RT Daily Blog

The World According To Cassandra Chan's Phillip and Jack

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 05, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Cassandra Chan offers readers an exclusive look at her procedural mystery, A Spider On The Stairs, when she lets her heroes, Phillip Bethancourt and Jack Gibbons do the talking. 

Phillip Bethancourt lounged comfortably on the sofa in the living room of his Chelsea flat. “She’s writing about us again, you know,” he said.

His friend, Detective Sergeant Jack Gibbons, raised an eyebrow.

“We did just solve a case,” he pointed out. “She always writes about us when that happens. I don’t think,” he added, “she can help herself.”

But Bethancourt shook his head. He sipped at his scotch and then said, “No, this is different.”

“Oh Lord,” said Gibbons. “She’s not obsessed with our sex lives or something, is she?”

“If she is, you needn’t worry,” retorted Bethancourt. “I’m the only one of us with a sex life, but I haven’t been unfaithful to Marla lately, so I don’t think it’s that.”

Gibbons looked startled. “Lately?” he demanded. “You don’t do that on a regular basis, do you? I thought it was just that once…”

“No, I do not regularly cheat on my girlfriend,” said Bethancourt indignantly. “What a question to ask a man.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview With Carole Nelson Douglas

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 03, 2010 | PERMALINK
 

Author Carole Nelson Douglas is interviewed by RT BOOK REVIEWS Web Editor Morgan Doremus about her latest Midnight Louie Mystery, Cat In An Ultramarine Scheme, and what readers can expect from the newest novels author's series ...

Morgan Doremus: Louie, your cat protagonist, is very much like Sam Spade - exactly what readers might imagine a private investigator in the noir tradition. Was this done on purpose? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

It's A New Name For Author Katia Lief!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

We had an office visit on Monday from the lovely and talented author Katia Lief, who's writing under her real name for the first time (her pseudonyms include Katia Spiegelman and Kate Pepper).

Katia just happens to live one block away from the RT offices, so she stopped by with copies of her October and November book covers for her new suspense novels. (Katia also cat-sits our office visiting feline, Dylan, who was featured in our May issue, but that's another story.)

October's book is You Are Next, in which former detective Karin Schaeffer learns the madman who destroyed her family has escaped from prison. November's Next Time You See Me has Karin tracking down her husband, who vanishes after his parents are slain.

Look for a two-fer giveaway from Katia in the October issue of RT: Five packages of Next Time You See Me and You Are Next, autographed by the author! Also, Katia and her video-editor husband have created a trailer for her books. Check it out at www.KatiaLief.com.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT BOOK REVIEWS Seal Of Excellence Winner — Tess Gerritsen for Ice Cold

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

RT BOOK REVIEWS is thrilled to announce that the June 2010 Seal of Excellence winner is Tess Gerritsen for her compelling suspense novel Ice Cold.

Gerritsen is in the midst of her press tours for Ice Cold as well as her new TNT series Rizzoli & Isles (read about the show's debut here), RT Web Editor Morgan Doremus was able to track down the author for this exclusive interview. They chat about the author's thoughts on actresses Angie Harmon and Sasha Alexander, Gerritsen's inspiration for Ice Cold and how this novel is a turning point for her heroine Maura.

LISTEN HERE


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Avery Aames Dishes Up A Cozy Read WITH GIVEAWAY

BY Morgan Doremus, JULY 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

I’ve been an avid reader my whole life, switching to adult books at about 13. So there isn’t much in the way of genre fiction that I haven’t read.

Romance. Check

Paranormal. Check

Graphic novels. Check.

Cozies … wait.

How is it that with almost two decades of reading under my belt that I have never tried out a cozy? It has got to be because my favorite thing about a mystery is the hardened detective tracking down the bad guys. I’ve always been a little skeptical about the genteel amateur sleuth.

But this past week I gave into the peer pressure from RT Senior Editor Stephanie Klose, our resident mystery aficionado, and picked up my first cozy which happened to be Avery AamesA Long Quiche Goodbye.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Meg Gardiner

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 13, 2010 | PERMALINK

RT BOOK REVIEWS Web Editor Morgan Doremus interviews Meg Gardiner about the author's newest thriller, Liar's Lullaby. They chat about how rock stars, politicians and conspiracy theorists all contribute to making this new case the most difficult psychological autopsy Jo Beckett has ever had to perform!

Meg Gardiner Discusses Liar's Lullaby >>

Meg Gardiner On Jo Beckett, The Heroine Of Liar's Lullaby >>

Meg Gardiner Chats About The New Project That Will Bring Her Heroines Together >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Two Tess Gerritsen Heroines Take Television By Storm

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 13, 2010 | PERMALINK

Last night's premiere of TNT's new cable series Rizzoli & Isles, based on Tess Gerritsen's bestselling series about Boston PD Detective Jane Rizzoli and medical examiner Maura Isles, drew more than 7 million viewers, according to Hollywood trade reports. 

Photo courtesy of TNT Network

Were you one of the millions watching? If so, what did you think of Angie Harmon as Rizzoli and Sasha Alexander as Isles? Did the show match your expectations based on the books? And if you've read Gerritsen's latest, Ice Cold, let us know what you think!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Young Adult At ThrillerFest

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 13, 2010 | PERMALINK

RT Summer Intern Spencer Freeman learns an important lesson at the Thrillerfest panel on the  appeal of YA novels  …

Thanks to bestselling series such as Harry Potter and Twilight, the market for young adult books goes beyond juvenile readers. During this year’s ThrillerFest, the annual convention for thriller authors and fans, there was a panel discussing the ever-popular question, “Are YA Novels for Grownups Too?”

The panel consisted of authors A.J. Hartley, F. Paul Wilson , Jennifer Alison, Ridley Pearson, R.L. Stine and YA publisher Andrew Harwell. F. Paul Wilson, panel moderator and bestselling author in his own right, led the discussion about the diverse readership of Young Adult novels. Other topics they touched on included dark themes in YA books, cross-over characters in series and the fact that many of their readers know their books better than the authors themselves.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Getting Paranormal At ThrillerFest

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 13, 2010 | PERMALINK

RT Summer Intern Lizzie Poteet reports from a Thrillerfest panel about authors' thoughts on mixing paranormal elements into thrillers ...

Ghosts, witches and ghouls, oh my! At this year’s ThrillerFest six of the most noted names in paranormal thrillers met to discuss the popular paranormal subgenre and answer the question: “Why be normal when you can be paranormal?”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Shane Gericke

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 12, 2010 | PERMALINK

RT BOOK REVIEWS Web Editor Morgan Doremus interviews Shane Gericke about his thriller series, his new release and the fifth annual ThrillerFest convention here in NYC. In the first video, the pair chat about who attends ThrillerFest and the ways the convention caters to both authors and readers.

Shane Gericke On ThrillerFest >>

Shane Gericke Gives A Behind The Scenes Look At His New Release Torn Apart >>

Shane Gericke Talks About Writing Serial Killers >>

Shane Gericke Discusses The Serial Killers Of His Series >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST