RT Daily Blog

July Seal of Excellence

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 30, 2014 | PERMALINK

Each month the RT editors select one book that is not only compelling, but pushes the boundaries of genre fiction. This book stands out from all the others reviewed that month, in the magazine issue and on the website. July 2014's RT Seal of Excellence — the editors' pick for best book of the month — is awarded to A.R. Torre's sexual thriller, The Girl in 6E.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

June's Mystery Releases Bite The Big Apple

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

Many people escape to the Big Apple to chase their dreams and fill their lives with bright lights and rich culture. But every city has a dark side and in this month’s Mystery overview, New York is center stage for some chilling cases.

In Linda Fairstein’s Terminal City, Assistant DA Alexandra Cooper is called in to solve a string a murders where the victims are found with a strange mark on their bodies. Her search for answers leads her to an underground city beneath Grand Central Terminal. Meanwhile, All Day and a Night by Alafair Burke introduces readers to NYPD detectives Ellie Hatcher and JJ Rogan, who are tasked with examining evidence to see whether or not the original trial for a murder was tainted.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Videos Of Lee Child And Charlaine Harris From The 2014 RT Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

One of the best things about RT Con is all the photos and videos that pop up after convention is over. It feels like we're doing it all over again — kind of. It actually just makes us want to fast-forward to next year, to be honest. Below are some videos posted on Lee Child's official YouTube account of Lee Child and Charlaine Harris' fantastic author chat from convention. If you watch these while sipping a hurricane it almost feels like you're back in NOLA. Enjoy!


You can find more 2014 RT Convention coverage here and you can find our full recap of Lee and Charlaine's panel here.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Thrills and Chills with Lee Child and Charlaine Harris - 2014 RT Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

Throw Sookie Stackhouse and Jack Reacher into a room together for an hour, who do you think would come out alive? Well at the RT Convention we got to spend an hour with Lee Child and Charlaine Harris and it was magical — and no blood was shed! The masters of suspense and paranormal talked about how they got their start, how they react to negative reader feedback and charmed the entire room. We laughed, we learned. Some of the highlights: 

Lee Child and Charlaine Harris

The conversation started on a humorous (or incredibly dark, depending on who you are) note with both authors being asked how they would cover up the perfect murder. Lee started by saying, "It's all about no evidence, you can't leave any evidence behind." He used the example of sinking a body in the middle of a deep lake as a crime that wouldn't leave a trace. Charlaine brought up a great point, reminding us that "you'd have to kill someone you have no connection to" so that you wouldn't be a suspect.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mystery Overview: May

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

A parent’s main goal is often ensuring the well-being of their children. In this month’s chilling mystery overview, we’re taking a look at books centered around the protagonists’ daughters, who take center stage, but not necessarily under the best of circumstances. Take a look:

Cover of Suspicion by Joseph Finder

In Joseph Finder’s Suspicion, Danny Goodman is quickly running out of money and can’t afford his daughter’s private school tuition. When Tom Galvin, the father of Abby’s best friend, offers him $50,000 to help keep him afloat, Danny reluctantly accepts. What seems like a show of good faith suddenly turns sordid when the DEA accuses Danny of accepting drug money. Danny must now go undercover to uncover the truth about Galvin.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Preview: Mystery/Thriller Genre Tracks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 23, 2014 | PERMALINK

The 2014 RT Convention logo

Everybody enjoys a good thrill now and then, a spine-chilling mystery to get their hearts racing and their minds obsessing over clues. At this year’s RT Convention, some of today’s hottest voices from the mystery and thriller world will gather for exciting panels, lively conversations and valuable insights into today’s market. Let’s take a look, shall we?

First up, we have “The Violence Factor: Why Are So Many People Fascinated With Violence?” thriller panel on Wednesday, May 14. Join authors Tess Gerritsen, Anderson Harp, David Morrell, L.J. Sellers and F. Paul Wilson as they discuss violence in thrillers and how it can drive a story. They’ll also discuss where the line should be drawn, and what makes violence so fascinating.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday Free for All: Charlaine Harris and Mo Hayder Mysteries

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

It's Friday! We made it! <Internet high five> Want to start your weekend off right? Why not enter to win one of two spooky mysteries, sure to keep you up late into the night? First up is RT Top Pick! GOLD awardee, Mo Hayder's Wolf, a tale of interwoven plotlines involving a family taken hostage, a cold case and an injured dog discovered with the message "help us" tucked in his collar. Spooked already? We're right there with you, RT editor Tricia was definitely scared when reading this thriller.

Or if you're in Sookie withdrawal, why not consider giving Charlaine Harris's new series a try, starting with Midnight Crossroad? You can discover the spooky small town of Midnight, Texas, along with its newest resident, Internet psychic webmaster Manfred Bernardo. 

Enter below to win a copy of both of these hardcover mysteries. (U.S. residents only, please.) And have the best of weekends, we hope you had fun hanging out with us this week, we sure appreciate you stopping by! Much love, Your RT Web Team.

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Punniest Cozy Mystery Titles

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

Who doesn't love a good pun? Wait, don't answer that. Unless the answer is yes. Because your RT Web Team can't resist punning. And some of the best puns can be found in the titles of cozy mystery novels. Not gonna lie, we kind of envy the editors who get to participate in these title brainstorming sessions. We've collected some of our recent favorites below — they'll slay you!

The cover of A Tale of Two Biddies

Bloom and Doom by Beverly Allen (Berkley, April 2014)

Shunned and Dangerous by Laura Bradford (Berkley, March 2014)

A Tale of Two Biddies by Kylie Logan (Berkley, February 2014)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Killer Jobs: Occupational Hazards In April's Mysteries

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 02, 2014 | PERMALINK

Sure, work can be stressful, but the characters in this month’s mystery overview have jobs that are absolute killers. Reading our April mystery picks will make you feel better after a bad day at the office! Take a look:

The cover of Rick Mofina's Whirlwind

In Rick Mofina’s latest, Whirlwind, reporter Kate Page’s life takes a suspenseful turn after she begins an internship at a Dallas newspaper. Hoping to earn a full-time position, Kate works tirelessly to showcase her talents, even though she misses her daughter terribly. When she’s sent to cover the aftermath of a deadly tornado, Kate meets a woman searching for her son, who was last seen with a stranger during the storm. Kate takes it upon herself to find the woman’s son, but will she solve the mystery before it’s too late?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Allison Brennan on Her New Series and the Changing Face of Publishing

BY Faygie Levy, MARCH 27, 2014 | PERMALINK

In the mood for a good mystery? (We almost always are.) Well, Allison Brennan’s launching a new series this week with Notorious. It’s the story of Maxine Revere, in-your-face TV investigative journalist, and the long ago murder of her best friend. We caught up with Allison to hear more about her writing life, and her thoughts on publishing as a whole.

***

Your books are so full of twists and turns, how do you continue to keep your writing fresh?

The cover of Notorious

Thank you! I'm glad you think I’m still fresh, because that’s always a struggle. I want every book to be better than the last, and that pressure can sometimes stifle my creativity. For example, many of my earlier books were serial killer books, and in the Lucy series I tried to change it up a bit. I haven’t had a true serial killer since Kiss Me, Kill Me (2011, Ballantine), and even that book wasn’t a traditional serial killer. I’m actually thinking of going back to that with an upcoming Lucy book because I haven’t done it for awhile.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST