RT Daily Blog

Book Hankerings: Our Most Anticipated Paranormal & Urban Fantasy Coming In 2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 07, 2014 | PERMALINK

Happy New Year, readers! The best thing about the new year, in our humble opinions anyway, is all the new books to look forward to! We don’t know about you, but there are an awful lot of books we’re hankering for in 2014. In the hopes that you’ll join us in obsessing, over the next week we’ll be listing our most anticipated books of 2014, by genre. Today, we continue with paranormal and urban fantasy!


 

Murder of Crows by Anne Bishop

Releases March 2014

Bishop's Written in Red made many best of 2013 lists, including RT editor Regina Small's, so we're very hopeful about the next book in the series, Murder of Crows. Now that the world of the Courtyard and the terra indigene has been fully established, it'll be interesting to see how Meg continues to dodge those who want to kidnap her to exploit her blood prophet talents. And let's be real, we'd definitely like to see more of Simon Wolfgard.

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cat Devon on Life Imitating Art — Her Life!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 26, 2013 | PERMALINK

Truth is stranger than fiction, or so the saying goes. But what happens when truth and fiction collide, like in Cat Devon’s latest, Love Your Entity? Today the author is here to tell us about how she couldn’t resist having a little fun with her publishing team …

I swear, I’ve never used a real person in a book of mine before.  But the fact that my heroine, Sierra Brennan, in Love Your Entity is an author opened the door for me to use people on my publishing team in my book … with their permission, of course! 

I know some authors who have offered to use a real person’s name in a book as an item in a charity auction. Others have even used social media for help in deciding what name to give a character. 

I haven’t done either of those things yet.


Read More>>

Tags: Vampire, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday Free For All: Emma Jane Holloway's Baskerville Affair Trilogy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 20, 2013 | PERMALINK

What better way to ease the stress of last minute holiday planning than with some free books? Today we have Emma Jane Holloway's Baskerville Affair trilogy — A Study in Silks, A Study in Darkness and A Study in Ashesto give away to one lucky reader.

The steampunk series follows amateur sleuth Evelina Cooper, niece of Sherlock Holmes, who is expected to live up to the talents of her infamous uncle. She's hiding her magical talent for running machines in a Victorian society where steam barons have a monopoly on mechanical power, a secret that could put her life in danger. One of the most charming parts about this series? Evelina's mechanical pets — a mouse and bird who help her spy. Oh, and did we mention the handsome rake who catches Evelina's eye? This romantic steampunk series will definitely interest fans of Susanna Clarke's Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell.

Ready to win? Enter using the widget below. This giveaway is open to U.S. residents and ends 12/27/2013. A winner will be announced here 12/30. Good luck!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Editors' Best of 2013: Trent's Picks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 18, 2013 | PERMALINK

This blog post is part of a series that the RT Editors will be taking part in during the month of December. Please check back all month long for each editor's installment!

***

With 2013 winding down, the RT editors thought December would be a good time to reflect on what each of us read this year and which books stuck with us long after we finished them. While this year's RT Awards winners won't be announced until our convention in May, we've decided to share our personal favorites of 2013, in no particular order. Although he's not an editor, Convention Assistant Trent Hart is definitely a rabid reader. Today he shares his favorite reads of the year. 

***

 

Autumn Whispers
by Yasmine Galenorn


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Story So Far ... Larissa Ione on The Lords of Deliverance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 17, 2013 | PERMALINK

Whether you're all set for the holidays or scrambling to keep up (and, seriously, don't talk to us if you're done with everything), there's always time for a reading break! Today we've got a series primer on Larissa Ione's Lords of Deliverance series. A spin-off of her Demonica series, these five books star the four horsemen of the apocalypse, and today, the long-awaited Reaver gets his tale — and it's an RT Top Pick! and Reviewer's Choice Award nominee. We wanted to get caught up, and Larissa was kind enough to provide a primer. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Witches of East End Season 1 Finale Recap - Episode 1.10 "Oh, What a World!"

BY Elissa Petruzzi, DECEMBER 16, 2013 | PERMALINK

Well friends, what a wild ride it’s been. Secrets have been revealed, tarot cards read and shirtless dudes ogled. But at last we reach the Witches of East End season one finale! We played WOEE bingo along with author Melissa de la Cruz on Twitter last night, and as we recap this last bombastic episode, we’ll mark our squares. Thanks for watching with us!

Freya and Killian are staring longingly at each other, per usual. (ONE!) Killian tells Freya he loves her, from before he ever met her. She demurs. He smolders. (TWO!) He says if she marries Dash, he’ll destroy her, echoing the tarot card warning. She runs away, but not before Victor comes out and sees Killian. They stare at each other. But not longingly.

I’m going to miss these fools starting at each other.

source


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday Free For All: Jaime Rush's Dragon Awakened

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 13, 2013 | PERMALINK

The holidays can be a tough time for readers — we're so busy there's not a lot of time to read, and our budgets are strapped what with all the presents we're buying for other people! We're so selfless. To help out with the holiday crunch, we've got another great giveaway for you today! 

Jaime Rush's Dragon Awakened stars Ruby, whose life is turned upside down when she witnesses her uncle's murder — death by a green lightening shooting orb. Soon dragons and angels abound. RT reviewer extraordinaire Jill M. Smith calls this one, "terrific"!

Want to give it a try? Enter below to win one of five copies. U.S. residents only. Winners will be announced here next Friday. See our full terms & conditions in the widget below. Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal Romance, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

BINGO! Join Our Witches of East End Obsession

BY Elissa Petruzzi, DECEMBER 12, 2013 | PERMALINK

If you're as big a fan of campy, paranormal fun as we are, then you MUST be watching The Witches of East End, Lifetime's television version of the Melissa de la Cruz series by the same name. We've been watching, giggling and recapping all season long, as Jenna Dewan-Tatum awes us with her prettiness, Mädchen Amick delights us with her awesomeness — with the shirtless dudes, amazing hair and fun plotlines just adding to our witchy fun.

To celebrate this Sunday's season one finale, we've put together a Bingo card reflecting all of our favorite tropes that the ladies have encountered all season long. We hope if you're watching, you'll play too! If you decide to broadcast your bingo playing via social media, don't forget to use the #WOEEBINGO hashtag! And check back on Monday for our final recap, where we'll see how we did, and determine if we can indeed yell BINGO! That hopeful victory will help us hold on until season two …

CLICK IMAGES TO ENLARGE

Witched Of East End Bingo Card - white     Witched Of East End Bingo Card - black


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Helping Hands: How Mark Henry Found His Way To Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 04, 2013 | PERMALINK

Publishing is a tough business. From cancelled contracts to amazing books that never get their due, it's a tough road for authors and aspiring writers to walk. Today Mark Henry, UF-turned-romance author, is here to tell us about how he got over a major bump in the road, and we're so glad he did! The author shares:

In the interest of transparency, I’m going to do a little oversharing to explain how I came to writing romance. It’s a tale fraught with desperation and hardship, love and regret … also horrible periods of overeating. But to say that my publishing journey has been a unique struggle is doing a disservice to the vast majority of writers both aspiring and published. We all struggle, most of us clinging to a career by our fingernails. I’m not especially begrudged or bedraggled and in many ways I’m lucky. Only a very small percentage of us ever achieve a comfortable success. I think as readers with aspirations to join the ranks of our favorite writers, that’s an unusual idea to wrap our heads around, that this person who’s achieved what I so desperately crave is likely not considered a success and may, in fact, be worried about where they’ll scrounge up money for groceries. That’s changing in this age of indie publishing, but only for the truly flexible and ambitious. Suffice it to say, up until about about six months ago, I didn’t fall into either camp.

After some mighty encouraging buzz, my venture into young adult (Velveteen as Daniel Marks) seemed to have flown so far under the radar as to barely blip. By a month out of the gate, we knew it was a disappointment. This after two years of toiling over that book, rewriting, scrapping half of it post sale and reorganizing it to a degree I’d not experienced during my entire adult urban fantasy series career. I had set my mind to positivity. This book was going to be the one.

Not so much.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Excerpt: Sara Humphrey's Unclaimed

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 03, 2013 | PERMALINK

Ready for an excerpt break? We certainly are! Today we've got Sara Humphrey's RT Top Pick! Unclaimed for you. It's the story of veterinarian Tatiana Winters. Half Amoveo, half human, she meets guard Dominic Trejada when she heads to the Prince of Amoveo's ranch to care for their horses. When strange things start happening on the ranch, they suspect the Purists, a fringe group of Amoveos who hate hybrids — including Tatiana. RT reviewer Jennifer calls Unclaimed fascinating, engaging and a must read. We know we're convinced! Want a taste? 

Tatiana shot out of bed, tumbled over the side, and landed on the floor with a butt-bruising thud. Her sweat-soaked sheets were tangled around her legs, and it took her a moment to get her bearings. Her breath came in quick gasps as she looked furiously around the bedroom of the guest cabin and was greeted by a series of warm licks on her arm from Cass.


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal Romance, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST