RT Daily Blog

Friday Free For All: Stephen King's Doctor Sleep!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 27, 2013 | PERMALINK

Did you read The Shining as a kid? Because the RT Web Team sure did. Sure, it was kinda dense reading for our tween years, but hey, it made us into book lovers. Stephen King is a master, there's no doubt about it. And so when we heard that he was returning to his Shining universe with Doctor Sleep, we said to ourselves, selves, we've got to get that book for a Friday Free For All.  

And so it was! So if you want to find out what happened to Danny Torrance, comment below on your favorite King title for a chance to win one of fiour hard copies of Doctor Sleep, out this week. U.S. residents only. Winners will be announced here next Friday.


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
34COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: N.J. Walters' Damek's Redemption

BY Cyndy Aleo, SEPTEMBER 18, 2013 | PERMALINK

There are times when I feel like every book I review is really like a diary entry and I'm sharing my feels with all our readers. Including my secret never-pass-up tropes. For instance, I will never pass up a coma story. Or an amnesia story. But mostly, I will never pass up a broken, angsty vampire. Ever.

I know what you're saying. "Cyndy, vampires are so over." But here's the thing: They never really are, though. We've been obsessed with sexy vampires doing their thing since at least 1871 when J. Le Fanu's Carmilla brought us its titular hot lesbian vampire. 

So when N.J. Walters brings her werewolf series around to the standoffish vampire, Damek, I was intrigued.

Call me crazy, but all romantic vampires are judged against an ideal: not Bram Stoker's Dracula, not Anne Rice's Lestat, but rather, Nora Robert's Cian from her novel Valley of Silence. Cian is my vampire model: alpha male without crossing over into abusive, full of angst and loneliness in an eternity in which he loses anyone he might love — and incredibly sexy when he finally loses his hard-fought control and falls for the heroine.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mimi Jean Pamfiloff on Mayan Gods — And Why You Want to Read About Them

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 11, 2013 | PERMALINK

Sure, we’ve all read great romances starring the Greek and Roman gods, but what about the Mayans? Paranormal author Mimi Jean Pamfiloff has long been fascinated with the Mayans, who appear in her latest Vampires Need Not … Apply? And today she’s here today to tell us about that time she saw one (yes, really) and some reasons why you want to read a romance starring them.

Take it away, Mimi!


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal Romance, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Q&A: Sherrilyn Kenyon Talks Styxx - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 09, 2013 | PERMALINK

Sherrilyn Kenyon's latest Dark-Hunter novel, Styxx, hit shelves last week, and we decided to celebrate this long-running series by asking the author about her wounded hero Styxx, writing a character with a disability and what readers can expect next. Plus, we've got a chance to win either a hardcover or audio CD copy of the book!

***

Styxx is the 23rd book in the Dark-Hunter series. How has your writing changed since book one?

I would like to think that it’s improved. I might be delusional, but that’s what I hope and strive for with each publication.

The book takes some pretty dark twists and turns. How does the dark tone enhance the overall story?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
34COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

J.R. Ward Giveaway: Win A Fallen Angels Series Set!

BY Elissa Petruzzi, SEPTEMBER 06, 2013 | PERMALINK

Oh, reader. The summer's over, the pool's closed, your vacation a distant memory. But luckily, we at RT are here for you. And so, on this first September Friday, when everyone in publishing has to stay at work until 5 p.m., we're giving away some J.R. Ward books!

That's right, to prepare you for Ward's upcoming October 1 release, Possession, her fifth Fallen Angels title, which features Fallen Angel Jim Heron, who must make a deal with the devil, we're giving away one series set of the first four books: Covet, Crave, Envy and Rapture, so you have time get all caught up.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
20COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Excerpt: Burn With Me By R.G. Alexander

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 27, 2013 | PERMALINK

The summer days are dwindling and the kids are heading back to school. Doesn't that just put you in the mood to cozy up to a London-set, paranormal romance? Well, friends, we at RT are here for you. Today we've got an exclusive excerpt of R.G. Alexander's Burn with Me, out today from Samhain, which reviewer Jaime Giraldi calls, "an awesome start to a series."

Trilogy starter Burn with Me stars Aziza, a heroine living on borrowed time. Believing herself cursed, her demise on its way, Aziza begins hallucinating — or is she? — during a trip to London. Little does she know what fate has in store for her ...

Death was following her.

She’d left her coat in the pub, she thought absently, wrapping her arms around herself as the air chilled her. As if she might split apart if she didn’t. She made her way around the men, most of whom had taken their hats off or bowed their heads in a sad, habitual form of respect at the view in front of them. Aziza reached the front of the circle of people and looked down.


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal Romance, E/book, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

August Seal Of Excellence

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 22, 2013 | PERMALINK

Each month the RT editors select one book that is not only compelling, but pushes the boundaries of genre fiction and stands out from all the other books that are reviewed in that issue and on the website. August 2013's RT Seal of Excellence — the editors' pick for best book of the month — is awarded to Kelley Armstrong's paranormal-laced mystery Omens. 



Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Cover Reveal: Delilah S. Dawson's Servants Of The Storm

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 14, 2013 | PERMALINK

It's no secret Delilah S. Dawson is one of our favorite new author finds this year. Her Blud series second, Wicked as She Wants, won our May 2013 Seal of Excellence, and we were excited to learn that next year the author will be debuting her first YA novel, Servants of the Storm, which sounds like a spooky, magical adventure judging by the back cover blurb:

A year ago Hurricane Josephine swept through Savannah, Georgia, leaving behind nothing but death and destruction — and taking the life of Dovey's best friend, Carly. Since that night, Dovey has been in a medicated haze, numb to everything around her. 

But recently she's started to believe she's seeing things that can't be real ... including Carly at their favorite cafe. Determined to learn the truth, Dovey stops taking her pills. And the world that opens up to her is unlike anything she could have imagined. 

As Dovey slips deeper into the shadowy corners of Savannah — where the dark and horrifying secrets lurk — she learns that the storm that destroyed her city and stole her friend was much more than a force of nature. And now the sinister beings truly responsible are out to finish what they started.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Q&A: Robin D. Owens On Her New Celta Novel Heart Fortune

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 14, 2013 | PERMALINK

Author Robin D. Owens' twelfth Celta novel, Heart Fortune, brings readers back to the planet where humans gifted with psychic powers seek their HeartMates — their one true soul mate. We asked the author to tell us more about how one goes about finding their HeartMate, and what readers can expect from Heart Fortune.

***

In Heart Fortune the idea of HeartMates takes center stage. What is a HeartMate?

A HeartMate is a fated mate, like a soul mate, who was made for you and you alone and with whom you will bond physically, emotionally and spiritually. That's the idea, anyway.

The downside is that if you do become that intimate, when one of you dies the other will follow within a year. And, yes, I'm still working out some of the rules.

In general, how would one go about finding their HeartMate?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Rolling In The Deep (South): Why Southern-Set Paranormal Tales Are Hot

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 13, 2013 | PERMALINK

While we're busy planning the 2014 RT Convention in New Orleans, we can't help but think of how the The South has long been a backdrop paranormal readers love to visit. Is it the sweltering heat — literally and metaphorically — that readers love, or the otherworldliness of the natural surroundings? To get to the bottom of this deep fascination for the Deep South, we asked paranormal fantasy authors Suzanne Johnson, Faith Hunter and A.J. Larrieu why they chose to set their books in the South, and how this setting affects their stories.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST