RT Daily Blog

November Mainstream Overview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 12, 2012 | PERMALINK

With the holidays coming, it seems like many novelists are thinking about family and relationships. In this month’s mainstream reads, authors focus on the different stages of romance from first dates to breakups and everything in between. Get ready for both the realistic and absurd as the protagonists in November’s mainstream novels navigate their love lives. 


Read More>>

Tags: Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

More Of RT's 2012 Award Nominees - Mainstream & Multicultural

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 07, 2012 | PERMALINK

This week RT BOOK REVIEWS is revealing our nominees for 2012 Reviewers' Choice Awards. (We have already listed our picks for our favorite Historical Romance, Young Adult, Science Fiction/Fantasy, Erotic Romance, Contemporary Romance & Romantic Suspense, Inspirational, Series Romance, Mystery/Suspense and Paranormal/Urban Fantasy books.) And last, but not least, we are bringing you the nominations for our favorite Mainstream and Multicultural books.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

September Mainstream Overview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 06, 2012 | PERMALINK

With kids returning to school and cold weather on its way, it is a good thing that there are so many great mainstream fiction novels releasing this month. One of September’s mainstream romances takes readers to the beach as a debut author earns a coveted Top Pick! review. To celebrate, newcomer Grace Greene shares to favorite seaside memories. Then we learn that sometimes good things come in threes, as a number of new releases focus on the their storylines on groups of women. Next we turn our attention to a pair of authors whose collaboration had us on the edge of our seats. And finally we round-up novels that send their heroines on a journey to smaller towns for some much needed soul-searching. Needing a great read? Look no further than these mainstream picks. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

August Mainstream Overview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 02, 2012 | PERMALINK

August’s mainstream novels cover a wide range of topics, a diversity that is part of what draws readers to genre. This month we’re seeing several books that feature the theme of moving (and everything that that entails). We also hear from a talented debut author Samantha Hoffman about her first novel. Plus, we spotlight several family planning dramas that have the characters feeling growing pains. There’s all this and more in this month’s Mainstream round-up!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Wendy Wax Shares How Her Characters Overcome Stereotypes In Ocean Beach

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

In her new book, Ocean Beach, author Wendy Wax introduces three women in search — and need — of change. Main characters Madeline, Avery and Nicole are all at crossroads in their lives, and refuse to be boxed in by their pasts. The author can certainly relate. As a young woman, she started out in the male-dominated field of radio, television and film. Refusing to give into stereotypes of what a woman’s role should be, she fought to rise to the top. She is here with us today to talk about her own struggles with stereotypes and how the women of Ocean Beach confront those very same issues.

Almost everyone has a stereotype they can be squeezed into. But while we may be proud of our nationality, or sexuality or shape and size, I think it’s safe to say that no one wants to be seen or known as only that.


Read More>>

Tags: Mainstream
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

July Mainstream Overview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 10, 2012 | PERMALINK

In mainstream fiction this month several of the stories we are featuring contain an element of mystery. And whether you’re reading books on the beach or just trying to fit some you-time into a busy day, we think all readers will agree that sometimes a little bit of “whodunnit?” (or in some cases “whathappened?”) makes a story that much more difficult to put down. But if mysteries aren’t your style, never fear. We also have on tap a new read with some magical elements. Plus don’t miss the news about several newly-announced projects, including one from the incomparable Jodi Picoult!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

June Mainstream Overview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 12, 2012 | PERMALINK

Mainstream readers can always look forward to a wide spectrum of stories that are published in their genre, from light beach reads to serious stories. In this month’s genre roundup, we take a look at three books bound by the theme of friendship and find out what new multicultural mainstream tales are hitting the shelves. You can also check out a video interview with author Mingmei Yip about her Asia-set stories. And then we preview one upcoming read with a look at a just-announced new project!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Upcoming Adaptation: Hallmark Channel To Adapt Cedar Cove Series By Debbie Macomber For Primetime Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 08, 2012 | PERMALINK

Debbie Macomber readers — and fans of Andie MacDowell — take note. The popular actress has just signed on to star in the primetime television series adaptation of the talented author’s beloved Cedar Cove series. The series, titled Cedar Cove, will kick off with a two-hour pilot on the Hallmark Channel. This is not Macomber’s first time seeing her work on screen, she’s previously worked with the Hallmark Channel as they turned two of her novels into made-for-tv holiday movies.

The fictional town of Cedar Cove is a familiar setting for readers. The town is loosely based on Macomber’s hometown of Port Orchard, Washington. (If you’d like to learn just how similar the two costal towns are, click here.) And for this upcoming series, the Hallmark television series will certainly have lots of material to use because Macomber has created a twelve book series beginning with 2001’s 16 Lighthouse Road and wrapping up with 2011's 1225 Christmas Tree Lane. You can learn more about the entire series here.

So where does Andie MacDowell figure into this news? The actress made her mark in classic ‘90s movies, Groundhog Day and Four Weddings and a Funeral. Most recently, MacDowell has been seen co-starring on the ABC Family television show, Jane By Design.


Read More>>

Tags: Mainstream, Romance
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Mingmei Yip

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 29, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author Mingmei Yip has published several tales that feature Asian heroines and settings, delighting mainstream fiction and romance fans alike. Now the author has just released her fourth novel Skeleton Women. In today's interview with RT's Whitney, the author shares the definition of a "Skeleton Woman" and talks about how this story meets at the cross road of mainstream, historical fiction and romantic suspense. Get to know this new heroine even better when the author reveals why she and her fictional character have a kinship. And then discover exactly what you need to know to join Yip's most devoted fans!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

(May)nstream Overview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 09, 2012 | PERMALINK

If you’re stumped about what to book to enjoy next, May’s mainstream releases cater to every type of reading taste. Want to explore a deep drama, get swept up by a new romance or recharge your batteries with something truly inspirational? No matter what you like, you’ll find a fitting new novel out this month. 

***

FOR THE ROMANTIC SOUL

 

Arranged
by Catherine McKenzie

Why you should check out this read: If you’ve ever fallen head over heels for Mr. Wrong, then you’ll love this tale of dating disasters and unexpected success in the strangest of places. RT reviewer Mandy calls this novel, “A real page-turner, Arranged is a perfect beach read. McKenzie will have readers laughing and crying right along with her heroine.”


Read More>>

Tags: Mainstream
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST