RT Daily Blog

Charting Gena Showalter's Series

BY Morgan Doremus, FEBRUARY 22, 2013 | PERMALINK

While I haven’t read everything that Gena Showalter has written, I will admit to being a straight up fanatic for her Lords of the Underworld series. (In this video you can see me giving the author a complete rundown of all of her heroines, like she doesn’t know who everyone is.)

These paranormal books are addictive bonbons of joy. They feature dark, brooding heroes who are punished for their sins by being cursed with literal demons, a big bad who will kill every last one of the Lords, even if it means destroying humanity, and some kick ass heroines of the human/harpy/angel/goddess varieties.

There is always a lot going on in a LotU story, and after reading all nine books, I have noticed some distinct components that make up each title. Here is a handy pie chart breaking down what you will find in a Lords of the Underworld book:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Blaze Author Laurie Boyle Crompton Wants You To Know That Women Wear Tights, Too!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 12, 2013 | PERMALINK

What girl wouldn't want to have special powers? Flying, shooting fire, going invisible. Sign us up! However, traditionally in books and movies, it has been males that have been the superheroes. But no more! Today Laurie Boyle Crompton, author of the comic book inspired story Blaze, discusses her favorite super-heroines. 

The term ‘Superhero’ tends to conjure the image of some muscular dude decked out in a cape and unitard. It’s easy enough to picture him standing there; hand on hip, looking off into the middle distance with the woman he just rescued slung over one shoulder. Women in comics tend to play the roles of victims or love interests or sometimes the objects of ridiculously complicated revenge plots. But the comics I like best allow the girls to join in the bad-guy-skull-busting fun. Sometimes female superheroes even get to stand in triumph staring into the middle distance themselves. Thank you for this chance to go a little fangirl over these women who seriously kick ass, oftentimes while wearing stiletto boots.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: Kresley Cole's MacRieve

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 11, 2013 | PERMALINK

Recently Kresley Cole has ventured into the Young Adult genre with Poison Princess, but this doesn't mean the author is giving up her adult romance roots. In fact, Cole is getting ready to release the fourteenth book in her Immortals After Dark series.

Named one of RT’s most anticipated paranormal reads of 2013, MacRieve will be on shelves July 2. And to make this wait even more interminable, today we are teasing you with the cover of this upcoming release.

But first, let’s do a bit of a catch up on the IAD series. Cole’s books presume that mythical creatures of all kinds exist. Vampires, check. Furies, check. Fey, those too. In fact, not only do these darker-than-night supernaturals walk among humans, but they are immortal and will outlive us all. If you are ready to face a reality with shifters, valkyries and other fearsome creatures, then we can’t recommend this series enough. But be warned, these stories are not for the faint of heart. RT reviewer Jill M. Smith described these books as having “bloodshed, passion and death-defying thrills”.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lexi George Gives Us A Tour Of Her Supernatural Dive Bar

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 11, 2013 | PERMALINK

While there might not be a whole lot to do in a small town, usually even the tiniest burg has a watering hole, somewhere locals go for a drink. But what happens when the hangout is a gathering place for all sorts of supernaturals? Let's just say that "norms" aren't welcome — including you! But just because you aren't allowed through the door doesn't mean you can't get a gander at ghouls and ghosts. Today author Lexi George takes us Demon Hunting in a Dive Bar.

I grew up in a small LA (Lower Alabama) town on the Florida border, 35 minutes from Pensacola and an hour from Mobile. Right as you crossed the line from Alabama into Florida, were several dive bars. One of them even had a drive-thru window. For two dollars, you could hand the guy at the window an empty gallon plastic pickle jar or mayonnaise container (clean, preferably), and drive off with a gallon of draft beer. And they weren’t too particular about checking IDs, either. Does this give you any insight into my misspent youth? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Ilona Andrews To Pen More Kate Daniels Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 06, 2013 | PERMALINK
***Warning: Minor Spoilers Ahead***

In a blog post this week, Ilona and Gordon Andrews announced that they are making some changes to their Kate Daniels series. The biggest news being an increase in the number of books! They have decided that seven books just wouldn’t be enough to finish the epic adventures featuring Kate and Curran, so they have decided to expand the series. Readers can expect four more books over the next four years.

The authors, writing as Ilona Andrews, have had an incredible run so far with their award winning urban fantasy series featuring the weapon-wielding mercenary Kate Daniels. In the 2007 series starter, Magic Bites, heroine Kate is living in a world where technology and magic are constantly at war and Kate must solve the murder of her mentor/guardian. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kate Locke On Her Alternate Victorian World

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 05, 2013 | PERMALINK

Imagine if the Victorian era progressed through the 21st century and Queen Victoria still reigned Britain today. Certainly no human could live that long ... unless they were undead. In Kate Locke's Immortal Empire series, this is exactly what happens. In God Save the Queen, the British Empire becomes a governing body consisting of zombies, werewolves and other paranormal creatures. And Royal Guard member Xandra Vardan has sworn to protect them, until her sister goes missing in Locke's latest book, The Queen is Dead, and Xandra must question her role in the empire. Today Locke shares how she created her undead Victorian world and why alternate histories are particularly fascinating. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Fearless Writing With Piper Maitland

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 05, 2013 | PERMALINK

From plotting to writing and publishing a novel, there is plenty of anxiety that authors face. And perhaps there is nothing more daunting then realizing that your story is just not working. Today Urban Fantasy author Piper Maitland explains how she decided to change up her newest book Hunting Daylight and why this required her to write without fear.

Ralph Waldo Emerson once wrote, “Life is about the journey, not the destination.” This was a theme in Acquainted With the Night, my first vampire novel. The book ended with the main characters in turmoil: Caro, a half-vampire, was pregnant, and her unborn child was at the center of an eerie 8th century prophecy — not the sort of information a mother wants to hear. Her human lover, Jude, had become the one thing he hated: an immortal.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Nalini Singh Reveals The Cover For Psy/Changeling Book 12 - Heart of Obsidian

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 31, 2013 | PERMALINK

***This post contains very specific information about the Psy/Changeling world, which may be confusing to readers that aren’t up-to-date with the books.***

The 12th book in Nalini Singh’s Psy/Changeling book is so series-altering that the publisher would not show the book cover or even tell fans the title of the June 4th release … until today!

It is official — Heart of Obsidian is the next Psy/Changeling book! And while we are loving the gorgeous book cover, we are reliev-trated (that is both relieved and frustrated) that it really doesn’t give us more clues in our ongoing quest to discover the identity of the Ghost.

First, our frustration: Who is that man dressed in all black walking towards the futuristic city? Is he the Ghost? Is he someone who knows the Ghost? Maybe he is the Ghost’s tailor? (After all, that is a pretty great jacket he has on.)

Then, our relief: We are totally having a blast with predictions, theories and debates flowing freely through our office and would miss it if the cat was out of the bag.

Over the past month or so, our discussions have led the RT editors to one conclusion: Kaleb Krychek is the Ghost. He’s got to be the Ghost, right?!?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Yasmine Galenorn On Writing Otherworldly Sex Scenes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 29, 2013 | PERMALINK

Last week paranormal romance author Boone Brux told us about the not-so-glamorous process of writing a sex scene, and today Yasmine Galenorn, author of the popular Otherworlds series, adds to the conversation by sharing how she crafts the perfect love scene for her supernatural stories. Plus, the author shares a steamy excerpt from her latest Otherworlds novel, Haunted Moon at the end of this post!

When I first began writing the Otherworld books, the hardest part was writing the sex scenes. It wasn’t that I was embarrassed—after all, I wrote a nonfiction book on sex magick that laid things out without any pussyfooting around. And I detest euphemisms and clinical terms, so I had no problems with using explicit language and writing blow-by-blow come-on-baby-do-me scenes.

No, my first main concern was making sure that I accurately conveyed the connections between the characters involved. You see, in my worlds (both real and the imaginary ones), sex is a passionate connection between two—or more—people.

Now, for me, sex doesn’t have to involve love—I personally believe that sex and love can be separated—but there does need to be an intense connection for mind-blowing sex to happen. And unless you’re writing a comic scene, sex on the page better be pretty mind-blowing so the reader doesn’t get bored.

That intense connection can be fleeting, brought on by fear or a shared bond, meant to last only for the moment. Or it can involve a long-term passionate involvement. Whatever the case, when I write my sex scenes, I project myself into my main character’s mind, into her heart, into her body, and flesh out the reactions she’s having to the person/people she’s with. Since I write first person, I have to rely on her feelings alone, with only the verbal, energetic, and physical cues given by her partner(s).


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Elisa And Regina Dish: Gilded By Karina Cooper

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 24, 2013 | PERMALINK

Karina Cooper recently released her second St. Croix chronicles book, Gilded, and you better believe RT editors Elisa and Regina were excited! After Dishing about book one, Tarnished, they were both eager to pick up the second. Set in Cooper's seamless steampunk Victorian London, the series follows Cherry St. Croix — a woman leading two lives, one spent as a proper lady high above the fog drift that separates the city, and as a collector, aka bounty hunter, in the grimy London Below. Book two follows Cherry as she searches for a murderer in the Below and a husband Above, and both Elisa and Regina were anxious to see what the future holds for the conflicted heroine.

Elisa: In Gilded, Karina Cooper does a great job of setting up her steampunk Victorian world for those who may have missed Tarnished, the first Cherry St. Croix book. 

Regina: Right, although people really should read Tarnished.

Elisa: Absolutely.

Regina: For their own health and well-being.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST