RT Daily Blog

Extended Excerpt: Elizabeth Bass' Wherever Grace Is Needed

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

Get a peek between the covers of Elizabeth Bass' new mainstream novel, Wherever Grace Is Needed. With this extended excerpt you can meet Grace, the young woman struggling to figure out where home really is in this emotionally gripping tale of love and family.

***

Prologue
Memorizing the Sky
June 1988

In the living room, she went through the same ritual she’d performed everywhere else, joining the tips of the corresponding fingers of her two hands to look through, like a viewfinder, and then slowly walking around the room, examining every little thing. She needed to commit it all to memory. This might be her last chance to see this old house, with its odd-shaped cabinets and closets perfect for hiding, and the fireplace framed by faded multicolored tiles.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Meg Mitchell Moore's Six Tips for Visiting Your Parents’ House With Your Small Children

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Meg Mitchell Moore chats about family dynamics and the ways that they change — and stay the same — when the children in a family become parents themselves. Not only has the author been through this herself (as a daughter who has grown up to have children) but her new mainstream tale, The Arrivals, follows a family that is undergoing this important change. Today the author has created a quick list of pointers for how to navigate this challenging transition!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debbie Macomber Discusses Her Newest Release A Turn In The Road

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

Popular women's fiction author Debbie Macomber often writes about the trials and tribulations of everyday women. She continues this tradition in her newest release, A Turn in the Roadwhich is the next in the Blossom Street series. In the story a mother, her daughter and mother-in-law hit the highway for a road trip they will never forget. Along the way, this heartwarming tale delves into the themes of redemption and forgiveness. In this interview Morgan and Debbie discuss the three generations of women in the story and how their trip across the country changes their lives forever.

LISTEN HERE


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational, Mainstream, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

How Caddyshack Inspired Jen Lancaster To Write A Mainstream Novel

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 02, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month memoir author Jen Lancaster moves into mainstream fiction with If You Were Here. Today the author shares why she proudly proclaims, "I blame Carl Spackler" for her first work of fiction.

Have you ever witnessed something so meaningful or momentous that the memory of it stays with you the rest of your life? There are those among us who’ll never forget the footage of Kennedy being shot or the Challenger exploding. Some people have seen miracles unfold, like Captain Sullivan’s heroic Hudson River landing or the Chilean mine rescue. Others will always remember observing tiny but nonetheless profound acts of kindness.

For me, that moment involved watching the movie Caddyshack.

I had no idea that one silly film from thirty years ago had the potential to impact my adult life. And yet because of Caddyshack, I almost ended up making the most expensive mistake of my life when buying my first home.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Joanna Trollope Chats About Daughters-In-Law And More In Today's Author Interview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

Mainstream author Joanna Trollope is known for her emotionally gripping novels about family. Her most recent release is this month's Daughters-in-Law, which focuses on the changing family dynamics as the Brinkley's last un-married son ties the knot. 

RT BOOK REVIEWS: In this month's Daughters-in-Law you focus on the relationships parents have with their married children and their spouses. What intrigued you about this dynamic?

Joanna Trollope: It’s universality. Even if you aren’t actually married, anyone living in any kind of a relationship has to deal, somehow, with their partner’s parents and family. I am keenly interested in all the relationship situations that are common to all of us, rather than focusing on the esoteric ones that will affect very few.

Read the complete interview >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sarah Jio On Beauty Where You Least Expect It

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 25, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Sarah Jio talks about making revisions to her mainstream manuscript and the unexpected impact of tiny details — both in life and fiction.

Shortly after I sold my novel to Penguin, I rolled up my sleeves and got to work on the pre-publication editing process. My editor, the lovely and always insightful Denise Roy at Penguin, suggested that we add few new threads to the book. So, I spent several months working on these revisions, often thinking about creative ideas and solving plot problems on my daily 3-mile jogs around my neighborhood in Seattle. One day, while huffing and puffing through my usual route, I glanced down by the roadside and noticed a brilliant carpet of purple flowers growing at the edge of someone’s garden. I didn’t think much of them until the following day when I was out in my backyard, and a gardener I hired to do some weeding (I have three young boys and zero time for weeding!) pointed out a peculiar plant sprouting up out of the ground.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: The Peach Keeper By Sarah Addison Allen

BY MORGAN, APRIL 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

This week we read The Peach Keeper by Sarah Addison Allen at Whitney’s request. A big fan of the author’s previous works, Whitney loves these Southern family-style dramas with more than a hint of magic. 

***

Whitney: Welcome to the wonderful world of Sarah Addison Allen novels! I’ve been hooked ever since I read Garden Spells, which I consider mandatory reading for anyone with adult sisters. 

Morgan: This is my first Allen, but not my last. Question: Are all of her books so well constructed? It can’t be easy writing a story with an unlikely friendship, two romances, a long forgotten mystery and magic.

Whitney: They each have their own distinct plotline and quirky characters, but they are all strong stories. My favorite part of SAA’s writing is the way that magic flows through her stories without them ever becoming fantasy tales. She has such a light touch with these elements.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Author Spotlight: Shilpi Somaya Gowda

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

Name: Shilpi Somaya Gowda

Book: Secret Daughter

Current Home: San Diego, CA

Number of manuscripts hidden under the bed: None (yet).

Time it took to sell first book: Two years from the time I started writing.

Writing Secret Daughter: I began writing chronologically, from the beginning of the story as it unfolds. I had a strong sense of the beginning and of how I wanted it to end. Much of the rest of the story took shape as I was writing. I found it easier to stay in one character’s voice, so I first wrote Kavita’s (the biological mother) story all the way through, then Somer’s (the adoptive mother) and finally Asha’s (the daughter). I wove those stories together and that became my first draft. Then I began editing, a lot.

Inspiration for writing: I’ve been writing since I was a child, but I began to really write seriously in 2006. It was an idea I’d held in the back of my mind for many years while I was a very avid reader. A combination of life changes — a geographic move, a professional change, a second child — created the space in my life to try something new.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Beth Kendrick's The Bake-Off

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Beth Kendrick's upcoming novel, The Bake-Off. We go beyond the back cover blurb for this special look at The Bake-Off, which will hit bookstores in early May.

***

Certain flavors just naturally go together: Peanut butter and chocolate. Vanilla ice cream and apple pie. Whipped cream and the washboard abs of a hot hero.

Oops. Did I say that out loud?

The Bake-Off is a story about Amy, a suburban soccer mom who just wants to stand out from the crowd, and her younger sister Linnie, a former child prodigy who just wants to fit in. Amy and Linnie had a huge falling-out ten years ago, and nothing can bring them together again…nothing, that is, except the manipulations of their wily grandmother and their need for money and publicity. So, “borrowing” a family recipe that’s been passed down for generation, the sisters enter a national baking competition and prepare to whisk their way to riches and glory.

As you can imagine, problems start to crop up almost immediately. Along with a very tall, dark, and sexy stranger.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Julianne MacLean Aka E.V. Mitchell Talks About The Color Of Heaven

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Julianne MacLean is best known for her historical romances. Recently, writing under the pen name E.V. Mitchell,  MacLean moved in a different direction with her mainstream novel, The Color of HeavenThe story follows heroine Sophie who is struggling to stay positive during her daughter’s battle with leukemia. But when old secrets surface after a serious car accident, Sophie's world may never be the same. Now check out this author interview with Julianne MacLean about the process of creating her first novel as E.V. Mitchell.

***

The main character in The Color of Heaven, Sophie, is a writer. How much of your own experiences as an author went into creating Sophie’s character?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream, Romance
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST