RT Daily Blog

Talking Marilyn Monroe: Max Allan Collins Takes Readers Inside Of Bye Bye, Baby

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

For the new RT Top Pick! Bye Bye, Baby, author Max Allan Collins (who is known for writng with his wife under her name, Barbara Allan, for their ”Trash ‘n’ Treasures” mystery series) delves deep into the conspiracy theories that surround the death of Marilyn Monroe. Learn how the author re-creates this famous starlet, with his wife's editorial aid,, for a tale that plunges PI Nate Heller into the center of the action when the icon's dead body is discovered.

I have watched with fascination, interest and bemusement over much of my lifetime as that iconic sex symbol Marilyn Monroe just refuses to bid us goodbye. While many similarly iconic actors and actresses have faded into TCM-salute obscurity, Marilyn continues to amuse and titillate, to inspire and sadden. Who might have guessed that superstars like Gary Cooper, Betty Grable, Tyrone Power, and Lana Turner would be left in the dust of time by Norma Jeane Baker?


Read More>>

Tags: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lee Child Releases E-Original Jack Reacher Novella For $1.99

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Fans of Lee Child's popular hero Jack Reacher should be sure to check out the author's first e-original novella "Second Son", which is available today. "Second Son" is on sale now for $1.99 and features an adventure from Jack Reacher's younger years.

Reacher, who is now an ex-military drifter, was first introduced in 1997 in Child's Killing Floor. The tough hero has been the main character of fifteen subsequent tales that follow him across America and around the world. These days legions of Reacher fans are eagerly awaiting a new full-length Reacher novel, The Affair, this September. 

However, "Second Son" is a perfect starting point for readers who are new to the series, as the short novella delves far into Reacher's past. Lee Child says the novella focuses on a time "... when [Reacher] was just a kid (right before he became a really BIG kid) and centers on a incident involving both his father, Stan, and his brother Joe, after his family moves to a new base on Okinawa." The story showcases the way that young Reacher was already protecting his family, and the hardships that he faced as they relocated whenever their father was stationed at a new military base.


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weathering the Storm in H.W. "Buzz" Bernard's Eyewall

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

In light of some major natural disasters over the past few years, such as Hurricane Katrina, the earthquake in Haiti and most recently, the tremor that rocked Japan earlier this year, people are becoming increasingly leery of Mother Nature's unforgiving weather patterns. Former meteorologist H.W. "Buzz" Bernard’s debut weather thriller, Eyewall, taps into this fear with a villainous hurricane that endangers the lives of his characters. Today Bernard shares his feelings about the rise of disaster fiction and how weather has been transformed into something sinister for many contemporary movies and books.

It doesn’t seem much of a stretch these days to make weather or nature the villain in literature and movies.


Read More>>

Tags: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

We Announce RT's Seal of Excellence Award-Winning Book For The Month Of August!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Each month RT Book Reviews’ editors select one book that is not only compelling but pushes the boundaries of genre fiction and stands out from the more than 250 books reviewed in its latest issue and online. 

“Because of the sheer number of books we review each month in RT Book Reviews we have a unique perspective on which one is destined for the keeper shelf and therefore deserves our Seal of Excellence,” says Carol Stacy, Publisher and Internet Director. “It is our intention to share this gem with readers and draw attention to a fantastic book they might not otherwise pick up.“


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

PJ Parrish Is Talking Evil Villains And The Killing Song

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

We are starting Monday off with a bang! Today the award-winning writing team PJ Parrish invites readers behind the scenes of their newest mystery novel, The Killing Songto talk about evil villains and all the forms they come in. Find out which killers give these authors the chills and what makes creating a convincing bad guy such a challenge ...

You think it’s hard to find a good man? Ha! Try finding a really bad one.

We’ve been looking for bad men for more than twelve years now. I’d say my sister and I are somewhat of experts on the subject of men with, ah...issues. We write thrillers and over the course of our eleven-novel career, we’ve encountered every kind of twisted, tortured, miserable example of the male species you can imagine.

But they’re our villains and we...well, I won’t say we love them but we do lavish a lot of attention on them. And we need to confess something right now –- it is getting harder and harder to make bad guys good.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Rosetta Books Introduces Crimescape A Digital Imprint Featuring True Crime Short Stories

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Digital publisher Rosetta Books has just launched a new imprint called Crimescape. This is a line of true crime short stories penned by previously published authors. The line has debuted with six titles and the company has plans to release two more in each of the following months. 

These Crimescape titles will all run between 10,000 and 20,000 words and be Kindle exclusives during the first year. Even more exciting? These new non-fiction e-reads are all priced below $3.00. We predict that readers will enjoy knowing that they can always expect a Crimescape story to be both a fast read and easy on the wallet.

In order to guide the imprint, Rosetta Books has brought on Marilyn Bardsley, who is known in the industry for founding the popular site CrimeLibrary.com. Bardsley will be both working with authors she knows from her previous projects as well reviewing submissions from prospective new authors.


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Excerpt: Jo Bannister's Death in High Places

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 02, 2011 | PERMALINK

Get a peek between the covers of Jo Bannister's newest mystery novel, Death in High Places. This extended excerpt will introduce you to Nicky Horn, who after being blamed for the death of a friend during an Alaskan mountain climb, is rebuilding his life while simultaneously running from a hit man hired by the father of his deceased friend. 

***

He’d got in the way of returning home at different times and by different routes. The first thing he did when he moved to a new town was rehearse the alternatives, driving and on foot, and make a note of where it was normal to see parked cars and men standing on street corners and where it wasn’t. After four years it was second nature to him.

After four years the whole business had become second nature. Finding work where he could get cash in hand and no one would want his National Insurance number. Finding somewhere to live where paying the rent in advance would save him having to prove who he was. His name was Nicky Horn. But that wasn’t the name the world knew him by. It wasn’t even one of them.


Read More>>

Tags: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mystery Month: A Look At Some Of The Most-Anticipated Upcoming Mysteries!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

All during July we celebrated Mystery Month with extra coverage of the authors, books and series we just can't get enough of. You heard from guest bloggers, got an inside look at the Thrillerfest conference and went behind the scenes in our author interviews. While all good things come to an end, we won't leave you completely empty-handed. Today we list the upcoming releases we are most looking forward to. From action-packed thrillers and suspenses, to the screwball sleuths and the hardboiled cops, if you love reading whodunits then you will definitely want to pre-order the gems highlighted below.

 

 

New York to Dallas
By J.D. Robb
Release Date: September 2011

 
The latest in Robb’s mystery series received a Gold rating from RT’s Senior Reviewer Jill Smith. This novel is sure to please long-time fans but those new to the series will also enjoy this story that focuses on new developments in the case that brought Eve and Roarke together!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mystery Month: Video Interview With Co-Authors Who Write As Charles Todd

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

As we are coming to the close of Mystery Month, RT's Morgan Doremus got a chance to sit down with mother and son mystery author team Charles and Caroline, who write as Charles Todd. Their two WWI-era historical mystery series features the Scotland Yard investigator Ian Rutledge and the unflappable nurse Bess Crawford. Today the co-authors share an about what is next for their sleuths — and what it is like for the authors to work together!

Go Behind The Scenes Of The Charles Todd Novels >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>

  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mystery Month: Author Kari Lee Townsend's Psychic Heroine Gives Her A Reading!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

Debut author Kari Lee Townsend will charm readers with the heroine of her new novel Tempest in the Tea Leaves. The psychic Sunny is on a quest to prove that she is not the murderer her local police think she is. But today we asked Sunny to take a break from the challenging work of proving her innocence and instead take a shot at telling her author’s fortune!

I parted the beads to my sanctuary, situated at the front of the ancient Victorian house I lived in, and entered with my next client trailing behind me. Her name was Kari. She said she was passing through our quaint, small town of Divinity and simply couldn’t leave upstate New York without having her fortune read. 

“Okay, Kari, the first thing I’d like you to do is brew the tea.” I gestured to the old fashioned tea table in the center. She sat, and I took the seat opposite her.

“This is so exciting,” Kari said, her brown eyes sparkling and brown curly hair bouncing off her shoulders as she looked around the table. “Um, where are the tea bags?”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
9COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST