorced Michelle who must deal with her obsessive ex-husband — as they experience the ups and downs of life and love. Since her book focuses on two characters who yearn for vastly different things, we asked the author about the idea of Happily Ever After and what it means in modern society. 

‘Happily ever after’ has changed a lot in recent years. For a long time, the final goal in any romance novel was marriage — Prince Charming galloping to the rescue with the ultimate prize: The Wedding Ring. (And very often a really nice house.) Reckless like Rhett Butler, or moody-but-moral like Mr. Darcy, heroes were gallant, powerful, but old-fashioned about a woman’s role, even if Scarlett and Lizzy Bennett gave as good as they got in the courtship.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Win An Audiobook Copy Of Jackie Collins' The Power Trip

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 12, 2013 | PERMALINK
Author Jackie Collins has built an empire by giving readers a glimpse into (fictional) dramatic scandals that rock the world of her beautiful characters.

Throughout her career, Collins' steamy work has seen it's share of controversy. (In fact, according to the author's Wikipedia page Barbara Cartland called Collins' first book, The World is Full of Married Men, "nasty, filthy and disgusting." Furthermore, this title was banned in Australia and South Africa.) But we find it is Collins' scintillating stories draw us in and make us want more. And we aren't alone. As one of the most successful writers publishing today, all 28 of Jackie Collins' novels have appeared on the New York Times bestseller list.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Ellen Marie Wiseman Talks Family, History And The Plum Tree

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 09, 2013 | PERMALINK

Author Ellen Marie Wiseman's debut novel, The Plum Tree, earned a Top Pick! rating from RT. A historical mainstream novel set during World War II, The Plum Tree tells the story of Christine Bölz, a young German woman who falls in love with a Jewish boy. But as Hitler begins to take over Europe and nations fall prey to Nazi Germany, the couple's secret love becomes dangerous. An engrossing tale of love's enduring nature, Wiseman's novel was inspired by her own German heritage. Today the author shares how her family history influenced this unforgettable story. 

When it comes to love during a time of war, there are millions of stories waiting to be told. In my novel, The Plum Tree, a poor, young German woman, Christine Bölz, falls in love with Isaac Bauerman, the son of her wealthy Jewish employer, in Nazi Germany on the eve of WWII.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Syrie James Channels Jane Austen In Her Latest Mainstream Release

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 03, 2013 | PERMALINK

It’s been discussed that Jane Austen based various characters in her novels after people she knew personally. Mainstream fiction author Syrie James also incorporates people she knows into her novels, including her newest novel, The Missing Manuscript of Jane Austen. Today the author shares three books in which she weaves people from her own life into her prose and how this practice helps shape her stories:

For my first novel, Songbird (I've just released a newly revised edition in both print and e-book versions) I based many aspects of the handsome and romantic hero, Kyle Harrison, on my husband Bill. I even included one scene that came almost straight from life — the moment when Desiree realizes that Kyle is colorblind. The conflict of that story was inspired by my relationship with Bill in the early stage of our romance. Like the characters in the book, Bill and I had a whirlwind courtship, but we lived in different cities and were faced with the challenges of a long-distance relationship. I'll never forget how devastated I was each time he or I had to get on a plane and leave — and I put that pain and heartbreak into the novel — as well as its happy ending! (Bill and I have been married now for thirty-seven wonderful years, and I am grateful for every minute.)

I based yet another heroic character on my husband. I was halfway through the first draft of my novel Dracula, My Love, and I'd fallen madly in love with my gorgeous, sexy, charismatic Dracula. In comparison, Mina Harker's husband Jonathan Harker seemed bland and unappealing. It was important to me and the story that Mina be torn between these two men — so I realized I had to something to make Jonathan more worthy. To accomplish that, I rewrote it and gave Jonathan all of my husband's best attributes. It seems to have worked, because readers have admitted they so loved both of the men in Mina's life, they couldn't decide who they wanted her to end up with!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

What's In A Name? Catherine McKenzie Tackles The Chick Lit Label

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 29, 2012 | PERMALINK

Two weeks ago we posted about the return of Bridget Jones and what this news means for the chick lit and mainstream women's fiction genres. Author Catherine McKenzie, who writes funny, contemporary stories featuring complex, relatable female protagonists, has a bone to pick with the chick lit tag. Specifically, how and why contemporary stories written for (and often by) women receive the label and what it means to her as a writer: 

So, I’m a woman who writes commercial fiction. Generally, first-person narratives that have a mix of humor set against a topical background. There’s a theme to my books, underneath the plot, but I don’t want to, you know, hit anyone over the head with it. And so, my books more often than not get labeled ‘chick lit’.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Bridget Jones Is Returning But Chick Lit Never Left

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 14, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author Helen Fielding has just announced that she will be releasing her third novel featuring iconic character Bridget Jones. The first two books in Fielding’s series, Bridget Jones's Diary and The Edge of Reason, were both international bestsellers and went on to be adapted into films starring Renee Zellweger, Hugh Grant and Colin Firth.

It was Bridget Jones that helped to solidify the rise of chick lit in the late nineties, however, the frothy, flirty, often cartoon covered books in this sub genre fell out of favor in the early 2000s. ‘Chick lit’ became a derogatory term to describe a novel featuring a female protagonist who searches for success in both her career and love life. And it was during this time that Bridget and the nearly hundreds of early-twenty-something characters inspired by Fielding’s creation disappeared from bookshelves.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream, Romance
29COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST