RT Daily Blog

Witches Of East End Recap: Season 1 Episode 1 - Pilot

BY Elissa Petruzzi, OCTOBER 07, 2013 | PERMALINK

You guys, the Witches of East End pilot was great! Lots of action, pretty dresses, gorgeous hair, cute guys, magic. (Seriously, everyone’s hair looked amazing — now that’s magic.) What more could you ask for on a Sunday night? The plot also hewed pretty closely to the Melissa de la Cruz book it’s based on, which as a reader, I super liked. As expected, Jenna Dewan-Tatum is probably actually a witch in real life, because she looks superhot and I’m pretty sure this pilot was filmed about 10 minutes after she gave birth to Channing Tatum’s baby. (Obviously witchcraft was involved.)

Onto the recap …

We open on a shot of a schmancy party, Hamptons style. But quickly the camera follows a trail of smoke into a garden, where a woman is carving a symbol into sand, all creepy like. A couple wanders by with their dog, and thanks to the music, we all know this isn’t going to end well. They smile their greeting at —Hey, Julia Ormond! Looking great! — Joanna, even though the dog knows something is up. Indeed, Joanna turns on a deadly vamp face and — bad times for the friendly dog walkers.

Smash to credits! Excited already?

Spoooooky shot of spoookiness to come. Can you feel it?

image from here


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Free-for-All Friday: Jamie McGuire's Red Hill

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 04, 2013 | PERMALINK

You may know and love Jaime McGuire for her New Adult blockbusters, Beautiful Disaster and Walking Disaster. But this week the author's going in a different direction with Red Hill, a zombie novel. The gripping tale follows three sets of survivors as they try to stay one step ahead of the zombie apocalypse, as the world falls apart around them.

Intrigued? In the mood for a zombie tale now that fall is finally here? Then this Free-for-All Friday is for you! Just comment below with your favorite zombie incarnation to win one of five copies. (We love almost all zombies, though Night of the Living Dead holds a special place in our still-warm hearts ... it's possible we chase our cat around the room sometimes, saying, "They're coming to get you, Barbara." (Our cat is not named Barbara.)) U.S. residents only. You can also e-mail us here with your answer and the subject "Red Hill Giveaway," along with your mailing address. Good luck!


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Aloha, Friends: Cathryn Cade Takes us to Hawaii

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 03, 2013 | PERMALINK

We know, we know. Summer’s over. That means it’s probably time to start planning our next tropical vacation — if only in our minds, right? So when we saw that Cathryn Cade’s latest Hawaiian Heroes novel, Blooming in the Wild, received 4 ½-stars, we figured the author would be the perfect virtual tour guide. So sit back and let your computer take a vacation to beautiful Hawaii …

Ah, Hawaii. Where to 'live aloha' means to relax, be friendly, enjoy life.

This spring, we moved back to North Idaho. As I unpacked, I found a shopping list from our last Hawaiian vacation, used to bookmark a beach read. 'Kona coffee, mai tai mix, avocado, pineapple, mango, papaya, post cards'. Aloha! I wish that could be my shopping list every week. Not many meal fixings, because in Hawaii it's nearly as cheap to eat out and put those leftovers in a cooler for lunch the next day. You have places to go.

Cathryn and her husband

 

A man making octopus lures at Pu'uhonua

 


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal Romance, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Excerpt: Heather Graham's The Night is Forever

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 03, 2013 | PERMALINK

Ready for an excerpt break? As always, we're here for ya. Today we've got Heather Graham's latest Krewe of Hunters title — an RT Top Pick! — The Night is Forever.  RT reviewer Anna said of Heather's latest, "the lessons here will resonate with anyone who has dealt with grief, mental illness, addictions or setting personal boundaries."

Interested? Read on …

“Yes, I’ve met Malachi. No, I haven’t worked with him. This is my first assignment with the Krewe of Hunters.”

“What?” She jumped up, sloshing tea, and then set her mug on the coffee table as she stared at him. “What? Oh, I don’t mean to be insulting, it’s just that…I call for help, and my cousin sends a newbie?”

“I’m hardly a newbie, Olivia,” he told her, trying not to lose his temper. She was looking at him as if he’d barely managed to graduate from high school. “I’ve been with the bureau. I’ve been a Marine. I’ve been a cop. I  think I’m up to the task.”


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mark Your Calendars: We're Recapping The Witches of East End

BY Elissa Petruzzi, OCTOBER 02, 2013 | PERMALINK

As a lifelong reader, I sometimes have mixed feelings about book-to-film adaptations. I love books so much, and I just worry that Hollywood won't understand their awesomeness and mess them up. But when my fellow website editor — and almost-name twin — Elisa Verna, asked me to recap the upcoming Witches of East End TV show for the site, I couldn't say no. Here are the top three reasons why.

1. I really liked the book, Melissa de la Cruz's Witches of East End. I've always loved witch stories, and am obsessed with all things Hamptons. So there's a potential for awesomeness here.

2. A celebrity gossip fiend (I know), all summer I watched in awe as the beautiful Jenna Dewan-Tatum wowed the universe with her pregnant glow. With a hot, doting husband at her side. In London. Basically, I'm sure she has magical powers as it is, so my girl Jenna should be good at playing a witch on TV. And I need to be watching as it happens.

3. Elisa can be very persuasive. She called me to action, and off we go.


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Wayback Whensday: How The RT Convention Changed Lynsay Sands' Career

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 02, 2013 | PERMALINK

If you've ever been to the RT Booklover's Convention, you know it can be a life-changing experience. There's the smart, informative workshops that can jumpstart your writing. The agent and editor appointments that just might net you that book deal. The Faery Ball where you could meet your bewinged soul mates. We could go on. 

But today we're here with Lynsay Sands, to hear how the 1999 RT Booklovers Convention changed her life, and helped her to create her über-popular Argeneau vampire series. This month's One Lucky Vampire makes a decade that these bestselling books have been with us, and February's release, Vampire Most Wanted, is entry number twenty! We, of course, wanted to know how it all happened.

***

Pamela Palmer, Lynsay Sands and Merrie Destefano at the RT Convention in 2009 — 10 years after Lynsay's first RT Con.


Tell us about attending your first RT Convention.


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal Romance, Vampire, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, Convention, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Author Spotlight: Jan DeLima Talks Long Hours, The Call and Photoshopping Vampire Eyes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 30, 2013 | PERMALINK

We at RT love discovering new authors to tell you about, so when Jan DeLima’s debut, Celtic Moon received a 4-1/2 star review, we had to know more! (Yes, we're this nosey in our personal lives, too.) Celtic Moon is the story of Sophie, who’s been on the run with her son for nearly 16 years. Only now he’s showing signs of shifting, and so Sophie must return to the rustic Maine countryside and to the man she’s been fleeing — but hasn’t been able to forget. Luckily, Jan was very obliging and answered all of our nosey questions.

Name: Jan DeLima

Book: Celtic Moon

Genre: Urban Fantasy/Paranormal Romance

Current Home: Maine

Author Icon: Jude Deveraux immediately comes to mind for writing the first romance novel I ever read, Twin of Fire, and therefore opening a door into what would become my favorite genre.

Favorite Word: Honor


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal Romance, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday Free For All: Stephen King's Doctor Sleep!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 27, 2013 | PERMALINK

Did you read The Shining as a kid? Because the RT Web Team sure did. Sure, it was kinda dense reading for our tween years, but hey, it made us into book lovers. Stephen King is a master, there's no doubt about it. And so when we heard that he was returning to his Shining universe with Doctor Sleep, we said to ourselves, selves, we've got to get that book for a Friday Free For All.  

And so it was! So if you want to find out what happened to Danny Torrance, comment below on your favorite King title for a chance to win one of fiour hard copies of Doctor Sleep, out this week. U.S. residents only. Winners will be announced here next Friday.


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
34COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: N.J. Walters' Damek's Redemption

BY Cyndy Aleo, SEPTEMBER 18, 2013 | PERMALINK

There are times when I feel like every book I review is really like a diary entry and I'm sharing my feels with all our readers. Including my secret never-pass-up tropes. For instance, I will never pass up a coma story. Or an amnesia story. But mostly, I will never pass up a broken, angsty vampire. Ever.

I know what you're saying. "Cyndy, vampires are so over." But here's the thing: They never really are, though. We've been obsessed with sexy vampires doing their thing since at least 1871 when J. Le Fanu's Carmilla brought us its titular hot lesbian vampire. 

So when N.J. Walters brings her werewolf series around to the standoffish vampire, Damek, I was intrigued.

Call me crazy, but all romantic vampires are judged against an ideal: not Bram Stoker's Dracula, not Anne Rice's Lestat, but rather, Nora Robert's Cian from her novel Valley of Silence. Cian is my vampire model: alpha male without crossing over into abusive, full of angst and loneliness in an eternity in which he loses anyone he might love — and incredibly sexy when he finally loses his hard-fought control and falls for the heroine.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mimi Jean Pamfiloff on Mayan Gods — And Why You Want to Read About Them

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 11, 2013 | PERMALINK

Sure, we’ve all read great romances starring the Greek and Roman gods, but what about the Mayans? Paranormal author Mimi Jean Pamfiloff has long been fascinated with the Mayans, who appear in her latest Vampires Need Not … Apply? And today she’s here today to tell us about that time she saw one (yes, really) and some reasons why you want to read a romance starring them.

Take it away, Mimi!


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal Romance, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST