RT Daily Blog

Video Interview: Robert Barclay

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Robert Barclay talks about equine therapy and the role that it plays in If Wishes Were Horses. The author chats with RT Web Editor Morgan Doremus about the tragedies that his characters must each overcome to find love again. Get an in-depth look at these characters that will touch your heart in many different ways in this special author interview.

Robert Barclay on the characters of If Wishes Were Horse >>

Behind the Scenes with Robert Barclay >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Haunting Jasmine: The Inside Scoop On The Ghosts Of Dead Authors

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Mainstream author Anjali Banerjee has bewitched us with her latest novel, Haunting Jasmine. RT Reviewer Victoria Frerichs praised the read saying, "The paranormal aspects of the novel are creative and fun." Learn how Banerjee brought several dead authors back to life to haunt her heroine Jasmine and don't miss a special deleted scene from the tale! 

In my new release, Haunting Jasmine, a harried L.A. businesswoman, Jasmine Mistry, newly divorced and still reeling from her ex-husband’s infidelity, returns home to the rainy Pacific Northwest island of her childhood to run her aunt Ruma’s bookstore for a month while her aunt is in India. Auntie Ruma conveniently fails to tell Jasmine that the bookstore is haunted by the ghosts of dead authors, who help Jasmine to slow down, reinvent herself, rediscover her love of reading, and fall in love with an enigmatic young stranger.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT EXCLUSIVE: Excerpts From A Gossip Column

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Pamela Klaffke worked as a journalist before turning her attention to writing novels. So Klaffke is no stranger to the type of writing that keeps a gossip column juicy. In the author's new novel, the January RT Top Pick!, Every Little Thing,  protagonist Mason has been the object of her very own mother's gossip column. We just had to know what sort of intimate details Mason's mother revealed about her daughter, so we asked Klaffke to share a bit from the humiliating newspaper column.

The late Britt Castleman was Mason McDonald’s mother. At the outset of Every Little Thing, Britt has recently passed away due to complications of vaginal rejuvenation surgery and her daughter, Mason, has been summoned back to her hometown of San Francisco for the funeral. She’s been partially estranged from her mother for years, choosing to live in a tiny Canadian mountain town where no one knows of or reads her mother’s embarrassing newspaper column, many of which have detailed the most private moments of Mason’s life.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kimberla Lawson Roby And Ten Tips For Improving Your Relationship

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

In Kimberla Lawson Roby's latest mainstream novel, Love, Honor and Betray, Reverend Curtis Black’s marriage and family are falling apart as he and his wife have extramarital affairs. Now the author talks about cheating and offers her ten tips for keeping your relationship cheating-proof and full of passion.

Love, honor, and cherish…such simple vows. But what happens when they become love, honor and betray? Or maybe a more common question is, why do some married folks feel the need to cheat in the first place? Why do many of them feel as though they just can’t be happy with the same old spouse until death? Well, I’m sure if you asked ten different people, you’d likely receive ten different answers, but in the end, (and this is only in my opinion) it all boils down to one very vital detail: Men and women cheat, because he or she isn’t being treated the way he or she used to be treated when the marriage first began. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Marie Bostwick

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

With the lingering frustrations from the storm that crippled New York City last week, the RT editors have spent a lot of time indoors pursuing their various crafty hobbies. Here's a never-before-seen video interview with one of our favorite crafting mavens, mainstream author Marie Bostwick. She and RT Web Editor Morgan Doremus chat about quilting and the role that it plays in her latest novel, A Thread So Thin

Marie Bostwick on crafting A Thread So Thin >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Ruth Pennebaker on Mothers, Daughters and the Things We Don't Know About Those We Love the Most

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Mainstream author Ruth Pennebaker on the extremely challenging but, often extremely rewarding, relationships that fuel her latest tale. 

My new novel, Women on the Verge of a Nervous Breakthrough, centers on what I think is the richest, most complicated relationship around – the mother-daughter relationship.

I wrote the novel for all kinds of reasons – the way any author writes a book, I guess. But one of the most compelling reasons is that I had a very troubled relationship with my own mother, who died 13 years ago, but I’m hopeful my relationship with my grown daughter will be far better. Anyway, I’m familiar with mother-daughter conflict and mother-daughter love.


Read More>>

Tags: Mainstream
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview With T. Greenwood

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

Known for her heart-wrenching mainstream fiction, author T. Greenwood's newest novel, This Glittering World, tackles the troubling issue of race relations between the Navajo people and the Americans they live amongst in Flagstaff, AZ. When a young Navajo man dies on Ben's front lawn, his search for answers leads him to re-evaluate his entire life. Now the author shares an insider look at This Glittering World in this in-depth interview!

RT BOOK REVIEWS: Where did the title This Glittering World come from? What does the title indicate about your story?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Barbara O'Neal on Mothers and Daughters

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 20, 2010 | PERMALINK

Mainstream author Barbara O'Neal dishes up another heartwarming tale of love and baking in this month's How to Bake a Perfect Life. When Ramona is thrust into the role of guardian of her teenage granddaughter, she is at a loss about what to do next. Now the author shares the personal story that helped her connect with Ramona's situation and explains the role of "mother dough" in her new novel!

I remember a night when I was eight months pregnant with my first child. It was the thin, dark part of the night, and I sat on the side of the bathtub in the harsh yellow light, rocking back and forth in terror: what have I done? How could I raise a child? I had no idea what I was doing! My husband slept in the other room, oblivious, while I locked myself in the bathroom. Alone with my giant belly and a baby moving soft fists on the other side of my skin, I wept for all the ways I would ruin his/her life.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lynda Simmons on Mothers and Daughters - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 06, 2010 | PERMALINK

Mother-daughter relationships are rarely as easy as we wish they were. However, they inevitably become much more complicated when a debilitating disease, such as Alzheimer's, is added to the equation. Now author Lynda Simmons reflects on her own relationship with her mother and give readers a special look at the challenges facing the mother and daughters in her new mainstream novel, Island Girl. And don't miss the giveaway at the end of the post!

My mother died fifteen years ago this Christmas and in many ways I’m still not over it, which is surprising when you consider the fact that we did not always get along. Truth is, we fought bitterly on a regular basis because no one could push my buttons the way my mother could, and that’s probably why I still miss her; why I wish I could call and tell her how well the kids are doing, or what my next project will be because not only could she infuriate me like no one else, she could also make the little girl inside me beam like no one else.  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jillian Cantor On Life's Transformations

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 12, 2010 | PERMALINK

Mainstream author Jillian Cantor shares why she tackled the difficult subject of transitions in her November novel, The Transformation of Things


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST