RT Daily Blog

Continuing Paranormal Series to Curl Up With in December

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 07, 2010 | PERMALINK

Gearing up for the holiday season can take a lot out of a person. Sometimes your own life is complicated enough and you just want to curl up with a good book about characters you already know from an author you know you enjoy. Here are four of our paranormal picks for series continuing this month, with a special message from each author about what fans can expect in this installment of their series!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Wait is Over: Richelle Mead's Last Sacrifice Arrives Tomorrow -- Win it here!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 06, 2010 | PERMALINK

Richelle Mead's final novel in the popular Vampire Academy series, Last Sacrifice, has been anxiously anticipated by fans, and tomorrow the wait is over. The series conclusion will hit bookshelves on Tuesday, but in the meantime readers can check out the *Web Exclusive Review* of the story that RT Senior Reviewer Jill M. Smith calls, "A fitting end to an amazing series!" And don't miss your chance to enter to win a copy of this entire series. 

Read the *Web Exclusive Review* >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
12COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Ever-Innovative Jayne Ann Krentz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 02, 2010 | PERMALINK

Jayne Ann Krentz’s readers know that this bestselling author can always be counted on to do the unexpected. For example, in her always-evolving Arcane series, the author writes in the past present and future of the same series under her three different author names.

Now Krentz is turning a modern technology on its head as she “double-tweets” a short story. What does this mean for fans? We get to enjoy this Krentz short story told from both her perspective and that of Fallon Jones, the hero of her January romantic suspense, In Too Deep!

The story, which began on November 1st with a tweet from the author announcing that she was headed to Scargill Cove to interview Fallon James, has the pair of criss-crossing and commenting on the other's activities in a highly enjoyable fashion. Our eyes are peeled to see where this tale is headed next!

Check it out now >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

An Amazing E-Vent With Marjorie Liu and C.L. Wilson - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

Authors Marjorie Liu and C.L. Wilson are adding a special touch of magic to their new novels, In the Dark of Dreams and Crown of Crystal Flame, which release this week. These authors are not only hosting a joint book signing at Joseph-Beth in Cincinnati, they are streaming the event live so that fans around the globe can participate!

We love Liu for her quirky characters, fast paced action and memorable romances. Senior Reviewer Jill M. Smith has nominated In the Dark of Dreams for a 2010 Reviewers' Choice Award. She calls the latest Dirk & Steele adventure, "A terrific concoction filled with choice amounts of danger, passion and betrayal!"

Wilson, a fan favorite, is known for her richly detailed worlds full of adventure and fantasy. Her latest novel concludes the Tairen Song series. Not only did Crown of Crystal Flame receive an RT Top Pick! it was also nominated for RT's November Seal of Excellence.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance, Science Fiction
20COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Story Behind The Dark Divine

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 23, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Bree Despain shares the personal tale about the “what if” that inspired her series starter, The Dark Divine.

When I was little, one of my best friends was a boy who lived down the street from me. We spent hours together climbing in apricot trees, playing soccer, and letting our imaginations run wild. He was mischievous, always looking for ways to tease me—or trying to trick me into kissing him. However, in the second grade, his family moved across the country and we parted ways.

Several years later, I’d all but forgotten about my old friend when I walked into my ninth-grade history class, and was shocked to find a new guy sitting in the seat behind mine. In my quiet suburban neighborhood, this guy looked like Breetrouble with his long hair and torn clothes. I couldn’t see his face, and the idea of sitting near him made me nervous. I took my seat, reassuring myself that if I didn’t bother him, he wouldn’t bother me.

Except, the second I sat down, he started hassling me with obnoxious questions about my life. After I’d had enough, I turned around and snapped, “Who the hell do you think you are?”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jessica Andersen on being "Married With Children, Nightkeeper Style" - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Jessica Andersen on the challenge she faced while crafting her latest Nightkeeper novel - and don't miss the GIVEAWAY at the end of the post!

To channel the Princess Bride: “Mawwiage is what bwings us togevah heah.” Specifically, the mawwiage … er, marriage of Patience and Brandt White-Eagle, two powerful magic users who are on the front lines of the war for souls as we approach the 2012 doomsday.

 

Here’s the blurb:

Mayan lore and modern science warn that 12/21/2012 will bring a global cataclysm, and dark forces stand poised to crush mankind. Our only hope rests with a secret group of modern magic-wielders called Nightkeepers, who gain their full powers by finding and winning their destined mates. But what happens when the mated bond unravels?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Clay And Susan Griffith: Still Writing And Still Married

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

Thinking of trying your hand at writing collaboratively? Married authors Clay and Susan Griffith, know all about the hard work of co-authoring. They have just kicked off their newest series with The Greyfriar. Now the authors share how have melded their skills to become a successful team.

We are Clay and Susan Griffith, husband and wife authors that have written together for over twenty years.

And yes, we are still married.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Wrapping Up Paranormal Month With A List Of Upcoming Releases

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

Thanks so much for helping make our second theme month a success on the RT Daily Blog. We've celebrated paranormal novels all October with exclusive content and videos. (You can check out all of this month's paranormal action here.)


But we wouldn't dream of wrapping up our paranormal coverage without giving you a peek ahead at all the fun still to come in the genre. Here are six titles we are dying to get our hands on. Let us know which books you can't wait for in the comments below!

 

 

In The Dark Of Dreams by Marjorie M. Liu
Releases December 2010

December's Dirk and Steele novel returns Liu's diverse cast of supernatural beings to the ocean.

We've seen mind reading and manipulation of memories used for nefarious ends in this series before, but in this new release, we are happy to see that walking through other's dreams can be used for good instead of evil. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Rachel Caine

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Rachel Caine's latest novel, Ghost Townwas released this week. Ghost Towncontinues Caine's popular Young Adult Urban Vampire series, The Morganville Vampires. Now the author goes behind the scenes of her writing career and popular series in this interview with RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus. Caine catches readers up with her Morganville heroine, Claire, and discusses her latest adventure.

Rachel Caine On Her Writing Career and Popular Series >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Announcing RT's October Seal of Excellence Winner: Meljean Brook's The Iron Duke!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 27, 2010 | PERMALINK

The RT Editors have chosen Meljean Brook's steampunk series starter, The Iron Duke, as the seventh Seal of Excellence recipient. The novel captured our editors' attention with its intricate plot and accessible steampunk version of London. 

But why was The Iron Duke awarded the RT Seal Of Excellence and which other titles were contenders for the month of October? 

Find Out >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST