RT Daily Blog

These Three May Novels Are Supernatural, Spicy And Proud Of It!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 26, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month there are three seriously spicy paranormals heating up the bookstore shelves. Virna DePaul, Karin Tabke and Denise Rossetti have each released paranormal reads with heat ratings that match the rising summer temperatures! To find out more about the caliente scenes in these sexy supernatural stories we went straight to the authors:

 

Blood Law
By Karin Tabke

Sons of Anarchy meets Rise of the Lycan. Blood Law is a story of primal survival. Of love, transcending age old hate. For this passionate love story to resonate, there was only one way to go: to paraphrase [the review of my book on] lovinmesomeromance, "It's stripped free of comedic humor and cumbersome layers leaving only the raw flesh and bones. No taboo is left unscathed and no soft words are used to cushion the often shocking and primal sexuality..."

     

Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Excerpt: Lynsay Sands' The Reluctant Vampire

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 25, 2011 | PERMALINK

After over a dozen books, author Lynsay Sands' Argeneau series is hotter than ever. Releasing next week is The Reluctant Vampire and in honor of the sizzling supernatural series, we are giving you a peek between the covers -- the entire first chapter of the story!

 ***

Drina hardly noticed the rhythmic tap of her heels as she descended the stairs from the plane.

Her attention was shifting from the winter-dead trees surrounding the private airstrip to the man leaning against the back of a small golf cart on the edge of the tarmac. With dark hair and skin and a black leather coat, he could have been mistaken for a shadow if it weren’t for his glowing gold-black eyes. They peered at her, steady and cold from between his black wool hat and scarf, and he remained utterly motionless until she stepped down onto the paved runway. Only then did he move, straightening and walking forward to meet her.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kresley Cole Reveals The Cover Of Lothaire Tomorrow Morning On Facebook

BY Whitney Sullivan, MAY 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

Trends in cover art come and go quickly. While the cartoon covers of the early '00s contemporary romances are out and there has been a noticeable decline in the number of rain boots featured on mainstream novels, in urban fantasies tattooed ladies are in and buff male chests remain the kings of paranormal romances.  

With all of our speculation about what's hot (and what's not) in the world of book covers, it is with bated breath that we await tomorrow morning's Facebook cover reveal of Kresley Cole's Lothaire. The novel is the latest in the author's popular Immortals After Dark series and features a mysterious and dangerous hero. While the book won't publish until January, we are already full of questions about the elusive Lothaire, including the look of his cover. The wait is over tomorrow morning at 9 AM when the author will reveal the artwork for Lothaire for the first time on her Facebook Page. We will meet you there bright and early for a sneak peek at this highly anticipated upcoming release!  

Visit Kresley Cole's Facebook page >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Magazine Extras: Nalini Singh Psy/Changeling Series Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

We are really looking forward to the latest chapter in bestselling author Nalini Singh's Psy/Changeling series, this month's Kiss of Snow — and we know you are too. Fans of the series have been clamoring to find out more about Hawke and Sienna since the series starter, Slave To Sensation. So to get you caught up on what's been happening between the mentally gifted Psy and the animal shifters known as Changelings, we are giving you a chance to win the series' nine-book backlist before Singh's new release hits shelves at the end of May. 

The author chatted with RT Executive Editor Faygie Levy about her popular paranormal series in the June issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS magazine. In the article “A Kiss of Romance, Times Two,” Singh gives an insider's look at the evolution of the series and talks a bit about what you can expect from Kiss of Snow.

And if that doesn't have you convinced that Kiss of Snow should definitely be in your TBR pile, each day for the next two weeks RT's Web Editor (and uber-fan) Morgan Doremus will reveal the reasons why she thinks Kiss of Snow is so great. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
255COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Stephanie Julian's What A Goddess Wants

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Stephanie Julian's upcoming series Forgotten Goddesses which begins in July with What a Goddess Wants. We go beyond the back cover blurb with the author who shares how this erotic paranormal romance puts a new spin on little known Etruscan goddesses.

***

What a Goddess Wants is the first in the Forgotten Goddesses erotic romance series from Sourcebooks Casablanca. The book features a beautiful goddess, a handsome hero, a nasty blue demon and a magical community that’s coexisted with ours in secret for several millennia.

Tessa is the Etruscan Goddess of the Sun, formerly adored by millions (well, that might be pushing it a little), but who’s now living in relative obscurity in Reading, Pennsylvania, where much of the Etruscan population has been settled for two hundred years.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Author Marcella Burnard

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Marcella Burnard thrilled readers with her debut novel last November's futuristic paranormal romance Enemy Within. This story was a November Top Pick and nominated for that month's Seal of Excellence. Burnard followed up Enemy Within with this month's Enemy Games, which also received a Top Pick. Today Burnard shares a look at her writing process and more in this video interview with RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus.

Marcella Burnard on her futuristic paranormal romances >>

Marcella Burnard on the differences between the first and second Enemy books >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Melissa Marr's First Novel For Adults Graveminder Optioned For Television Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month Melissa Marr releases her first adult novel, the paranormal fiction Graveminder. The novel, which got a Top Pick from RT's Senior Reviewer Jill Smith, has already been optioned for a television series. It was picked up by Ken Olin, the same man responsible for the popular shows Alias and Brothers & Sisters! The deal was made at the 2011 RT Booklovers Convention, but just recently announced. 

Graveminder wowed RT's Smith who says of Marr's latest, "In her atmospheric and eerie tale, readers and protagonists jointly discover the secrets literally buried in this small town as Marr weaves a richly gothic tale filled with curses, responsibility and death."


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Thea Harrison Answers Our Questions About Her Paranormal Romance Dragon Bound!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Thea Harrison thrilled us with her debut paranormal romance, this month's Dragon Bound. Harrison's story pits spunky heroine Pia against a dragon hero who is determined to uncover all of her secrets. The tale got a 4 1/2 stars Gold rating from RT Senior Reviewer Jill Smith who says, "Utilizing vivid characters, edge-of-your-seat danger and an intriguing alternate reality, Harrison crafts a novel that grabs you from the first sentence and makes you bitterly regret that the book must end." Now we chat with the author for an insider look at her brilliantly paranormal world, dynamic characters and what fans can expect when her series second hits shelves in August!

RT BOOK REVIEWS: There are a lot of interesting mythical creatures in Dragon Bound from gryphons, to an evil Dark Fae King, witches and even a temperamental dragon hero. How did you decide what characters would populate your world?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Susan Grant Takes Readers Around The World (And The Universe)

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Susan Grant has a reputation for transporting readers across the universe with her science fiction romance tales — and this month's The Last Warrior promises to be another trip that is (pardon our pun) out of this world. But Susan Grant is happy also happy to take people around the world during her day job, as a jumbo jet pilot who frequently heads to exotic locals. 

Most of you know me as a bestselling author of 15 assorted paranormal, military, and science fiction romances. A few may know that I live a double life as a 747 jumbo jet pilot, flying overseas routes for United Airlines.

I've flown commercially for 23 years, and before that I was a jet pilot for the US Air Force. In any given month I may land in China, South Korea, Australia, Vietnam, Hong Kong, Singapore, or Japan, staying a night or two then flying home.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kevin Hearne On The Deep Themes In His New Urban Fantasy Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Kevin Hearne gives readers a special look at his new urban fantasy series, The Iron Druid Chronicles. Learn about the serious themes that are hiding out in this series that unites different ancient gods and classic myths into one fast-paced adventure!

Hounded was written as much for my own entertainment as anyone else’s—and I certainly did not intend for it to be “deep” and fraught with the kind of gravitas that makes the jowls of college professors quiver portentously. But now that I’m a couple of years removed from writing it, I’m capable of putting on my English teacher hat and making up some pseudo-academic stuff that is entertaining in its own nerdy way.

Though I make no claims to literature with my series, there are some serious themes that are entirely intentional, such as the idea that only love and friendship can anchor a long-lived person to his or her humanity. A broader look at humanity’s struggle with faith vs. reason arose unintentionally, however, in the process of building the world.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST