RT Daily Blog

RT BOOKLovers Convention 2011: Author Chat With Dean Koontz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

This morning readers were treated to a special author chat with the elusive author Dean Koontz. RT's Stacey Agdern shares her favorite moments of the chat.

Those who had the chance to listen to Dean Koontz speak at this years RT convention got a treat. Koontz is a charming man, who seemed to take the slings and arrows he’s faced as an author over the long years of his publishing career with good humor.

In fact, Koontz’s theme for his presentation was shattering the myths of the glorious things that are supposed to happen to an author once they are published. It’s a theme that has been discussed many times during different workshops at the conference, but Koontz’s descriptions of what can, and does, go wrong during an author’s career sounded much like a scene out of a National Lampoons’ or Mel Brooks' movie.

Koontz talked about the craziness of the first time he was sent out on a book tour with humor and grace, but the underlying idea was that they are hard work. It is gratifying to meet fans, but exhausting. And yet recalling an instance of finding a gem of a restaurant in an unexpected place in San Francisco brought a smile to his face all these years later.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2011: Start Your Morning With A Cup Of Mystery

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

There's nothing like starting out the day with a bit of intrigue. And at the Mystery Chix & Private Dix Morning Mystery there were mystery-minded folks out in force! Fans of the genre got to spend some time with some of the top names in mystery over a light breakfast and refreshments. Authors came out from all corners of the mystery genre. From suspense author Rick Mofina to Carole Nelson Douglas who writes the cat detective Midnight Louie, historical mystery author Rhys Bowen to romantic suspense's Allison Brennan, and even television writers William Link and Lee Goldberg got in on the action.

A few of the morning's mystery chix and private dix

We got into the spirit of this morning mixer by asking some of the famous mischief makers in attendance who they turn to when they want to get a mystery chix or private dix reading fix. Here's what they had to say:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Rick Mofina

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Rick Mofina recently introduced his readers to a new thriller series hero, Jack Gannon. This month Jack's latest adventure, In Desperation, received an RT Top Pick! Today the author chats with RT Web Editor Morgan Doremus about the ways that his own background in journalism has influenced his writing and Mofina shares his advice for aspiring authors.

Rick Mofina On Writing >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Barry Eisler Turns Down A Half A Million Dollar Contract To Self-Publish

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

Could you walk away from a $500,000 contract? That is exactly what thriller author Barry Eisler has just done. Eisler recently announced that his lucrative deal with St. Martin's Press to publish the next two book in his John Rain series is off!

The original deal was the result of an auction that Eisler's agent, Dan Conaway, held last fall. However, Eisler has decided to instead go the self-publishing route. He made the announcement public by posting a discussion with fellow author J.A. Konrath this weekend online.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cozy Corner: Sarah Graves On Knockdown The Upcoming Story In The Home Repair Is Homicide Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

In this week’s Cozy Corner we chat with Sarah Graves of the popular Home Repair is Homicide series. Learn how the author started building her series from the ground up, while she was repairing her own house and find out what you can expect from her upcoming novel, Knockdown.

When I first came to Eastport, Maine and started writing the Home Repair is Homicide series starring home-repair enthusiast Jake Tiptree, like her I also started fixing up an old house.

Now, more than a dozen years later, the series still isn’t finished and the house isn’t, either. I guess you just never know what you’re getting yourself into when you fix that first leak, paint that first wall, scrape the first acre of wallpaper...

Or when you plot that first murder. The next thing you know, you’re wearing your own carpenter’s apron, swinging your own hammer...and researching just how far a 12-gauge shotgun’s range really is, anyway, and whether or not you can put a silencer on one (hint: don’t try this at home).


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Chelsea Cain On Her Novel The Night Season

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Chelsea Cain shares what it was like to write her newest thriller The Night Season without her popular character, serial killer Gretchen Lowell. Instead, the story focuses on Detective Archie Sheridan and journalist Susan Ward. Cain explains why she kept Gretchen out of the action and if readers will ever see this glamorous serial killer again!

When I was a kid, I never imagined that I would grow up to have a serial killer, but life can be surprising. I do have a serial killer. Her name is Gretchen Lowell, and she is the antagonist and obsession bait of Det. Archie Sheridan, the hero of my thriller series. I actually refer to her as this – “my serial killer.” And very smart people ask me questions about her, and refer to her as “your serial killer,” so she must be mine, right? And I love her. I do. She is deadly, beautiful, witty, and a hellcat with a razor blade. So why did I choose to leave her mainly off-stage in my fourth thriller, The Night Season?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Ethan Cross Explores the Minds of Serial Killers - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today thriller author Ethan Cross releases The Shepherd the terrifying tale of a serial killer run amok and the conspiracy that keeps him free. We asked the author to give us a peek inside the mind of his killer Francis Ackerman Jr. Cross does just that by exploring how Ackerman's past and genetics come together to create the perfect serial killer. Interested in reading more? Check out the giveaway at the end of the post to get your own copy of this thrilling read.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Jeffrey Small Answers Our Questions About His Debut Novel The Breath Of God

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

Jeffrey Small’s March suspense, The Breath of God, received an RT Top Pick! This debut book is plotted around a real historical document from 1887 that continues to be controversial. So we knew we would have to go straight to the author to answers about this intriguing new tale!

***

Writing about missing texts following Jesus' life opens you up to criticism from Biblical and religious readers. Were you at all intimidated by this?

I suspected that two of the novel's themes would be controversial: exploring the mystery behind what Jesus was doing in the twenty years of his life that the Bible doesn't address that made him into the man he became and the importance of inter-religious dialogue so that we can understand the influences among and the common themes between the world's religions. Throughout history, religion has been one of the major causes of war, persecution, and exclusion. We see these problems ongoing today with Islamic terrorism and with what I call "Country Club Christianity"—the attitude that "I'm saved, but you're not" that leads to persecution of gays, discrimination against those of other religions, and the relegation of women to subservient roles. By having more dialogue among religions, we cannot only lessen these tensions by exploring the commonalities rather than the differences among the great faiths of the world, but we can also enlighten our own faiths by opening our minds to ideas we may not have considered. Rather than being intimidated by a reaction to these themes, I felt a calling to bring them out into the open.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: Antiques Knock-Off By Barbara Allan

BY MORGAN, MARCH 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

This week Whitney and I Dish about Barbara Allan’s new mystery, Antiques Knock-Off. This title is the latest in Allan's popular Trash'n'Treasures series but the first that Whitney or I ever picked up. Both being big fans of such comedy classics as Bringing Up Baby, we were intrigued by RT reviewer Pat Cooper's 4 1/2 star review that called this tale "laugh out loud" and "a screwball comedy cozy". 

Now for the Dish:

Morgan: First off, I feel like I have to mention how much is happening in this mystery. Brandy is an amateur sleuth who is seven months pregnant (as a surrogate for her best friend), off her Prozac prescription and dealing with her unruly mother (who Brandy's just learned is actually her grandmother). She is also dating a cop and trying to keep her antique shop running. 

Whitney: Don’t forget that Brandy also attempts, with little success, to keep her parentage - which would be a political scandal - under wraps, a secret that will soon be public knowledge if nasty neighbor Connie has anything to do with it. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lisa Gardner Answers Our Questions About Love You More

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

Out now is Lisa Gardner’s newest tale of suspense and danger Love You More. In this RT Top Pick! Gold, RT Senior Reviewer Jill M. Smith says the tale is “unbelievably gripping and clever, you won’t want to put it down until the final page!” Now we chat with Gardner for a special look at D.D. Warren’s latest investigation - a race to hunt down a killer and locate a missing child - and the author shares what fans can expect from this tale that brings back the man that this policewoman was forced to walk away from.

***

Love You More, finds PD Sgt. Det. D.D. Warren desperately searching for a missing six-year-old, whose mother, the state trooper Tessa Leoni, may have killed the child’s father. Did the murder and abduction come to you together when you sat down to write the story, or did one crime help inspire the other?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST