RT Daily Blog

Cover Chat: Twice Tempted by Jeaniene Frost

BY Dawn Crowne, NOVEMBER 19, 2012 | PERMALINK

Jeaniene Frost fans will be singing “Reunited and It Feels So Good” after this bit of news. Recently the author revealed the cover for Twice Tempted, the second Night Prince novel that releases March 26, 2013. And I don't know about you, but I absolutely cannot wait to get more of the love story between Vlad “don’t call me Dracula” Tepesh and his heroine Leila.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Heroines At Work In Sci-Fi Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 09, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author and genre blogger Heather Massey is here today to share with readers how sci fi romance differs from other subgenres of romance in a big way when it comes to the heroine's occupation. These leading ladies aren't the proper socialites you find in some historical stories or the everyday gals you meet in contemporary romances. From engineers to computer experts, ship pilots and beyond, Massey tells us how these professions shape the heroines of some of her favorite sci fi romances.

Here’s a word association challenge for you. If you were to identify the factors that define a romance heroine, which ones come immediately to mind? Social status? Virginity? Selflessness? Attractiveness? Capacity for love and forgiveness?

There are probably as many answers as there are heroines, but if you’re venturing into science fiction romance territory, these heroines are frequently defined in significant ways by their occupations. Each romance subgenre promises heroines with a variety of skills and traits, but one day I got to thinking about just how much sci-fi romance heroines are shaped by their occupations.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

More Of RT's 2012 Award Nominees - Paranormal / Urban Fantasy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 06, 2012 | PERMALINK

This week RT BOOK REVIEWS is revealing our nominees for 2012 Reviewers' Choice Awards. (We have already listed our picks for our favorite Historical Romance, Young Adult and Science Fiction/Fantasy books with other genres including Contemporary Romance, Mainstream and more to come later this week.) But right now, we are focused on the spooky monsters that go bump in the night, and the heroines that love them! Here is a list of our nominations for our favorite Paranormal Romance and Urban Fantasy novels of the year. Readers can click on the book covers below to learn more about the book including the RT review, summary and rating.

***

 

Nominated for Vampire Romance


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
19COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Kristen Painter On The Lure Of The Vampire Hero

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 31, 2012 | PERMALINK

Are vampires the ultimate bad boys? Today Kristen Painter, author of the popular House of Comarré series, weighs in on the debate. 

Much has been written about vampires and their enduring appeal, so no one’s questioning that they’re an enormously popular genre. In fact, as a culture, we’re no different in our love of the creatures than the generations before us. Well, maybe we love them a little more? Whether they be Bram Stoker’s dark count, Anne Rice’s rock stars or Kresley Cole’s sexy immortals, vampires in literature have survived – and thrived – through the ages as befitting their immortal status.

But why are females readers so drawn to them? Here are my own theories about these undead bad boys: I think much of the vampire hero’s allure lies in his excusable darkness. A bad boy without a great reason to be bad is just a jerk. A vampire, on the other hand, has a built-in reason to be dark, moody and dangerous. Depending on what series you’re reading, he might have been born bad, cursed into being bad, turned bad by a bite or infected with badness via some kind of parasite/host.

Regardless, it’s not his fault. And that makes him easier for us to love and forgive.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: Paranormal Edition With Hamilton, Armstrong And Singh

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 31, 2012 | PERMALINK

Usually on the RT Daily Blog we chat about just one book cover at a time, but in honor of Halloween (and because we are especially excited for these upcoming titles), today RT's Dawn is discussing three newly revealed covers from paranormal powerhouses Laurell K. Hamilton, Kelley Armstrong and Nalini Singh.

***

     

Those smirking ruby red lips and piercing blue eyes can only mean one thing — Anita Blake is back! On June 4, 2013 the incomparable Laurell K. Hamilton will release the twenty-second story in her Vampire Hunter series.

Readers hungering for more of Anita's edgy, sexy style will no doubt get their fix with Affliction, however, fans will have to wait a bit longer before finding out what adventure is next for this menacing heroine since the cover blurb has not yet been released. But have no fear because I have scoured the Internet for some clues about this upcoming title. And what I have found is that there promises to be some major drama regarding Anita and one of her partners, Micah. The author has written to readers on her blog and Twitter account: "Anita & Micah have to have a serious, sad talk." Hamilton also describes a scene from the story where the two characters visit Micah's family for some "hard emotional work".

While I have no doubt that mining some deep personal issues is on the agenda, I am also betting that some seriously sexy time is also coming our way. After all, Affliction's cover has Anita staring quite intently at a male figure and I for one am excited to read what she plans to do with this man lurking in the shadows.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

October's Paranormal Heroes Face Off

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 31, 2012 | PERMALINK

The paranormal heroes of October swept us off our feet. Their good looks, intriguing backstories and myriad of “super” skills have sparked a heated debate the merits of dating a gargoyle, shapeshifter and beyond. Today we are letting these gentlemen face off, so you can decide who you’d want to share your happily ever after with.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
12COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Thea Harrison

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 30, 2012 | PERMALINK

Last year, author Thea Harrison's Gold! rated Dragon Bound won RT Editors' Pick for Best Book of the Year. Since the series starter, four more Elder Races novels as well as several novellas have been released, each garnering rave reviews. With so much happening in the fast moving, paranormal series, we were very excited to discuss the works with the author at a recent conference. RT's Morgan sat down with Thea to talk dragons, medusas, vampires and more. Get ready for some inside tidbits about these books as well as why she returned to her characters Pia and Dragos for her newest release Lord's Fall. Also, learn about Harrison's next series, a romance duology featuring reincarnation.

Learn all about Thea Harrison's Elder Races series >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Erica Hayes On The Appeal Of Fallen Angels In Paranormal Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 26, 2012 | PERMALINK

In Erica Hayes' recent release Revelation, medical examiner Morgan Sterling isn't a believer, but when she meets fallen angel Luniel, the two must work together to stop a dangerous zombie virus from taking over their city. Luniel is after the demon princes responsible for unleashing the plague and must convince Morgan that the cure for the disease is more than medical. With more winged heroes gracing the pages of out favorite paranormal romance stories than ever before, we asked the author why angels make such appealing heroes. 

They slaughter innocents. They turn cities to salt. They smite their enemies with a ready sword, stained to the elbows in the blood of unbelievers and heretics. They're the relentless, remorseless bringers of holy vengeance, and they take no prisoners. Kind of like the Terminator with feathers.

Would you ever really want to meet an angel?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Susan And Clay Griffith

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 19, 2012 | PERMALINK

Writing duo Susan Griffith and Clay Griffith don't just pen action-packed tales that combine genres, they're also married! This year at New York Comic Con the couple talked with RT's Morgan about their steampunk fantasy trilogy, Vampire Empire, which came to a close last month with The Kingmakers.  In this video interview they discuss the end of their series, how they combine their favorite parts of different genres to create a unique, supernatural world, what it's like writing with your significant other, what's next for the duo and more!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
27COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Nicole Peeler At New York Comic Con

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 17, 2012 | PERMALINK

Urban Fantasy author Nicole Peeler is known for her humorous, action-packed Jane True series, featuring a heroine who discovers her magical inner selkie and solves mysteries with the help of a sexy vampire by her side. At New York Comic Con this year, RT's Morgan talked with the author about her heroine's superhero qualities and why the author can't give Jane a break when it comes to trouble! Plus, the author discusses her snarky side and reveals the traits she has in common with her character.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST