RT Daily Blog

Meet A Fourteenth Century Version of Philip Marlowe

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

Jeri Westerson's novel The Demon's Parchment got an enthusiastic Top Pick review, but the RT editors were scratching our heads on what to call the excellent tale. Certainly it has mystery and suspense, and it is historically set, but there is a lot more to the story. Thankfully, the author came to our rescue when she told us that she has labeled the new type of books that she created - Westerson calls it "Medieval Noir." Read on to learn more from the author about the evolution of this new subgenre.  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Laura Childs Delivers Big Thrills In the Big Easy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 07, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Laura Childs turns what could be traditional "cozies" into "thrillzies" by setting her Scrapbook Mysteries series in New Orleans. In Childs' newest release, Fiber & Brimstone, amateur sleuth Carmela Bertrand follows a killer into the haunted Halloween parties of the Big Easy and beyond. Read on to learn how the author captures the true spirit of the city from the Rue Bourbon to the Mississippi River. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five Reasons To Read Deanna Raybourn's Mysteries - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

We are enthralled by Deanna Raybourn’s historical mystery series. Here are our top five reasons you must check it out: 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
11COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

J.T. Ellison Picks Her Favorite Taylor Jackson Novel!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

Suspense author J.T. Ellison is doing the unheard of and picking a favorite novel from her popular Taylor Jackson series! Find out what makes this mystery stand out from the rest and the four reasons Ellison is most proud of it.

At nearly every event I do, someone asks me which book in my Taylor Jackson series is my favorite. That question is nigh on impossible to answer, because you’re always in love with the book you just finished, because its done, and you’re always in love with the book just published, because it’s your newest baby, and you’re always in love with your first, because it’s your eldest child. You can see where that leads… no good answer.

I’m going to let you in on a little secret. My newest Taylor Jackson, The Immortals, is hands down my favorite in the series.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Harlan Coben Plays Dead

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 27, 2010 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Harlan Coben’s debut novel, Play Dead, has been out of print for over 15 years, but tomorrow it is being re-released! Get the author's take on his first novel and find out what's in store for readers in his next novel, Live Wire.

RT: You originally wrote Play Dead over 20 years ago. What do you remember about crafting this novel? Any standout moments?

Harlan Coben: Writing a novel is a bit like having a baby – you block the pain so you can do it again. Like several of my later books, including Tell No One, my goal here was to write the ultimate love story and then blend in stay-up-all-night suspense. You can decide if it worked or not.

RT: How do you feel it stood the test of time? What part of the book are you most proud of? In hindsight is there anything about Play Dead you look back on and want to change?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Get Inside Meg Gardiner's Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Meg Gardiner is known for her fast-paced mystery series and now you have the chance to become part of the action!

For the release of this summer's The Liar's Lullaby, the author stopped by to chat about mystery-solving forensic psychiatrist Jo Beckett. Now Gardiner is offering fans another way to go behind the scenes of the series. Meg Gardiner will name a character in her new novel, The Nightmare Thief, after one lucky reader!

TO ENTER: Visit the author's blog and write a caption of the photos on this post in 200 words or less. ENTER NOW >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview With Ridley Pearson

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 20, 2010 | PERMALINK
 

Mystery author Ridley Pearson has his hands full juggling four series for readers across all ages. And this month, in his latest release, In Harm's Way, the author brings together the heroes of his two adult series. RT's Assistant Web Editor Whitney Sullivan tracked Pearson down to ask about his newest thriller, his rock band and the author's busy schedule.

Whitney Sullivan: For your latest novel, you put both of your crime-solving heroes, Fleming and Boldt, In Harm’s Way. What was something unexpected about bringing these men together? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Blaize Clement Is Set To Continue Her Cat Sitting Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

In the mystery genre there are famous cat burglers and cat sleuths, but amateur mystery solver Dixie Hemingway is the only cat sitting sleuth that we know of. Over the next year, author Blaize Clement will be continuing her Dixie Hemingway series with books six and seven. The busy author put her pen on pause to talk to us about what she and Dixie have learned over the last five mysteries. In addition Clement spills details from Dixie's latest adventure, Cat Sitter Among the Pigeons. (Including the fact that she borrowed Dixie's latest title from an Agatha Christie tale!)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Rebecca James On The Making Of Beautiful Malice

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 25, 2010 | PERMALINK

Mystery author Rebecca James takes readers behind the scenes for a look at how she created her novel, Beautiful Malice. Learn what made writing this novel such an adventure for the author and don't miss the excerpt at the end of this post!

I started Beautiful Malice with the first sentence. 

Of course you did! I hear you protest. Where else would you start? Isn't that where every book begins? Well...yes and no.  The reader usually starts with the first sentence but the writer may not. Some authors start a book with an idea, a story, a plot, others start with a certain character or two. Still others might start with a place. All I had when I sat down to write was a very vague desire to write about toxic friendships -- and then I wrote the first sentence:

I didn't go to Alice's funeral. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

J.A. Jance On Her Mystery-Writing Origins

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

In honor of her new release, Queen Of The Night, mystery author J.A. Jance shares her path to publication, the true-life mystery that inspired her to start writing and details of the original novel that held the title Hour Of The Hunter.

 In the mid-Sixties, I spent five years working as a school librarian on an Indian reservation, the home of the Desert People, now known as the Tohono O'odham Nation. During that time my first husband and I encountered a serial killer and ended up being stalked by him for sixty days before he was finally apprehended. He was imprisoned for murdering three people and is still in prison to this day.

I had always wanted to be a writer, although I wasn't allowed in the Creative Writing program at the University of Arizona in 1964 because, as the professor told me, I was a "girl." All of which goes a long way to explain why I became a librarian.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST