RT Daily Blog

Video Interview: Larissa Ione

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 04, 2012 | PERMALINK

With the so-called Mayan apocalypse only a few weeks away, we thought it would be a perfect time to sit down with an author who knows a thing or two about the end of the world: Larissa Ione. The author's Lords of Deliverance series features The Four Horsemen (one of which is a woman!) of the Apocalypse, who are tasked with saving the world from impending doom. We asked the author to tell us what inspired her to put a spin on the traditional Four Horsemen lore while giving us a peek inside her latest release, Rogue Rider. Plus, Larissa shares special details about her upcoming series, set in a unique vampire-filled universe. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Three Questions For Author Mira Grant

BY Elisa Verna, DECEMBER 04, 2012 | PERMALINK

Mira Grant, the pseudonym for Urban Fantasy author Seanan McGuire, released the final book in her Newsflesh trilogy, Blackout, this year, which earned a 2012 RT Readers' Choice Awards nomination. The trilogy follows two young blogger journalists as they dig to uncover the conspiracy that caused a zombie-like plague twenty years prior. We we're curious to hear the author's thoughts on the series now that it's come to a close and what readers can expect next. 

***

Your June release, Blackout, was nominated for a 2012 RT Readers' Choice Award for Best Science Fiction Novel, congrats! Now that your Newsflesh trilogy has ended, which book was the most fun to write?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Galactic Holiday: Celebrate The Season With Three Out Of This World Adventures

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 28, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author and blogger Heather Massey is a science fiction romance aficionado who finds and spotlights the best otherworldly tales being published today. So we knew we had a winner on our hands when Massey brought to our attention the upcoming Carina Press' e-anthology A Galactic Holiday. Intrigued by the idea of a holiday-themed sci fi romance collection, Massey spoke with the authors and made her own deductions about the stories:

A Galactic Holiday (December 2012) is a science fiction romance anthology collection from Carina Press. Featuring three novella-length stories from authors Stacy Gail, Sasha Summers, and Anna Hackett, readers can escape the hustle and bustle of the holidays with these otherworldly adventures. I have lots to share with you about this anthology, but first, here’s an overview, courtesy of Carina Press:

Do androids dream of electric sugar plums?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Kristen Callihan

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 27, 2012 | PERMALINK

Kristen Callihan is gearing up to release the third book in her Darkest London series, Winterblaze, which is set to hit shelves February 2013. We're big fans of the author's paranormal historical tales, and are anxious to get our hands on the third Ellis sister's story. In this video interview, the author catches new readers up on the series so far and she shares some details about the third book, which is a reunion story of a couple we've already seen happy together. Callihan calls Winterblaze "Mr. and Mrs. Smith with zombies," which certainly sounds intriguing! Plus, the author reveals what's in store for the fourth book in the series now that the three sisters have gotten their stories. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Trend: Animals Over Your Shoulder

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 26, 2012 | PERMALINK

We’ve all heard of backseat drivers, but the authors of recent and upcoming paranormal releases are taking it to the extreme by introducing some wild animals into the mix. Peeking over the shoulders of romance characters are tigers and lions and bears. But that’s not all. On these covers we also found a bat, owl and even a dog. And for more exotic fare, it seems like dragons, unicorns and vampire bats are all the rage. While these animals do generally bring some danger to their story, most of the beasts pictured are either the shifter form of a hero or heroine or a helpful guardian. So breathe easy as you scroll through this newest cover trend.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: Twice Tempted by Jeaniene Frost

BY Dawn Crowne, NOVEMBER 19, 2012 | PERMALINK

Jeaniene Frost fans will be singing “Reunited and It Feels So Good” after this bit of news. Recently the author revealed the cover for Twice Tempted, the second Night Prince novel that releases March 26, 2013. And I don't know about you, but I absolutely cannot wait to get more of the love story between Vlad “don’t call me Dracula” Tepesh and his heroine Leila.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Heroines At Work In Sci-Fi Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 09, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author and genre blogger Heather Massey is here today to share with readers how sci fi romance differs from other subgenres of romance in a big way when it comes to the heroine's occupation. These leading ladies aren't the proper socialites you find in some historical stories or the everyday gals you meet in contemporary romances. From engineers to computer experts, ship pilots and beyond, Massey tells us how these professions shape the heroines of some of her favorite sci fi romances.

Here’s a word association challenge for you. If you were to identify the factors that define a romance heroine, which ones come immediately to mind? Social status? Virginity? Selflessness? Attractiveness? Capacity for love and forgiveness?

There are probably as many answers as there are heroines, but if you’re venturing into science fiction romance territory, these heroines are frequently defined in significant ways by their occupations. Each romance subgenre promises heroines with a variety of skills and traits, but one day I got to thinking about just how much sci-fi romance heroines are shaped by their occupations.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

More Of RT's 2012 Award Nominees - Paranormal / Urban Fantasy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 06, 2012 | PERMALINK

This week RT BOOK REVIEWS is revealing our nominees for 2012 Reviewers' Choice Awards. (We have already listed our picks for our favorite Historical Romance, Young Adult and Science Fiction/Fantasy books with other genres including Contemporary Romance, Mainstream and more to come later this week.) But right now, we are focused on the spooky monsters that go bump in the night, and the heroines that love them! Here is a list of our nominations for our favorite Paranormal Romance and Urban Fantasy novels of the year. Readers can click on the book covers below to learn more about the book including the RT review, summary and rating.

***

 

Nominated for Vampire Romance


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
19COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Kristen Painter On The Lure Of The Vampire Hero

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 31, 2012 | PERMALINK

Are vampires the ultimate bad boys? Today Kristen Painter, author of the popular House of Comarré series, weighs in on the debate. 

Much has been written about vampires and their enduring appeal, so no one’s questioning that they’re an enormously popular genre. In fact, as a culture, we’re no different in our love of the creatures than the generations before us. Well, maybe we love them a little more? Whether they be Bram Stoker’s dark count, Anne Rice’s rock stars or Kresley Cole’s sexy immortals, vampires in literature have survived – and thrived – through the ages as befitting their immortal status.

But why are females readers so drawn to them? Here are my own theories about these undead bad boys: I think much of the vampire hero’s allure lies in his excusable darkness. A bad boy without a great reason to be bad is just a jerk. A vampire, on the other hand, has a built-in reason to be dark, moody and dangerous. Depending on what series you’re reading, he might have been born bad, cursed into being bad, turned bad by a bite or infected with badness via some kind of parasite/host.

Regardless, it’s not his fault. And that makes him easier for us to love and forgive.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: Paranormal Edition With Hamilton, Armstrong And Singh

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 31, 2012 | PERMALINK

Usually on the RT Daily Blog we chat about just one book cover at a time, but in honor of Halloween (and because we are especially excited for these upcoming titles), today RT's Dawn is discussing three newly revealed covers from paranormal powerhouses Laurell K. Hamilton, Kelley Armstrong and Nalini Singh.

***

     

Those smirking ruby red lips and piercing blue eyes can only mean one thing — Anita Blake is back! On June 4, 2013 the incomparable Laurell K. Hamilton will release the twenty-second story in her Vampire Hunter series.

Readers hungering for more of Anita's edgy, sexy style will no doubt get their fix with Affliction, however, fans will have to wait a bit longer before finding out what adventure is next for this menacing heroine since the cover blurb has not yet been released. But have no fear because I have scoured the Internet for some clues about this upcoming title. And what I have found is that there promises to be some major drama regarding Anita and one of her partners, Micah. The author has written to readers on her blog and Twitter account: "Anita & Micah have to have a serious, sad talk." Hamilton also describes a scene from the story where the two characters visit Micah's family for some "hard emotional work".

While I have no doubt that mining some deep personal issues is on the agenda, I am also betting that some seriously sexy time is also coming our way. After all, Affliction's cover has Anita staring quite intently at a male figure and I for one am excited to read what she plans to do with this man lurking in the shadows.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST