RT Daily Blog

Cover Chat: Rapture The Upcoming Fallen Angels Novel By J.R. Ward

BY Whitney Sullivan, MAY 16, 2012 | PERMALINK

J.R. Ward doesn’t just write some of the hottest vampires in paranormal fiction, she’s also created a class of fallen angels that may have you swearing to stay away from the pearly gates in order to steal some time with these exiled celestial beings. Ward plunged us into this dark and sexy series with 2009’s Covet and each fall has treated us to another installment with a snappy one-word title — Crave and Envy respectively — and some of the best dark heroes in romance today. (But don’t take my word for it on the heavenly hottie front, you’ve got time to pick up the first three books in the series before the upcoming book four, Rapture, is in stores this fall.)  

But if J.R. Ward’s name and the promise of sinfully sexy men aren’t enough to get you pre-ordering your own copy of Rapture, here is what we know we can expect:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Which Paranormal Heroes Make Your Heart Flutter? — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 15, 2012 | PERMALINK

The paranormal heroes of May swept us off our feet. Their good looks, intriguing backstories and myriad of “super” skills have sparked a heated debate the merits of dating an angel, sorcerer and beyond. Today we are letting these gentlemen face off, so you can decide who you’d want to share your happily ever after with. And if you let us know which man has stolen your heart by leaving a comment on this post and you’ll be entered to win a paranormal prize pack!


 

Darkest Caress

by Kaylea Cross

Meet The Man: Daegan Blackwell, naturally magical

His Story: This 2,000-year-old — but very well preserved, if you know what we mean — is "Empowered", one of the last of his kind, a breed of magical people on the brink of extinction.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
39COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Trends: Angel Wings — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 14, 2012 | PERMALINK

The newest class of angels featured in upcoming romance novels inspire some very passionate feelings in our hearts. One glance at these covers, and it’s easy to see why these heavenly beings have us positively wrapped around their fingers. It doesn't seem to matter what color these wings are or if they are made of smoke or tattoos, we bet you won’t be thinking of cherubs, halos or pearly gates when you take flight with any of the stories below. Plus, we're giving readers a chance to win two of these titles at the end of this post!

 

 

 

 

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
23COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Anne Rice

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 08, 2012 | PERMALINK

Bestselling author Anne Rice shares a look inside of her paranormal world in this RT-exclusive video interview. Rice chats with RT's Morgan, about vampire mythology and the author's most famous male characters - including Lestat. Then, go deep inside Rice's newest novel, The Wolf Gift, to discover what "called" to her about these paranormal creatures and the sequel she never thought she'd write. (Plus, the author reveals a look at the upcoming film adaptation of The Tale of the Body Thief — and who she'd tap to star!)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: The Sweetest Dark by Shana Abe

BY Whitney Sullivan, MAY 03, 2012 | PERMALINK

Beloved historical romance author Shana Abe debuted in 1998 and received immediate attention for her lush voice. But she certainly didn’t rest on her “published author” laurels for long, after just a few books Abe began adding fantasy elements to her tales, like shapeshifters and time travel. Her Drakon series kicked off with The Smoke Thief, which won an RT Reviewers’ Choice award in 2005 and introduced readers to dragon shapeshifters that would capture our imagination — and our hearts. So we were thrilled to learn that the author will once again be breaking new ground with a new paranormal historical series.

Book one, The Sweetest Dark, will hit shelves on August 21st and features the paranormal and historical elements that are this author’s signature style. When TSD picks up, we’re in England during 1915 — that’s smack dab in the second year of WWI for those of you who don’t normally head historical for your reading — and mysterious circumstances bring seventeen-year-old orphan Lora Jones to the elite (but oh so gothic) boarding school, Iverson. Lora has always been connected to an otherness, and according to the book’s official synopsis, literally, “hears songs that no one else can hear, dreams vividly of smoke and flight, and lives with a mysterious voice inside her that insists she’s far more than what she seems.”


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Charlaine Harris

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 01, 2012 | PERMALINK

Paranormal superstar Charlaine Harris continues to dazzles readers with her Sookie Stackhouse mysteries, including this month's Deadlocked, the second to last in the series. During the 2012 RT Booklovers Convention in April, RT's Morgan got a chance to sit down with the author to find out what's next after Sookie's story ends, Harris' thoughts on the HBO adaptation of the series, True Blood, and what readers can expect from the author's new project. Plus, Harris sheds some light on the newly-announced upcoming TV adaptation of her Harper Connelly series that has just been optioned by Syfy (you can read more about the project here).


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Steampunk: This Is Not Your Mother’s Victorian Era

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 30, 2012 | PERMALINK

Whether or not you are familiar with the paranormal sub-genre steampunk, these "retro futuristic" books are definitely here to stay. However, with so many different types of stories, readers can easily become confused by these gear and steam laden tales. But don't despair, we are here to help! Today we discuss what constitutes a steampunk story, suggest a few starter books for readers new to the sub-genre and preview a few of the upcoming tales that we can’t get our hand on. So let’s take a page from the steampunk genre and put on our traveling goggles to prepare for adventure!

SO, WHAT IS STEAMPUNK ?

The term “steampunk” is thought to have been coined during the 1980s, as an alternative to cyberpunk, to describe the books written in an HG Wells-ian and Jules Vern-ian style. At its most specific, the term refers to an alternate Victorian-era England where steam-powered inventions are all the rage. However, this premise provided so much fodder for authors and creators who quickly re-imagined the entire world pivotally changing at this moment in time.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Get Ready For Some Amazing Sci Fi And Fantasy Projects From The Syfy Network

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 27, 2012 | PERMALINK

It’s not secret that the television airwaves have recently been flooded with some outstanding science fiction and fantasy programming. And the success of HBO’s Game of Thrones and AMC’s Walking Dead have proven that sci fi and fantasy novels are worthy of being considered for TV series adaptations. So we weren’t surprised to learn that there are several more fantastic projects coming down the pipeline - this time from the Syfy Network.

This cable channel is hopping on the book-to-TV bandwagon with six new literary-related projects all expected to air in 2013. According to Syfy’s press release, viewers can expect to see a book series, short story, two stand-alone novels and two comic series transformed into TV shows. With more than a few talented producers and writers on board, we suspect longtime sci fi fans and genre newbies will be enjoying these promising programs and here’s why ...

In a similar vein as George R.R. Martin’s Song of Ice and Fire series, Stephen King’s medieval fantasy The Eyes of the Dragon is currently being scripted for a show by the same name. The novel follows a wicked magician as he attempts to overthrow the kingdom’s current king to steal the throne. With plenty of bloodshed and treachery, a writer from the TV-adaptation of King’s The Dead Zone and the producer of the mini-series adaptation of King’s Nightmares and Dreamscapes short story collection, we have a feeling the televised version of The Eyes of the Dragon will stay true to King’s work and satisfy fans of Game of Thrones.


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan And Whitney Dish: The Seduction Of Phaeton Black By Jillian Stone

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 26, 2012 | PERMALINK

This week Morgan and Whitney take a bite out of The Seduction of Phaeton Black, a steampunk story from author Jillian Stone. In this tale of love, lust and paranormal adventure, a detective on the hunt for a mysterious supernatural killer and an orphaned woman seeking justice for her recently deceased father will join forces, but will this unusual couple be able to find the right balance between work and pleasure?

Morgan: Before we start discussing this book, I feel like we need to get on the same page about character Phaeton Black. Hero or anti-hero?

Whitney: Hero. Sure he is a little … unusual, but that doesn’t mean that he isn’t still able to make the heroine’s heart flutter.

Morgan: Her heart and the “hearts” of many other ladies (and I’m using that term loosely). I say this rogue is a total anti-hero.

Whitney: Make your case.

Morgan: Point one: He sees specters and not the nice ones. His connection to the paranormal makes it nearly impossible to even be in normal society.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On the Black Dagger Brotherhood and Four-Letter words: J.R. Ward and Jessica Andersen Let Loose at Convention

BY Audrey Goodson Kingo, APRIL 25, 2012 | PERMALINK

As the newest staff member at RT BOOK REVIEWS magazine, this was my first time attending our convention — and boy was it a doozy! From meeting my favorite romance authors Susan Elizabeth Phillips and Loretta Chase to catching glimpses of fiction idols like Anne Rice and Sue Grafton, every minute of convention seemed to be packed with excitement. But my favorite moment, by far, was sitting in on the panel "No Holds Barred With J.R. Ward and Jessica Andersen." I'm not exaggerating when I say I've never encountered a more fanatic reader following than the people who were at this reader event. In fact, the crowd's obvious enthusiasm inspired me to pick up the Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood series, and just a week after convention, I'm already on book four. I can't wait until I get to the point that I understand all of the spoilers Ward divulged at the chat. Want to find out what they were? In Ward and Andersen's own words, "Keep reading!"


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
32COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST