RT Daily Blog

Mystery Month: Emily Arsenault On Future Ghosts And In Search Of The Rose Notes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 25, 2011 | PERMALINK

Whether or not you believe in the supernatural, games that dabble in the paranormal are staples of the teenage sleepover. However, in this month's Top Pick rated release, In Search of the Rose Notes by Emily Arsenault, preteens Nora and Charlotte take their interest one step further when they use the occult to find their missing babysitter. Today Emily Arsenault stops by to share how her own experience at a sleepover many years ago inspired this new tale of suspense!

With In Search of the Rose Notes, I wanted to capture that phase of youth when you consider yourself way too mature to believe in Santa Claus and the tooth fairy, but are still willing to believe in darker kinds of magic—psychic powers, curses, and ghosts.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Podcast: James Barney On The Genesis Key

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

In honor of our Mystery Month we spoke with author James Barney, who has just released his debut novel, The Genesis Key. The story is a fast-paced thriller about a talented biologist who stumbles into an amazing discovery that has everyone from government agents to terrorists after her. Today Barney shares an insider's look at his new novel with RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus. Listen to the podcast below to find out about the role that fruit flies play in this thriller and what happens to an ordinary woman who gets caught up in a dangerous situation. The author also reflects on instances that technology meets religion and the moral implications of this intersection.

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Magazine Extras: Author Dan Burstein Answers Our Questions About His Stieg Larsson Nonfiction

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 20, 2011 | PERMALINK

Stieg Larsson mania continues, with speculation about the late author's "lost fourth book" and film adaptations from both Sweden and the United States (the first U.S. film is scheduled for a December release). Fans of Larsson and his trilogy will certainly want to check out the new nonfiction title, The Tattooed Girl: The Enigma of Stieg Larsson and the Secrets Behind the Most Compelling Thrillers of Our Time by Dan Burstein, Arne de Keijzer and John-Henri Holmberg. In our September issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS magazine, RT's Managing Editor Liz French excerpted Dan Burstein's answers to her emailed questions about the book; here is the complete, unedited Q&A with the author.

LF: Normally my first question would be, WHY cover this author and his books, but it’s a no-brainer — megabestseller, tragic early death, contentious heirs, kick-ass heroine, etc. But I would like to hear how you came around to liking the series so much that you devoted a book to it.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cozy Corner: Donna Andrews' The Real Macaw

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 20, 2011 | PERMALINK

Mystery author Donna Andrews is beloved for her slightly screwball cozy mystery series which continues this month with The Real Macaw. This novel is heroine Meg Langslow's thirteenth full-length adventure and over the course of the stories she has met her husband, gotten married and recently given birth to twins — all while solving capers along the way. But what truly sets Andrews' plucky blacksmith heroine apart from the crowd is that Meg's home is frequently 'taken over' by whatever crime she is currently trying to solve. In Six Geese A-Slaying her home is the meeting place for the Caerphilly Christmas parade and in Stork Raving Mad her houseguest is murdered. In the author's own words, Meg is "bringing home murder." Today the author gives us an insider's look at amateur slueth heroine and Meg's very busy home. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Catherine Coulter Talks Suspense, Romance And Her New Novel!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

Bestselling author Catherine Coulter's latest tale of suspense, Split Second, hits shelves today. Now you can go behind the scenes of her newest story with this video interview. The author chats with RT's Morgan Doremus about transitioning from writing historical romance to suspense — a choice she made on a whim — and why she enjoys crafting these mysteries. And her romance fans will be thrilled to learn that she will also be returning to her roots this November with her upcoming novel, The Prince of Ravenscar.

Catherine Coulter On Writing Stories Of Romance And Suspense >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mystery Month: How Thrillerfest Authors Are Inspired To Write Paranormal Tales

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Ask any author and they will tell you one of the most frequent questions they hear is, “Where do you get your ideas?” This was certainly the case for the authors at this year's Thrillerfest convention who took part in the panel Do You Suck Blood? How to Get Inside the Supernatural Head run by Heather Graham. Graham asked the popular question to the authors and got some very interesting answers that we thought we would share. 

Author Jeannie Holmes said that she feels comfortable writing about the "other side" since she has actually lived in several haunted houses. The smells she has encountered — including smoke and perfume — while cohabiting with spirits definitely give her ideas for her own urban fantasy tales. 

But you don’t have to have person experiences with the supernatural to read — or write — scary stories. Author Jonathan Maberry admitted to being a skeptic. He said while he may be “superstitious as hell” he was also taught that evil is a human concept. So, in order to become inspired for his horror stories, he oftentimes looks to old wives’ tales and other stories passed down through the generations. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Mystery Author James Rollins Takes Us Inside Of His Sigma Force Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

All this July we are celebrating Mystery Month, paying tribute to those tales of murder and mayhem, conspiracy and cover-ups, that get our blood pumping. Among those authors whose series we love is James Rollins and his popular Sigma Force books. Today the author, who has just released his newest novel in the series, The Devil Colony, stops by to chat with RT's Morgan Doremus about some of the exciting revelations in this tale — and what fans can expect next.

James Rollins On His New Sigma Force Novel >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: The Girl Who Disappeared Twice by Andrea Kane

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

We are celebrating Mystery Month on the RT Daily blog, so we thought it would be fitting to check out the first book in Andrea Kane’s new series starter The Girl Who Disappeared Twice, which introduces the Forensic Instincts team, a crime-fighting trio that works just outside of the law to bring criminals to justice. Their latest case is a race against time as Casey and her crew investigates the kidnapping of young Krissy, the only daughter of a powerful judge and lawyer.

***

Morgan: Okay, so the story starts off with a parent’s worst nightmare. A young girl named Krissy is kidnapped in broad daylight. No ransom is demanded and false leads just keep piling up. And since Krissy’s high-profile parents are both well-off and well-known, the police, FBI and others are sent in to find the girl.

Whitney: Among those that join the search for Krissy is the private investigative team Forensic Instincts.

Morgan: And while they have a very unfortunate name, you can’t disagree that the Forensic Instincts team gets results. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mystery Month: Spotlight On Inspirational Mysteries

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

In honor of mystery month, today we are taking a look at some of the latest inspirational stories of suspense, danger and crime-solving that we've reviewed in the magazine. These books have a faith element, but they are easily accessible to most readers — and we suggest that genre fans hungry for more mystery reads check out some of the recent and upcoming titles we've spotlighted below.

OUT NOW

 

The Canary List
by Sigmund Brouwer
Subgenre: Suspense
Our Reviewer Says: “Clear your schedule: this is a one-sit read.”

When Crockett Grey, a teacher who is mourning the loss of his daughter, agrees to let one of his pre-teen students stay at his home, he doesn’t realize this act of kindness will plunge him into the center of a conspiracy that involves the Vatican.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

We Announce RT's Seal of Excellence Award-Winning Book For The Month Of July!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

Each month RT Book Reviews’ editors select one book that is not only compelling but pushes the boundaries of genre fiction and stands out from the more than 250 books reviewed in its latest issue and online. 

“Because of the sheer number of books we review each month in RT Book Reviews we have a unique perspective on which one is destined for the keeper shelf and therefore deserves our Seal of Excellence,” says Carol Stacy, Publisher and Internet Director. “It is our intention to share this gem with readers and draw attention to a fantastic book they might not otherwise pick up.“


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST