RT Daily Blog

We Announce RT's Seal of Excellence Award-Winning Book For The Month Of July!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

Each month RT Book Reviews’ editors select one book that is not only compelling but pushes the boundaries of genre fiction and stands out from the more than 250 books reviewed in its latest issue and online. 

“Because of the sheer number of books we review each month in RT Book Reviews we have a unique perspective on which one is destined for the keeper shelf and therefore deserves our Seal of Excellence,” says Carol Stacy, Publisher and Internet Director. “It is our intention to share this gem with readers and draw attention to a fantastic book they might not otherwise pick up.“


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mystery Month: Five Authors Reveal Their Favorite Death Scenes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

At Thrillerfest 2011 we surrounded ourselves with mystery, suspense and thriller authors. And with so much murder-minded talent in attendance, we took a few minutes to ask five of our favorite authors about the most unique ways they have ever killed off a character.

Legendary author Margaret Atwood’s most memorable death actually takes place off of the page. She quotes the opening sentence from her 2001 novel The Blind Assassin for the death scene she likes the best. “Ten days after the war ended, my sister Laura drove a car off a bridge.” 

RT Managing Editor Liz French and Author Margaret Atwood

Two death scenes came to Michael Palmer’s mind. The first was from The Sisterhood where he says, “I defibulated a character with paddles on the side of their head.” Then in The Second Opinion there was a wheelchair loaded with sharps which was “wheeled toward a victim chained to an MRI machine.” Gruesome!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mystery Month: Go Inside The CIA At Thrillerfest 2011

BY MORGAN, JULY 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

This afternoon I attended Thrillerfest and was able to speak with some of my favorite thriller and mystery authors. I also sat in on several panels including Ask The CIA: Insights from the Undercover Life. Hosted by mystery author Gayle Lynds, this panel allowed attendees to ask questions about everything from military contractors, to WikiLeaks and the CIA’s role in the Bin Laden operation. “Agent Chris” (no last name given) and CIA media spokesperson Marie E. Harf fielded a variety of questions, but in my opinion their most interesting answers revolved around the things that they say that authors and screenwriters get wrong when they create fictional characters in the CIA. For everyone out there who couldn’t attend the panel, here are some myths that Marie and Chris busted about the CIA’s operations.

Myth #1 – Undercover agents are independent operators that can make their own decisions. 


Read More>>

Tags: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mystery Month: 5 Questions For Harlan Coben

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today we got a chance to catch up with bestselling mystery author Harlan Coben. The author is beloved for his long-running series featuring sports agent Myron Bolitar who helps solve murders that involve his famous clients. And this fall the author will publish his first YA novel, Shelter, which stars Myron's young nephew, Mickey Bolitar. 

***

What are you reading right now? 

Maine by J. Courtney Sullivan

What is the scariest mystery you've ever seen/read?

Marathon Man, the dentist scene is incredibly frightening.

Who is the mystery sleuth you most admire?

My Own. [Myron Bolitar] is basically me with wish fulfillment.

Which mystery dame would you love to spend time with?

I fall in love with every heroine I read. 

What's something that will mean nothing to readers now, but will be significant to them after they finish Shelter?

I've got two words: Bat Lady.

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

July Is Mystery Month On The RT Website — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 01, 2011 | PERMALINK

From grisly murders to intricate heists and beyond, this month we are celebrating the genre that makes us lock the door at night, July is Mystery Month on the RT Book Reviews website!

With so many great new novels hitting the selves this season from all the corners of the mystery genre, as the summer heats up we will be shining a spotlight on the genre with special author interviews, book trivia and more. (To give you just a taste of some of the coverage to come, you’ll be hearing from Catherine Coulter, Harlan Coben, Chevy Stevens and more.) During the month of July we’ll also bring you coverage from Thrillerfest, video interviews, breaking news and insider information about what to expect next from the popular genre. You can follow all of the developments on RT’s Everything Mystery Page, or just bookmark this blog post where we link all of the mystery features. 

And of course, we are giving you a chance to win big all month long, five lucky readers will each take home a five book prize pack of new mysteries.


Read More>>

Tags: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
13COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview With Janet Evanovich - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

Bestselling author Janet Evanovich has made her screwball amateur PI (and professional bail bondsman) Stephanie Plum a household name. Stephanie's latest numerically titled adventure, Smokin' Seventeen, sold over 218,000 books across the digital, audio and traditional formats — in the first day! Today Janet Evanovich sits down with RT's Morgan Doremus to chat about Ranger and Morelli, the two men in Stephanie's life, and the third one that her mother picked out for her special. And then don't miss your chance to win a copy of Smokin' Seventeen after the interview.

Go behind the scenes of the Stephanie Plum mysteries >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>

GIVEAWAY ALERT: One lucky winner will receive a signed copy of Smokin' Seventeen. To enter just tell us why you'd love to be an amateur sleuth. Or email your comment here with your name, US mailing address and the subject line "Janet Evanovich's Smokin' Seventeen Giveaway!" The winner will be announced on July 12.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
11COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Victoria Thompson's Historical Mystery Series Evolves

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month Victoria Thompson's thirteenth installment of her long-running mystery series hits shelves, Murder on Sisters' Row. So we asked the author to give us a special look at the evolution of her series and the world of the Gaslight Mysteries!

When I started writing the Gaslight Mysteries, set 1890’s New York City, I had no idea that I would discover “the more things change, the more they stay the same.” What has surprised me most about the research I do for the series is that the problems people were dealing with back then are the same problems we’re dealing with today. In Murder on St. Mark’s Place, the murder victim is a young woman whose only sin was trying to find Mr. Right. In those days, young women had just started working outside the home for the first time in history and courtship rituals had suddenly changed to allow men and women to go places together, unchaperoned. The women would go to dangerous places to meet prospective husbands, dance houses where they could partner with eligible men who would buy them drinks. Sometimes they found the man of their dreams, and sometimes they ended up raped or murdered. Just like today.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cozy Corner: Anna Maclean Reimagines Louisa May Alcott

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

It is not easy to make a historical figure your own, but that is just what author Anna Maclean has done with the New England author Louisa May Alcott. In Maclean's series, Alcott unravels mysteries that befall her friends and family. This series originally hit shelves in the mid-2000s from Signet and this month the series first, Louisa and the Missing Heiress, has been re-released by mystery publisher Obsidian. Today get Maclean shares a look at how she brought Louisa back to life to unravel these very unusual cozy mysteries!

Louisa May Alcott was so wonderfully complex! As a daughter she had to be loyal and useful; as a woman she had to follow the severe conventions of her time without losing her originality; as an author, she managed to find a way to work with so many different areas of her creativity!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Sophie Littlefield

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Sophie Littlefield hit the scene in 2009 with her mystery, A Bad Day for Sorry, which won that year's RT Reviewers' Choice Award for best first mystery. Since that time Littlefield has made a name for herself with her mystery, young adult and paranormal series. Earlier this year, the author's post-apocalyptic novel Aftertime captured March's Seal of Excellence award. Today the author gives readers an insider look at her writing process, continuing series and more in this video interview with RT's Senior Editor and RT Reviews Coordinator Stephanie Klose.

Sophie Littlefield shares an insider's look at her writing and series! >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

D.P. Lyle Asks "Can Too Much Forensic Science Smother Your Fiction?"

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month D.P. Lyle continues his popular Dub Walker series with the thriller Hot Lights, Cold Steel. His new mystery has Lyle pondering when too much science is just that — too much. Aspiring authors and mystery fans can read the author's conclusions in this special post. 

If you write crime fiction in any genre--hard boiled, cozy, thriller, romantic, literary--you must have some knowledge of forensic science. Even if your story doesn’t include DNA or fingerprints or toxicology or autopsies or any of the other forensic techniques, you have to know what’s out there. Failure to do so can sink your story.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST