RT Daily Blog

Q&A With Seal Of Excellence Winner Delilah S. Dawson

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 14, 2013 | PERMALINK

This month Delilah S. Dawson's fun paranormal romance Wicked As She Wants stole our hears, and the win for our May Seal of Excellence Award! Set in an alternate world where Bludmen — a vampire-like species that feeds off of blood — rule the land of Freesia, a lost Blud princess and a disheveled human musician meet in London and must travel to reclaim the princess' rightful throne. Today we asked the author about her story, her Blud series and what upcoming stories she has in store for readers. 

***

Your Blud series focuses on a special vampire-like breed of creatures living in an alternate world. Reinventing a classic paranormal monster is no easy task. What specific aspects of vampire lore influenced your creation of Bludmen?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Cover Reveal: Lynn Viehl's Disenchanted & Co.

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 13, 2013 | PERMALINK

Lynn Viehl's 50th novel, Disenchanted & Co., releases later this year as a two-part installment and today we're happy to reveal the gorgeous covers of both parts, Her Ladyship's Curse and His Lordship Possessed. Steampunk meets Urban Fantasy in these stories which take place in a parallel 19th-century London and follows Kit Kittredge, a woman who investigates mysteries laced with magic. Today the author shares her thoughts on the covers and tells us a little bit more about Kit and her adventures. 

Pocket Star did a fabulous job with the covers for Her Ladyship's Curse and His Lordship Possessed, the two-part e-book releases for my novel Disenchanted & Co. In this series my protagonist Charmian (Kit) Kittredge, a Victorian American lady private detective, is a resourceful, independent woman who relies on her wits as well as her talent for exposing crimes of magic. I think the cover model projects Kit's strength and personality while remaining faithful to the dress and styling of her time. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2013: Beyond Giggles and Screams

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 01, 2013 | PERMALINK

The paranormal genre has come a long way, baby! Gone are the days of easily recognizable monsters like Dracula, Frankenstein and Mr. Hyde. The dark creatures of the night have morphed into sexy, dark creatures capable of love. And some authors have even dared to replace the fear factor with humor. In today’s panel at the RT Booklovers Convention, “Beyond Giggles and Screams”, five bestselling authors discussed where their work falls into the paranormal spectrum and how aspiring authors can infuse their stories wtih thrills, chills or laughter — or maybe all three! 

(left to right) Authors Pamela Palmer, Karina Cooper, Angie Fox, Kerrelyn Sparks and Alyssa Day

MAKE ‘EM LAUGH

First up are the giggle-inducing authors — we’re talkin’ the comedy of Angie Fox and Kerrelyn Sparks, two ladies who strike the perfect balance between freaky happenings and humor. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jocelynn Drake Dollar Days E-Book Sale

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 08, 2013 | PERMALINK

Looking for a great Urban Fantasy author? Now is the perfect time to try out Jocelynn Drake because her entire backlist is currently on e-sale for only 99 cents per book! Read on for more information about Drake's unique worlds.

Dark Days Series 

Starting with the Top Pick! rated Nightwalker (Amazon; Barnes & Noble) the Dark Days series follows Mira, an unspeakably strong vampire heroine who acts as an enforcer maintaining the balance between the paranormal and human worlds. Headed to America after a particularly painful assignment, Mira's break is cut short when the nasty naturi attempt to overtake earth. An unexpected truce with vampire slayer Danaus and her own quick thinking are all Mira has in her fight with true evil. 


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2013: Calling All Paranormal Romance Fans

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 01, 2013 | PERMALINK

The 2013 RT Booklovers Convention is officially one month away! Taking place in Kansas City, MO from May 1 - 5, this year we are celebrating 30 years of great RT conventions. With a huge list of panels, parties and other great happenings, this week on the RT Daily Blog we are going genre-by-genre to spotlight authors you will want to meet and events you won’t want to miss. 

First up is the Paranormal/Urban Fantasy program. But remember, this is just a taste, a complete list of events can be found at the full convention schedule.  

And if you are interested in what you see, registration is still open! Go here for the FULL CONVENTION REGISTRATION, which gives you access to events taking place Wednesday, May 1 through Sunday, May 5. Also available on the registration page are DAY PASSES and WEEKEND PASSES, to fit any schedule and budget. 

***

THE GIANT BOOK FAIR


Read More>>

Tags: Convention, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Qhuinn Is Blay’s Lover At Last! Who’s Next For J.R. Ward? (Spoiler Alert!) - Updated!

BY Audrey Goodson Kingo, APRIL 01, 2013 | PERMALINK

In her interview in the April issue of RT, J.R. Ward revealed that she would divulge the stars of her next Black Dagger Brotherhood book at her signing in Cincinnati tomorrow. We can’t wait! She provides some tantalizing hints (and possible red herrings) about her future pairings in Lover at Last, which hit shelves March 26. Now that Qhuay fans have finally had the chance to see their favorite Caldwell couple find love, who will be next? Unless a new one is inducted, Ward is all out of Brothers, so her hero will have to be someone outside the ranks of the BDB. Will it be a member of the Band of Bastards? One of the sexy Shadows? A lesser? (Just kidding!)

Based on clues gathered from Lover at Last, we have three guesses as to who the next Caldwell couple will be. If you haven’t read Lover at Last, proceed with caution: Lots of spoilers ahead!

 ***

Xcor and Layla


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Cover Reveal: Thea Harrison’s Kinked

BY Morgan Doremus, MARCH 27, 2013 | PERMALINK
I absolutely, positively love Thea Harrison’s Elder Races series. In case anyone didn’t hear me I LOVE THE ELDER RACES! Ever since Dragon Bound, which won the 2011 RT Editors’ pick for Best Book of the Year, I have been obsessed. So today I am especially excited to reveal the cover of Harrison's November release Kinked.

But first, we should start at the beginning of my obsession with my love for Dragos Cuelebre, a wyr dragon shifter that rules NYC with an iron — or should I say clawed — fist. He’s old, like crack-of-dawn-of-the-universe old and so he has had time to gather up a group of ultra loyal Sentinels as his enforcers. ‘Cuz let’s face it, anyone with the wealth and power of Dragos is going to be under attack. However, it turns out the dragon’s weak spot doesn’t come in the form of dark vampires or evil elves. Instead the big guy is taken down by a woman — a young, beautiful shifter named Pia Giovanni who captures him body, mind and spirit.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Win A Copy Of J.R. Ward's Lover At Last

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 26, 2013 | PERMALINK

Today's the day that all you Black Dagger Brotherhood fan have been waiting for. J.R. Ward's Lover At Last is finally on sale! If you pre-ordered a copy or headed to your nearest book store the moment it opened, you've already got your hands on a copy and are probably already too preoccupied to be reading this blog post. But for those who have yet to get Blay and Qhuinn's story, we're here to help, if you don't mind us teasing and taunting a bit first!

The eleventh BDB novel is absolutely fantastic. The book earned a Top Pick! rating, with senior reviewer Jill M. Smith saying "the fascinating plot tapestry ... is a hallmark of this epic series." On top of this, Lover at Last is being considered for April's Seal of Excellence, which is an honor rightfully deserved because this story, which features a male/male relationship truly pushes the boundaries of the genre.

But we wouldn't just build you up and leave you hanging, dear readers. We're not that cruel. To celebrate Ward's phenomenal novel, we're offering one of you a chance to win a copy of the book! Plus, on Friday, RT's Audrey will post about who she thinks will be the couple featured in Ward's next BDB story.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
44COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: Larissa Ione’s Bound By Night

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 20, 2013 | PERMALINK
Breakout paranormal romance star Larissa Ione is releasing a new series and has just revealed the cover for book 1, Bound By Night.

The absolutely gorgeous book cover reveals quite a bit about what is happening in the series starter. The hottie hanging out on the gravestone? That’s Riker a member of the renegade vampire MoonBound Clan. With black leather, a teeny patch of muscled abdomen and a piercing gaze — we are already in love! And so is the author. Larissa says that the artist captured Riker’s sexy/dangerous essence completely.

Isn't that reclining pose awesome? Did you notice the subliminal placement of the dagger? *g* I gotta say, I think Pocket got our hero right. The Riker on the cover looks very much like the Riker I pictured in my head. I can't wait for readers to meet him!

Actually, with the intensity of that stare, it looks like Riker wants to get to know us as well. However, we know that those burning baby blues are actually set on one woman — Nicole Martin. Her family was responsible for enslaving Riker's people and now he is out for revenge.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Marlene Perez And Amanda Carlson On Why Minneapolis Is The New Urban Fantasy Hot Spot

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 19, 2013 | PERMALINK

Chicago is grand, New York is nice and L.A. is, well ... L.A., but could Minneapolis be the next popular setting for Urban Fantasy? Authors Amanda Carlson and Marlene Perez think so! Both Carlson's Hot Blooded, second in her Jessica McClain series, and Marlene Perez's Strange Fates take place in the chilly Midwestern city, and both authors agree Minneapolis is the perfect place for paranormal mischief. So why Minneapolis? The authors interviewed each other and chatted about what drew them to the City of Lakes for their latest releases.

Marlene Perez: What is your main character's favorite place/hang-out, real or imagined, in Minneapolis?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST