RT Daily Blog

1001 Dark Nights with Shayla Black — Plus Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

It’s a new year, the perfect time for an exciting new publishing project! How about one based on The Arabian Nights: 1001 Nights, helmed by Liz Berry and MJ Rose? You’ll remember that in those 1001 tales, Scheherazade desperately attempts to entertain her husband, the King of Persia, with new tales so he will postpone her execution.

1001 Dark Nights is a collection of sexy erotic or paranormal novellas, written by 12 bestselling authors, including Heather Graham, Larissa Ione and Lorelei James, who will entertain readers long into the night. The stories will be released one per month throughout 2014. Shayla Black, the first author to be featured in this new undertaking, has an excerpt of her story to peek at today. Read on for more — and a giveaway!

Shayla tells us:


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Bitten Recap: Episode 1.1 - "Summons"

BY Mala Bhattacharjee, JANUARY 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

Hey, werewolf lovers and genre TV aficionados! Bitten is based on the bestselling first book in RT favorite Kelley Armstrong's Otherworld series. It's simultaneously airing in Canada and the U.S. You know what means? Grab your toque and your Timbits and settle in for some sexy skin!

We open on an apartment, clothing scattered in a trail to a bedroom, as our very naked heroine, Elena Michaels, takes a guy for a spin. But then it gets weird. Elena (Laura Vandervoort, when book Elena is a bit more Laura Dern-with-muscles) makes excuses to her guy Philip and bolts. Cramps? Nausea? Too many tacos? No, she’s shifting! She quickly finds an alley, strips down, and turns into a wolf! Elsewhere, a cute young guy questions a girl at a bar about the mysterious Danvers family who live out in the country — and calls her a slut for her troubles. (Screw you, too, buddy.) The girl walks through the woods as Elena prowls for prey…and pounces! But, psych, wolf Elena actually dove for a rabbit. That means someone else kills the girl…

Elena and Philip, being all normal

source


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jaye Wells' Left-Handed Path To Dirty Magic

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 13, 2014 | PERMALINK

It's always interesting to see how urban fantasy authors seamlessly blend the familiar and the supernatural. It makes us wonder what's really going on in the cities we live in. Is the hustle and bustle just a convenient ruse for underground paranormal doings? What's our next-door neighbor really having delivered in all those boxes? Today we've got author Jaye Wells here to tells us what being left-handed — a seemingly innocent characteristic — has to do with her new Prospero's War series, which starts with RT Top Pick! Dirty Magic, out next week.

I don’t know what it is, but I am always drawn to writing about characters who are outliers in some way. For example, in my Sabina Kane series, I used the fact that many cultures view redheads with suspicion and used it to create an entire race of redheaded vampires. I’ve also written about drag queens, changelings, mixed-bloods, people with rare blood types and a whole host of edge-dwellers in my fiction. So I guess it was really no surprise that I would choose to based the entire magical world of my new series on people who are left-handed.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Q&A: Christine Feehan Talks Dark Wolf — Plus A Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

Christine Feehan fans — and we know there are a lot of 'em — have been waiting with bated breath for Skyler’s story. And it’s finally here, with the RT Top Pick! rated Dark Wolf. In this exclsuive interview, Christine talks Skyler, what it’s like writing the 25th book in a series and more. And we’re also giving away 3 hardcover copies of the book! Read through for details.

***

Your fans have been waiting for Skyler to be old enough to have her own story. Why do you think readers have grown so attached to her and what does it mean to you to be able to tell her story?

I think the readers are attached to Skyler because she was introduced as a child and had such a terrible childhood; they wanted a happy ending for her. I was very excited to tell her story because I honestly didn’t think I would be able to. It has been 10 years in the making. The anticipation and build up was so huge it was rather daunting. I was glad the 1st book in the trilogy came to me.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Story So Far … Molly Harper's Naked Werewolves

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

Series are the name of the game in the paranormal genre, it seems. But how to catch up? Where to start? We at RT are here for you, as always. Today we’ve got Molly Harper, author of the bestselling Naked Werewolf series, to catch us up, because her third, RT Top Pick! rated, How to Run with a Naked Werewolf, is out today. Because how could you not want to know about Naked Werewolves?! Wait, aren’t all werewolves naked? See, we’ve got questions already. Take it away, Molly!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Book Hankerings: Our Most Anticipated Paranormal & Urban Fantasy Coming In 2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 07, 2014 | PERMALINK

Happy New Year, readers! The best thing about the new year, in our humble opinions anyway, is all the new books to look forward to! We don’t know about you, but there are an awful lot of books we’re hankering for in 2014. In the hopes that you’ll join us in obsessing, over the next week we’ll be listing our most anticipated books of 2014, by genre. Today, we continue with paranormal and urban fantasy!


 

Murder of Crows by Anne Bishop

Releases March 2014

Bishop's Written in Red made many best of 2013 lists, including RT editor Regina Small's, so we're very hopeful about the next book in the series, Murder of Crows. Now that the world of the Courtyard and the terra indigene has been fully established, it'll be interesting to see how Meg continues to dodge those who want to kidnap her to exploit her blood prophet talents. And let's be real, we'd definitely like to see more of Simon Wolfgard.

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cat Devon on Life Imitating Art — Her Life!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 26, 2013 | PERMALINK

Truth is stranger than fiction, or so the saying goes. But what happens when truth and fiction collide, like in Cat Devon’s latest, Love Your Entity? Today the author is here to tell us about how she couldn’t resist having a little fun with her publishing team …

I swear, I’ve never used a real person in a book of mine before.  But the fact that my heroine, Sierra Brennan, in Love Your Entity is an author opened the door for me to use people on my publishing team in my book … with their permission, of course! 

I know some authors who have offered to use a real person’s name in a book as an item in a charity auction. Others have even used social media for help in deciding what name to give a character. 

I haven’t done either of those things yet.


Read More>>

Tags: Vampire, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday Free For All: Emma Jane Holloway's Baskerville Affair Trilogy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 20, 2013 | PERMALINK

What better way to ease the stress of last minute holiday planning than with some free books? Today we have Emma Jane Holloway's Baskerville Affair trilogy — A Study in Silks, A Study in Darkness and A Study in Ashesto give away to one lucky reader.

The steampunk series follows amateur sleuth Evelina Cooper, niece of Sherlock Holmes, who is expected to live up to the talents of her infamous uncle. She's hiding her magical talent for running machines in a Victorian society where steam barons have a monopoly on mechanical power, a secret that could put her life in danger. One of the most charming parts about this series? Evelina's mechanical pets — a mouse and bird who help her spy. Oh, and did we mention the handsome rake who catches Evelina's eye? This romantic steampunk series will definitely interest fans of Susanna Clarke's Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell.

Ready to win? Enter using the widget below. This giveaway is open to U.S. residents and ends 12/27/2013. A winner will be announced here 12/30. Good luck!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Editors' Best of 2013: Trent's Picks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 18, 2013 | PERMALINK

This blog post is part of a series that the RT Editors will be taking part in during the month of December. Please check back all month long for each editor's installment!

***

With 2013 winding down, the RT editors thought December would be a good time to reflect on what each of us read this year and which books stuck with us long after we finished them. While this year's RT Awards winners won't be announced until our convention in May, we've decided to share our personal favorites of 2013, in no particular order. Although he's not an editor, Convention Assistant Trent Hart is definitely a rabid reader. Today he shares his favorite reads of the year. 

***

 

Autumn Whispers
by Yasmine Galenorn


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Story So Far ... Larissa Ione on The Lords of Deliverance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 17, 2013 | PERMALINK

Whether you're all set for the holidays or scrambling to keep up (and, seriously, don't talk to us if you're done with everything), there's always time for a reading break! Today we've got a series primer on Larissa Ione's Lords of Deliverance series. A spin-off of her Demonica series, these five books star the four horsemen of the apocalypse, and today, the long-awaited Reaver gets his tale — and it's an RT Top Pick! and Reviewer's Choice Award nominee. We wanted to get caught up, and Larissa was kind enough to provide a primer. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST