RT Daily Blog

Top Time Travel Tales!

BY Whitney Sullivan, OCTOBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

We have been celebrating parnormal books all month long, but one classic trope has been forgotten until now--time travel. So we asked some of our favorite romance authors what time travel story they like best and here are their answers:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sink Your Teeth Into Paranormal Series!

BY Whitney Sullivan, OCTOBER 18, 2010 | PERMALINK

With Halloween right around the corner, there's nothing I like better than to sink my teeth into a great paranormal series and read through an entire multi-book arc. Here's a look at some of the paranormal series that are being continued this month:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Laura Wright's Unusual Sources Of Inspiration ...

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 15, 2010 | PERMALINK

Laura Wright’s new series, Mark of the Vampire, is getting buzz because of her incredibly sexy alpha heroes. This month's Eternal Hunger kicks off the series with the dark and mysterious vampire Alexander Roman. Discover Wright’s unexpected inspiration for this new world: 

I love the subject of inspiration. Because, honestly, isn’t creativity difficult without it? Sure, you can muscle through your plotting, make choices, etc – but inspiration, that beginning kernel of an idea that spawns into a full fledge story is vital and wonderful.  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Sherrilyn Kenyon

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 14, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Sherrilyn Kenyon is interviewed by RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus at the 2010 New York Comic Con. The author shares the inspiration for her Lords of Avalon series and speaks about her 2011 projects including her upcoming Dark-Hunter novel, Redemption.

Sherrilyn Kenyon Chats About Her Many Series and Projects >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The RT Editors' Recent Paranormal Picks!

BY Whitney Sullivan, OCTOBER 13, 2010 | PERMALINK

We are thrilled to be celebrating our love for paranormal novels all month long. Gutsy heroines, vicious villains and bone-chilling things that go bump in the night — these are a few of our favorite things. So I was wondering which paranormal novels the RT Editors were currently enjoying. It came as no surprise that their recent paranormal reads included all of these thrilling elements and even a few novels that will appeal to readers who don't normally enjoy paranormal fare!

 

Faygie Levy's Pick:

Her recent paranormal reads included the first in the new latest series from J.K. Beck, which wraps up at the end of this month with When Wicked Craves. "Her series is an intriguing take on paranormal. And I am currently enjoying Marcella Burnard's Enemy Within, which comes out on November 2nd. This book starts off with a bang!"

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jane Austen With A Paranormal Twist

BY Morgan Doremus, OCTOBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

There have been many Jane Austen adaptations over the years - traditional retellings, contemporary spins (including my favorite, Clueless) and even the inclusion of a monster or two. This month readers can enjoy a whole new take on Jane Austen's beloved stories when four historical romance authors use Ms. Austen's characters as inspiration for their new paranormal anthology Bespelling Jane Austen. So how does one go about picking an Austen story to adapt? Find out here.

Susan Krinard writes "Blood & Prejudice"

Pride & Prejudice is my favorite Austen story. I like it most because Darcy is the kind of hero I really enjoy: standoffish, apparently arrogant, but also deeply compassionate underneath. He's a strong man who is also responsible, and it doesn't hurt that he's tall, dark and handsome! Lizzy, too, is my favorite kind of heroine: "spunky," acerbic, and a match for any man. How could I not love this story? (Plus, Darcy makes a fantastic vampire!)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kalayna Price's Grave Undertaking

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 07, 2010 | PERMALINK

Kaylana Price kicks off her new urban fantasy series with this month's release, Grave Witch. The series heroine, Alex, has the ability to see into the world of spirits and this witch's powers are attracting the attention of an unusual admirer. Get an inside look at the world of a heroine who is not afraid to flirt with Death!

My vision narrowed, leaving the world faded behind a patina of gray. Flakes of rust covered the stainless steel gurney, and the threadbare, tattered linen sheet covering the body rippled in the breeze blowing through me. The linoleum floor under my boots had worn away, and the cement beneath it crumbled. Outside the circle, John’s wrinkled jacket was pocked with holes, but he was filled with light, his soul a dazzling shimmer of pale yellow.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

What I Fear Most...by James Rollins

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 05, 2010 | PERMALINK

Thriller author James Rollins has made a career of scaring people. From biological disasters to corrupt companies, Rollins incorporates many of modern society’s fears into his novels. The author, who is also behind the movie novelization of the latest Indiana Jones movie, has several dangerous hobbies. So what scares a man who spends his free time spelunking, scuba diving and traveling to the unknown?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Jacquelyn Frank

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 04, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Jacquelyn Frank has made a remarkable journey from the lowest low, being nearly homeless, to the highest height, achieving her dream of becoming a best-selling author. Now the author, who is known for her unique paranormal tales, is taking on a new challenge. Under the pseudonym Jax, Frank has released her first erotic science fiction tale, The Bid, which features shapeshifters, slaves and a blue heroine. RT Reviewer Joyce Morgan raves about the book, "Read it for the suspense, the worldbuilding or the sex scenes — most of all, read it for the fascinating storyline that builds to a pulse-pounding climax."

This new endeavor is just one more surprise in a life of many transformations. So how did she do it? Frank shares her story with RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus. Learn about the ups and downs of her publishing career and find out how a writing contest changed her entire life. Frank also offers her advice for aspiring authors.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Making Memories With Mal

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 04, 2010 | PERMALINK

Eve Silver’s third Otherkin brother, Malthus Krayl, is the hero of Sins of the Flesh. Mal believes in working hard while harvesting evil souls for his father, underworld god Sutekh and playing hard, especially when it comes to romancing women. But what's this ladies' man to do when he meets his match in the beautiful Calliope? Watch the action unfold in this exclusive Sins of the Flesh extra!

Last month, readers got a glimpse of Dinner with Alastor, the suit-clad, über-controlled, incredibly sexy hero of Sins of the Soul. The month before that it was A Date with Dagan, the dark and dangerous hero of Sins of the Heart.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST