RT Daily Blog

BINGO! Join Our Witches of East End Obsession

BY Elissa Petruzzi, DECEMBER 12, 2013 | PERMALINK

If you're as big a fan of campy, paranormal fun as we are, then you MUST be watching The Witches of East End, Lifetime's television version of the Melissa de la Cruz series by the same name. We've been watching, giggling and recapping all season long, as Jenna Dewan-Tatum awes us with her prettiness, Mädchen Amick delights us with her awesomeness — with the shirtless dudes, amazing hair and fun plotlines just adding to our witchy fun.

To celebrate this Sunday's season one finale, we've put together a Bingo card reflecting all of our favorite tropes that the ladies have encountered all season long. We hope if you're watching, you'll play too! If you decide to broadcast your bingo playing via social media, don't forget to use the #WOEEBINGO hashtag! And check back on Monday for our final recap, where we'll see how we did, and determine if we can indeed yell BINGO! That hopeful victory will help us hold on until season two …

CLICK IMAGES TO ENLARGE

Witched Of East End Bingo Card - white     Witched Of East End Bingo Card - black


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Helping Hands: How Mark Henry Found His Way To Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 04, 2013 | PERMALINK

Publishing is a tough business. From cancelled contracts to amazing books that never get their due, it's a tough road for authors and aspiring writers to walk. Today Mark Henry, UF-turned-romance author, is here to tell us about how he got over a major bump in the road, and we're so glad he did! The author shares:

In the interest of transparency, I’m going to do a little oversharing to explain how I came to writing romance. It’s a tale fraught with desperation and hardship, love and regret … also horrible periods of overeating. But to say that my publishing journey has been a unique struggle is doing a disservice to the vast majority of writers both aspiring and published. We all struggle, most of us clinging to a career by our fingernails. I’m not especially begrudged or bedraggled and in many ways I’m lucky. Only a very small percentage of us ever achieve a comfortable success. I think as readers with aspirations to join the ranks of our favorite writers, that’s an unusual idea to wrap our heads around, that this person who’s achieved what I so desperately crave is likely not considered a success and may, in fact, be worried about where they’ll scrounge up money for groceries. That’s changing in this age of indie publishing, but only for the truly flexible and ambitious. Suffice it to say, up until about about six months ago, I didn’t fall into either camp.

After some mighty encouraging buzz, my venture into young adult (Velveteen as Daniel Marks) seemed to have flown so far under the radar as to barely blip. By a month out of the gate, we knew it was a disappointment. This after two years of toiling over that book, rewriting, scrapping half of it post sale and reorganizing it to a degree I’d not experienced during my entire adult urban fantasy series career. I had set my mind to positivity. This book was going to be the one.

Not so much.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Excerpt: Sara Humphrey's Unclaimed

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 03, 2013 | PERMALINK

Ready for an excerpt break? We certainly are! Today we've got Sara Humphrey's RT Top Pick! Unclaimed for you. It's the story of veterinarian Tatiana Winters. Half Amoveo, half human, she meets guard Dominic Trejada when she heads to the Prince of Amoveo's ranch to care for their horses. When strange things start happening on the ranch, they suspect the Purists, a fringe group of Amoveos who hate hybrids — including Tatiana. RT reviewer Jennifer calls Unclaimed fascinating, engaging and a must read. We know we're convinced! Want a taste? 

Tatiana shot out of bed, tumbled over the side, and landed on the floor with a butt-bruising thud. Her sweat-soaked sheets were tangled around her legs, and it took her a moment to get her bearings. Her breath came in quick gasps as she looked furiously around the bedroom of the guest cabin and was greeted by a series of warm licks on her arm from Cass.


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal Romance, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kick Butt Boots: Zoë Archer's Winter Shoe Shopping Guide

BY Elissa Petruzzi, DECEMBER 02, 2013 | PERMALINK

We know, we know, you should probably be shopping for others this time of year. But maybe you need a new pair of boots? Or your sister, or mom? We at RT are here for you. So we asked our favorite romance author/boot enthusiast, Zoë Archer, to put together a look book of the latest and greatest foot fashions.

My heroines are known for being kick-ass dames — it’s tough to run around, kick bad guy butt, and ravish the hero while tottering around on spindly stilettos. So my boot picks for today’s post are fashionable, but also a little on the functional side, just in case you find yourself in the middle of a romantic adventure.

Ankle boots are hot this season. They’re a perfect everyday choice, and look great paired with a variety of clothing options, from skinny jeans to dresses and tights. This pair from Modcloth is awesome for darting from coffee house to school to hidden underground temple holding priceless artefacts.  

Greenhouse Picnic Boot in Berry, $49.99 from ModCloth


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Witches of East End Recap: 1.9 "A Parching Imbued"

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 02, 2013 | PERMALINK

Alright, fellow Witches, let's get down to business! If you missed last night's episode of Witches of East End or need a refresher, read on!

 

source

We open up to our favorite Beauchamp witches on the beach dressed in beautiful white dresses and working some magic to restore Freya’s powers. When the spell fails, the ladies contemplate the situation and the threat of the shifter. A storm begins brewing and Joanna hopes Wendy conjured it for dramatic effect. No dice. It’s none other than Penelope playing peeping Tom. She’s such a creeper.

Later on, Joanna, Wendy and Freya find another spell that might help them identify the shifter. Problem is, it requires Freya’s blood. After a little slice to the finger (ouch!), the three discuss their predicament. Freya thinks it was the flowers, Wendy thinks Penelope or Dash are behind it and Joanna thinks they’re all wrong because she tested Freya’s perfect fiancé and his weird mom. Joanna later reveals to Wendy she hasn’t actually tested Penelope and plans to do so at the rehearsal dinner.

Oh, look, there’s Killian! He and Penelope talk about how he’s leaving the next morning and he promises to keep in touch.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Witches of East End Recap - Episode 1.8 "Snake Eyes"

BY Elissa Petruzzi, NOVEMBER 25, 2013 | PERMALINK

Well, Witches of East End fans, we’ve received a second season pick up! So fear not that there are only two episodes left after this one. Let’s get to it, because the drama’s running high and there are a ton of revelations this episode …

Ingrid and Freya are at the bar discussing Johanna’s tarot revelation: that one brother will be Freya’s soul mate, the other her destroyer. They try to decide who’s who. Our guy Dash is still in London, incommunicado. Freya’s bartending away her worries by giving patrons little potions with their cocktails. (Would totally go to that bar.)

Penelope is at Fairhaven, bringing bouquets of flowers back to life, as one does. She’s also writing Freya a note.

You should hug your non-evil MIL this Thanksgiving, no?
source

Johanna shows Wendy the portal key, aka the serpent’s clavum, which she never destroyed. Wendy is not pleased. Jo refuses to get rid of it — it’s the only connection to their home.

Ingrid’s at work, and Mike is back! He’s allegedly writing a historical novel set in East End and he wants our girl’s help. We’re pretty sure there’s more to the story, or he wouldn’t be getting so much air time.

Killian’s at the bar with Freya. She is not so happy with him. Doctor Amy overhears their fight. Ruh roh.


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2013 RT Awards Nominees Celebration: Urban Fantasy Worldbuilding

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 21, 2013 | PERMALINK

Every year, the review staff at RT Book Reviews reads and rates more than three thousand books. And when each year draws to a close, we pick the best of the bunch for our readers to enjoy — the Reviewers’ Choice Awards. For the next few weeks, leading up to Thanksgiving, we’re going to be celebrating the nominations for many of these awards, across genres. We hope you’ll join us in congratulating all these wonderful authors, and, hey, if you find a great new book to read, all the better! Today, we'll be taking a look at the nominees for Urban Fantasy Worldbuilding!

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2013 RT Awards Nominees Celebration: Paranormal & Urban Fantasy Indie/Self-Pubbed

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 19, 2013 | PERMALINK

Every year, the review staff at RT Book Reviews reads and rates more than three thousand books. And when each year draws to a close, we pick the best of the bunch for our readers to enjoy — the Reviewers’ Choice Awards. For the next few weeks, leading up to Thanksgiving, we’re going to be celebrating the nominations for many of these awards, across genres. We hope you’ll join us in congratulating all these wonderful authors, and, hey, if you find a great new book to read, all the better! Today, we'll be taking a look at the nominees for Paranormal & UF Indie/Self-Pubbed!

 


       

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Witches of East End Recap - Episode 1.7 "Unburied"

BY Elissa Petruzzi, NOVEMBER 18, 2013 | PERMALINK

We’re really getting into the thick of it on the Witches of East End. This episode sees the shapeshifter revealed, and our girl Wendy gets some bad news. Good thing there’s more shirtless Freddie Prinze Jr. to cheer us up! (And the less said of the promo for the Flowers in the Attic TV movie, the better, hmm?)

We open on Wendy writhing (not in a good way), tied to a chair. She’s pleading with an angry looking Ingrid, who thrusts her hand into Wendy’s chest, Temple of Doom style.

Cut to … 24 hours earlier!

Freya’s finishing up inventory at the bar and, of course, Killian’s there to help. It’s hot in there — literally, not Nelly style. Killian wipes a bead of sweat off of Freya’s arm, and I know it sounds gross, but he does it while — say it with me — gazing longingly at her. They make out.

 

Sweat beads can’t gross out people this attractive.

image from here

But don’t get mad because Freya wakes up, waking Dash too. (Freya apparently has a large abundance of gorgeous nightgowns. Lucky Channing.) Seems Dash is used to her sleep talk, and he says he’ll listen closer next time.


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Witches of East End Recap - Episode 1.6 "Potentia Noctis"

BY Elissa Petruzzi, NOVEMBER 11, 2013 | PERMALINK

Well not only does this show entertain each week, but now I am inundated with holiday cheer thanks to all the commercials for holiday movies on Lifetime. If you need me any time between now and New Year’s, I’ll be on my couch, with ice cream, weeping as Dolly Parton teaches everyone the true meaning of the season. Onto the recap …

We’re at the Fairhaven estate, and Freya’s swimming in the gorgeous indoor pool. She backstrokes right into Killian. They flirt. Obvs. Freya tells Killian she’s worried that he’s waiting for her. He doth protest too much. Dash shows up and scolds Killian for swimming so soon after being nearly shocked to death last week, telling him he needs to come in for a checkup. Freya asks Dash if the brothers are cool now, and Dash dashes that he’s just trying to make things work. Freya says Dash is the best person she’s ever met (in soap language, this means: ain’t never gonna work out).

The pool scene was obviously a cover for shirtless Killian. Twitter was not complaining last night.

image from here


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST