RT Daily Blog

Sarah Jio On Beauty Where You Least Expect It

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 25, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Sarah Jio talks about making revisions to her mainstream manuscript and the unexpected impact of tiny details — both in life and fiction.

Shortly after I sold my novel to Penguin, I rolled up my sleeves and got to work on the pre-publication editing process. My editor, the lovely and always insightful Denise Roy at Penguin, suggested that we add few new threads to the book. So, I spent several months working on these revisions, often thinking about creative ideas and solving plot problems on my daily 3-mile jogs around my neighborhood in Seattle. One day, while huffing and puffing through my usual route, I glanced down by the roadside and noticed a brilliant carpet of purple flowers growing at the edge of someone’s garden. I didn’t think much of them until the following day when I was out in my backyard, and a gardener I hired to do some weeding (I have three young boys and zero time for weeding!) pointed out a peculiar plant sprouting up out of the ground.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: The Peach Keeper By Sarah Addison Allen

BY MORGAN, APRIL 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

This week we read The Peach Keeper by Sarah Addison Allen at Whitney’s request. A big fan of the author’s previous works, Whitney loves these Southern family-style dramas with more than a hint of magic. 

***

Whitney: Welcome to the wonderful world of Sarah Addison Allen novels! I’ve been hooked ever since I read Garden Spells, which I consider mandatory reading for anyone with adult sisters. 

Morgan: This is my first Allen, but not my last. Question: Are all of her books so well constructed? It can’t be easy writing a story with an unlikely friendship, two romances, a long forgotten mystery and magic.

Whitney: They each have their own distinct plotline and quirky characters, but they are all strong stories. My favorite part of SAA’s writing is the way that magic flows through her stories without them ever becoming fantasy tales. She has such a light touch with these elements.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Author Spotlight: Shilpi Somaya Gowda

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

Name: Shilpi Somaya Gowda

Book: Secret Daughter

Current Home: San Diego, CA

Number of manuscripts hidden under the bed: None (yet).

Time it took to sell first book: Two years from the time I started writing.

Writing Secret Daughter: I began writing chronologically, from the beginning of the story as it unfolds. I had a strong sense of the beginning and of how I wanted it to end. Much of the rest of the story took shape as I was writing. I found it easier to stay in one character’s voice, so I first wrote Kavita’s (the biological mother) story all the way through, then Somer’s (the adoptive mother) and finally Asha’s (the daughter). I wove those stories together and that became my first draft. Then I began editing, a lot.

Inspiration for writing: I’ve been writing since I was a child, but I began to really write seriously in 2006. It was an idea I’d held in the back of my mind for many years while I was a very avid reader. A combination of life changes — a geographic move, a professional change, a second child — created the space in my life to try something new.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Beth Kendrick's The Bake-Off

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Beth Kendrick's upcoming novel, The Bake-Off. We go beyond the back cover blurb for this special look at The Bake-Off, which will hit bookstores in early May.

***

Certain flavors just naturally go together: Peanut butter and chocolate. Vanilla ice cream and apple pie. Whipped cream and the washboard abs of a hot hero.

Oops. Did I say that out loud?

The Bake-Off is a story about Amy, a suburban soccer mom who just wants to stand out from the crowd, and her younger sister Linnie, a former child prodigy who just wants to fit in. Amy and Linnie had a huge falling-out ten years ago, and nothing can bring them together again…nothing, that is, except the manipulations of their wily grandmother and their need for money and publicity. So, “borrowing” a family recipe that’s been passed down for generation, the sisters enter a national baking competition and prepare to whisk their way to riches and glory.

As you can imagine, problems start to crop up almost immediately. Along with a very tall, dark, and sexy stranger.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Julianne MacLean Aka E.V. Mitchell Talks About The Color Of Heaven

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Julianne MacLean is best known for her historical romances. Recently, writing under the pen name E.V. Mitchell,  MacLean moved in a different direction with her mainstream novel, The Color of HeavenThe story follows heroine Sophie who is struggling to stay positive during her daughter’s battle with leukemia. But when old secrets surface after a serious car accident, Sophie's world may never be the same. Now check out this author interview with Julianne MacLean about the process of creating her first novel as E.V. Mitchell.

***

The main character in The Color of Heaven, Sophie, is a writer. How much of your own experiences as an author went into creating Sophie’s character?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Robert Barclay

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Robert Barclay talks about equine therapy and the role that it plays in If Wishes Were Horses. The author chats with RT Web Editor Morgan Doremus about the tragedies that his characters must each overcome to find love again. Get an in-depth look at these characters that will touch your heart in many different ways in this special author interview.

Robert Barclay on the characters of If Wishes Were Horse >>

Behind the Scenes with Robert Barclay >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Haunting Jasmine: The Inside Scoop On The Ghosts Of Dead Authors

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Mainstream author Anjali Banerjee has bewitched us with her latest novel, Haunting Jasmine. RT Reviewer Victoria Frerichs praised the read saying, "The paranormal aspects of the novel are creative and fun." Learn how Banerjee brought several dead authors back to life to haunt her heroine Jasmine and don't miss a special deleted scene from the tale! 

In my new release, Haunting Jasmine, a harried L.A. businesswoman, Jasmine Mistry, newly divorced and still reeling from her ex-husband’s infidelity, returns home to the rainy Pacific Northwest island of her childhood to run her aunt Ruma’s bookstore for a month while her aunt is in India. Auntie Ruma conveniently fails to tell Jasmine that the bookstore is haunted by the ghosts of dead authors, who help Jasmine to slow down, reinvent herself, rediscover her love of reading, and fall in love with an enigmatic young stranger.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT EXCLUSIVE: Excerpts From A Gossip Column

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Pamela Klaffke worked as a journalist before turning her attention to writing novels. So Klaffke is no stranger to the type of writing that keeps a gossip column juicy. In the author's new novel, the January RT Top Pick!, Every Little Thing,  protagonist Mason has been the object of her very own mother's gossip column. We just had to know what sort of intimate details Mason's mother revealed about her daughter, so we asked Klaffke to share a bit from the humiliating newspaper column.

The late Britt Castleman was Mason McDonald’s mother. At the outset of Every Little Thing, Britt has recently passed away due to complications of vaginal rejuvenation surgery and her daughter, Mason, has been summoned back to her hometown of San Francisco for the funeral. She’s been partially estranged from her mother for years, choosing to live in a tiny Canadian mountain town where no one knows of or reads her mother’s embarrassing newspaper column, many of which have detailed the most private moments of Mason’s life.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kimberla Lawson Roby And Ten Tips For Improving Your Relationship

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

In Kimberla Lawson Roby's latest mainstream novel, Love, Honor and Betray, Reverend Curtis Black’s marriage and family are falling apart as he and his wife have extramarital affairs. Now the author talks about cheating and offers her ten tips for keeping your relationship cheating-proof and full of passion.

Love, honor, and cherish…such simple vows. But what happens when they become love, honor and betray? Or maybe a more common question is, why do some married folks feel the need to cheat in the first place? Why do many of them feel as though they just can’t be happy with the same old spouse until death? Well, I’m sure if you asked ten different people, you’d likely receive ten different answers, but in the end, (and this is only in my opinion) it all boils down to one very vital detail: Men and women cheat, because he or she isn’t being treated the way he or she used to be treated when the marriage first began. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Marie Bostwick

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

With the lingering frustrations from the storm that crippled New York City last week, the RT editors have spent a lot of time indoors pursuing their various crafty hobbies. Here's a never-before-seen video interview with one of our favorite crafting mavens, mainstream author Marie Bostwick. She and RT Web Editor Morgan Doremus chat about quilting and the role that it plays in her latest novel, A Thread So Thin

Marie Bostwick on crafting A Thread So Thin >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST