RT Daily Blog

Qhuinn Is Blay’s Lover At Last! Who’s Next For J.R. Ward? (Spoiler Alert!) - Updated!

BY Audrey Goodson Kingo, APRIL 01, 2013 | PERMALINK

In her interview in the April issue of RT, J.R. Ward revealed that she would divulge the stars of her next Black Dagger Brotherhood book at her signing in Cincinnati tomorrow. We can’t wait! She provides some tantalizing hints (and possible red herrings) about her future pairings in Lover at Last, which hit shelves March 26. Now that Qhuay fans have finally had the chance to see their favorite Caldwell couple find love, who will be next? Unless a new one is inducted, Ward is all out of Brothers, so her hero will have to be someone outside the ranks of the BDB. Will it be a member of the Band of Bastards? One of the sexy Shadows? A lesser? (Just kidding!)

Based on clues gathered from Lover at Last, we have three guesses as to who the next Caldwell couple will be. If you haven’t read Lover at Last, proceed with caution: Lots of spoilers ahead!

 ***

Xcor and Layla


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Cover Reveal: Thea Harrison’s Kinked

BY Morgan Doremus, MARCH 27, 2013 | PERMALINK
I absolutely, positively love Thea Harrison’s Elder Races series. In case anyone didn’t hear me I LOVE THE ELDER RACES! Ever since Dragon Bound, which won the 2011 RT Editors’ pick for Best Book of the Year, I have been obsessed. So today I am especially excited to reveal the cover of Harrison's November release Kinked.

But first, we should start at the beginning of my obsession with my love for Dragos Cuelebre, a wyr dragon shifter that rules NYC with an iron — or should I say clawed — fist. He’s old, like crack-of-dawn-of-the-universe old and so he has had time to gather up a group of ultra loyal Sentinels as his enforcers. ‘Cuz let’s face it, anyone with the wealth and power of Dragos is going to be under attack. However, it turns out the dragon’s weak spot doesn’t come in the form of dark vampires or evil elves. Instead the big guy is taken down by a woman — a young, beautiful shifter named Pia Giovanni who captures him body, mind and spirit.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Win A Copy Of J.R. Ward's Lover At Last

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 26, 2013 | PERMALINK

Today's the day that all you Black Dagger Brotherhood fan have been waiting for. J.R. Ward's Lover At Last is finally on sale! If you pre-ordered a copy or headed to your nearest book store the moment it opened, you've already got your hands on a copy and are probably already too preoccupied to be reading this blog post. But for those who have yet to get Blay and Qhuinn's story, we're here to help, if you don't mind us teasing and taunting a bit first!

The eleventh BDB novel is absolutely fantastic. The book earned a Top Pick! rating, with senior reviewer Jill M. Smith saying "the fascinating plot tapestry ... is a hallmark of this epic series." On top of this, Lover at Last is being considered for April's Seal of Excellence, which is an honor rightfully deserved because this story, which features a male/male relationship truly pushes the boundaries of the genre.

But we wouldn't just build you up and leave you hanging, dear readers. We're not that cruel. To celebrate Ward's phenomenal novel, we're offering one of you a chance to win a copy of the book! Plus, on Friday, RT's Audrey will post about who she thinks will be the couple featured in Ward's next BDB story.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
44COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: Larissa Ione’s Bound By Night

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 20, 2013 | PERMALINK
Breakout paranormal romance star Larissa Ione is releasing a new series and has just revealed the cover for book 1, Bound By Night.

The absolutely gorgeous book cover reveals quite a bit about what is happening in the series starter. The hottie hanging out on the gravestone? That’s Riker a member of the renegade vampire MoonBound Clan. With black leather, a teeny patch of muscled abdomen and a piercing gaze — we are already in love! And so is the author. Larissa says that the artist captured Riker’s sexy/dangerous essence completely.

Isn't that reclining pose awesome? Did you notice the subliminal placement of the dagger? *g* I gotta say, I think Pocket got our hero right. The Riker on the cover looks very much like the Riker I pictured in my head. I can't wait for readers to meet him!

Actually, with the intensity of that stare, it looks like Riker wants to get to know us as well. However, we know that those burning baby blues are actually set on one woman — Nicole Martin. Her family was responsible for enslaving Riker's people and now he is out for revenge.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Marlene Perez And Amanda Carlson On Why Minneapolis Is The New Urban Fantasy Hot Spot

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 19, 2013 | PERMALINK

Chicago is grand, New York is nice and L.A. is, well ... L.A., but could Minneapolis be the next popular setting for Urban Fantasy? Authors Amanda Carlson and Marlene Perez think so! Both Carlson's Hot Blooded, second in her Jessica McClain series, and Marlene Perez's Strange Fates take place in the chilly Midwestern city, and both authors agree Minneapolis is the perfect place for paranormal mischief. So why Minneapolis? The authors interviewed each other and chatted about what drew them to the City of Lakes for their latest releases.

Marlene Perez: What is your main character's favorite place/hang-out, real or imagined, in Minneapolis?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Trend - Glowing Eyes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 18, 2013 | PERMALINK

If the eyes are the windows to the soul, then you might want to look away because the characters on these book covers are revealing some serious inner turmoil. However, if you are ready to face evil, then you definitely want these heroes and heroines on your side because their glowing eyes are good for one thing — seeing through the darkness.



Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: Karen Marie Moning's Burned

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 15, 2013 | PERMALINK

Karen Marie Moning has just revealed the cover of her next Deckle Edge book, Burned. A quick poll around the RT office shows that most of the magazine editors think that this book will feature Dani O’Malley, the young teen who stood by MacKayla Lane’s side during the Fever books. Dani is a deadly sidhe-seer who has super-strength and speed, and is certainly not a lady to mess with. There’s no word on what trouble Dani will find (or what trouble will find her) in Burned, but we do know whatever it is will have us mesmerized.

The author wrote on her Facebook page that there might be about 14 months between her books, which, according to our top-notch math skills, means Burned will hit shelves in January 2014. It also means you’ll have a chance to catch up by reading the most recent book in Moning’s Fever universe, Iced.


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Ilona Andrews To Begin A New Paranormal Romance Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 13, 2013 | PERMALINK
Last month writing duo Ilona Andrews (made up of husband and wife Ilona and Gordon Andrews) announced that they would be extending their Urban Fantasy "Magic" series featuring sword-wielding mercenary heroine Kate Daniels. (Readers can learn more about the authors' plans here.) And this week there is more great news from the Andrews' camp. Ilona revealed in a blog post that now their Edge series has come to an end, they are ready to start a new series. According to agent Nancy Yost in a Publishers Weekly report, the currently untitled series " ... will be set in a world controlled by 'modern Medici-like dynasties with paranormally enhanced abilities.'" Ilona commented that the new series is inspired by elements of both their Silver Shark universe and their short story "Of Swine and Roses". 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Gina Lamm Shares How Her Modern Geek Girl Adjusts To Regency Life - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 13, 2013 | PERMALINK

What would you do if all the conveniences of modern life were suddenly removed? No phones, computers or electricity. When Jamie, the heroine of Gina Lamm's debut novel The Geek Girl and the Scandalous Earl, finds herself transported to the 1800s, the lack of technology is only the first of her worries. Jamie materializes in the bedchamber of Micah Axelby, Duke of Dunnington, a man who is certainly not looking for a relationship. Navigating the rakish Duke is one thing, but fitting in as a Regency woman is quite another. Today the author explains how her nerdy, gadget loving heroine copes with her unexpected trip to the past. And at the end of the post, check out a way to transport yourself to the Regency with The Geek Girl and the Scandalous Earl giveaway!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
23COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debbie Viguie's Heroine Shares Her 10 Step Program For Banishing Black Magic

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 07, 2013 | PERMALINK

Debbie Viguié's latest Urban Fantasy, The Last Grave, tells the story of witch hunter turned homicide detective Samantha Ryan, who moves to San Francisco looking to forget her past. But her secret life soon catches up to her when the murder of a local historian brings Samantha deep into the mountains of Santa Cruz, a place filled with dark magic and sorcery. It can't be easy to fight supernatural forces, so we asked Samantha for some expert advice on facing the darkness. 

***

SAMANTHA RYAN'S 10 STEP PROGRAM FOR BANISHING BLACK MAGIC

Step 1 - Accept that while black magic exists in the world, I am powerless to rid the world of it and to keep myself from succumbing to it if I continue to practice magic. I am not a superhero. Nor do I want to be. Not even if I get to wear a cape.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST