RT Daily Blog

Extended Excerpt: Sherrilyn Kenyon's Born Of Shadows

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

Bestselling author Sherrilyn Kenyon gives us a peek between the covers of her newest League novel, the futuristic paranormal romance, Born of Shadows. Check out the first two pages of the story below and don’t miss the special treat at the end of this post!

***

Twenty-two Years Later

“Thank the gods you’re here. I’ve been running arou—”

Without flinching or breaking his stride as he walked down a filthy, dark alley, Caillen jerked his blaster out and fired straight into his sister’s shoulder, cutting her words off before she wasted his time.

Not to kill her or hurt her. Just to shut her up before she made things worse for both of them.

Right now, he didn’t have time to listen to her bullshit. He was here to save her life.

And hopefully his too.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Maggie Shayne's Children Of Twilight Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Maggie Shayne's characters from her upcoming Children of Twilight series. 

***

James and Brigit Poe are two characters unlike any others I’ve written. They are known among the enemies of the Undead as the “mongrel twins,” part human, part vampire. Even they don’t know the full extent of their powers. They seem to be immortal. They share vampiric traits such as the ability to communicate mentally, superhuman strength, bursts of impossible speed, and a craving for mortal blood. But they also share human traits, like the ability to walk in sunlight, and eat normal food. And they have other skills that neither humans nor vampires possess.

Only one of them was born alive. Little Brigit emerged from her mother’s womb blue and lifeless. Until in moment of raw power, her newborn brother instinctively gripped her little fingers in his own. And as he held on, his sister’s skin turned pink. She began to breathe.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: How To Flirt With A Naked Werewolf By Molly Harper

BY MORGAN, MARCH 02, 2011 | PERMALINK

Whitney and I sit down to dish about the recent release How to Flirt With a Naked Werewolf by Molly Harper. But first, the set up:

Mo Wenstein is the newest member of Grundy, Alaska, Mo moved from Mississippi and her ditzy parents in order to have an adventure - and she gets one! In Alaska she stumbles onto her soul "mate", who just happens to be a werewolf.

Cooper keeps his distance from others with a surly attitude, but he finds it impossible to stay away from sassy Mo. When she figures out he is a werewolf, Cooper is sure she will run, but this doesn't stop the southern gal from digging in for the duration. He just hopes the rash of violent wolf attacks that point to him won't scare her off... 

Now for the Dish:

Morgan: Okay, Whitney. You choose How to Flirt With a Naked Werewolf for our inaugural "Dish" post. Care to share why this one got the go?

Whitney: For a city girl the chance to visit the serene peace of Alaska - even if only on a fictional vacation - is not something to be passed up! I was more than ready to spend some time in the cold for Molly Harper's new paranormal romance. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Heather Webber's Absolutely, Postively: An RT-Exclusive Look At Lucy Valentine's Mail

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

Heather Webber brings back her popular heroine Lucy Valentine in this month's Absolutely, Positively. For a taste of the type of paranormal investigative work that Lucy does at Valentine, Inc, we've brought you an RT-exclusive look at some of Lucy's recent correspondence. 

Dear Lucy,
I have a big, big problem, and I hope you can help me. I “borrowed” one of my mother’s cocktail rings for a recent night on the town (it matched my outfit perfectly). I woke up the next morning after one too many mojitos and realized the ring was missing! I have no idea where I lost it—and I don’t really want to be cut out of the will. Can you help me?
-Comm Ave. Socialite


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Joss Ware On Selena Of Night Betrayed - The Newest Heroine Of The Envy Chronicles

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Joss Ware's Selena is no ordinary leading lady. In the post-apocalyptic world of Ware's the Envy Chronicles, Selena serves as a hospice worker, guiding people to their final rest. But when the nearly dead Theo survives the death rattle that Selena knows so well, she realizes that she may have finally met the man who is her match. Now the author brings us up to speed on everything we need to know before venturing into the zombie-infested world of Selena, Theo and what remains of society in Night Betrayed.

About a year ago, I found a book written by a hospice doctor that was a collection of his experiences with death and the dying. The stories and incidents were fascinating, and only added to stories I’d heard from other people—another hospice doctor whom I know personally, along with others who’ve worked or volunteered, or otherwise been present in situations when someone is dying.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Claim Your Team and Win ARCs from Jeaniene Frost and Pamela Palmer!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

In the February Issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS magazine we investigated the geometry of love triangles with the article "You, Me and Him". The RT editors shared which hero they are rooting for in several series that feature a heroine who is caught between a hunk and a dream boat. Now two of the Avon authors are getting into the team action with their paranormal series. 

"Team Bones" celebrates Jeaniene Frost's Night Huntress novels. The latest tale, This Side of the Grave, is a March RT Top Pick! It has Senior Reviewer Jill M. Smith saying, "While this series follows the course of Cat’s evolution and destiny, what makes these books so unforgettable is the sizzling and complex relationship between Cat and Bones." 

But maybe you are on "Team Kouga" and can't get enough of Pamela Palmer's Feral Warriors novels! This month sees the release of her new novel, Hunger Untamed. RT Reviewer Lauren Becker praises this series installment for its emotional depth. "Palmer skillfuly shows readers how it isn’t always easy to love your soul mate."

With heroes this hot (and heroines this cool) we won't blame you for being part of both camps!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
150COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Felix Gomez Comes To Comics!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

Mario Acevedo's popular vampire hero, Felix Gomez, is wowing fans in a whole new way as the star of a new graphic novel series. So we sat down with Mario Acevedo to find out what fans could expect from Felix's newest adventures which begins with Mario Acevedo's Felix Gomez: Killing the Cobra Chinatown Trollop.

RT BOOK REVIEWS: This is not the first time that you have written about Felix. How does the graphic novel Chinatown Trollop fit into your Felix Gomez series?

Mario Acevedo: This is the prequel to Felix Gomez’s adventures in my first novel, The Nymphos of Rocky Flats. Chris Ryall, the publisher at IDW, found the mention where Felix refers to a previous assignment against the Han Cobra Chinese heroin smugglers and suggested the graphic novel revolve around that episode.


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Tale Of Two Genres With Maureen Child (aka Regan Hastings)

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

It's "Inside the author's studio" with Maureen Child who also writes paranormal romances under the pen name Regan Hastings. Today this talented author shares what it's like to write across genres and what she does to sweep fans off their feet, no matter which genre of books they read.

As Maureen Child, I’ve written a lot of books for Silhouette Desire (soon to be Harlequin Desire). As Regan Hastings, I launched my brand new Awakening series of dark paranormal romances last week with the release of Visions of Magic. In both the category novels and the single titles, I created a fantasy experience for the reader, but of a very different sort.

For example, with January’s Have Baby, Need Billionaire, I created billionaire Simon Bradley. Tula’s love for him will have nothing to do with his money, of course, but the reader will know that she’ll never have to worry about how to pay her utility bill. She’ll have a life with the man she loves and who loves her, plus she’ll live in comfort and security forever. Desire readers tell me all the time that they love imagining themselves living in the heroine’s shoes.

The fantasy world I created in Visions of Magic, on the other hand, is not a place you’d want to live. It’s a dark and dangerous world where women who are suspected of witchcraft are imprisoned without trial. Fear is ubiquitous and has been for ten years, since society learned that magic is real. And the fear is founded in eye witness accounts of witches doing terrible things like setting people on fire.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The New Fallen Angels

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 01, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month bestselling author Anne Stuart takes on a new pseudonym to conquer the paranormal romance genre. Stuart, writing as Kristina Douglas, has created a series full of fallen angels, dead girls and an evil that just won't quit. Go behind the scenes of Raziel in this exclusive interview with the author.

RT BOOK REVIEWS: What do you find most intriguing about fallen angels?

Kristina Douglas: I love the paradox of perfect beauty and the cruelties of life. Of golden creatures brought low by human needs and struggling to make peace with their sacred and profane desires.

RT: How many times did you need to read the Bible in order to work out the events in your story?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Beat Back The Mid-Day Blues With Diana Pharaoh Francis

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

Earlier today we gave you a chance to share a coffee break with Caris Roane. Now it’s mid-afternoon and we hope that this check-in on Diana Pharaoh Francis' Horngate Witches will energize you to power through the rest of the mid-day doldrums!

Hi everyone! I hope your holidays have been wonderful and I want to wish you an extraordinary and healthy New Year. 
 
I’ve been thinking about the holidays at Horngate. Because it is a place of witches, the solstice would be the day of celebration. At the same time, many people who live there are non-magical and come from a variety of religious backgrounds. Add in the Shadowblades and Sunspears who are equally diverse, and you have an extravaganza of religious cultures. But I imagine that everything in the end would revolve around who they are now and what they’ve become—members of a covenstead and a sprawling, frequently dysfunctional family. 
 
On the solstice eve they would gather together in the Great Hall, as outside the wind howls and snow fills the air in a dense whirl of white chaos. Inside, the anneau floor is lit and the ceiling and walls is decorated with flowers, garlands, holly, herbs, witchlights, strands of silver, gold and copper. Overhead iron chandeliers full of beeswax candles shower down gold beams of light. The scents of rosemary, frankincense, myrrh, cedar and sage permeate the air. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST