RT Daily Blog

Exclusive Cover Reveal: Robin Perini's Game of Fear

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 22, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ready for a cover reveal? Today on the blog we’ve got Robin Perini’s Game of Fear, the third in her Montgomery Justice series. Before we get to the goods, let’s check out the blurb for this romantic suspense, which releases August 26.

Brilliant kids from all over the country are disappearing … but no one knows why. Until now.

In the cockpit, Search and Rescue pilot Deborah Lansing is in control: her flight, her rules. But after the suspicious disappearance of her supersmart younger sister, she knows this is one rescue mission she can’t fly solo. She needs help. She needs Gabe Montgomery.

An earth-shattering betrayal led former SWAT officer Gabe Montgomery to his current deep cover assignment. But he trusted Deb Lansing with his life once before and she’d pulled him through. Now it’s his turn to repay the feisty redhead … even if it threatens to blow his covert op.

As Deb and Gabe get closer to the answers—and closer to each other—their investigation reveals a startling pattern: gifted kids from all over the country are going missing after mastering the popular video game Point of Entry. And when bodies turn up, the new lovers will face a ruthless fiend known only as the Warden. Will they be able to find Deb’s sister, or will she vanish like so many others?

Sounds exciting! Here’s the cover:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review — Hard Time By Cara McKenna

BY Elisa Verna, APRIL 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

The cover of Hard Time by Cara McKenna - beefcake alert!When I read the blurb for Hard Time by Cara McKenna I thought to myself: this book will either be completely amazing or an absolute train wreck. Luckily for me, it was the former. Told in first person, the story follows young public librarian Annie Goodhouse, who recently graduated with her MLS and has taken a position as an outreach librarian for a medium-security correctional facility, where she finds herself attracted to inmate Eric Collier. With such sensitive subject matter, which could have been handled carelessly, you can see why I thought this book might be a disaster. But McKenna does not sensationalize prison or the relationships male inmates can have with women on the outside. What impressed me most about this novel is how the author approached the subject matter so skillfully.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Reveal: The Best Kind Of Trouble By Lauren Dane

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

Today we're excited to reveal the sexy new cover of Lauren Dane's upcoming contemporary romance series starter, The Best Kind of Trouble. The book kicks off her Hurley Boys series — about a trio of rock star brothers who readers might remember from Dane's novel Lush — and releases August 26. Book one is Paddy Hurley's story.

But before we get to the cover, the book's back cover blurb:

She has complete control… and he's determined to take it away.

A librarian in the small town of Hood River, Natalie Clayton's world is very nearly perfect. After a turbulent childhood and her once-wild ways, life is now under control. But trouble has a way of turning up unexpectedly—especially in the tall, charismatically sexy form of Paddy Hurley….

And Paddy is the kind of trouble that Natalie has a taste for.

Even after years of the rock and roll lifestyle, Paddy never forgot the two wickedly hot weeks he once shared with Natalie. Now he wants more… even if it means tempting Natalie and her iron-grip control. But there's a fine line between well-behaved and misbehaved—and the only compromise is between the sheets!

Ready for the cover? It's a hot one...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Neighborhood Watch: Nora Loves Rear Window, Just Like Us!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

So it’s Monday, sure, and tomorrow’s tax day. But it’s also spring and there’s a new Nora Roberts book out this week, The Collector! This time, la Nora latest takes on a Rear Window-esque vibe, one of our very favorite homages. We thought that as we wait for release day, we’d walk through some of our other favorite Read Window call backs as we torture the rest of the RT staff with our very best James Stuart impressions.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Score! Six Sports Romances Readers Can Root For

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

Hey there, sports fan! While we mostly appreciate sports because we can drink beer while watching them, and also those tight pants the athletes often wear — we mean, is that spandex? — there’s a growing subgenre of sports romances that are hitting it big (scoring big? winning … matches? Like we said, we’re mainly in it for the beer and pants.).

If you’re already a fan or want to try these romances out, you’re in luck, because this week, six steamy sports romances are being published by Carina. Each of the books features a different sport, so the authors have stopped by today to tell us why their sport is best! (Also we made them include pictures of hot athletes. Because we care.)

RUGBY

Kat Latham (Playing It Close) - In a sport where players have thighs like redwoods, tackle each other with the force of high-speed car crashes, yet are almost always respectful to referees, it’s no wonder rugby is often called “a sport for thugs, played by gentlemen.” Not only are they strong, devoted and passionate, but they also have a sense of honor and fair play — and that makes them perfect romance heroes!  

Rugby player Jonny Wilkinson

English rugby player Jonny Wilkinson

Image © Lena via Wikimedia Commons

TENNIS


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Working Girls: Heroines with Careers We Covet

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

We sometimes daydream about what it would be like to be the heroine of a romance novel — the angst, the drama, the hero. But several of this month's romances have caught our attention, not only because of them swoonworthy love story, but because of the heroine's awesome profession! Here's a roundup of our favorite  heroines on the job this month. 

The cover of Night Diver by Elizabeth Lowell

What a Reckless Rogue Needs by Vicky Dreiling - Not only is Vicky's heroine in her second Sinful Scoundrels series a divorcée — very edgy for Regency England — she's an architect and interior designer. Get it, Lady Angeline! Do you know how much math you need to understand to be an architect? A lot, that's how much. (You need significantly less to be a website editor.) She falls in love during a restoration project, which is not how most of those home projects go that we see on HGTV, but hey! That's why romance novels are so great. Fantasy.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday Free for All: Up by Five by Erin Nicholas

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

The cover of Up by FiveYou made it to Friday! We're so proud of you, because this week was kind of a long one, huh? Today we've got a treat, an exclusive excerpt from rising contemporary star Erin Nicholas, and an awesome giveaway. Erin's the author of the addictive Counting on Love series, the fifth entry of which, Up by Five, is out next week.

It's the story of Connor Dixon, who finally has his sisters' lives sorted out. He's ready for some solitude, some guy time. So of course he ends up rooming with fellow paramedic Gabby, who all of the sudden is looking pretty sexy. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
9COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Navy SEAL Hero Happy To Retire; Didn’t Really Want To Pursue That Vendetta, Anyway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 01, 2014 | PERMALINK

Close up of veteran's dog tags and military medals

source

Annapolis — Former Navy SEAL and all-around bad ass Redd Stone was all smiles the week following his retirement after an illustrious and top secret 15 year career. “You know,” he told us between long drags of beer, “it feels good to be outta the game.” He patted his stomach. “Some of my buddies have missed it, started up security firms, taken on last minute, killer missions. Not me, no thanks. I want to sleep through the night. In a bed.”

Stone explained the constant travel, risky missions and gunfights get to a person after a while. “I missed out on a lot of TV, you know? I don’t even know whatever happened at the end of Lost.” He held up his hand, “Don’t tell me, I’ve got it all recorded.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Woman Considers Moving Back To Small Hometown, Realizes She Made The Right Decision In Leaving

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 01, 2014 | PERMALINK

source

Kristen Manning, 30, returned to her small hometown of Petunia Springs, Montana, only to realize that she was better off living in San Jose, where she’s resided for the past 10 years.

“I came back to visit my sister, Amanda, who was pregnant with twins. And I thought maybe I could reconnect with some old friends, especially … Russ Dannings.”

But Russ isn’t the same as Kristen remembers. “Time has not been kind to Russ. He has a huge beer gut now and still smokes, which was kinda hot in high school, but not anymore. I swung by to visit the gas station where he still works, and saw him through the service station window, sitting behind the counter picking his nose. I got the hell out of there before I could see if he ate his boogers or not.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cowboy Confesses He Knew About “Secret Twins” All Along

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 01, 2014 | PERMALINK

source

Montana rancher Brant Hubbard, 32, has confessed he knew he was the father of his now-wife Amanda Manning’s twin daughters months before they were born. “I acted surprised when I found out, but, I mean, Petunia Springs has a population of 1,500. My best friend’s dad is the town doctor. And Amanda’s pretty thin, so it was obvious soon enough that she got pregnant right after sleeping with me.”

The couple met in high school, where they dated briefly but broke up over a misunderstanding right before Amanda left for college. “I saw him hanging out under the bleachers with Tiffany LeDuke, and I knew what that meant, so I up and left early for school,” Amanda explained.

Brant, who runs his family’s cattle ranch, has always been hurt by Amanda’s sudden departure. “She left without saying goodbye. Good thing I had Tiffany to keep me company that summer.”  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST