RT Daily Blog

Debut Author Spotlight: C.J. Kyle

BY Elisa Verna, OCTOBER 20, 2014 | PERMALINK

We know Monday is not the most exciting day of the week, but we're pretty excited about today because we're shining our Debut Author Spotlight on romantic suspense author C.J. Kyle. C.J.'s novel, Silent Night, earned a 4-star rating from our reviewer Bridget, who said, "Kyle's debut novel blends the charm of a small-town romance and a dark, unsettling murder mystery with significant success." Kyle tells us how she went from aspiring to published author:

Name: C.J. Kyle

Book: Silent Night

Current Home: Florida

Author Icon(s): Julie Garwood, Stephen King, JK Rowling, Heather Graham, Sharon Sala

Favorite Word: Compassion

Was this the first book you ever wrote?

Good gravy, no.

How did you start writing?

After reading enough good books that inspired me, it was time to start telling my own. With young kids underfoot, I filled their nap times with writing instead of cleaning the house and found my passion.

What was it like when you got “The Call”?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: Black Lies by Alessandra Torre

BY Elisa Verna, OCTOBER 16, 2014 | PERMALINK

The cover of Black LiesThis review does not contain any spoilers. Read away!

I picked up Black Lies after seeing it was one of the bestselling self-published books last month, and I now know why. I’m already a fan of Alessandra Torre, after telling pretty much every single person I met at RWA this year about how much I loved The Girl in 6E (it’s awesome, go read it), which we awarded our Seal of Excellence for July. So after seeing so many reviews raving about her self-published standalone, reading this was a no-brainer. Black Lies didn’t break any new ground, but it had a juicy twist that, while it’s a familiar one, I did not predict.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Reveal: The Trouble With Love by Lauren Layne

BY Elisa Verna, OCTOBER 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

Cover Reveal season is still going strong and today we're unveiling the super romantic cover for Lauren Layne's upcoming release, The Trouble With Love, the next installment in her Sexy, Love & Stiletto series. And let us tell you, the cover is snappy! With bright colors and — wait, we don't want to spoil it for you, so let's get to it.

As Lauren Layne’s salacious Sex, Love & Stiletto series returns, a jaded columnist discovers a steamy way to get over an old flame: falling for him all over again.

As Stiletto magazine’s authority on all things breakup-and-heartache, Emma Sinclair writes from personal experience. Five years ago, Emma was Charlotte, North Carolina’s darling debutante and a blushing bride-to-be. Now she’s the ice queen of the Manhattan dating scene. Emma left her sultry Southern drawl behind, but not even her closest friends know that with it she left her heart. Now Emma’s latest article forces her to face her demons — namely, the devilishly sexy guy who ditched her at the altar.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Excerpt: Darling Beast by Elizabeth Hoyt

BY Elisa Verna, OCTOBER 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

It's a gloomy Monday here at RT HQ, we've got a steaming hot mug of tea just waiting to be sipped — seems like a perfect time for an excerpt! How about Elizabeth Hoyt's new historical romance, RT Top Pick!, Darling Beast? It's the story of once renowned, but now down-on-her-luck actress and playwright Lily, who comes across a "monster" when she and her son move into an abandoned theater. Only, you guessed it, because you may have read a historical before, the monster is actually escaped prisoner (and Viscount!) Apollo Greaves. Enjoy!

“Indio!”

Lily paused and glanced around the blackened garden an hour later. She hated to keep Indio locked inside the old theater, but she was going to have to if he insisted ondisappearing like this. The sun would soon be setting. The garden held all manner of dangers for a little boy—and that was without the interest the duke had shown her son yesterday afternoon. Lily hadn’t liked that comment Montgomery had made about Indio’s eyes.

Not at all.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tropeoween: Halloween Costumes For Your Favorite Romance Trope - The Historical Wallflower Who's Just Going For Sexy

BY Elisa Verna, OCTOBER 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

All week long we’re celebrating Tropeoween here on the RT blog. What is Tropeoween, you ask? Why it’s a celebration of trope-y romance Halloween costumes, of course! Here's what we've covered so far:

The Newbie Shapeshifting Wolf Heroine (Who Also Might Be A Paranormal Investigator).

The Virgin Secretary to the Billionaire CEO (Who is About to Not be a Virgin At All)

The Awkward YA Heroine Who Just Discovered She's A Witch

The Naive BDSM Heroine

And our final costume is: The Wallflower Who’s Finally Just Going for Sexy.

Look, the season's almost over, you're almost on the shelf. You're tired of getting trod on as you watch the more popular and moneyed girls get snapped up. Well, you’re going to show the ton after all. Maybe you’ll be compromised by a handsome rake and live happily ever after! (Hey, it already happened to your sister. And your cousin. Makes sense that you would be next.)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

I Don’t Wanna Grow Up — Adult-turned-YA Authors You Need to Read

BY Elissa Petruzzi, OCTOBER 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

This week Meg Wolitzer — of the blockbuster mainstream fiction novel The Interestings — turns to YA fiction with her new novel Belzhar. Which got us thinking about other adult-genre authors who have made the leap to YA. Here are a few of our favorites, whom you might not have tried yet! Won’t you let us add to your TBR pile?

Cover of Indestructible

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Advanced Excerpt: Laura Kaye's Hard To Come By

BY Elissa Petruzzi, OCTOBER 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

We've got a treat for you today! Below you'll find an exclusive, advanced exceprt of Laura Kaye's upcoming Hard to Come By. Releasing November 25 — just in time to help you deal with all the holiday madness — Kaye's third Hard Ink title will keep you up reading late into the night. Our reviewer flipped over the sexy, romantic suspense tale of Derek and Emilie and the rest of the disgraced Special Forces team (you can read the full review in our upcoming December issue). Read on and get ready for November …

At the far end of the pier stood a lighthouse. The red circular building perched atop black iron legs, with the light itself projecting out of the top of the roof. It had a charm about it that read old, and it had almost certainly come from somewhere else. A sign on a locked gate at the bottom of the stairs confirmed that and read, “Seven Foot Knoll Lighthouse, c. 1855, moved to this location 1988.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tropeoween: Halloween Costumes For Your Favorite Romance Trope - Virgin Secretary

BY Elissa Petruzzi, OCTOBER 07, 2014 | PERMALINK

All week long we’re celebrating Tropeoween here on the RT blog. What is Tropeoween, you ask? Why it’s a celebration of trope-y romance Halloween costumes, of course! Yesterday we featured a paranormal/urban fantasy heroine, aka, “The Newbie Shapeshifting Wolf Heroine (Who Also Might Be A Paranormal Investigator). Today contemporary romances are on the hot seat, as we profile The Virgin Secretary to the Billionaire CEO (Who is About to Not be a Virgin At All).

She works so hard for her boss, who doesn’t even notice her as he dates vapid model after uninteresting actress, while she’s the one sending his mother flowers on her birthday and buying his daughter the exact right Frozen doll. But then, one night. Everything changes …

1. The YSL briefcase he got you for Christmas. Okay fine, you picked it out.

2. The Moleskine where you keep every single detail of his life.

3. The blouse that means you quite literally very buttoned up.

4. The hair clips you yearn to shake free from your bun, so you can let your auburn tresses (because of course you have beautiful auburn hair) cascade down your shoulders. The glasses that say you’re all business — until you whip them off.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Bestselling Self-Published Romance: September 2014

BY Elissa Petruzzi, OCTOBER 07, 2014 | PERMALINK

So many self-published titles are released each and every day, it’s hard to know which ones are worth your time — and your cash. As always, your RT Web Team is here for you, to help make sense of it all. We've scoured the bestseller lists to put together some of the top selling romance titles (including YA & NA romance) that caught our eye. Get your TBR list ready!

Cover of Indestructible

***

Black Lies by Alessandra Torre

Published: September 2014

Genre: Contemporary Romance

The Story: RT editors are already giant fans of Torre, who wrote July’s Seal of Excellence winner The Girl in 6E as A.R. Torre. And friends, we must tell you, people are freaking out about this book. The reviews are over-the-top effusive as they elude to the twist and how this book redefines the genre. At face value it’s the story of a woman who loves two men: tech billionaire Brant and lawn guy Lee. But as one Amazon reviewer wrote: “I actually have one passage highlighted with the note: “SHUT. UP.” So … we’re buying it.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Win A Signed Print Copy Of Nalini Singh's Rock Addiction

BY Elisa Verna, OCTOBER 01, 2014 | PERMALINK

A cover of Rock Addiction

This week Nalini Singh released the latest in her new Rock Kiss series, the novella "Rock Courtship," and in case you took a major Internet break during the month of September and somehow missed the Rock Kiss boat (there's a "rock the boat" joke in there somewhere), we're offering one reader a signed print copy of Rock Addiction, the first in the series. And, this giveaway is open to international readers! To enter, fill out the widget below. A winner will be chosen tomorrow, Friday, October 3. Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
9COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST