RT Daily Blog

Meet Rebecca Royce's Westervelt Wolves

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

Rebecca Royce looks back at the evolution of her popular paranormal series about shapeshifters The Westervelt Wolves. Learn how inspiration for this furry clan struck the author like a bolt of lightening, and what fans can expect next.

Welcome to Westervelt!

Let me start out by saying that I am so unbelievable excited to be here today blogging about my series: The Westervelt Wolves. Thank you so much for having me!

The Westervelt Wolves started with the book Her Wolf. It is the story of Tristan and Ashlee and how their love story began the struggle of the Westervelt Wolves to reclaim their lives from the horror their father’s evil plots pushed upon them. Her Wolf came to me one day when I was at the zoo with my kids. I looked at the wolf pen and, since I am a fan of all things paranormal romance, I thought: “what if one of these wolves was not a wolf but a wolf-shifter trapped in that cage?”


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Devyn Quinn's Darkness Descending

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Devyn Quinn's upcoming novel, Darkness Descending. We go beyond the back cover blurb with the author who shares how this August's Buffy-inspired novel became the start of something so much more.

***

Darkness Descending, the first book of my Vampire Armageddon series with NAL, had a difficult journey finding its place in this world. It all began when I was watching a popular television show about a certain young blonde vampire slayer. The one thing that always struck me was how easy it seemed to create a vampire. A bite, the victim dies, and then rises instant vampire! As Ricky would say to Lucy, it seemed to me that there was more 'splainin’ needed to make everything mesh in a logical manner.

I know, I know. It's all fiction, right? But I want my fiction to make sense, I say, as I pound my desk with a fist.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Karen Harper And Erin Quinn On Writing Irish Characters - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

Happy St. Patrick’s Day! We celebrating the holiday with a very special interview. Karen Harper and Erin Quinn two of our favorite authors who bring the Emerald Isle to life in fiction with their Ireland-set tales! And don’t miss your chance to win Karen Harper’s The Irish Princess and an ADVANCED READER COPY of Erin Quinn’s Haunting Desire at the end of this interview

***

Both of you are obviously attracted to Ireland as a setting for your historicals. What drew you to use Ireland, other, perhaps, than Irish descent?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
28COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hannah Jayne Shares Her Approach To Writing

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Hannah Jayne shares why "There is no plan B" when it comes to her writing career. Learn how the author of this month's Urban Fantasy series starter Under Wraps dove head first into writing.

I’ve known I was going to be a writer since the second grade. I had a brilliant plan post-college — work a respectable 9 to 5 each day, push out the Great American Novel at night. I mean really, how hard could it be? Twenty years and innumerable Pepto-pink cubicle walls later, my 9 to 5 was causing me chest pains and buying my therapist a Mercedes and I had written exactly… nothing. I mean, if you don’t count grocery lists, raving manifestos and scathing emails to Microsoft denouncing their products (I’ve since gone Mac, btw).

So I quit my job. If I was going to be a writer, what better time to start than right now, right?

When I tell this to would-be authors, I’m always met with saucer-wide eyes. “But… what if it didn’t work out?”

To which I stare back blankly.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Excerpt: Ann Aguirre's Shady Lady

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Get a peek between the covers of  Ann Aguirre's new Urban Fantasy novel, Shady Lady. With this extended excerpt you can dive right into the latest Corine Solomon adventure which will hit stores in April!

***

Lust sizzled through me. There were two of them, a matched pair. I knew a woman wasn’t supposed to want such things, but sometimes we had desires—dark desires—that couldn’t be denied. There was no doubt about it.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Excerpt: Sherrilyn Kenyon's Born Of Shadows

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

Bestselling author Sherrilyn Kenyon gives us a peek between the covers of her newest League novel, the futuristic paranormal romance, Born of Shadows. Check out the first two pages of the story below and don’t miss the special treat at the end of this post!

***

Twenty-two Years Later

“Thank the gods you’re here. I’ve been running arou—”

Without flinching or breaking his stride as he walked down a filthy, dark alley, Caillen jerked his blaster out and fired straight into his sister’s shoulder, cutting her words off before she wasted his time.

Not to kill her or hurt her. Just to shut her up before she made things worse for both of them.

Right now, he didn’t have time to listen to her bullshit. He was here to save her life.

And hopefully his too.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Maggie Shayne's Children Of Twilight Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Maggie Shayne's characters from her upcoming Children of Twilight series. 

***

James and Brigit Poe are two characters unlike any others I’ve written. They are known among the enemies of the Undead as the “mongrel twins,” part human, part vampire. Even they don’t know the full extent of their powers. They seem to be immortal. They share vampiric traits such as the ability to communicate mentally, superhuman strength, bursts of impossible speed, and a craving for mortal blood. But they also share human traits, like the ability to walk in sunlight, and eat normal food. And they have other skills that neither humans nor vampires possess.

Only one of them was born alive. Little Brigit emerged from her mother’s womb blue and lifeless. Until in moment of raw power, her newborn brother instinctively gripped her little fingers in his own. And as he held on, his sister’s skin turned pink. She began to breathe.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: How To Flirt With A Naked Werewolf By Molly Harper

BY MORGAN, MARCH 02, 2011 | PERMALINK

Whitney and I sit down to dish about the recent release How to Flirt With a Naked Werewolf by Molly Harper. But first, the set up:

Mo Wenstein is the newest member of Grundy, Alaska, Mo moved from Mississippi and her ditzy parents in order to have an adventure - and she gets one! In Alaska she stumbles onto her soul "mate", who just happens to be a werewolf.

Cooper keeps his distance from others with a surly attitude, but he finds it impossible to stay away from sassy Mo. When she figures out he is a werewolf, Cooper is sure she will run, but this doesn't stop the southern gal from digging in for the duration. He just hopes the rash of violent wolf attacks that point to him won't scare her off... 

Now for the Dish:

Morgan: Okay, Whitney. You choose How to Flirt With a Naked Werewolf for our inaugural "Dish" post. Care to share why this one got the go?

Whitney: For a city girl the chance to visit the serene peace of Alaska - even if only on a fictional vacation - is not something to be passed up! I was more than ready to spend some time in the cold for Molly Harper's new paranormal romance. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Heather Webber's Absolutely, Postively: An RT-Exclusive Look At Lucy Valentine's Mail

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

Heather Webber brings back her popular heroine Lucy Valentine in this month's Absolutely, Positively. For a taste of the type of paranormal investigative work that Lucy does at Valentine, Inc, we've brought you an RT-exclusive look at some of Lucy's recent correspondence. 

Dear Lucy,
I have a big, big problem, and I hope you can help me. I “borrowed” one of my mother’s cocktail rings for a recent night on the town (it matched my outfit perfectly). I woke up the next morning after one too many mojitos and realized the ring was missing! I have no idea where I lost it—and I don’t really want to be cut out of the will. Can you help me?
-Comm Ave. Socialite


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Joss Ware On Selena Of Night Betrayed - The Newest Heroine Of The Envy Chronicles

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Joss Ware's Selena is no ordinary leading lady. In the post-apocalyptic world of Ware's the Envy Chronicles, Selena serves as a hospice worker, guiding people to their final rest. But when the nearly dead Theo survives the death rattle that Selena knows so well, she realizes that she may have finally met the man who is her match. Now the author brings us up to speed on everything we need to know before venturing into the zombie-infested world of Selena, Theo and what remains of society in Night Betrayed.

About a year ago, I found a book written by a hospice doctor that was a collection of his experiences with death and the dying. The stories and incidents were fascinating, and only added to stories I’d heard from other people—another hospice doctor whom I know personally, along with others who’ve worked or volunteered, or otherwise been present in situations when someone is dying.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST