RT Daily Blog

Author Interview: Sherrilyn Kenyon

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 14, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Sherrilyn Kenyon is interviewed by RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus at the 2010 New York Comic Con. The author shares the inspiration for her Lords of Avalon series and speaks about her 2011 projects including her upcoming Dark-Hunter novel, Redemption.

Sherrilyn Kenyon Chats About Her Many Series and Projects >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The RT Editors' Recent Paranormal Picks!

BY Whitney Sullivan, OCTOBER 13, 2010 | PERMALINK

We are thrilled to be celebrating our love for paranormal novels all month long. Gutsy heroines, vicious villains and bone-chilling things that go bump in the night — these are a few of our favorite things. So I was wondering which paranormal novels the RT Editors were currently enjoying. It came as no surprise that their recent paranormal reads included all of these thrilling elements and even a few novels that will appeal to readers who don't normally enjoy paranormal fare!

 

Faygie Levy's Pick:

Her recent paranormal reads included the first in the new latest series from J.K. Beck, which wraps up at the end of this month with When Wicked Craves. "Her series is an intriguing take on paranormal. And I am currently enjoying Marcella Burnard's Enemy Within, which comes out on November 2nd. This book starts off with a bang!"

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jane Austen With A Paranormal Twist

BY Morgan Doremus, OCTOBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

There have been many Jane Austen adaptations over the years - traditional retellings, contemporary spins (including my favorite, Clueless) and even the inclusion of a monster or two. This month readers can enjoy a whole new take on Jane Austen's beloved stories when four historical romance authors use Ms. Austen's characters as inspiration for their new paranormal anthology Bespelling Jane Austen. So how does one go about picking an Austen story to adapt? Find out here.

Susan Krinard writes "Blood & Prejudice"

Pride & Prejudice is my favorite Austen story. I like it most because Darcy is the kind of hero I really enjoy: standoffish, apparently arrogant, but also deeply compassionate underneath. He's a strong man who is also responsible, and it doesn't hurt that he's tall, dark and handsome! Lizzy, too, is my favorite kind of heroine: "spunky," acerbic, and a match for any man. How could I not love this story? (Plus, Darcy makes a fantastic vampire!)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kalayna Price's Grave Undertaking

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 07, 2010 | PERMALINK

Kaylana Price kicks off her new urban fantasy series with this month's release, Grave Witch. The series heroine, Alex, has the ability to see into the world of spirits and this witch's powers are attracting the attention of an unusual admirer. Get an inside look at the world of a heroine who is not afraid to flirt with Death!

My vision narrowed, leaving the world faded behind a patina of gray. Flakes of rust covered the stainless steel gurney, and the threadbare, tattered linen sheet covering the body rippled in the breeze blowing through me. The linoleum floor under my boots had worn away, and the cement beneath it crumbled. Outside the circle, John’s wrinkled jacket was pocked with holes, but he was filled with light, his soul a dazzling shimmer of pale yellow.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

What I Fear Most...by James Rollins

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 05, 2010 | PERMALINK

Thriller author James Rollins has made a career of scaring people. From biological disasters to corrupt companies, Rollins incorporates many of modern society’s fears into his novels. The author, who is also behind the movie novelization of the latest Indiana Jones movie, has several dangerous hobbies. So what scares a man who spends his free time spelunking, scuba diving and traveling to the unknown?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Jacquelyn Frank

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 04, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Jacquelyn Frank has made a remarkable journey from the lowest low, being nearly homeless, to the highest height, achieving her dream of becoming a best-selling author. Now the author, who is known for her unique paranormal tales, is taking on a new challenge. Under the pseudonym Jax, Frank has released her first erotic science fiction tale, The Bid, which features shapeshifters, slaves and a blue heroine. RT Reviewer Joyce Morgan raves about the book, "Read it for the suspense, the worldbuilding or the sex scenes — most of all, read it for the fascinating storyline that builds to a pulse-pounding climax."

This new endeavor is just one more surprise in a life of many transformations. So how did she do it? Frank shares her story with RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus. Learn about the ups and downs of her publishing career and find out how a writing contest changed her entire life. Frank also offers her advice for aspiring authors.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Making Memories With Mal

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 04, 2010 | PERMALINK

Eve Silver’s third Otherkin brother, Malthus Krayl, is the hero of Sins of the Flesh. Mal believes in working hard while harvesting evil souls for his father, underworld god Sutekh and playing hard, especially when it comes to romancing women. But what's this ladies' man to do when he meets his match in the beautiful Calliope? Watch the action unfold in this exclusive Sins of the Flesh extra!

Last month, readers got a glimpse of Dinner with Alastor, the suit-clad, über-controlled, incredibly sexy hero of Sins of the Soul. The month before that it was A Date with Dagan, the dark and dangerous hero of Sins of the Heart.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

What I Fear Most...by Jennifer Allison

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Jennifer Allison is best known for her Young Adult series about the psychic investigator Gilda Joyce. However, the author has written a different type of paranormal tale for the anthology Fear: 13 Stories of Suspense and Horror. Her new story “The Perfects” combines several classic spine-tingling elements: creepy little kids, freaky dolls and a house of horror. So we had to know, what frightens Jennifer Allison?

When I was a child, I often awoke in the middle of the night and stared at various objects in my room. If you have any sort of imagination at all, this is a very bad idea. Naturally, my eyes played tricks on me, and I still remember my horror as I saw the shadowy figures of my plastic Barbie dolls appear to move in the darkness.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

October Is Paranormal Month!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

As the nights get longer and the days get colder, who doesn't love to curl up with a good book? (Or even better, a good series?) We stocking up on the paranormal romances and urban fantasies that keep us up at night and helping readers find the best chilling tales because October is Paranormal Month on the RT Daily Blog!

The publishing industry is certainly making this easy. Last week eight new paranormal and urban fantasy titles from our TBR list hit the bookstores. And throughout the month the latest novels will become available from fan-favorites L.A. Banks, Ilona Andrews, Meljean BrookRachel Vincent and more!

We will be celebrating the paranormal genre on the RT Daily Blog with video interviews, guest blogs and great giveaways. You will also find out who are our favorite vampires, what urban fantasy creatures have us staying out of dark allies and which evil villain we'd fight in our own adventure. Want to take part in the action? You can with our month long "Dress The Character!" costume contest that will be revealed next week. And all the action leads up to our "Haunted Halloween" Giveaway!

To give you a taste of the action coming out this month - take a look at October's Paranormal Top Picks!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mindy Klasky's Genie In A Bottle

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

What would you wish for if a genie offered to make your dreams come true? A healthy family? The perfect job? A chance with your one true love? The possibilities seem endless! In author Mindy Klasky's newest novel, To Wish Or Not To Wish, a genie agrees to grant Erin Hollister three wishes. But with only three chances to get it right, she’s faced with a serious dilemma. So, we asked the author what she would wish for... 

One genie... Multiple wishes... When I started to write the As You Wish series, I let my imagination run wild with possibilities.

Okay. For storytelling purposes, I needed to put a limit on the wishes my characters could make. I mean, world peace, the eradication of poverty, and a cure for all diseases might make for a wonderful place to live out the rest of our natural lives, but as background for a romance? Not so much fun...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST